Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3094 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. 100
    It is not often I get lost in a game like I did with Skyrim. Everything about this game screams quality and adventure. While Bethesda hasn't exactly got a track record for delivering bug-free games at launch, this has been a pleasant, polished and amazing experience so far. A much improved third-person view, amazing music, a living breathing world, a menu-system that's amazing and a game filled with interesting stuff to do. Truly a masterpiece.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is completely and utterly addictive in every aspect and quite possibly, I'll say it, the greatest RPG of all time. It affords you the luxury of playing it your way and doesn't try to constrain you. It wants you to get lost in a winter wonderland and believe me, you will. Kiss the rest of your life goodbye.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    97
    Every aspect of Skyrim is done to pinpoint perfection and has the makings of a game that will be played and enjoyed by millions for years to come.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    95
    This is a title that deserves a spot in your gaming library. The environments are stunning, the level of control you have over your own experience is amazing and, simply put, Skyrim is an epic experience.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    93
    The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is extremely ambitious, and at its core, extremely successful. While overreaches in certain areas, it has much to offer in terms of freedom and volume of content. When you look back on the experience, it's not the rough spots that'll stand out, but the broad, heroic feeling of being the powerful and change-affecting center of a richly constructed world.
  7. Nov 27, 2011
    75
    Oblivion is good, but it's a flawed good. It's a different experience in many ways to previous Elder Scrolls games, but, at the same time, it's still the familiar world Elder Scrolls fans know and love. It has the usual kickass story, but the difficulty curve is a bit wobbly, to say the least, and, in general, it's a story of give and take.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    An amazing game in scale and fun. To each their own but I can't even comprehend people who badmouth this game. Skyrim is so rich with great design and moments, that is shines far brighter then any other game that has come out this year. Those with poor reviews obviously did not actually play the game. If they would have they would have come to see how deep and enjoyable this game is truly. Of course this kind of game is not for everyone, but if you like RPG's there is no denying that Skyrim is quite possibly the greatest RPG game ever made....so far! Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. It's not perfect since there are a few technical problems like glitches and crashes. The melee combat is also nothing more than decent and third person combat is awful. There is also some grinding for gear in this game and the main story is a let down, specifically the last few parts of it. Despite all of this, this game is one of the best this console generation has to offer.

    This game's art direction is drop dead gorgeous and the world is so well developed and jaw dropping that it sucks you in from the beginning. This game is very immersive and full of fun missions, locales and characters. This game has some of the most odd and interesting characters, deep lore, tons of beautiful and deep caves and locales to explore. It has a wide variety of fun enemies to fight including dragons and trolls. Some of the side quests, the thieves guild quest and dark brotherhood quest are all extremely fun with great stories and make up for the main story. The magic combat and bow and arrow combat are fun make up for the lackluster melee combat. This game is not a great RPG since there are really no choices to make that have significantly different outcomes and the rpg elements are more streamlined but this isn't so bad since it opens up the genre to more people. Despite being an average rpg, skyrim is an epic and wonderful action/adventure experience that every gamer should go through.

    Its is a testament to open world games since not only is it's world huge, but it is also full of excellent and fun content. This game is so many cities, towns, dungeons and other excellent locales to visit and play in that it can be overwhelming sometimes. It's terrain ranges from snowy mountains to large cites and deep caves. It should last you over a 100 hours of very high quality entertainment.
    Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I love Skyrim. There is so much to do and so much to explore and the quests are genuinely intriguing and exciting. The amount of quality content is absolutely staggering and sure to keep me around for a long, long time. One of the biggest things I noticed in Skyrim is that there is just enough familiarity within Skyrim to let you know that it's Oblivion's successor, but at the same time it adds and improves on so many things that it makes sure it's its own game. I can't wait to explore the College of Winterhold, the Dark Brotherhood, and the Daedric quests. If Bethesda can follow this game up with DLC on the same level as Shivering Isles and Fallout 3, This game is sure to keep me hooked for hundreds of hours. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    The best game ever created. Simple as that. Whether you want to compare this game to other RPGs or any other genre, Bethesad has cemented themselves as the based developers in the business. Truly a monumentous achievment in gaming. Kudos to you guys and please continue to take my money, I will be happy to dish out as long as you keep creating games like this. Expand
  6. Rem
    Jul 10, 2013
    9
    If Skyrim is not one of the most feature rich games I've ever played, then I haven't played them all. Starting out as a prisoner once more (I see a trend here), you go about Skyrim which is achingly beautiful. It is beautiful and that put many linear games to shame. The gameplay is where it stands out, spells can finally be dual cast and with a sword in hand. You progress through the game at your own pace rather than choosing at the beginning. The story here while not enthralling or engaging, is truly epic. Exploring what this vast world has to offer will consume days if not weeks. But in Bethesda's traditions, with a game this big come many bugs. While not as gut wrenching as Fallout 3, to manages to annoy and break immersion. I want to keep playing Skyrim, and I just might do that right now. Expand
  7. May 19, 2012
    0
    All the other Elder Scrolls and Fallout games had one main feature that is missing in Skyrim no quick select slots. Pausing the game every 5 seconds to select a item totally breaks the immersion. The reason I don't buy bio-ware games is for the same reason. I brought the 360 version after the PC version and it is most unstable of the two. With some awful stuttering frame rates, freezing up and other quest braking bugs. Expand

See all 1172 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.