Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    70
    The Lego Movie Video Game offers a shorter campaign, fewer secrets and a more boring character gallery than usual. Despite this, it manages to still be one of the better Lego games from the TT factory thanks to the charm and the high pace. Seeing the movie first is strongly recommended though.
  2. Feb 21, 2014
    70
    Much like The Lego Movie is a surprisingly great film, The Lego Movie Videogame is a surprisingly good game. Unlike the former, unfortunately, it falls notably short of greatness.
  3. Feb 13, 2014
    70
    The LEGO Movie Videogame is an okay game that LEGO fans will enjoy, but is missing some of the charm of the film and doesn't feel like it lives up to TT's other LEGO titles.
  4. Feb 11, 2014
    70
    The latest title in TT Games' long line of great family-friendly games. The developer has turned out another rock-solid gaming experience here, but how much you love it depends on how much you love the source material. I thought The Lego Movie was a great film, so I like the game, but your mileage may vary.
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    50
    The Lego Movie Videogame follows the instruction manual too closely, hitting the same same plot points as the movie, and even rehashing some of its gags. This is the kind of tie-in we thought we'd seen the back of.
  6. Feb 20, 2014
    50
    Younger gamers will have a blast, but picky Lego-enthusiasts will find better alternatives out there.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Dec 11, 2014
    2
    I played the demo of this game with my son, after having previously seen the movie. We've played through several other LEGO games together,I played the demo of this game with my son, after having previously seen the movie. We've played through several other LEGO games together, such as Indiana Jones and Star Wars, and had a lot of fun. While those other games contained some annoying glitches, they weren't enough to detract from the overall experience, and certainly didn't prevent us from finishing the game. This one, however, is a completely different story. After experiencing one game-stopping bug after another, and eventually running into one that completely halted any progress in the first stage of the Western world (trying to build the covered wagon), I returned it for exchange to amazon, hoping that maybe I'd just gotten a bum disc. I should have just gone with a refund. The problem is not with the media, but with the developers releasing a game in an unacceptably unfinished state. I can't even recall any PC game over the past 15 years released with this many problems. And no patch from Traveler's Tales to address all the issues as of yet. I contacted them detailing the myriad problems I had with this game which, given how many other accounts one can find all over the net indicates that it is definitely not just me, and have yet to receive a response over a month later. I do believe we're done with the LEGO franchise, at least where the video games are concerned. Full Review »
  2. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    It's a good game for the family! Awesome game,is cool! not a hardcore game,its too easy,but for the kids is the best! TT games makes a reallyIt's a good game for the family! Awesome game,is cool! not a hardcore game,its too easy,but for the kids is the best! TT games makes a really **** games! Full Review »
  3. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    This game goes back to what makes legos fun. Original lego games where about retelling movies in lego format. Recent entries in the seriesThis game goes back to what makes legos fun. Original lego games where about retelling movies in lego format. Recent entries in the series (Marvel, DC) have foregone any movies to tell their own story and they were greatly lacking. Even worse is that the games devolved into twitch gaming for hardcore games rather than games that kids can play. Fortunately this game goes back to basics and tells the movie story with only a minor portion being hub based. Unfortunately telling the lego movie in terms of legos looses a lot of luster. All you really do is watch scenes from the movie and then play a lego level. I have to admit that the bonus room was pretty cool though.

    This game gets back to making legos fun rather than trying to challenge gamers with reaction speed. This is a nice change back to the original games. The activities in the hub level have also been dramatically reduced so you can focus on the story and not all the extra junk that has seemed to take over recent games. There are a few questionable design decisions though. A couple of places you fall out of control with only minimal control over your character. These sections are frustrating and add little to the game itself other than to waste your time. The free play areas (which were meaningful before) are really useless now. Fortunately you don't actually have to complete the FP levels, just get all the stuff and exit out. Nevertheless I didn't really feel much desire to play through the FP levels.

    Perhaps the largest glaring issue with this game is the characters and their abilities. Legos have always been about playing with different characters (or the primary character). Emmet just isn't interesting. Nor are any of his cohorts. Bafflingly there are several abilities that only a single/few characters have forcing you to use them in certain areas. This is especially frustrating when you get to the final couple of levels and suddenly you need a brand new character. It seems like they were stretching to find characters to add (which is further strengthened by the 10 outfits for Emmet of which 2 actually appeared in the movie). It just seems like a waste of characters and abilities.

    Overall this game returns lego to formula. I really hope TT goes back to the basics for their future games rather than the hub-ladened mess that recent lego games have become.
    Full Review »