Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3311 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; theThe next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. 100
    It is not often I get lost in a game like I did with Skyrim. Everything about this game screams quality and adventure. While Bethesda hasn't exactly got a track record for delivering bug-free games at launch, this has been a pleasant, polished and amazing experience so far. A much improved third-person view, amazing music, a living breathing world, a menu-system that's amazing and a game filled with interesting stuff to do. Truly a masterpiece.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is completely and utterly addictive in every aspect and quite possibly, I'll say it, the greatest RPG of all time. It affords you the luxury of playing it your way and doesn't try to constrain you. It wants you to get lost in a winter wonderland and believe me, you will. Kiss the rest of your life goodbye.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    97
    Whether you're wondering around the wilderness, enjoying the melodies from a bard in an inn, casually strutting about town, or going head to head with a dragon; the music and sound effects add to the immersion in the same way they do in a Lord of the Rings or Star Wars film.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    95
    This is a title that deserves a spot in your gaming library. The environments are stunning, the level of control you have over your own experience is amazing and, simply put, Skyrim is an epic experience.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    93
    The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is extremely ambitious, and at its core, extremely successful. While overreaches in certain areas, it has much to offer in terms of freedom and volume of content. When you look back on the experience, it's not the rough spots that'll stand out, but the broad, heroic feeling of being the powerful and change-affecting center of a richly constructed world.
  7. Nov 27, 2011
    75
    Oblivion is good, but it's a flawed good. It's a different experience in many ways to previous Elder Scrolls games, but, at the same time, it's still the familiar world Elder Scrolls fans know and love. It has the usual kickass story, but the difficulty curve is a bit wobbly, to say the least, and, in general, it's a story of give and take.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Where most games give you 6-7 hours of playtime, Skyrim gives you 50+. The world is breathtaking, the myriad of caves, ruins and variousWhere most games give you 6-7 hours of playtime, Skyrim gives you 50+. The world is breathtaking, the myriad of caves, ruins and various dungeons are interesting to explore, many with small quests or story behind them. The graphics are excellent, especially when exploring the open world, which is huge, bigger than both oblivion and fallout. Quests vary in length, and are far easier to find than in previous games. Every detail has been considered, every pillar of the game is solid, combat is rewarding, the world is vibrant and interesting, the monsters, locations and quests are all varied and interesting, and the enemies scale just enough so its not too hard or too easy, but you still feel powerful at higher levels.The sheer number of quests and locations is mind boggling, Ive been playing for at least 30 hours and there is still so much to do! If your an RPG fan, then this game is the definition of the genre. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's aA masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Oh man this game was a lot of fun to play. I really immersed myself into the role playing. I think the only thing that could be improved wouldOh man this game was a lot of fun to play. I really immersed myself into the role playing. I think the only thing that could be improved would have to be the character models and the amount of voice actors. It takes you out of the immersion a little to hear the same voice actor over and over and over. The character models were a little too stiff compared to other great rpgs like mass effect. I hope next time they work on those parts a little more. Great game, I was never into the whole mid evil dungeons and dragons type of thing but this game was just too much fun. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Beautiful world filled with everything you could want with your freedom, except for maybe stealing cars. But having a choice between good andBeautiful world filled with everything you could want with your freedom, except for maybe stealing cars. But having a choice between good and evil and all thats in between is much better than being lumped with one role even with some freedom added on. The quests and dungeons so far are all very well designed and the use of the radiant story system ensures you wont ever run out of things to do. My personal past time is to go searching for alchemy ingredients in the wilds, (with my long haired dark elf that i use as a battle mage) brew them into potions at an alchemist lab (now in my own house in whiterun) then sell them off to rake in money for new houses and better furnishings. I may play it boringly but the point is whatever you want to do you can, its the ultimate in alter ego providers. Graphics: 9. Sound: 9. Gameplay: 10. Longevity: Limitless. Flavour: like having free reign at willy wonkas chocolate factory Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I will never see the sun again nuff said

    Also this game is amazing..... i don't want to unleash my wave of how awesome this game is.....
    I will never see the sun again nuff said



    Also this game is amazing..... i don't want to unleash my wave of how awesome this game is..... i end there... OOOOMMMGGG no don't do it. hahaha im not going to do it. im gonna hold in my excitement. everytime i think about this game. it makes me happy
    Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    While the graphics, story and gameplay are only "good", the world of Skyrim will draw you in. It really is an immersive experience and it'sWhile the graphics, story and gameplay are only "good", the world of Skyrim will draw you in. It really is an immersive experience and it's great fun, especially if you're a nerd like me :D perfect example of something being greater than the sum of its parts. Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    How can anyone not like this game?
    Skyrim incorporates all of the fun elements in RPGs, while leaving behind all the tediousness. It improves
    How can anyone not like this game?
    Skyrim incorporates all of the fun elements in RPGs, while leaving behind all the tediousness. It improves on Oblivion in all ways except for the faction mission lines.
    Expand

See all 1208 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.