User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 80
  2. Negative: 15 out of 80

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    I for one Love this game so very much. When you able to also have friends on it the game becomes Very intrusting I wonder who still plays this and I wish i didn't give it away to my cousin I need to get it back ASAP It was fun V.S Ai and Remaking Battles like Helms Deep when you see like 10 Attack Trolls and 200 or more Enemys coming at your gate all you see is arrows raining down on YourI for one Love this game so very much. When you able to also have friends on it the game becomes Very intrusting I wonder who still plays this and I wish i didn't give it away to my cousin I need to get it back ASAP It was fun V.S Ai and Remaking Battles like Helms Deep when you see like 10 Attack Trolls and 200 or more Enemys coming at your gate all you see is arrows raining down on Your enemy you get that rush and when they break the gate and You have men waiting right there and charge into the Enemy it's Such a Wonder Battle Feeling it makes you feel and Think as If you were there in the battle making your next move! Expand
  2. Matthew
    Jul 6, 2006
    9
    Yay! an RTS finally works well on a console! I got the game last night and need to offer a important tip: go through the tutorial. While it may seem like a no brainer, here is the real tip: to find the tutorial, scroll left on the D-pad from Single Player->Tutorials. If you just jump in to the single player, you
  3. TomM.
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    When you get comments and scores that are between the two extremes, what do you do? Well, thats what Microsoft Marketplace is all about. Download the demo and see for yourself just how good this game is. It may not be for everyone. I personally hate RPG's. But I have a soft spot for RTS games. And the first RTS for Xbox 360 is a winner.
  4. Paul
    Jul 19, 2006
    9
    After you get used to the controls and start to master it, it's really a unique experience! I would have to recommend this to anyone willing to get used to it.
  5. JoeH.
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Awesome game, the multiplayer modes rock!
  6. GamerTag:BruinsFan247
    Jul 7, 2006
    8
    After reading a lot of the media reviews, I was kind of skeptical about buying this title. However I had a copy of OverG Fighters itching to be returned. I was concerned about all the comments about the frame rate drops during large scale battles, not as big a problem as I had expected. My only real dissappointment was the shadows in the game are pre-N64ish. A whole large tree's After reading a lot of the media reviews, I was kind of skeptical about buying this title. However I had a copy of OverG Fighters itching to be returned. I was concerned about all the comments about the frame rate drops during large scale battles, not as big a problem as I had expected. My only real dissappointment was the shadows in the game are pre-N64ish. A whole large tree's shadow has a poly count of around 25. I had alot of fun playing this game. Im only on the third mission, but lots of fun. I reccomend not skipping over the tutorial on this one though. The controlls work well, obviously not as well as a PC, but very well. There should have been a way to map out some of the controlls to using a keyboard or even mouse. Oh well, maybe next time. Expand
  7. LouiseP.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    WOW! This game rocks! I have not played RTS games before but this one was very easy to play. I have not had this much fun since Oblivion. Definately add this game to your collection!
  8. James
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    This game REALLY does it for me - the best thing since command and conquer & Red alert 2 :) LOVE IT
  9. CarcasG.
    Aug 8, 2006
    8
    Take it from me the game is good and it deserves a nine but anyone who would dare rate any lord of the rings game below a 6 or 60 is craz. Long live Tolkien and Peter J.
  10. AdamD.
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    This game is a fine example of how an RTS WILL work on a console. If you love action, strategy, and wonderful graphics, do yourself a favor and pick up this game.
  11. BillB.
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    Wow. This game rocks. So hard. I've been playing it all night online. Big ups to EA. I know what I'm doing for the rest of the summer.
  12. gmoneybagsyourmom
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    anyone who says this game is bad is ****ed. Because the fact that EA took a RTS game and put it on to the console succesfully, and managed to even surpass the pc version is awsome. And to those of you who disagree, especial the fag that said it was trip, i say get ****ed
  13. AceC.
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    Excellent RTS for a console. Cant put this one down, multiplayer is a blast.
  14. SeanT.
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    This game rocks.
  15. Bryan
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    I dont think Henry even played the game. Almost everything he said is completely wrong? This game is miles better than the first version and the intuitive control systym makes it completely playable on console. Well done EA for not taking the short way round. Great game.
  16. TimT.
    Aug 31, 2006
    9
    I loved this game - the selection controls were very good, and the graphics were top-notch. With a 5.1 surround system the sounds come from all around and really help you identify what's just off-screen. Only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because of the pauses in gameplay (texture loads?) that cause the framerate to stutter. Seems to only happen at the beginning of levels but I loved this game - the selection controls were very good, and the graphics were top-notch. With a 5.1 surround system the sounds come from all around and really help you identify what's just off-screen. Only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because of the pauses in gameplay (texture loads?) that cause the framerate to stutter. Seems to only happen at the beginning of levels but they could do better. Maybe they should use one of the other CPU cores to do the loading in the background? Expand
  17. RedXIII
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    I am glad to see that RTS games are coming back to the console, the last one I played was Command and Conquer for the PS1. This game is visually amazing, the controls are easy to master, yet there is so many things you can do. Playing as either good or evil is nice, as well as being able to train air units. It can be tedious to set up squads, but you don't even have to use them. I am glad to see that RTS games are coming back to the console, the last one I played was Command and Conquer for the PS1. This game is visually amazing, the controls are easy to master, yet there is so many things you can do. Playing as either good or evil is nice, as well as being able to train air units. It can be tedious to set up squads, but you don't even have to use them. Excellent game if you like RTS's. Expand
  18. LazarA.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    This is a cool game. I love it. I can not stop playing it. Thanks for making it.
  19. AliV.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    It's great to have an awesome RTS on 360.
  20. JoeG.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    Awesome. I can't believe how easy it is to control and the multiplayer is a blast. Totally pick this up if you are into RTS and love your 360!
  21. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This real time strategy game that takes you through all new Middle-Earth environments, new factions, characters, units and buildings. Set in the same time frame of the movies, book and original Battle for Middle-Earth game, BFME2 takes players on the the edge of their seats. All the excitement in the movies of what happens next is in this game, BFME is here again, with the most outstanding graphics never seen before, audio and solid game play.

    Battle for Middle-Earth II contains three game play modes all different for one another; campaign, skirmish, and War of the Ring modes. In addition, there is multiplayer player capability for both skirmish and War of the Ring game modes. which makes the game a lot more exciting, you have to hunt for your own resources you have to defend; your land, your castle, and your leaders. you need to upgrade your armour your weapons, at a pace in order to survive against you enemy. Build your watch towers, build your barracks, build you castle, and most of all build you walls here come the biggest fantasy , tactical war game you have ever played. There are two single player campaigns within The Battle for Middle-Earth II with one played as a good faction and the other played as one of the evil factions of Middle-Earth. The overall flow and story of the campaign mode is exciting. Each campaign is broken up into a series of missions that tell a story, to progress through this story you'll have to achieve certain objectives within each mission. to achieve this you will be defending or attacking on one of the many skirmish maps. so be prepared
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. To produce a console RTS game that equals its PC counterpart is no mean feat, and here Electronic Arts has even surpassed it slightly in some areas.
  2. 70
    As far as multiplayer goes, while a couple heroes dispatching entire enemy armies on their own might seem true to the spirit of the films, it hardly makes for a balanced and satisfying online encounter.
  3. With the new control system there is a bit of a learning curve, especially if you're not familiar with other RTS titles. However, if you give the game a few missions and a chance to learn the controls properly, BFME2 should appeal to most RPG and Strategy fans out there, and even a few of the action-oriented gamers.