Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3007 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. 100
    It is not often I get lost in a game like I did with Skyrim. Everything about this game screams quality and adventure. While Bethesda hasn't exactly got a track record for delivering bug-free games at launch, this has been a pleasant, polished and amazing experience so far. A much improved third-person view, amazing music, a living breathing world, a menu-system that's amazing and a game filled with interesting stuff to do. Truly a masterpiece.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is completely and utterly addictive in every aspect and quite possibly, I'll say it, the greatest RPG of all time. It affords you the luxury of playing it your way and doesn't try to constrain you. It wants you to get lost in a winter wonderland and believe me, you will. Kiss the rest of your life goodbye.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    97
    Every aspect of Skyrim is done to pinpoint perfection and has the makings of a game that will be played and enjoyed by millions for years to come.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    95
    This is a title that deserves a spot in your gaming library. The environments are stunning, the level of control you have over your own experience is amazing and, simply put, Skyrim is an epic experience.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    93
    The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is extremely ambitious, and at its core, extremely successful. While overreaches in certain areas, it has much to offer in terms of freedom and volume of content. When you look back on the experience, it's not the rough spots that'll stand out, but the broad, heroic feeling of being the powerful and change-affecting center of a richly constructed world.
  7. Nov 27, 2011
    75
    Oblivion is good, but it's a flawed good. It's a different experience in many ways to previous Elder Scrolls games, but, at the same time, it's still the familiar world Elder Scrolls fans know and love. It has the usual kickass story, but the difficulty curve is a bit wobbly, to say the least, and, in general, it's a story of give and take.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    An amazing game in scale and fun. To each their own but I can't even comprehend people who badmouth this game. Skyrim is so rich with great design and moments, that is shines far brighter then any other game that has come out this year. Those with poor reviews obviously did not actually play the game. If they would have they would have come to see how deep and enjoyable this game is truly. Of course this kind of game is not for everyone, but if you like RPG's there is no denying that Skyrim is quite possibly the greatest RPG game ever made....so far! Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    skyrim is amazing in every sense,this game is undoubtely the best game of the year and one of the best games i have ever played in my hole life.The only problem are the terrible bugs. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    So I bought this for the 360, and all I can say IS THANK YOU. I love this game. 20 hours into and I've been doing nothing but exploring and so far I haven't ran into or seen anything that has not amazed me. For all those people that (I'll be fair) rate this game below a 7, you all are morons. I read alot of complaints from pc users got a few things to say to you guys. 1) Update your computer so Skyrim can be played the way it should be and 2) maybe it's time to get a PS3 or 360. So while you guys complain that the graphics dont look good on your screen, I'm going to sit and enjoy the graphics on mine GIVE THIS GAME A 10 Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I purchased Skyrim on launch day, and once I started up the game, there were no load times, no advertisements, no logos besides Bethesda's but a clean interface going straight to the menu screen and new game. Starting and playing the game itself is like living in a fantasy world. The music, sounds, graphics and everything make you feel totally immersed. This game is improved from Oblivion in every way because there are no game breaking bugs, crashes, graphic, or performance issues, and the ones that they do have are very minor and can be patched. I have played about 35 hours so far and I can say that this game is a masterpiece. I have only been to one city so far and have been doing quests only in that city. I have not even gone through half of the quests yet as I have a long list of things to do, and each quest doesn't feel generic like other RPGs' fetch quests and kill quests. There are 8 more holds in the game, so I know I can expect much more than the 300 hours Bethesda advertised. Overall, I can't even begin to describe what this game offers and how much you can do in it while having so much fun. Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    ---Rating---
    Design: 4 /5 (some "streamlining" but the core experience mostly remains intact, repetitive quests)
    Polish: 5 /5 (the
    impressive graphics bring life to Skyrim and give an awe-inspiring sense of scale)
    Value: 5 /5 (a huge open world to explore, one of the few games that deserves the high price tag)

    ---Review---
    The dramatic evolution of TES' graphics quality could almost be likened to the radical transformation of the Fallout series, with the last two installments presenting much more accessible versions. In many ways Skyrim follows in the direction laid out by Oblivion, but there is a general impression that Skyrim is more fleshed out, better polished, and certainly more streamlined than its predecessor.

    The most noticeable- and in some ways disappointing- shift from Oblivion was the complete omission of attributes from a rather decidedly dumbed-down set of mechanics. The emphasis has shifted from specifying one's character abilities during the character creation process to defining them through play, a change that will please some and disappoint others.

    The second major criticism I have is the degree to which the layout of the setting seems contrived and inauthentic; there is one "city" for each hold, with a single player-purchasable home in each "city". I use quotes because this assumes a rather loose definition of what comprises a city; there does not seem much to do in half of them. For having depicted the scale of physical geography in the most compelling manner of the games I've played (seeing the Throat of the World towering in the distance and gradually approaching it is an almost surreal experience), the scale of human geography in Skyrim isn't the most convincing as far as RPGs go.

    Dragon encounters provide some variety in combat gameplay but their novelty seems to wane quickly. The questing experience is adequate aside from a torpid opening scene and formulaic faction-related questlines (initiation into the ranks, learn about hostile faction, defeat hostile faction, possibly dealing with some betrayal along the way), and is still dominated by floating quest markers and instantaneous fast travel a la Oblivion.

    The highly touted inclusion of a second magic system in the form of dragon shouts will no doubt irritate anyone looking to play a pure melee character. A more comprehensive crafting skills system sounds at first like a welcome addition to the series open-ended ideology, but in reality the implementation feels incomplete and disconnected with the rest of the game in my opinion.

    Skyrim is undeniably great in very many ways, but strategic complexity is simply not one of those. If one can enjoy it merely for its more or less immersive yet casual experience, one will be in for a treat like no other.

    (I've since found that- while adding some performance issues- mods can greatly enhance the Skyrim experience on the PC platform, but I can't really justify taking this into account when rating a game that I mostly experienced on the Xbox 360.)
    Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    How can anyone not like this game?
    Skyrim incorporates all of the fun elements in RPGs, while leaving behind all the tediousness. It improves
    on Oblivion in all ways except for the faction mission lines. Expand

See all 1157 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.