Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. 100
    It is not often I get lost in a game like I did with Skyrim. Everything about this game screams quality and adventure. While Bethesda hasn't exactly got a track record for delivering bug-free games at launch, this has been a pleasant, polished and amazing experience so far. A much improved third-person view, amazing music, a living breathing world, a menu-system that's amazing and a game filled with interesting stuff to do. Truly a masterpiece.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is completely and utterly addictive in every aspect and quite possibly, I'll say it, the greatest RPG of all time. It affords you the luxury of playing it your way and doesn't try to constrain you. It wants you to get lost in a winter wonderland and believe me, you will. Kiss the rest of your life goodbye.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    97
    Every aspect of Skyrim is done to pinpoint perfection and has the makings of a game that will be played and enjoyed by millions for years to come.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    95
    This is a title that deserves a spot in your gaming library. The environments are stunning, the level of control you have over your own experience is amazing and, simply put, Skyrim is an epic experience.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    93
    The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is extremely ambitious, and at its core, extremely successful. While overreaches in certain areas, it has much to offer in terms of freedom and volume of content. When you look back on the experience, it's not the rough spots that'll stand out, but the broad, heroic feeling of being the powerful and change-affecting center of a richly constructed world.
  7. Nov 27, 2011
    75
    Oblivion is good, but it's a flawed good. It's a different experience in many ways to previous Elder Scrolls games, but, at the same time, it's still the familiar world Elder Scrolls fans know and love. It has the usual kickass story, but the difficulty curve is a bit wobbly, to say the least, and, in general, it's a story of give and take.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games ever. The gameplay, the scenery, the interactivity, all fantastic. Endless quests and dragons galore plus the sporadic quest system just add to the incredible design. Yes, it has some bugs, but it's not nearly enough to make me stop playing. A must play. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the most outstanding games I've ever seen graphics awesome fighting technics amazing also giant spiders skeletons awesome flaming hands swords my type of game Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Without out a doubt one of the greatest if not THE greatest RPG of all time. Bethesda soft-works has created the most alive, fleshed out, deep and interesting world i have ever played in, quests and dialogue from NPC are fluent and realistic and even the most minuscule of quests have a sense of satisfaction and reality to them.

    The diversity in content is amazing, literally hundreds of engaging and challenging quests ranging from taking or defending cities for the Imperials or Stormcloaks, taking contract killings, stealing Skyrim's most precious artefacts and tonnes of other personal or faction related quests, there is a lot to do.

    Combat, although similar to Oblivion's, is great. Character movements and attacks feel weighted and realistic and the combinations between martial and magic is amazing. Going in thinking i was going to play a pure 'barbarian' character simply didn't happen because of the fun of spell casting.

    This truly is one of the greatest games of the generation. It is hard to place scrutiny or criticism on anything in this amazingly hand-crafted open world experience. Game of the year.
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    After some 30 hours in, I am still blown away by how great this game is. It truly is a masterpiece in gaming. One moment you could be scaling an huge mountain, the next plundering the tomb of a long dead king or even fighting to the death with an ancient dragon. The graphics are fantastic and yes there are a few bugs but they are so minor, unless you are intentionally hunting for errors because you are another game's fan-boy you very rarely notice them.

    If you are still some how on the fence about buying this game I urge you to do it as soon as possible. Each moment you are spending not in Tamriel (the games setting) is a moment wasted.
    Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    I wouldn't consider the latest edition of Elder Scrolls a mater piece, and instead of going on about how great the game is (which it is incredible) I'll instead focus on the negatives. The number one problem I have with Skyrim are all the cut corners. What really grinds me are the cities that have populations of maybe thirty to fifty people. In that time period those cities would be home to tens of thousands. I;'m positive that this is something that was addressed, but it would take far to long to accomplish fully interactive cities containing thousands of people. Either way still a piss off. The cut scenes are terrible, and I personally believe the series would benefit from cinematics. There are a few other problems graphically, but other than that another worth wild expenditure from Bethaseda. Expand
  7. May 19, 2012
    0
    All the other Elder Scrolls and Fallout games had one main feature that is missing in Skyrim no quick select slots. Pausing the game every 5 seconds to select a item totally breaks the immersion. The reason I don't buy bio-ware games is for the same reason. I brought the 360 version after the PC version and it is most unstable of the two. With some awful stuttering frame rates, freezing up and other quest braking bugs. Expand

See all 1177 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.