The Last Remnant Xbox 360

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 122
  2. Negative: 29 out of 122
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndyO.
    Nov 27, 2008
    6
    I really wanted to like this game since i'm a huge jrpg-fan and the only really good one i got to play on the 360 so far was "lost odyssey". unfortunately, not story, not graphics, not gameplay could keep up with "lost odyssey" by a long shot. the main character isn't just the "usual kid who doesn't know any better" but the one who is usually portrayed in jrpgs as the I really wanted to like this game since i'm a huge jrpg-fan and the only really good one i got to play on the 360 so far was "lost odyssey". unfortunately, not story, not graphics, not gameplay could keep up with "lost odyssey" by a long shot. the main character isn't just the "usual kid who doesn't know any better" but the one who is usually portrayed in jrpgs as the "annoying punk". but even if you put that aside, the story is pretty cliched and hollow. the graphics range from "halfway gorgeous" (some parts of cities - but even there texture resolutions can be too low) to "horrible" (environments with textures which are about as detailed as those of an average n64-game but still there are framerate issues. also, character models can be pretty rough at times). the towns are pretty uninteresting, nothing much to explore, just point A to B, basically just a minor distraction between battles. what's positive is the interesting battle system and the fact that party members manage the equipment themselves (one of "infinite undiscovery's" major issues...). if you really just can't wait for FF XIII and you've already finished lost odyssey, this might still be the most interesting choice available (unless you can deal with the frustrating battle system of eternal sonata - then that might be the best one) but i'd rather recommend playing some old jrpg on and old console or emulator rather than this thing. Expand
  2. TroyP.
    Dec 19, 2008
    6
    I love RPGs. I thought Lost Odyssey, Infinite Undiscovery, Fallout 3, and Oblivion were all great games. But Last Remnant is only an ok game in my opinion. I downloaded the game to my hard drive to try to fix the technical problems. The loading time didn't seem long to me and the slowdown was only noticeable in huge battles. But the texture pop-up really bothered me. Also, the game I love RPGs. I thought Lost Odyssey, Infinite Undiscovery, Fallout 3, and Oblivion were all great games. But Last Remnant is only an ok game in my opinion. I downloaded the game to my hard drive to try to fix the technical problems. The loading time didn't seem long to me and the slowdown was only noticeable in huge battles. But the texture pop-up really bothered me. Also, the game itself is just not very good. You can only equip one character; the plot is very weak; many of the characters look exactly the same; battles get very redundant; not enough to do. If you like JRPs a lot then you might like this. Otherwise you should stay away from this game. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2010
    7
    While the lead character is the most unlovable alter ego I ever had to play in any game and the story is hackneyed beyond belief, what makes the game so addicting is the incredible fun and intriguing combat mechanics.
    There is an astonishing amount of detail gone into the design of a really good user interface with useful features that make gaming a lot more fun. Save anywhere you want,
    While the lead character is the most unlovable alter ego I ever had to play in any game and the story is hackneyed beyond belief, what makes the game so addicting is the incredible fun and intriguing combat mechanics.
    There is an astonishing amount of detail gone into the design of a really good user interface with useful features that make gaming a lot more fun. Save anywhere you want, to start with, which is something still unusual for most jrpgs.
    Additionally, combat remains interesting until the very end, which is also an unfortunate rarity for JRPGs (Lost Odyssee comes to mind as an example of how not to do it.)

    While the minor side-characters are a lot of fun, most of the lead characters are pretty badly characterized. The hero's sister is the only believable main character, the rest just forcibly acts in a random way to drive the plot towards the next encounter. At no point in the game do you actually feel in control or contributing anything to the game world, which is a shame.

    A better story with more likeable characters, and the game would be a 10/10 without a doubt. Even so, the unique combat mechanics are definitely worth a look for anyone appreciating turn-based combat with a surprising amount of control and depths.
    Expand
  4. DW
    Nov 25, 2008
    7
    The Last Remnat, when i first started playing, seemed very bland in my opinion. The same kind of male protagonist that Japanese developers returns again. The game itself grows on you. The battle system is deep, and i can see where they were going with it. It gives you somewhat of a feel, of watching a larger scale war. Unlike killing 3 tiny bugs in random battles, you get a larger scale The Last Remnat, when i first started playing, seemed very bland in my opinion. The same kind of male protagonist that Japanese developers returns again. The game itself grows on you. The battle system is deep, and i can see where they were going with it. It gives you somewhat of a feel, of watching a larger scale war. Unlike killing 3 tiny bugs in random battles, you get a larger scale for how important battles are. The main gripe i have is the graphics, and slowdown. I personally had no idea what it was when i first started playing. I have never seen a game with this much slowdown, and texture popup. Its pretty bad in my opinion, and for me, distracts from the beauty of the game. Sometimes armor doesn't load up properly, and Ive had several times where load times have stopped and Ive to restart my whole xbox. Technical aspects aside, I think without all that mess, this game would definately be a great game. I just cant believe SquareEnix would release a game with so much problems. Expand
  5. andret
    Dec 17, 2008
    7
    Graphics: the overall result is good. Great character design, decent levels, textures and the towns are quite detailed. However you can actually see the normal maps being applied after a loading session, which is really bad. And you have many slow downs during combat, mostly due to the particles effects and the insane numbers of characters in a fight scene. Sounds: Voices over are Graphics: the overall result is good. Great character design, decent levels, textures and the towns are quite detailed. However you can actually see the normal maps being applied after a loading session, which is really bad. And you have many slow downs during combat, mostly due to the particles effects and the insane numbers of characters in a fight scene. Sounds: Voices over are sometimes great, sometimes totally horrible. The music is ok. The sounds for the monsters are great. Story: Generic for a RPG, but still interesting. The dialogues are left to be desire from time to time. And the main character name "Rush Sykes", common! That doesn't help for the credibility. The Conqueror should have taken more space in the story. Gameplay: Loading, loading and loading. On the PS3 ?? No joke, you get tons of them and it will stretch your patience. The combat system is addictive...but the game is almost only about that. Apart from fighting, the other gameplay areas are sub par. No interaction with objects, no mini games to breaks from the constant fighting. There is a ton of sub quest, which is fun. Overall it's an average good game, but it feels unfinished because of the incessant loading and the graphical issues. Don't do a follow up on that one, please. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    5
    I enjoyed the story but found the combat system to be a bit of a frustrating mess which although it probably isn't, just felt unfair. i thought the main characters were likable and the voice acting was good. i just feel i would have enjoyed the game allot more if the combat system was different, perhaps if it was grid based instead of the just attacking whats in range then being stuckI enjoyed the story but found the combat system to be a bit of a frustrating mess which although it probably isn't, just felt unfair. i thought the main characters were likable and the voice acting was good. i just feel i would have enjoyed the game allot more if the combat system was different, perhaps if it was grid based instead of the just attacking whats in range then being stuck fighting. although i disliked the combat system, it was unique and the story kept me playing till the end. Expand
  7. May 29, 2014
    7
    You really need to look past this games flaws to like it, I do and it's one of my favorite games. Graphics were around that time pretty good, but there are texture pop ins and the loading time can be long, also this game suffers from framerate issues in battle, which isn't much of a problem, since the battlesystem is turnbased. Battles may be a bit complicated at first, but once you getYou really need to look past this games flaws to like it, I do and it's one of my favorite games. Graphics were around that time pretty good, but there are texture pop ins and the loading time can be long, also this game suffers from framerate issues in battle, which isn't much of a problem, since the battlesystem is turnbased. Battles may be a bit complicated at first, but once you get the hang of it you love it. Leveldesign could be better and the story is pretty simple and good. Characters are well written and the villain seems reasonable. There are a lot of Sidequest for you and the difficulty is really high, so it's a good thing that you can save everywhere. Fans of JRPGs may like this one Expand
  8. Oct 20, 2014
    5
    I loved the story and battle concept IDEA of the game, but the constant loading issues, bugs, pattern and texture failure, glitches etc were so distracting und annoying that i just couldn't play this game thru... Halfway my eye for Game Art & Animation just couldn't handle it anymore. I am shocked that a Production from SE would publish a game with such problems; i wish they would overworkI loved the story and battle concept IDEA of the game, but the constant loading issues, bugs, pattern and texture failure, glitches etc were so distracting und annoying that i just couldn't play this game thru... Halfway my eye for Game Art & Animation just couldn't handle it anymore. I am shocked that a Production from SE would publish a game with such problems; i wish they would overwork it (!) and republish it. Or maybe reuse the idea of the Game play. Shame! Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    70
    There are certainly bits and pieces of decent storytelling hidden throughout the game, but for every ounce of beauty, you get three humdrum pounds of grind. [Holiday 2008, p.78]
  2. In short, The Last Remnant that has all the trappings of a game in the RPG genre, but fails to stand out from the crowd. [Dec 2008, p.119]
  3. 60
    It's really too bad that The Last Remnant is so uneven. For every one thing it does right, there is a glaring fault that ruins the fun.