The Godfather Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 61
  2. Negative: 8 out of 61
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobM.
    Aug 23, 2007
    8
    Great Game. Addicting for the true godfather fans... what we've been waiting for!
  2. May 5, 2011
    10
    In my view this game is underrated. The main problem is probably that people try to compare it to the godfather films. It is not going to be as good as them because it is in a different line of media and focuses more on the game play than anything else. I view it more of a 1950s Grand Theft Auto which lets face it is something that we do not see enough. I rate this as ten due to the ratingIn my view this game is underrated. The main problem is probably that people try to compare it to the godfather films. It is not going to be as good as them because it is in a different line of media and focuses more on the game play than anything else. I view it more of a 1950s Grand Theft Auto which lets face it is something that we do not see enough. I rate this as ten due to the rating being lower than it deserves. I advise that if you are the type of person who enjoys third person soot em ups you should buy this game. If you don't like third person shoot em ups then start liking them. Expand
  3. JayS.
    Oct 2, 2006
    8
    Enjoying the game.
  4. AnonymousMC
    Mar 10, 2009
    8
    This game was pretty fun and it was kindof cool how many executions you could do. i hated the fact that they didnt put al pachino in for michal, that was pretty stupid. Another thing i disliked was there was almost no blood in this game, if you shoot someone in the back of the head with a pistol theres should be a pretty large puddle of blood on the ground afterwards, but regardless thisThis game was pretty fun and it was kindof cool how many executions you could do. i hated the fact that they didnt put al pachino in for michal, that was pretty stupid. Another thing i disliked was there was almost no blood in this game, if you shoot someone in the back of the head with a pistol theres should be a pretty large puddle of blood on the ground afterwards, but regardless this was a pretty fun game that i enjoyed alot. Oh and I dont know why people are saying saints row is better than this game. Im pretty sure saints row was a horrible game, like really horrible. Expand
  5. ShaymussL.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    This is an awesome game. The only thing I dont like about it...I cant put the controller down!
  6. ReelWorld
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    After playing the PC version in the spring I was hesitant to try the 360 version. Wow. Great graphics - pretty good control scheme and loads to do. This is the kinda game that grows on you. I've put 8 hrs into it and I'm nowhere near finished. Sure it gets frustrating and some parts are very hard, but that is what makes for replay value. My only complaint is that the producers After playing the PC version in the spring I was hesitant to try the 360 version. Wow. Great graphics - pretty good control scheme and loads to do. This is the kinda game that grows on you. I've put 8 hrs into it and I'm nowhere near finished. Sure it gets frustrating and some parts are very hard, but that is what makes for replay value. My only complaint is that the producers were unable to secure Pacino's voice for the character of Michael. Expand
  7. MikeM.
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Awesome game, really. it goes along the veins of saints row and grand theft auto, and it holds up just as well as those do. the story is very well done, the characters are great, sticking well along the lines of the godfather we know and love, and it delivers on the action, and the driving, and the oddjobs and assignments. its a great, immersive game, and with all the hours youll spend Awesome game, really. it goes along the veins of saints row and grand theft auto, and it holds up just as well as those do. the story is very well done, the characters are great, sticking well along the lines of the godfather we know and love, and it delivers on the action, and the driving, and the oddjobs and assignments. its a great, immersive game, and with all the hours youll spend playing, its definitely worth a purchase. Expand
  8. RonyC.
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    The new improvements for 360 are awesome. I love this game!
  9. AdamL.
    Feb 24, 2007
    9
    With games like GTA and Saints Row everywhere, I thought this game was refreshing. Fun, realistic, and addicting, and with over 40 hours of gameplay, this game is a winner in my book.
  10. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    This really is one of the most underrated games ever. Even in 2013 it remains a fantastic GTA clone which few games can challenge. Everything you need to know about the game is presented at the start; with both a video and hands-on tutorial. The voice acting and facial detail are way ahead of their time, and the game runs smoothly with great audio. Customisation options are available, butThis really is one of the most underrated games ever. Even in 2013 it remains a fantastic GTA clone which few games can challenge. Everything you need to know about the game is presented at the start; with both a video and hands-on tutorial. The voice acting and facial detail are way ahead of their time, and the game runs smoothly with great audio. Customisation options are available, but don't allow anything silly and ensure that the game stays on a serious tone. The combat system was by far the best at the time, and still remains unchallenged in my opinion. The hand-to-hand combat is not only stylish, varied, deep, realistic and satisfying, but it is intuitive since there is no command list or inputs to memorise just use the right stick to slap them about! Gunplay is equally as solid with a nice cover system and recoil. The overall tone and atmosphere are greatly aided by the incredible living world of New York and the amazing soundtrack. AI in this game is really good too. The story has been revamped to be centred around the fictional character you control, but hasn't lost the Godfather feel. The open-world gameplay of taking over businesses and warehouses never feels repetitive and is always satisfying. What's more, you can do pretty much everything from the start without having to unlock any abilities by doing the excellent story missions. Furthermore, there is a sort of RPG element where you can upgrade your skills slightly and also use your money to buy things. Make no mistake, The Godfather is not a cheap cash-in on one of the greatest all-time films. In its own right, The Godfather is one of the greatest games of all time. Expand
  11. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    The Godfather is an obvious chance to cash in on GTA's success by using the greatest film of all time, but it's actually a great game. It does a great job of blending the classic story with some other elements. Although there are some very infuriating glitches and bugs, this is a very enjoyable and very well made game
  12. Aug 13, 2014
    9
    Possibly the best movie licensed video game out there. The immersion in the Classic story is amazing. You play as a young man seeking your father's revenge. You play along side the film story witnessing or taking part in those classic moments. The godfather boasts an excellent combat system that keeps things fresh. Melee combat is easy to use but complex to master with many differentPossibly the best movie licensed video game out there. The immersion in the Classic story is amazing. You play as a young man seeking your father's revenge. You play along side the film story witnessing or taking part in those classic moments. The godfather boasts an excellent combat system that keeps things fresh. Melee combat is easy to use but complex to master with many different punches, grapples and executions while gun play is so detailed that damage various based on the body part. This is a gta style urban chaos game, so it has all the staples, but the level of story immersion and game play mechanics make this standout. Expand
  13. Apr 7, 2016
    10
    It's a classic, the game is awsome, the graphics is incrible. adaptation is one of the strongest points of the game, being very nostalgic to fans of the series. The Godfather The Game, and one of the most memorable titles that have already played in life. One of the best games already played.
  14. Apr 17, 2016
    10
    In my view this game is underrated. The main problem is probably that people try to compare it to the godfather films. It is not going to be as good as them because it is in a different line of media and focuses more on the game play than anything else. I view it more of a 1950s Grand Theft Auto which lets face it is something that we do not see enough. I rate this as ten due to the ratingIn my view this game is underrated. The main problem is probably that people try to compare it to the godfather films. It is not going to be as good as them because it is in a different line of media and focuses more on the game play than anything else. I view it more of a 1950s Grand Theft Auto which lets face it is something that we do not see enough. I rate this as ten due to the rating being lower than it deserves. I advise that if you are the type of person who enjoys third person soot em ups you should buy this game. If you don't like third person shoot em ups then start liking them. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 79
    Gamers have higher expectations for next-generation titles than current gen games, and The Godfather looks and plays exactly like what it is: A good upgraded current-gen game.
  2. Game Informer
    78
    However, the fact remains that this is still the same flawed game that was released for the current-gen systems. [Oct. 2006, p.104]
  3. The across-the-board improvements on Xbox 360 pick up where the current-gen gameplay left off, but they probably don't justify the added cost for people who have already played a current-gen version.