Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; theThe next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. 100
    It is not often I get lost in a game like I did with Skyrim. Everything about this game screams quality and adventure. While Bethesda hasn't exactly got a track record for delivering bug-free games at launch, this has been a pleasant, polished and amazing experience so far. A much improved third-person view, amazing music, a living breathing world, a menu-system that's amazing and a game filled with interesting stuff to do. Truly a masterpiece.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is completely and utterly addictive in every aspect and quite possibly, I'll say it, the greatest RPG of all time. It affords you the luxury of playing it your way and doesn't try to constrain you. It wants you to get lost in a winter wonderland and believe me, you will. Kiss the rest of your life goodbye.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    97
    Every aspect of Skyrim is done to pinpoint perfection and has the makings of a game that will be played and enjoyed by millions for years to come.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    95
    This is a title that deserves a spot in your gaming library. The environments are stunning, the level of control you have over your own experience is amazing and, simply put, Skyrim is an epic experience.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    93
    The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is extremely ambitious, and at its core, extremely successful. While overreaches in certain areas, it has much to offer in terms of freedom and volume of content. When you look back on the experience, it's not the rough spots that'll stand out, but the broad, heroic feeling of being the powerful and change-affecting center of a richly constructed world.
  7. Nov 27, 2011
    75
    Oblivion is good, but it's a flawed good. It's a different experience in many ways to previous Elder Scrolls games, but, at the same time, it's still the familiar world Elder Scrolls fans know and love. It has the usual kickass story, but the difficulty curve is a bit wobbly, to say the least, and, in general, it's a story of give and take.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    out of this world its simply amazing so much to do places to go and people to talk to 100 hours plus with out any problem and dragons bigout of this world its simply amazing so much to do places to go and people to talk to 100 hours plus with out any problem and dragons big flying fire breathing monsters what else do you want oh grate story's every were Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's aA masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Skyrim is my #1 favorite game of all time. when I firs played skyrim it wasn't hard to get into, even though I was never a fan of these typeSkyrim is my #1 favorite game of all time. when I firs played skyrim it wasn't hard to get into, even though I was never a fan of these type of games, until I played this game. it is fun. I spent over 700 hours in this game, starting over and playing as a new character, and hey I still find stuff I never explored or I enjoy he benefits of dlc and the updates, and lastly I still have fun no matter what I am doing. the only thing I hated was the fact that there isn't more dlc. I personally, highly recommend this game. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Without out a doubt one of the greatest if not THE greatest RPG of all time. Bethesda soft-works has created the most alive, fleshed out, deepWithout out a doubt one of the greatest if not THE greatest RPG of all time. Bethesda soft-works has created the most alive, fleshed out, deep and interesting world i have ever played in, quests and dialogue from NPC are fluent and realistic and even the most minuscule of quests have a sense of satisfaction and reality to them.

    The diversity in content is amazing, literally hundreds of engaging and challenging quests ranging from taking or defending cities for the Imperials or Stormcloaks, taking contract killings, stealing Skyrim's most precious artefacts and tonnes of other personal or faction related quests, there is a lot to do.

    Combat, although similar to Oblivion's, is great. Character movements and attacks feel weighted and realistic and the combinations between martial and magic is amazing. Going in thinking i was going to play a pure 'barbarian' character simply didn't happen because of the fun of spell casting.

    This truly is one of the greatest games of the generation. It is hard to place scrutiny or criticism on anything in this amazingly hand-crafted open world experience. Game of the year.
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    After some 30 hours in, I am still blown away by how great this game is. It truly is a masterpiece in gaming. One moment you could be scalingAfter some 30 hours in, I am still blown away by how great this game is. It truly is a masterpiece in gaming. One moment you could be scaling an huge mountain, the next plundering the tomb of a long dead king or even fighting to the death with an ancient dragon. The graphics are fantastic and yes there are a few bugs but they are so minor, unless you are intentionally hunting for errors because you are another game's fan-boy you very rarely notice them.

    If you are still some how on the fence about buying this game I urge you to do it as soon as possible. Each moment you are spending not in Tamriel (the games setting) is a moment wasted.
    Expand
  6. Rem
    Jul 10, 2013
    9
    If Skyrim is not one of the most feature rich games I've ever played, then I haven't played them all. Starting out as a prisoner once more (IIf Skyrim is not one of the most feature rich games I've ever played, then I haven't played them all. Starting out as a prisoner once more (I see a trend here), you go about Skyrim which is achingly beautiful. It is beautiful and that put many linear games to shame. The gameplay is where it stands out, spells can finally be dual cast and with a sword in hand. You progress through the game at your own pace rather than choosing at the beginning. The story here while not enthralling or engaging, is truly epic. Exploring what this vast world has to offer will consume days if not weeks. But in Bethesda's traditions, with a game this big come many bugs. While not as gut wrenching as Fallout 3, to manages to annoy and break immersion. I want to keep playing Skyrim, and I just might do that right now. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2014
    0
    First there was morrowind. The cult classic game that launched the elder scrolls series onto the console market, Stunning bored gamers lookingFirst there was morrowind. The cult classic game that launched the elder scrolls series onto the console market, Stunning bored gamers looking for something new and exciting, With it's many quests and deadly arsenals of weapons and spells and a main Villain with the powers of a god seeking to destroy the very earth itself.

    Then came Oblivion, the sacred demigod spawn of morrowind which rose to the very same level of fame as it's predecessor while introducing silky smooth controls and gameplay and a beautiful and diverse world to explore all of this culminating in a final fierce battle with the very forces of hell themselves. And not to mention the greatest game expansion of all time. The Shivering Isles... And then there was silence. Many long years passed with no word on if the most beloved of rpg series would ever have another golden member of the family to carry on the honorable and beloved epic onward to glory. And then suddenly, As if by the will of the gods, We were treated to the teaser for the next game.

    SKYRIM! And the people cheered and celebrated in pure joy at the news of their beloved game's return to glory!... But little did they know that an evil force wa sat work to destroy the very things that had made off of their favorite games so addictive....

    The vile wretches of BETHESDA! Who plotted and schemed, Turning the beloved game in a generic and horrid mockery of what was once pure and good! They slashed through the heart and soul of the very game itself, Removing what made the game itself an rpg! They cut out the ability to make your characters uniquely yours by removing character classes! They blinded the loyal masses with promises of never before seen graphical quality and epic adventures galore, and the poor deluded masses flocked to the stores eager to begin their own adventures in this new and mysterious land... But little did they know that the evil wizards of bethesda had tricked them! The beloved game was a shallow and thoughtless abomination compared to those who came before it! The heart and soul of every RPG game was gone! Character classes were no more! There were game breaking bugs and glitches as far as the eye could see! the world was ugly and devoid of color and personality! Five grand expansions were promised yet only three bland and boring ones were delivered!

    The story was flat and boring and lacked and ounce of the urgency of a mad god bent on destroying the world or a god leading the forces of hell on an all out assault on the mortal world! Neigh! Twas but a single dragon which was the games great evil to be vanquished! And what of the vile elves which had taken over the mortal world between the last game and this blasphemous filth?! NOTHING! Nothing was done with this plot line AT ALL! And so the poor masses praised the games admittedly enhanced graphics and smoother game play while those loyal to the old ways were shocked and outraged that their beloved game had been raped and turned into a common, Cheap mockery of what once was...

    Over time others came to realize what had been done and began to raise their voices in protest only to find out that the damage was done. Some left the brotherhood altogether swearing never to return, While others prayed to their gods for a TRUE sequel that would once again bring glory and honor to the elder scrolls series. While not all historians may not agree on just how this terrible turn of events came to pass, they all certainly agree on one thing. Bethesda, can suck a cock.
    Expand

See all 1188 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.