The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3557 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; theThe next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. 100
    It is not often I get lost in a game like I did with Skyrim. Everything about this game screams quality and adventure. While Bethesda hasn't exactly got a track record for delivering bug-free games at launch, this has been a pleasant, polished and amazing experience so far. A much improved third-person view, amazing music, a living breathing world, a menu-system that's amazing and a game filled with interesting stuff to do. Truly a masterpiece.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is completely and utterly addictive in every aspect and quite possibly, I'll say it, the greatest RPG of all time. It affords you the luxury of playing it your way and doesn't try to constrain you. It wants you to get lost in a winter wonderland and believe me, you will. Kiss the rest of your life goodbye.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    97
    Whether you're wondering around the wilderness, enjoying the melodies from a bard in an inn, casually strutting about town, or going head to head with a dragon; the music and sound effects add to the immersion in the same way they do in a Lord of the Rings or Star Wars film.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    95
    This is a title that deserves a spot in your gaming library. The environments are stunning, the level of control you have over your own experience is amazing and, simply put, Skyrim is an epic experience.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    93
    The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is extremely ambitious, and at its core, extremely successful. While overreaches in certain areas, it has much to offer in terms of freedom and volume of content. When you look back on the experience, it's not the rough spots that'll stand out, but the broad, heroic feeling of being the powerful and change-affecting center of a richly constructed world.
  7. Nov 27, 2011
    75
    Oblivion is good, but it's a flawed good. It's a different experience in many ways to previous Elder Scrolls games, but, at the same time, it's still the familiar world Elder Scrolls fans know and love. It has the usual kickass story, but the difficulty curve is a bit wobbly, to say the least, and, in general, it's a story of give and take.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Skyrim is a beautiful game that's ridiculously immersive. From the endless wandering to the seemingly never-ending number of quests, SkyrimSkyrim is a beautiful game that's ridiculously immersive. From the endless wandering to the seemingly never-ending number of quests, Skyrim will suck you in. The absolute perfection of Skyrim is that there is no perfect character or perfect way to play, just the character that fits your playstyle on the path you choose to take. This game is quite literally what you make of it -- do whatever you want, whenever you want, however you want and you don't need to be an old hand at fantasy RPGs to do so. The only criticism I have for the game is that there's no ultimate affect to anything. What I mean is that you can play both sides & it doesn't seem to affect anything: side w/ the Imperials & the Companions don't seem to mind; side w/ the Stormcloaks & wander around Solitude in the middle of the Civil War & no one bats an eyelash. Somehow, however, none of this seems to take away from the game or the gameplay. I've never played a fantasy-style RPG prior to Skyrim & I'd give it a solid, solid 9.8. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's aA masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So, SO, good! Makes other games look silly and completely gets away with aSo, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So,So, So, SO, good! Makes other games look silly and completely gets away with a fairly repetitive mission structure by being so darn immersive. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Game plays well. Combat feels solid. A few minor animation glitches here and there but does nothing to harm the experience followers of theGame plays well. Combat feels solid. A few minor animation glitches here and there but does nothing to harm the experience followers of the series have come to expect. The visuals are stunning and if you are playing on PC and have a high powered machine they are even better. The audio is well done and the voice acting is better than it was in Oblivion. The main storyline is engaging and there are a lot of side quests to do. Just like the previous entries in the series, Skyrim is more than a game, it is an immersive experience. It is impressive and the best game of its ilk since Oblivion. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    The best game ever created. Simple as that. Whether you want to compare this game to other RPGs or any other genre, Bethesad has cementedThe best game ever created. Simple as that. Whether you want to compare this game to other RPGs or any other genre, Bethesad has cemented themselves as the based developers in the business. Truly a monumentous achievment in gaming. Kudos to you guys and please continue to take my money, I will be happy to dish out as long as you keep creating games like this. Expand
  6. PHJ
    Dec 16, 2013
    9
    Ahh Skyrim, what to say about that pretty art work from Bethesda, lets begin the crtic.

    For me nothing is perfect, it will be pretty hard
    Ahh Skyrim, what to say about that pretty art work from Bethesda, lets begin the crtic.

    For me nothing is perfect, it will be pretty hard for earn my 10.0 in a critics, and Skyrim for me it's a 9.5 game, lets take a lot by topics:

    - Gameplay: A perfect mix of 3rd person and 1st, and every gameplay with every item it's good, with archery it's good, with sword is good, with all items there is a diferent gameplay for each category and each gameplay it's well made. I stay with 9.3 for the gameplay.

    - IA: 8.5 it's a good score for the IA, it works well, the problem it's some bugs, this usualy happens when the world is pretty pretty big and open, by the size of the world the bugs are minimal, but they are. I saw some delay from the enemies when I was going the fight with them, but this is minimal. I give 8.5 for the IA by the bugs, nothing more.

    - Level Desing: What to say eh? The wolrd is greatest and glorious, from the mountains to the grass, the level desing it's breathtaking and gloryous, well made and perfect for and RPG game, I give 10 easily.

    - Graphics: I stay with 9.0, for 2011 the graphics is pretty good, obviously was dificult for Skyrim to compete with Battlefield 3 for an example, but the graphics was pretty good.

    - Hitory: Takes 10 easily, man WHAT a histroy! The main one it's the dragonborn one where you kill dragons and make other things, but every sidemission has a history, from help a simple guy to enter in a assassin's brotherhood, absolutly perfect!

    - Cons: Further the minimal bugs, to complete the game 100% it's nearly impossible, about a month length, not a month playing 2 hours a day, a month playing 24 hours every each day, so the game extension is ridiculous and can disappoint the most hardcore gamer.

    Finishing, it's a 9.5 game and one of the best RPG games ever made, one of the best games ever made, but isn't by TESV Skyrim that you must to creat expectatives for TES Online, witch is a pay MMORPG game.
    Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2016
    0
    Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring BoringBoring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Boring Expand

See all 1232 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.