Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. May 5, 2011
    75
    The Fancy Pants Adventures it's a simple and fun game that offers many hours of gameplay.
  2. Apr 23, 2011
    60
    If you can adapt to the control eccentricities, there's plenty to recommend, but you might find it too much like hard work at times.
  3. Jun 16, 2011
    75
    Original design and a quirky style keep Fancy Pants enjoyable throughout, but some significant features need a little tweaking before this sketchy hero can stand with the big platforming heavyweights. [July 2011, p.94]
  4. May 6, 2011
    75
    Even though it isn't a long game, Fancy Pants Adventures oozes with charm.
  5. Apr 27, 2011
    73
    Running, flipping, and collecting is where Fancy Pants Adventures was its best and most fun. Fortunately, those moments are plentiful enough to overlook the combat and co-op shortcomings.
  6. Apr 25, 2011
    80
    For only $10, Fancy Pants Adventures offers gamers plenty of bang for their buck. If you are up to the challenge, and don't mind the game's occasionally derivative feel, you'll be pleased with your purchase.
  7. 70
    The Fancy Pants Adventure is a very well made platformer that might be lacking in originality, but more than makes up for it in charm. A highly enjoyable romp.
  8. 70
    It's a funny and visually great game, but the controls could definitly be better.
  9. May 9, 2011
    77
    If you're looking to recapture a bit of that old school Sonic magic, you might want to put on some Fancy Pants.
  10. Jul 8, 2011
    65
    Mr. Fancy Pants feels noticeably stickier than before. [Aug 2011, p.91]
  11. Jul 3, 2011
    40
    The most inadequate of games: a platformer that struggles in its platforming. [Issue#110, p.122]
  12. Apr 26, 2011
    70
    The Fancy Pants Adventures' quirks are overshadowed by its breezy cooperative play and stylish attitude.
  13. Apr 20, 2011
    75
    An exceptional high speed platformer that accomplishes what Sonic has been trying to recapture for years now. The sense of speed and some fancy parkour moves are held back by some slight control issues, but it's a platforming adventure well worth diving into.
  14. May 18, 2011
    58
    So while I didn't love The Fancy Pants Adventures, I won't say that it's not entirely without merit. It certainly has a bit of charm to it, and the ability to jump in and play some co-op through the entire game with a friend is a nice thing to have.
  15. May 12, 2011
    83
    For someone who has never had the best relationship in the world with old-school 2D platformers, The Fancy Pants Adventures acquaints it itself quite well. Exceptionally strong art design, level design, and music more than make up for the fact that sometimes, no matter what you do, Fancy Pants Man's momentum is going to kill you. However, with all the secret areas and collectibles smartly hidden in each level, there's bound to be something new to do when you try again.
  16. Apr 20, 2011
    75
    The bottom line is that running around doing flips and tricks is incredibly fun, so you should check out this $10 or 800 Microsoft point adventure.
  17. Apr 29, 2011
    70
    When I see Fancy Pants Man, the game's scribbled but charming protagonist, I see Tom Cruise sliding down the hall in his underwear. This entire game feels extrapolated from that iconic, underdressed celebration in the absence of authority.
  18. Apr 28, 2011
    75
    Maybe it's not the best platforming game in the market right now, but it's fun, it's simple and it offers many hours of gameplay. Fancy Pants Adventures is unique in its own way, and users can enjoy an overall great experience.
  19. May 15, 2011
    70
    The Fancy Pants Adventures will not knock the ball out of the park in any department, but it still is a very competent side scrolling adventure game. Gamers that love a Mario style adventure game will no doubt enjoy their trip into Mr Fancy Pants world. At 800 Microsoft Points, The Fancy Pants Adventures will satisfy fans of the platform genre, and not damage the pocketbook too much.
  20. 50
    The Fancy Pants biggest problem, though, is that it's just plain dull. [July 2011, p.77]
  21. 70
    A game that may tickle your fancy. [July 2011, p.101]
  22. Jun 24, 2011
    40
    The imprecision of The Fancy Pants Adventure's platforming segments leave a lingering feeling that it's still trying to appeal to an audience that's OK with a quirky-yet-limited platforming game.
  23. May 1, 2011
    60
    A game aimed at platforms fans, which will enjoy the game but notice this is not one especially brilliant, which is a shame, considering the great Flash version.
  24. Aug 14, 2011
    80
    Platforming fans and fans of the original Flash game will enjoy this title the most. As for everyone else, playing through the demo just might be enough to entice you to spend $10 to give this one a spin.
  25. Jun 28, 2011
    50
    One for the patient and curious. [Issue#73, p.100]
  26. Apr 25, 2011
    80
    If you liked Supermeat Boy, then there is no reason for you not to love this game.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. JET
    Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This game is pretty darn awesome. In my opinion it even tops the flash versions. I can't comment on the online side of the game, but the localThis game is pretty darn awesome. In my opinion it even tops the flash versions. I can't comment on the online side of the game, but the local co-op works perfectly and I've not encountered any problems. It's a must buy :D Full Review »
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Let me point out first off that this isn't a simple port of the online flash games. It's an unfortunate assumption that I've been hearing fromLet me point out first off that this isn't a simple port of the online flash games. It's an unfortunate assumption that I've been hearing from many, and I hope this game doesn't lose popularity due to it. I'll admit that I had slightly similar thoughts at first, but I gave it a try and was pleasantly surprised.

    The game is somewhat short, level wise. There's only 11 in the main story, though you can also unlock Worlds 1 and 2 which bumps the amount up to about 20. I managed to beat the main story in one sitting with two other friends (locally, though there is online), but it was fun as hell, especially once we obtained the pencil weapon and we began constantly beating the crap out of each other in order to steal "squiggles" (the "coins" of this game). This was important because at the end of each level, each player is set on a podium depending on who has the most squiggles, with the highest being able to obtain their choice of a collectible by picking a door much quicker than the others.

    Speaking of collectibles, there's an astounding amount; after beating the story, we only managed to obtain about 40 of the 141 items. These include many new pants to wear, new weapons (my favorite so far being a baby rattle), and hat or hair styles. In levels, there are three hidden stars that can be found, a certain number of squiggles, and bonus rooms, and you're able to return to levels in case you've missed anything. One helpful aspect when replaying levels is that the squiggles that you haven't yet collected are filled in, while the ones that you already have (through previous playthroughs) were only outlined; this way, you only need to be on the lookout for the filled squiggles instead of collecting every single one all over again.

    There's also competitive local and online multiplayer games, such as King of the Hill and Racing, along with single player races and other small mini-games to compete for times or scores in the online leaderboards.

    The graphics may seem simple, but the animations are super fluid and the whole thing runs as a solid 60 frames. The music is lovely on the ears, co-op is as frantic as you'd expect, and you'll be spending a nice long time gaining 100% on every level and collecting every item. Definitely give the trial a shot if you're doubtful; you might be surprised at what you find.
    Full Review »
  3. May 1, 2011
    10
    Once again the critics prove to be pretentious morons who fail to realize what fun is. This game is pure gaming goodness. Its clever, hasOnce again the critics prove to be pretentious morons who fail to realize what fun is. This game is pure gaming goodness. Its clever, has plenty of charm, excellent level design, an insane amount of collectables, and an excellent idea of what fun is. COOP opens up additional gameplay mechanics...brilliant! Full Review »