User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 128
  2. Negative: 30 out of 128
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielL
    Jan 9, 2009
    4
    Hard to level up.. you fight the same monsters over and over and over and over again.. Story line is Okay.. not great.. Not worth all the time spending to level up your characters. It has nice graphics and it can be fun but it takes too much time to do anything and fighting the same enemies is a drag.. I would not buy or rent this game.. stay away and wait for Star Ocean to come out on Hard to level up.. you fight the same monsters over and over and over and over again.. Story line is Okay.. not great.. Not worth all the time spending to level up your characters. It has nice graphics and it can be fun but it takes too much time to do anything and fighting the same enemies is a drag.. I would not buy or rent this game.. stay away and wait for Star Ocean to come out on Xbox360 in the next few months. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2010
    4
    There are some technical issues: long load times, VERY choppy framerate in large battles (can be fixed a little by installing to the hard drive), and bad texture pop-in as textures load several seconds after the images have loaded (this can also be reduced slightly by installing to the hard drive). When the textures do load, the graphics look pretty good. The music to me was ok, butThere are some technical issues: long load times, VERY choppy framerate in large battles (can be fixed a little by installing to the hard drive), and bad texture pop-in as textures load several seconds after the images have loaded (this can also be reduced slightly by installing to the hard drive). When the textures do load, the graphics look pretty good. The music to me was ok, but nothing memorable. The plot was so bland and boring - go save your sister. Wow. Nothing exciting really happens the whole game. The characters were boring, especially the main character Rush. The only main character I like was the four-armed panther (Torgal). The main villain, The Conqueror, looked cool, but the story was so weak that you didn't care about him. The gameplay was not very good in my opinion. There were hundreds of weapons, shields, accessories, etc., but you could only equip Rush. It was so pointless to have hundreds of weapons, etc. if you could only equip one character. The other characters requested components, and you could choose to give them the components or keep them, and when the character got enough component their weapons would upgrade. Sometimes characters would ask for a specific weapon and you could choose to give it to them. But for the most part, 90% of the items felt useless, as you could only equip one character. Also, there were hundreds of components, but you couldn't use them in battle. They could only be used to craft other items, which you didn't need since you could only equip one character. So I felt like was collecting hundreds of useless items so I could make more useless items. The battle system was tedious, and little strategy was involved. Most of the strategy occurred outside of combat when you created your teams formations. Also, in battle, you didn't really have complete control over individual characters, as you could only pick general team commands, and the individual characters would act on their own. Overall this game had a boring story with a tedious battle system. This game felt like a huge grind. Despite the fact that I didn't like it much, I racked up hundreds of hours and got 1000 gamerpoints. I think I spent more time on this game than any game I have ever played in my life, but that is merely because I have OCD. This game is not good. Expand
  3. May 9, 2011
    4
    Ok the beginning of this game was ok, it had potential. The graphics where decent, storyline was going well and i thought this might be a decent rpg. Nooooo, After 5 hours into the game i had 12 people plus in my party. The action battle sequences where hellish to watch, you just didnt know what was going on. The leveling system was also extremely poor. This is a game i would notOk the beginning of this game was ok, it had potential. The graphics where decent, storyline was going well and i thought this might be a decent rpg. Nooooo, After 5 hours into the game i had 12 people plus in my party. The action battle sequences where hellish to watch, you just didnt know what was going on. The leveling system was also extremely poor. This is a game i would not recommend. You may enjoy the first few hours but trust me that will be all. Do not buy. Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2017
    2
    Plutôt joli ce jeu japoniais (pour un moteur Unreal) et avec la direction artistique bizarre et "particulière" pour ne pas dire de mauvais goût des jeux japoniais du genre (mais les Final Fantasy XIII sont tout de même plus réussis à cet égard). The Last Remnant se paye tout de même le luxe de ramer assez souvent avec des ralentissements aussi inexplicables qu'incongrus pendant lesPlutôt joli ce jeu japoniais (pour un moteur Unreal) et avec la direction artistique bizarre et "particulière" pour ne pas dire de mauvais goût des jeux japoniais du genre (mais les Final Fantasy XIII sont tout de même plus réussis à cet égard). The Last Remnant se paye tout de même le luxe de ramer assez souvent avec des ralentissements aussi inexplicables qu'incongrus pendant les combats...

    Des combats au tour par tour qui dans le principe semblent intéressants mais qui sont en réalité à des millions d'années-lumière de ce à quoi on peut s'attendre, nous, les Occidentaux (Heroes of M&M, King's Bounty, Xcom, Omerta...). Des points d'action ? juste une barre jaune impossible à quantifier. Des déplacements à gérer ? que nenni. Une vue globale du champ de bataille ? non. Est-ce qu'on peut au moins tourner autour de ses unités ? juste à 180° et encore ! peut-on dézoomer ? même pas ! pourtant Front Mission 3 sur PS1 était pas mal fait du tout... sans doute l'exception qui confirme la règle.

    On incarne un jeune con (on dirait un gamin de 12 ans) qui a le charisme d'un Kévin. Les dialogues (en anglais) ont la platitude d'un spot pour une lessive. Quant à l'histoire, elle est d'une niaiserie impossible à quantifier, elle aussi. C'est malgré tout un peu moins insupportable qu'un FF XIII tout en restant d'un ennui incommensurable. Une purge !
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2014
    1
    Avoid this game at all costs the combat system is terrible, there is no level up system you can't give items to other units you control they ask you for items you need the problem is they only do this 9 times out of 10 better off catching the plague then paying for this turd of a game
  6. [Anonymous]
    Jan 4, 2009
    0
    I'd rather burn myself than play this game. And after receiving second degree burns before I say that rather seriously.Horrible slowdown, graphic issues, over complicated attack systems, jerky character movement, and not to mention horrible British accents. I really tried to play this game I really did but it was so bad that after 5 minutes I stopped
  7. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    While some concepts are cool, and the art direction is basic if not attractive JRPG fare, this game sucks. You more watch it than really engage in the looooonnnnnggggg battles. And in a game that requires so much grinding, that just too awful. skip it, avoid it. Its awful, and a continuation of square enix sulling its good name.
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    70
    There are certainly bits and pieces of decent storytelling hidden throughout the game, but for every ounce of beauty, you get three humdrum pounds of grind. [Holiday 2008, p.78]
  2. In short, The Last Remnant that has all the trappings of a game in the RPG genre, but fails to stand out from the crowd. [Dec 2008, p.119]
  3. 60
    It's really too bad that The Last Remnant is so uneven. For every one thing it does right, there is a glaring fault that ruins the fun.