User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 1, 2011
    10
    Once again the critics prove to be pretentious morons who fail to realize what fun is. This game is pure gaming goodness. Its clever, has plenty of charm, excellent level design, an insane amount of collectables, and an excellent idea of what fun is. COOP opens up additional gameplay mechanics...brilliant!
  2. JET
    Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This game is pretty darn awesome. In my opinion it even tops the flash versions. I can't comment on the online side of the game, but the local co-op works perfectly and I've not encountered any problems. It's a must buy :D
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This game is brilliant! Its not just a simple port plus its got a lot more depth than you may think. The local co op is amzing and the camera is fine and I haven't encountered any problems. I don't know what the online co op is like but if its half as good as te local co op than its amazing.
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Let me point out first off that this isn't a simple port of the online flash games. It's an unfortunate assumption that I've been hearing from many, and I hope this game doesn't lose popularity due to it. I'll admit that I had slightly similar thoughts at first, but I gave it a try and was pleasantly surprised.

    The game is somewhat short, level wise. There's only 11 in the main story,
    though you can also unlock Worlds 1 and 2 which bumps the amount up to about 20. I managed to beat the main story in one sitting with two other friends (locally, though there is online), but it was fun as hell, especially once we obtained the pencil weapon and we began constantly beating the crap out of each other in order to steal "squiggles" (the "coins" of this game). This was important because at the end of each level, each player is set on a podium depending on who has the most squiggles, with the highest being able to obtain their choice of a collectible by picking a door much quicker than the others.

    Speaking of collectibles, there's an astounding amount; after beating the story, we only managed to obtain about 40 of the 141 items. These include many new pants to wear, new weapons (my favorite so far being a baby rattle), and hat or hair styles. In levels, there are three hidden stars that can be found, a certain number of squiggles, and bonus rooms, and you're able to return to levels in case you've missed anything. One helpful aspect when replaying levels is that the squiggles that you haven't yet collected are filled in, while the ones that you already have (through previous playthroughs) were only outlined; this way, you only need to be on the lookout for the filled squiggles instead of collecting every single one all over again.

    There's also competitive local and online multiplayer games, such as King of the Hill and Racing, along with single player races and other small mini-games to compete for times or scores in the online leaderboards.

    The graphics may seem simple, but the animations are super fluid and the whole thing runs as a solid 60 frames. The music is lovely on the ears, co-op is as frantic as you'd expect, and you'll be spending a nice long time gaining 100% on every level and collecting every item. Definitely give the trial a shot if you're doubtful; you might be surprised at what you find.
    Expand
  5. JET
    Apr 24, 2011
    0
    This game is pretty darn awesome. In my opinion it even tops the flash versions. I can't comment on the online side of the game, but the local co-op works perfectly and I've not encountered any problems. It's a must buy :D
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Aug 14, 2011
    80
    Platforming fans and fans of the original Flash game will enjoy this title the most. As for everyone else, playing through the demo just might be enough to entice you to spend $10 to give this one a spin.
  2. Jul 8, 2011
    65
    Mr. Fancy Pants feels noticeably stickier than before. [Aug 2011, p.91]
  3. Jul 3, 2011
    40
    The most inadequate of games: a platformer that struggles in its platforming. [Issue#110, p.122]