User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 828 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 828
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. O.C.
    Dec 27, 2008
    10
    Pros: - 5 great games in one package - Cons: - Graphics could use work on a few of the games - The Bottom Line: With an addictive online multiplayer, an ingenious puzzle game, and one of the best single player FPS games ever made, The Orange Box is a terrific deal. ---- mjhhiv's Full Review: I recently paid $60 for Bomberman: Act Zero. The game is a degenerate mess, and is clearly Pros: - 5 great games in one package - Cons: - Graphics could use work on a few of the games - The Bottom Line: With an addictive online multiplayer, an ingenious puzzle game, and one of the best single player FPS games ever made, The Orange Box is a terrific deal. ---- mjhhiv's Full Review: I recently paid $60 for Bomberman: Act Zero. The game is a degenerate mess, and is clearly not worth your money. Half Life 2: The Orange Box was also worth $60 on release day, and with 5 games in one box, you Expand
  2. TheNumberQ.
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game I have ever played. I have spent more play time on this game than probably any other game I own. I have played half life 2 and episodes one and two uncountable times. Portal has given me endless amounts of fun and team fortress 2 does an amazing job at providing a wonderful multiplayer experience. If you don't have this game, then I'm guessing that every Easily the best game I have ever played. I have spent more play time on this game than probably any other game I own. I have played half life 2 and episodes one and two uncountable times. Portal has given me endless amounts of fun and team fortress 2 does an amazing job at providing a wonderful multiplayer experience. If you don't have this game, then I'm guessing that every gamestore within 200 miles of you is closed, or some other extremely unfortunate circumstance where you cant get your hands on this game. If you can get this game and are choosing not to, I suggest you check into the nearest mental hospital. Expand
  3. Maslab
    May 19, 2008
    10
    Hands down the best collection of games ever. You've got the Game of the Year and its little babies, the Best Multiplayer Game of the Year, and The best Puzzle Game of the Year. Portal also created a whole new genre, the First Person Puzzler, and if I'm wrong, just ignore that. HL2: Episode 2 is, like Portal, short but sweet. With wider and more realistic areas to battle Hands down the best collection of games ever. You've got the Game of the Year and its little babies, the Best Multiplayer Game of the Year, and The best Puzzle Game of the Year. Portal also created a whole new genre, the First Person Puzzler, and if I'm wrong, just ignore that. HL2: Episode 2 is, like Portal, short but sweet. With wider and more realistic areas to battle through. Team Fortress 2 is a blast, nice graphics choice, great gameplay, and great maps, even if the one use 80% of the time is 2Fort. Portal is just plain fun. The physics are great. Its short, 3-4 hours on your first run through, maybe 45 minutes on later run throughs. Portal is awesome. If you think it bites because its short, just ask what Valve could've added to make it longer. The Orange Box has definitely shown that Valve is still out there. This Box is a must for all fans of games who like shooters, puzzles, and online multiplayer. Expand
  4. SamM.
    Jul 4, 2008
    9
    All 5 games would have to be pretty bad for this package not to score at least a 7 just on value alone.But 5 quality games on one disc then you are not going to find better value anywhere on the 360 that is fact. But giving that all the games are pure quality then you might just understand how good an offer the orange box is. There is really no excuse not to own this. The single player All 5 games would have to be pretty bad for this package not to score at least a 7 just on value alone.But 5 quality games on one disc then you are not going to find better value anywhere on the 360 that is fact. But giving that all the games are pure quality then you might just understand how good an offer the orange box is. There is really no excuse not to own this. The single player episodes are fantastic one player fps experiences, That look great and play as well as any thing on the 360. Portal is a fantastic puzzler that can grip you and become so addictive. And as for the online game Team Fortress 2, This is just a great multi-player that will go some way to justifying your gold membership. Expand
  5. Kevin
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    The Orange Box is not one game it is 5. I just bought it today at gamestop for 35$ and went straight home to re live Half Life 2 but instead of my PC this time is the 360. This is not a cheap port of Half Life 2 or its episodes, it is a beauty to play and the control scheme for consoles is genius on so many levels. There are frame rate issues here and there that I didn't get on my PC The Orange Box is not one game it is 5. I just bought it today at gamestop for 35$ and went straight home to re live Half Life 2 but instead of my PC this time is the 360. This is not a cheap port of Half Life 2 or its episodes, it is a beauty to play and the control scheme for consoles is genius on so many levels. There are frame rate issues here and there that I didn't get on my PC version of Half Life 2 and its other alliteration. After your done with those games you still have Team Fortress 2, and Portal to run around with. Both which I find spectacular, and could warrant as a standalone 20$ title. Is a great buy but may not be for everyone since most of the content is for mature audiences. Expand
  6. ChristianH.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    THIS GAME F*CKING P*SSED ME OFF! Not because it was bad, but because my sh*tty PC couldn't play it! I played all the game individually (except half-life 2: ep 2 and ep 1 because my friend wouldn't let me.) And all games were fun. Portal was puzzle game of the fucking decade, TF2 was the best multiplayer experience since counter-strike, and CoD4. HL2 is just HL2 and I expect THIS GAME F*CKING P*SSED ME OFF! Not because it was bad, but because my sh*tty PC couldn't play it! I played all the game individually (except half-life 2: ep 2 and ep 1 because my friend wouldn't let me.) And all games were fun. Portal was puzzle game of the fucking decade, TF2 was the best multiplayer experience since counter-strike, and CoD4. HL2 is just HL2 and I expect episode 2 and 1 to hopefully be the same (not exactly the same of course). Expand
  7. Timerider
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    The best game I ever bought for the 360. I got it the day it came out for $60 just for the opportunity to play Portal, and it was worth it. But there's so much more on the disc that it just makes it more awesome. Once I finally got broadband I started playing Team Fortress 2 and I've never been able to stop. It is just the best multiplayer game I've ever played. The only The best game I ever bought for the 360. I got it the day it came out for $60 just for the opportunity to play Portal, and it was worth it. But there's so much more on the disc that it just makes it more awesome. Once I finally got broadband I started playing Team Fortress 2 and I've never been able to stop. It is just the best multiplayer game I've ever played. The only issue is that Valve has yet to make any progress toward updating the 360 version, yet there are tons of updates for the PC. Anyway, there is no reason to give this anything less than a 10. Expand
  8. garyf
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    Best game ever!!!! if I could, I would give it like a thirty! Half life is brilliant with the story and variaty of guns. Portal is completey original, something i've never seen in my life!! and TF2, that was the game that got me hooked!! brilliant style of graphics, 6 maps that is replayable FOREVER! and distinct classes that really make this a true class based game. when I played Best game ever!!!! if I could, I would give it like a thirty! Half life is brilliant with the story and variaty of guns. Portal is completey original, something i've never seen in my life!! and TF2, that was the game that got me hooked!! brilliant style of graphics, 6 maps that is replayable FOREVER! and distinct classes that really make this a true class based game. when I played this, I sold my halo game and said screw it. Expand
  9. RowanF
    Apr 17, 2009
    10
    Five impossibly good games, all for fourty pounds. That's realy all you need to know. Half Life Two is made even better with it's list of new acheivments; Episode One delivers some more of that trademark awsome gaming; Episode Two delivers more of the same but with quite a few new additions, luckily just before it started to get samey, and a nice graphical update; Portal's Five impossibly good games, all for fourty pounds. That's realy all you need to know. Half Life Two is made even better with it's list of new acheivments; Episode One delivers some more of that trademark awsome gaming; Episode Two delivers more of the same but with quite a few new additions, luckily just before it started to get samey, and a nice graphical update; Portal's darkly witty storyline and innovative game design make it an absolute classic, and Team Fortress 2's addictive gameplay and radical stlye will make you fall in love with it instantly. All in all, you really can't go wrong here. Perhaps the only bad thing that comes to mind is that a couple of the games are a little short considering their development time but, hey, that's Valve for you. Expand
  10. NeilW
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    The cake may be a lie, but how good these games are for the price is not. I really liked the Half-Life games, but think Portal is absosutely brilliant. It was worth the price for Portal alone. If I get stranded on an desert island with only one game for my 360 I'm taking this one.
  11. MikeC.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    5 games in 1??!! A must-buy for 360, PC and PS3 owners
  12. JasonW.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Regnor V., Jeff K., Andrew H., Ryan W. and Rick R. have no idea what they are talking about. Team Fortress not having Deathmatch? It is called "Team" Fortress, after all.... And as far as Valve forcing long time owners to repurchase HL2 and Episode 1? Umm, call me crazy but HL2Ep1 has never been released on the 360 before. And I save the best for last: calling HL2, HL2Ep1 and HL2Ep2 an Regnor V., Jeff K., Andrew H., Ryan W. and Rick R. have no idea what they are talking about. Team Fortress not having Deathmatch? It is called "Team" Fortress, after all.... And as far as Valve forcing long time owners to repurchase HL2 and Episode 1? Umm, call me crazy but HL2Ep1 has never been released on the 360 before. And I save the best for last: calling HL2, HL2Ep1 and HL2Ep2 an XBLA game?! Do you have any concept of how big these games are? XBLA tops out at around 512MB per game, max. And that's not even 1/10th of what it would need to be to house this game on XBLA. Quit whining and give this game what it deserves. A 10! Expand
  13. JasonJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This has got to be one of the best releases for any console or PC. Where else do you get such great quality games for such a low price? Thanks Valve!
  14. bazdogherb
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    It's probably the best game/package you could ever hope to buy...
  15. ChristianB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt one of the greatest buys of al time, the orange box is a masterpiece. 5 games for the price of one is already a good deal, then take in mind each of those games has wonderful appeal.do not ignore one of the greates deals ever.
  16. [Anonymous]
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    For all the idiots who are saying "how dare Valve make us pay for Episode 1 and Half Life 2!!!" Why don't you check the individual price of portal and Team Fortress 2 on steam. Oh, wait. They add up to $50.00. They also want $30.00 for episode 2. So basically even if you have Half Life 2 and episode 1, your only paying an extra $10 for episode 2, saving you $20.00 (and you get your For all the idiots who are saying "how dare Valve make us pay for Episode 1 and Half Life 2!!!" Why don't you check the individual price of portal and Team Fortress 2 on steam. Oh, wait. They add up to $50.00. They also want $30.00 for episode 2. So basically even if you have Half Life 2 and episode 1, your only paying an extra $10 for episode 2, saving you $20.00 (and you get your old games again to). So it is a good deal for what you are getting. I played through single player in about 30 hours, which is a huge time considering I had already beaten episode 1 and the origional game, so I only really had to work my way through the puzzles of ep. 2 and portal. Overall, a massively amazing set of games worth every penny. Expand
  17. RichardM.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Ridiculous amount of fun for the price. Each game is outstanding, even if Portal is a bit short. Highly recommended.
  18. SteveS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    The orange box is simply awesome. my only complaint is episode 2 and portal were short. but i have no doubt people will create custom portal challenges adding to the replay value greatly, and the price for 5 games makes it a must have.
  19. DaneP.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing.
  20. ZackT.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Every single game provided in this package impressed me to the fullest. With Half-Life 2: Episode Two you really felt like you were Gordon just as it has been in the previous episodes. Team Fortress 2 has you going for hours trying out all the available classes. Portal's amazing physics had me beating the game twice. 11/10, excellent package for an excellent price.
  21. MarkB.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing package; not only is each piece of it worth the price alone, with hours of single-player entertainment in total and years-worth of value from team-fortress 2, but you get everything for so cheap! It really is a perfect package, a must buy, and one of the best games this year.
  22. RobertN.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Anyone not voting this package a 10 is not thinking this through. 9 in the very least. All complaints about this game are vacuous. Yes, it's an "old" engine, but it was the best engine at the time of original release (save maybe Doom 3, but that was nothing but graphics). The game looks amazing, not GoW amazing, but it looks great. Framerates are rock solid. I checked out the Anyone not voting this package a 10 is not thinking this through. 9 in the very least. All complaints about this game are vacuous. Yes, it's an "old" engine, but it was the best engine at the time of original release (save maybe Doom 3, but that was nothing but graphics). The game looks amazing, not GoW amazing, but it looks great. Framerates are rock solid. I checked out the beginning of Episode 2 and was awestruck at the visuals, and I am not easily impressed. Value is a 10, replay is a 10, graphics are a 10 (or at least a 9). Sound is a 10, voice acting is a 10, artistic value is a 10. How could anyone rate this a 6?! How could anyone rate this an 8? I am sorry, but this is a 9+ package and anyone saying otherwise is just trying to stir the pot for no reason. Expand
  23. DonGreen
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Fantastic package...probably the best ever in the history of video games. You've got 1....the best FPS of all time in Half Life 2 and ep 1-2...2. Portal - a PERFECT game...seriously...nothing else like it. Perfectly original. 3. Team Fortress 2 - the best and most deep FPS experience. This game rocks!
  24. GMan003
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Just incredible. Even with slightly dated graphics, it still amazes with the gameplay. All three of the main games (TF2, Portal and Episode 2) would be a powerful standalone title, but all together? Only problem: Which one gets "Game of the Year"?
  25. IsaacB.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    This IS the deal of the century. Five great games for the price of one. Half-Life 2 has been updated. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 was an EPIC experience that I felt as if it were real. Portal was the greatest two hours in gaming I've had. Team Fortress 2 is addicting and fun as hell. Buy this.
  26. VicV
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    I Never played Half Life 2 and I am so happy it is now available on the Xbox 360. The story line and the engine that runs this game are excellent. BTW - I am playing Bioshock at the same time as HL2 and HL2 wins... I have many hours ahead of me with the rest of HL2 and episode 1 and 2. Looking forward to it.
  27. PeterA.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Super Great Deal! There is no reason not to get this game. Tons of hours of great game play and story. And if you ever get tired of single player, you can jump on TF2 and blow some people up! This should be in everyone's game library!
  28. SethB.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    First off, I would like to mention that the Half-Life universe is far different from the Halo universe. Please, please, PLEASE stop telling us your opinion on which game is better, it's annoying and unwanted. With that said, The Orange Box, like IGN said, is the greatest gaming value ever released. You don't only pay for the next episode of Half-Life 2, you're paying for First off, I would like to mention that the Half-Life universe is far different from the Halo universe. Please, please, PLEASE stop telling us your opinion on which game is better, it's annoying and unwanted. With that said, The Orange Box, like IGN said, is the greatest gaming value ever released. You don't only pay for the next episode of Half-Life 2, you're paying for Episode 2, Portal, and the much antisipated Team Fortress 2. Half-Life 2 was even upgraded in this pack. It now hosts HDR and the shadows created by the flashlight! This makes "Water Hazard" and "We don't go to Ravenholm" a whole new experience. The new touches to Episode Two are also intertaining, such as new enemies, vehicles, vistas, and not to mention - CINEMATIC PHYSICS! What's more fun than seeing a bridge crumble under the stress of the vehicles on it? When I bought The Orange Box, I immediately played Portal, which in my opinion was one of the most unique games that I've ever played. And alas Team Fortress 2. A very fun and detailed multiplayer. Overall, The Orange Box is a must buy, for those who only want to play the new HL episode, to those who want to play Half Life 2 for the first time. Expand
  29. GarrettT.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    The Orange Box is likely the best deal in video game history for games tha taren't 7 years old. Now, for those Halo fanboys out there: Half-Life 2 is a far superior game to Halo. Now, I'm not saying Halo wasn't fun, as it sure was, but Half-Life just blows it all away. And those who b**** about graphics are just trying to make an excuse. Who cares about graphics, as long as The Orange Box is likely the best deal in video game history for games tha taren't 7 years old. Now, for those Halo fanboys out there: Half-Life 2 is a far superior game to Halo. Now, I'm not saying Halo wasn't fun, as it sure was, but Half-Life just blows it all away. And those who b**** about graphics are just trying to make an excuse. Who cares about graphics, as long as it's a good game? Portal was simply the greatest. The fact that it was'nt just a simple puzzler just made it all the better. If any of you think it will just be challenge after challenge with no story at all, prepare to be surprised. Episode Two was likely the best of the series so far. TF2 is great, while not my favorite, but I will likely play it with some of my friends in our clan. Portal does NOT come with a level editor, but you can use specialized tools like Hammer to create your own maps once Valve releases the proper rescources to release it. So only serious map-makers will really be able to do much. Expand
  30. JamesL.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    A truly outstanding collection of games, the quantity is one thing with five games included. But the quality of each individual title just couldn't be any better. Anyone who misses out is depriving themselves of the greatest pieces of video game action to ever be released!
  31. JeremyS.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    To say that this game is an eclectic mix of high-octane fps action, brilliant puzzle solving, squad based combat, and blazing vehicle sequences would be a gross understatement. Add to this an epic and engaging storyline and wrap it all in one of the best physics based graphics engines and you can't possibly go wrong. And that's all in the original title, by adding Ep.1, 2, To say that this game is an eclectic mix of high-octane fps action, brilliant puzzle solving, squad based combat, and blazing vehicle sequences would be a gross understatement. Add to this an epic and engaging storyline and wrap it all in one of the best physics based graphics engines and you can't possibly go wrong. And that's all in the original title, by adding Ep.1, 2, portal, and TF2, Valve has given us possibly the best retail purchase gamers have ever seen. Expand
  32. RyanH.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Portal alone is a 9 for $50 and that's only due to its shortness. Then you add TFC2. Then you add Half Life 2 and both its episode. How can this be anything less than the perfect package for an fps fan? Back to portal. Most incredibly original and incredibly polished game I've ever played. With the amount of awesome per minute crammed in I can understand the short length of it. Portal alone is a 9 for $50 and that's only due to its shortness. Then you add TFC2. Then you add Half Life 2 and both its episode. How can this be anything less than the perfect package for an fps fan? Back to portal. Most incredibly original and incredibly polished game I've ever played. With the amount of awesome per minute crammed in I can understand the short length of it. And the combination of dark humor and creepiness is absolutely perfect. A player can't help but stop, look around, and appreciate that sinking feeling of foreboding at one point; and then at another you'll come close to falling out of your seat laughing. Unless you're one of those unlucky few who gets motion sickness from first person shooters, you should own this package. Expand
  33. Eric
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    There's something here for everyone. Each game is a re-invention of their genre and feels very fresh. Portal alone is its own genre (puzzle-shooter?). Highly recommended. A triumph of gaming.
  34. AustinP.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Amazing deal, and amazing quality. That more or less describes the Orange Box. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is simply entertaining from start to finish. Then you have Team Fortress 2, the addictive multiplayer game included with the package. Also great. Finally, Portal, one of the best puzzle-based games I've ever played, and has some of the most hilarious humor ever heard in a game. As a Amazing deal, and amazing quality. That more or less describes the Orange Box. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is simply entertaining from start to finish. Then you have Team Fortress 2, the addictive multiplayer game included with the package. Also great. Finally, Portal, one of the best puzzle-based games I've ever played, and has some of the most hilarious humor ever heard in a game. As a whole, one hell of a great deal, and plenty of fun to be had between these three great games. Thumbs up. Expand
  35. ChristopherP.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    I love this game. It's so much better than any other FPS' on the market right now. The unique graphics alone make it a game worth playing, whether you enjoy something light and fun, or bloody and hardcore. The gameplay is great, with interesting official maps, and custom ones made by users. One of my favorite games.
  36. Barry
    Dec 25, 2007
    8
    Team Fortress 2 is a blast, Portal is pretty fun and the polished graphics look really impressive. Half Life i really can't get into tho.. sure the AI is really good and accurate with it's shots.. but the storyline is really boring and there isn't nough fmv going on.. which would make it alot more inteesting and feel more like an awad winning game. To be brutally honest i Team Fortress 2 is a blast, Portal is pretty fun and the polished graphics look really impressive. Half Life i really can't get into tho.. sure the AI is really good and accurate with it's shots.. but the storyline is really boring and there isn't nough fmv going on.. which would make it alot more inteesting and feel more like an awad winning game. To be brutally honest i think the Half Life series is pretty much overrated but the other 2 are quality fun. 8/10. Expand
  37. LambdaLester
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    Its good probably the best game deal out there not good as the PC version because the Mod´s you can get with the PC.
    But the games are great all HL 2 games and the brilliant Puzzle game Portal and also Team fortress 2 online game
    but i don´t like to wait for EP 3 its to exiting but its still the best Half-life console port out there ps3 was laggy and stuff so i give it 9.5
    Its good probably the best game deal out there not good as the PC version because the Mod´s you can get with the PC.
    But the games are great all HL 2 games and the brilliant Puzzle game Portal and also Team fortress 2 online game
    but i don´t like to wait for EP 3 its to exiting
    but its still the best Half-life console port out there ps3 was laggy and stuff so i give it 9.5
    this is my first rate so sorry for wrong spelling
    Expand
  38. ChrisO.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    After playing some of 2007's best titles--including Bioshock, Halo 3, and Metroid Prime 3--how can a game released over 3 years ago not only still hold its own graphically, but still be superior overall to today's best games? The addition of Portal and TF2 make this must-have collection the no-brainer video game purchase of the century. Half Life 2 is simply perfect.
  39. Mike
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    Ok, the guys who rated this 1 or 0, or terribly wrong or probably enjoy playing Viva Piñata a lot.
    The 5 games are actually pretty good, it is not the best game ever, but I do think is kind of over rated... so remember that you pay for what you get.
  40. MiguelR.
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Buy this game if you have the chance and do not hesitate or doubt your decision.
  41. EliF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    '10' doesn't mean perfect, but it means I'd recommend it to virtually anyone who has a 360. HL2 is a great rollercoaster. I've never even played TF2, but I've shown Portal to 11 other people and watched them each learn in their own way and make their own style of mistakes.
  42. CT
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    The fact that I got this for $18 might affect my rating a bit, but in all honesty, even selling this at full price would not be a bad deal. I really enjoyed the Half-Life 2 series for the interesting weapons and the impressive story, but there were some things that could frustrate people (some of the puzzles were very annoying). Portal was simply incredible, a brilliantly made puzzle game The fact that I got this for $18 might affect my rating a bit, but in all honesty, even selling this at full price would not be a bad deal. I really enjoyed the Half-Life 2 series for the interesting weapons and the impressive story, but there were some things that could frustrate people (some of the puzzles were very annoying). Portal was simply incredible, a brilliantly made puzzle game that was never a bore. Team Fortress 2 is a fun online game, but it does not have the level quality that many people expect from games today. While the games aren't perfect themselves, the whole package is what really makes this worth the price, but if you do own these games, get Portal off steam. Expand
  43. IanW
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Seriously, looking through these comments.. How you could give this game below an eight is beyond me, an eight even being a very underappreciative score. First of all, this is FIVE games. FIVE full-length (not arcade off-shoots) games. Second of all, all of these games are good. You can compare all of these games to others in their respective genres, and they are way better than what Seriously, looking through these comments.. How you could give this game below an eight is beyond me, an eight even being a very underappreciative score. First of all, this is FIVE games. FIVE full-length (not arcade off-shoots) games. Second of all, all of these games are good. You can compare all of these games to others in their respective genres, and they are way better than what you'll find. Half-Life 2, I can only think of BioShock, Oblivion, and Fallout to rival it, yet none are as long, as immersive, as driven. Half-Life 2 throws you into tons of different environments with a nice line-up of enemies, added with plenty of puzzle elements to make it more than just a shooter. Portal, this is a unique take on puzzles that no game has been completely centered around. With tons of varying challenges, with even more difficult versions of most, it takes some time to dry this game up. Team Fortress 2, I want you to list a game as varied yet as balanced, as artistically different, as Team Fortress 2. Don't list games off like Halo, or Call of Duty, or whatever. Truth be told, they aren't balanced. Halo players only use a handful of the weapons in the game: battle rifle, sniper rifle, rocket launcher, laser. The other guns collect dust because they are not relevant on how to play Halo. Has anyone here played Modern Warfare 2? There, again, are the popular guns that everyone abuses. The biggest two would be the FAMAS and M16, burst-fire. I cannot count how many times I had a shotgun, only to be beaten by a FAMAS, at close range. Really, I can't imagine what goes through your heads when you rate true masterpieces like this, but you must have some morbid sense of entitlement that will never be fulfilled. These games aren't mindless "shoot-'em-ups", they're fine works of art that retain practicality as well. Think before you score. Expand
  44. HagenM
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    Okay, this package definately warrants the extremelym rare ten out of ten. It has Half-Life 2, which is a ten in itself, Episode 1, Episode 2, Portal, and Team Fortress 2? If you do not own this by now, you need to kill yourself. If you consider yourself a human being and value decency in life, purchase this now for roughly TWELVE DOLLARS.
  45. PabloK
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    Half Life 2 is one of the best computer games on the P.C, a long with Team Fortress 2 a very good online multi player shooter, portal, a puzzle game, and Ep1 and Ep2. All these games have high ratings, and are some of the best games on the P.C. The orange box is also one of the best "Gaming Deals in History" There is absolutely nothing that is wrong about this game.
  46. JohnP.
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    This series of games deserves nothing but the best awards. Half Life 2 plus Episodes 1 and 2: absolutely amazing story line and game play. Following and trumping the original HL's success for innovative and dynamic plot, HL2 destroys the competition at the time. Portal: One of the most intriguing and amazing puzzle games ever. This game is comparable to Tetris in taking the Puzzle This series of games deserves nothing but the best awards. Half Life 2 plus Episodes 1 and 2: absolutely amazing story line and game play. Following and trumping the original HL's success for innovative and dynamic plot, HL2 destroys the competition at the time. Portal: One of the most intriguing and amazing puzzle games ever. This game is comparable to Tetris in taking the Puzzle genre to a whole new level. Team Fortress 2: One word: DAMN! Expand
  47. RanderN.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Best value of the year for the 360, and totally a sleeper hit that surpasses even Halo 3 in terms on content and game play, a must buy, even for for Portal alone.
  48. DominicP.
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Team Fortress 2 and Portal was wat i bought it for they both are a must play but i was dissapointed with half life. The story is boring and very confusing at time.
  49. NoahH.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    I remember hearing about Half Life from my buddy when I was a freshman in college (2000). I've always owned a mac, I don't want to hear it :), and had never played the Half Life and of course never Half Life 2 until they put out the "Orange Box". Sweet, sweet game. It feels so fresh if all you have ever played are console shooters. I just beat the original Half Life 2 and have I remember hearing about Half Life from my buddy when I was a freshman in college (2000). I've always owned a mac, I don't want to hear it :), and had never played the Half Life and of course never Half Life 2 until they put out the "Orange Box". Sweet, sweet game. It feels so fresh if all you have ever played are console shooters. I just beat the original Half Life 2 and have yet to play the other episodes or portal or multi-player but I'll tell you what, just the original game itself has been worth the money. A note to Exosus. I know your type: everybody likes it so I'll hate it to be different and feel original. You were feeling like a MENSA man for a second there weren't you. LOL. Great game. Go get it. Expand
  50. RyanC
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Essentially 5 games in 1, The Orange Box won't leave any gamer dissapointed. Half Life 2, Half Life 2: Episode 1, and Half Life 2: Episode 2 are all great games that will last you a good 25 hours. Portal, a quirky puzzle game using a unique new portal gun, is a very amazing game. Team Fortress 2 while not as good as the other 4 games albeit, it's a very unique game that is The Essentially 5 games in 1, The Orange Box won't leave any gamer dissapointed. Half Life 2, Half Life 2: Episode 1, and Half Life 2: Episode 2 are all great games that will last you a good 25 hours. Portal, a quirky puzzle game using a unique new portal gun, is a very amazing game. Team Fortress 2 while not as good as the other 4 games albeit, it's a very unique game that is The Orange Box's answer to multiplayer. Expand
  51. DME
    Mar 21, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is the only game of the five that I don't really like. Sure, the PC version is freakin' awesome but this XB360 version is definitely not. Portal was awesome and left me disappointed when I found out how short it was (about 4 hours worth) but even so... Half-Life 2 series is the best of the bunch with a great story and great gameplay. The only thing that's not top-notchTeam Fortress 2 is the only game of the five that I don't really like. Sure, the PC version is freakin' awesome but this XB360 version is definitely not. Portal was awesome and left me disappointed when I found out how short it was (about 4 hours worth) but even so... Half-Life 2 series is the best of the bunch with a great story and great gameplay. The only thing that's not top-notch about HL2 is it's sound effects, which I found poor at times. But don't let the small gripes outweight the incredible package that this game is! $20 is an AMAZING deal for this game. If you like FPS games... The Orange Box is for you. Expand
  52. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    3 games and 2 expansions for halflife 2 all for the price of $60 is a great value . you get half life 2 which is a great game and the gravity gun is just a neat idea not just for a wepon but for solving puzzles . Portal is such a fun and intresting game although short i still found myself runing through it a few times and just having a ton of fun . team fortress didnt do any thing for me i3 games and 2 expansions for halflife 2 all for the price of $60 is a great value . you get half life 2 which is a great game and the gravity gun is just a neat idea not just for a wepon but for solving puzzles . Portal is such a fun and intresting game although short i still found myself runing through it a few times and just having a ton of fun . team fortress didnt do any thing for me i didnt hate it or any thing i just didnt get into it. all in all the orange box is a sure buy . you are bound to find some fun in atleast one of thoose games. Expand
  53. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This is the best game including more games since the Chronicles of Riddick, and that wasn't that good. This box has some of the games that will be remembered for many, many years, until after the sequels come out for them. Portal; Yes, it's short, and a confusing puzzle game, but that makes it even more fun, when it tests your mind. The very anticipated sequel could make this game a forThis is the best game including more games since the Chronicles of Riddick, and that wasn't that good. This box has some of the games that will be remembered for many, many years, until after the sequels come out for them. Portal; Yes, it's short, and a confusing puzzle game, but that makes it even more fun, when it tests your mind. The very anticipated sequel could make this game a for sure Game of the Year! Half- Life; Yes, a cliffhanger, but that just makes you wanna play it more before Episode III comes out. Team Fortress; Yes, just a game for Live, which I was a little disappointed at, but once I got Live, this game became more fun than Halo 3! Valve is still well- into the Zombie category as well as the action- adventure category. This game made me stay inside for two weeks, 25 hour days, skipping meals, sleep in my clothes, or stay awake in my PJ's, and made me anticipate harder and longer than I was for Bioshock 2, which was a big disappointment. This game is one that will stay in my library for many, many years, at least until Episode III of Half- Life comes out, as well as Portal 2. Expand
  54. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    The original half life 2 that was released 4 years ago and is included in this package is worth the price of the entire package. If you rate this package lower then a 9 you just don't know what makes games fun.
  55. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Great content. Half life 2 and portal would be worth buying on their own. The episodic content is less good and I couldn't get in to team fortress 2 at all. But I would still recommend this to anyone
  56. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the finest,immersive,clever game ever.
    i played this package for more than 90 hours now...
    portal is genial,the half life saga is simply the best fps ever made and team fortress 2 is one of the best multiplayer game available.
    Expand
  57. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    Not much replay value in this package. The Half-Life 2's and Portal are absolutely worth experiencing at least once. If you like first person shooters these are some of the best campaigns you could play.
  58. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Half-Life 2 on it's own is worth a million dollars let alone put with the genius that is portal. DO yourself a favour if you haven't played this get on it now.
  59. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    This has so many games packed into one game I hesitate at giving it a 9 instead of a 10. But 9 it is because the game is showing it's age, especially now a few years after its release. I feel like it's a better experience on the PC, and that Xbox 360 makes the game lag and stutter in places and it just doesn't have that same polish on the Steam side of things. It's great, don't get meThis has so many games packed into one game I hesitate at giving it a 9 instead of a 10. But 9 it is because the game is showing it's age, especially now a few years after its release. I feel like it's a better experience on the PC, and that Xbox 360 makes the game lag and stutter in places and it just doesn't have that same polish on the Steam side of things. It's great, don't get me wrong: there is so much to do in this package... but I still feel like I'm coming up short somehow. Expand
  60. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    How could this game be given anything other than 10? 5 fantastic games at no extra charge. Half Life 2 is a classic FPS with unparalleled level design and storytelling. Its following episodes continue this well. Team Fortress 2 is an addictive, frantic online shooter that only has a handful of maps, although the ones given are highly polished. The real showstopper here is Portal, a darklyHow could this game be given anything other than 10? 5 fantastic games at no extra charge. Half Life 2 is a classic FPS with unparalleled level design and storytelling. Its following episodes continue this well. Team Fortress 2 is an addictive, frantic online shooter that only has a handful of maps, although the ones given are highly polished. The real showstopper here is Portal, a darkly comedic and mind bending puzzle game. Its short length is a perfect fit, ensuring that it doesnt outstay its welcome. Glados is a magnificent video game creation, a character who uses dry wit, sarcasm and just about every other kind of humor to good effect with a hefty sprinkling of judgement. The Orange Box is incredible and you would be a fool to not buy it. Expand
  61. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Well worth its money HOW many games,shooters,puzzles and portal what a gem of a game,half life love it..but the puzzler portal is brillant..spent a week completeing the shooters then 2 (cough) weeks puzzling out portal.....man am i thick....but had great fun......:-)
  62. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    Valve is one of my favorite game developer companies, and I now love them even more when they released "The Orange Box". The orange box includes Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2: Episode 1, Half-Life 2: Episode 2, Portal, and Team Fortress 2. Let's start with Half-Life 2, Episode 1, and Episode 2. If you never played the first Half-Life and started the second, you might ask "WTF is theValve is one of my favorite game developer companies, and I now love them even more when they released "The Orange Box". The orange box includes Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2: Episode 1, Half-Life 2: Episode 2, Portal, and Team Fortress 2. Let's start with Half-Life 2, Episode 1, and Episode 2. If you never played the first Half-Life and started the second, you might ask "WTF is the purpose of this game?" You really need to know the storyline of the Half-Life franchise or you'll be stuck in a confused territory. After playing "Portal", I now know what is my favorite puzzle game. I thought the timing of "Portal" was a bit too short and I wished it had harder puzzles. Team Fortress 2 is a class-based multiplayer that I love so much. I really love the style in Team Fortress 2. You might be thinking "This is going to be really expensive." Well you're wrong, because this whole package is less than $20. I really love the style in Team Fortress 2. Now the Verdict.

    Valve always impresses my with their products and this product blew me away. This package would've easily cost "$60". You are getting a good deal. Please buy it!



    + 5 Games
    + Cheap
    + Creative Puzzle Game
    - Needed harder puzzles.

    RATING: 9/10
    Expand
  63. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    Bundle Half-Life 2 with it's 2 episode installments, the out-of-nowhere masterpiece Portal and the PC sensation TF2 and you have any gamer's wet dream. This is pretty much an essential element to any gamer's collection. Where Half-Life 2 might not have aged particularly well, its still a great game. Portal will please every part of your brain with it's quirky humor and brain-bendingBundle Half-Life 2 with it's 2 episode installments, the out-of-nowhere masterpiece Portal and the PC sensation TF2 and you have any gamer's wet dream. This is pretty much an essential element to any gamer's collection. Where Half-Life 2 might not have aged particularly well, its still a great game. Portal will please every part of your brain with it's quirky humor and brain-bending puzzles and TF2 will potentially occupy hundreds of hours of your time. Do yourself a favor and play this game. Expand
  64. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed this. 5 games in one game is great value for money. Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2: Episode One and Half-Life 2: Episode Two are incredible games and the story is great and takes about 15-20 hours to complete them all. Portal 2 may now be out but Portal is still an incredible game, it challenges you and is often quite funny. Team Fortress 2 is a really good multiplayer gameThoroughly enjoyed this. 5 games in one game is great value for money. Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2: Episode One and Half-Life 2: Episode Two are incredible games and the story is great and takes about 15-20 hours to complete them all. Portal 2 may now be out but Portal is still an incredible game, it challenges you and is often quite funny. Team Fortress 2 is a really good multiplayer game but unfortunately now does not have many players although you can usually get into full games if you are on at the right time. All in all, The Orange Box is one of the best games I have ever played and at the price it is to buy now, it's worth it. Expand
  65. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    i have to give this 10 out of 10 due to the fact i am a big valve fan i love there games like l4d and l4d2 and tfc and so on there the best game creators to date tf2 is awesome hl2 hl2e1 and hl2e2 is my favourte single player games ever the grapics are very outdated on these games and so am i for reviewing the game 4 years after release. but hey will still play half-life 1.
  66. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    In my opinion, the Orange box is the best game ever released. This game is a great deal, getting five really amazing games for a low price. You will not hate anything about this game, if you ever get it.
  67. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    Essentially Portal and Half-Life 2: Episode 2 + 3 games you probably already own, but it's forgivable, because they're truthfully three of the best games on the market. Half-Life 2 and its episodes are a beacon of intelligent game design and compelling narrative, while Team Fortress 2 is a well balanced shooter, but lacks enough content to enthral any fps fan for too long, and you'll findEssentially Portal and Half-Life 2: Episode 2 + 3 games you probably already own, but it's forgivable, because they're truthfully three of the best games on the market. Half-Life 2 and its episodes are a beacon of intelligent game design and compelling narrative, while Team Fortress 2 is a well balanced shooter, but lacks enough content to enthral any fps fan for too long, and you'll find yourself being drawn back to much more populated games like Halo, Call of Duty and Battlefield. Portal...short, sweet, hilarious, intelligent and individual, a truly original piece of gaming that'll have you addicted from sublime start to perfect finish. Valve just really gets what it is that gamers want, you have to think to progress, these are games that involve the player, and that's what makes them so incredible Expand
  68. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    One of the greatest gaming deals ever, it comes with 5 great games. Half Life 2 and its episodes are already great on their own, offering great FPS playing, puzzle solving and fun achievements to complete. Portal, though short, is a marvel to play and you'll see just how fantastic it is when you dive into it. Team Fortress 2 is probably one of the greatest online games ever, though it doesOne of the greatest gaming deals ever, it comes with 5 great games. Half Life 2 and its episodes are already great on their own, offering great FPS playing, puzzle solving and fun achievements to complete. Portal, though short, is a marvel to play and you'll see just how fantastic it is when you dive into it. Team Fortress 2 is probably one of the greatest online games ever, though it does play better on the PC. Overall - superb package. Expand
  69. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    Wow. Just wow. Valve has always been an amazing developer, all of their games I've played are fantastic. This just blew me away. I have to admit, I very recently picked this up. I know, my bad. I grabbed this collection, used, for $17.00. This is the best video game value I've seen, ever. I haven't played Half Life 2 up until now, but I finally see what the hype is about. That game aloneWow. Just wow. Valve has always been an amazing developer, all of their games I've played are fantastic. This just blew me away. I have to admit, I very recently picked this up. I know, my bad. I grabbed this collection, used, for $17.00. This is the best video game value I've seen, ever. I haven't played Half Life 2 up until now, but I finally see what the hype is about. That game alone is worth the $17.00. Then adding the amazing Portal, which needs no introduction, as well as Team Fortress is a great deal. Also, the Xbox ports are not bad like everyone says. Expand
  70. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    Graphics suck on Xbox but as a package it's extraordinary value. I picked it up for just £15 and it was worth every penny. I'd be happy to pay that just for Portal and TF2 alone. But Valve shoved in 3 classics too. So you're getting 2 new games and the HL2 series on top. In here you're bound to find some enjoyment. Can't go wrong with 5 games.
  71. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Not really a game, but a compilation of several, both new and old. There's the Half LIfe 2 which I know and love so well and its Episode 1, plus the all new Episode 2, Team Fortress 2 and Portal, and, man, they are all simply awesome.
    Episode 2 brings back that epic quality and feel of Half-Life 2 and expands it to new dimensions.
    Team Fortress 2 is a really good and quirky multiplayer
    Not really a game, but a compilation of several, both new and old. There's the Half LIfe 2 which I know and love so well and its Episode 1, plus the all new Episode 2, Team Fortress 2 and Portal, and, man, they are all simply awesome.
    Episode 2 brings back that epic quality and feel of Half-Life 2 and expands it to new dimensions.
    Team Fortress 2 is a really good and quirky multiplayer which probably requires gamers with at least half a brain.
    And lastly, Portal is the surprise package of the package, packing an intriguing and charming story, combined with fun and fresh gameplay into a short game.
    The Orange Box is unconventional, but Valve shows their prowess once again. Always a pleasure.
    Expand
  72. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    It's games like this that show Valve is one of the only developing companies that demonstrate extraordinary consistency.

    The Half Life series seems to have most every quality of a single player shooter that people receive well; original, great pacing, interesting environments, fun weapons, etc. Not only does it have those qualities that are just generally talked about, but it also the
    It's games like this that show Valve is one of the only developing companies that demonstrate extraordinary consistency.

    The Half Life series seems to have most every quality of a single player shooter that people receive well; original, great pacing, interesting environments, fun weapons, etc. Not only does it have those qualities that are just generally talked about, but it also the small amounts of polish added to the game to make it that much more enjoyable, and make no mistake; the small things matter, gamers are way to OCD to ignore the small things. I'm talking about the way set pieces are placed to where it doesn't take away control of the character when it comes time to explain the story. I see this as a very good median between those who are interested and less interested in the story. If we look at past releases that were extremely successful (Bioshock, Oblivion), it is obvious that gamers love freedom. Half Life does have more linear elements to it than open elements, however I would go as far to say that Half Life 2 has the based pacing for any other linear single player game I have played that I can remember.

    Portal is one of those games where it's really hard to find something wrong with it. At least in Half Life you could probably FIND something to **** about, regardless of the fact it's a fantastic game. Portal has nothing against it; if it's your kind of game, you will LOVE it. I could not find one instance while playing through it where I found myself frustrated by things that were not necessarily dependent on my playing. So many games will have potential, but it will have crappy controls, or lack of polish, or it doesn't run smoothly enough, Portal is all good challenge. I suppose one could make the case that Portal is not original because it was based on a student made game called Narbacular Drop; my response to that is, which one did YOU play? (Exactly). There were other first person shooters before Doom and probably Wolfenstein, doesn't take away from those games one bit. It had no technical short comings, it was cleverly staged, amazingly creative in its puzzle and level design, it offered more of a challenge for more advanced players, and it had very decent humor (although I suppose that's subjective).

    I'm not sure I should review Team Fortress 2, because I suck at it. Yet, I can also put credit to the game for still being a blast despite my terrible performance. I do think that they should not stray away from having everyone on a level playing field, which is what I felt made it significantly more balanced than Call of Duty. I don't know if they have always had the store, but I think that was a little step away from an aspect I liked about the game. I also think they could have done a better job of gauging the speed a each class should move based on their primary weapon(s). If I had to guess what makes TF2 as popular as it is, is the obvious reason that every multiplayer game should emulate; it is a shooter that most can just jump right into.

    These games have all of the wow-factor and originality of a good game, except no one can touch Valve when it comes to polish, for it takes out all of the annoying nuances of a good game to turn it into a mediocre game. Stunning!
    Expand
  73. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Just buy this package, you will enjoy the games immensely, plenty on gameplay hours, and the greatest hits Valve has ever made. Valve is awesome once again.
  74. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best thing ever created. Considering the Half-Life series was my favorite game series to begin with there wasn't a chance i was not going to like this. I recommend this to anyone who likes video games in general. Your getting three Half-Life games which have an amazing story and are very fun to play, then you have Portal which is an awesome and extremely well made puzzle game,This is the best thing ever created. Considering the Half-Life series was my favorite game series to begin with there wasn't a chance i was not going to like this. I recommend this to anyone who likes video games in general. Your getting three Half-Life games which have an amazing story and are very fun to play, then you have Portal which is an awesome and extremely well made puzzle game, and last you have Team Fortress 2 which is a fun cartoon multiplayer game. Expand
  75. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    It's a must play. I would have given it a 9, but with the addition of Portal...it's an absolute 10. There's also a 20gig expansion pack you can download that "freshens" up Half-LIfe 2, and is amazing. Highly recommended. Enjoy.
  76. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    An amazing package.
    Half Life 2 and its expansion packs may have aged a little with time, but is still eminently playable, and very engaging at that, which given its age is testament to quite what a game it was on release.
    Portal makes up the other marvelous aspect of this package. Creative, thoughtful, and often ingenious. Overall the Orange Box makes for some of the best gaming
    An amazing package.
    Half Life 2 and its expansion packs may have aged a little with time, but is still eminently playable, and very engaging at that, which given its age is testament to quite what a game it was on release.
    Portal makes up the other marvelous aspect of this package. Creative, thoughtful, and often ingenious.

    Overall the Orange Box makes for some of the best gaming anywhere, let alone for the price you can get it for nowadays.
    Expand
  77. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Great games. Great value. TF2 is kind of a useless add-on (for consoles that is). Otherwise if you haven't played any of HL2 and of course Portal, then get this!
  78. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    Portal is the best puzzle game I have played in some time. It is very original and enjoyable. Half-life is also my favorite first person shooter series, so I enjoyed that too.
  79. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    You can pick up this game for around $10 now, which is probably the best game bargain out there. Even at it's original $50 price tag, it was more than worth it. You get 5 games, 5 FULL games. Each episode of Half-Life: 2 is easily a full game. Throw in Portal and Team Fortress 2 and you get the best compendium ever created. This game is impossible to rate at less than a 10; you won'tYou can pick up this game for around $10 now, which is probably the best game bargain out there. Even at it's original $50 price tag, it was more than worth it. You get 5 games, 5 FULL games. Each episode of Half-Life: 2 is easily a full game. Throw in Portal and Team Fortress 2 and you get the best compendium ever created. This game is impossible to rate at less than a 10; you won't get more for $10; Hell, you won't get more for $60 these days. Expand
  80. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    When i bought this Box in 2007 i was mainly getting it for Half Life. I did not play it before and so i finally wanted to get my hands on it. It blew me away ... the game is absolutely amazing. The story is interesting, the characters memorable, the graphics are still great today and the gameplay is just spot-on.

    But before i even got to Half Life I tried out Portal because I was told it
    When i bought this Box in 2007 i was mainly getting it for Half Life. I did not play it before and so i finally wanted to get my hands on it. It blew me away ... the game is absolutely amazing. The story is interesting, the characters memorable, the graphics are still great today and the gameplay is just spot-on.

    But before i even got to Half Life I tried out Portal because I was told it was pretty short... and so I played through it in 1 sitting. This is absolutely one of the best games ever created. The puzzles themselves are enough to sell the game even at full price. But what makes this game so outstanding is the dialogue and the humor. This game is touching and made me laugh out loud multiple times ... the end almost made me cry. This game is just brilliance.

    Team Fortress 2 was probably what I was least interested in ... but let me tell you something : I still play it. It has no single player and no real goal or anything, but just the incredibly fun gameplay is enough to keep you playing for years.

    Overall : This would be worth tripple the amount they charge you for ... or even more. I would happily buy this box for 100â
    Expand
  81. Jan 24, 2015
    10
    I rarely give a 10/10 but this is just the best gaming bundle on one disc ever together with the Zelda:Collector's Edition. Half-Life 2 and its episodes is the best shooter I have ever played and Portal is one of the most clever games. I haven't even played TF2 as I don't really like playing online, but the single player games are just pure Valve-no-video game masterpieces. 9.6/10 forI rarely give a 10/10 but this is just the best gaming bundle on one disc ever together with the Zelda:Collector's Edition. Half-Life 2 and its episodes is the best shooter I have ever played and Portal is one of the most clever games. I haven't even played TF2 as I don't really like playing online, but the single player games are just pure Valve-no-video game masterpieces. 9.6/10 for Half-Life and 9/10 for Portal. Together I'll round it up to a 10/10 Expand
  82. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Truly the best deal in gaming history! A rarity in gaming in that the characters are interesting. Game-play, graphics and story are all marvelous! Often disappointed by sequels but was so happy that this was good.
  83. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    All 5 games on this disc are winners. Half Life 2 is one of the best games of the decade and stands up even now roughly 7 years later. Portal is an original and interesting puzzle game that does not disappoint but sadly it's about 3 hrs on your first run through, I've gotten it down to about an hour and a half. Team Fortress 2 is very fun but I wish they'd bring the updates that it got onAll 5 games on this disc are winners. Half Life 2 is one of the best games of the decade and stands up even now roughly 7 years later. Portal is an original and interesting puzzle game that does not disappoint but sadly it's about 3 hrs on your first run through, I've gotten it down to about an hour and a half. Team Fortress 2 is very fun but I wish they'd bring the updates that it got on the PC to the Xbox. Half Life 2 and it's episodes are all amazing, my one complaint are the many loading screens, while short they can break up the action. Another gripe is that if you are going for all Gold Medals on Portal Challenges is that the challenge times and steps were not converted for the Xbox controller. The mouse and keyboard allow for much faster and accurate movement that a standard controller can not provide, making some challenges almost impossible without using cheat codes.

    So in conclusion:
    Fantastic games, highly recommend
    Dirt cheap now, you can't go wrong
    Some Portal Challenges haven't ported well to consoles
    No updates to TF2

    This is a must buy and one of my favorite games of all time, the best DEAL in gaming history. Half Life 2 took me about 15 hrs my first time through. Both episodes are about 5-6 hrs each. Portal, about 3 hrs on your first play through. Team Fortress 2 has a lot of replay value but with about 6 maps it can get old.

    So if you beat all the single player games you'll sink in about 30 hrs + However long you spend on TF2. Not counting all 99 achievements for this game (I got all of them and it took me quite a while) this should keep you occupied for quite a while.
    Expand
  84. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    I'd give it a 9.5 if it let me. This is simply an amazing deal. Obviously the graphics are a little dated by today's standards considering when this was released, but they hardly look bad by any regard either. Team Fortress 2 remains in it's original vanilla state, which is somewhat disappointing, but it still provides many hours of multiplayer enjoyment regardless. For the three of youI'd give it a 9.5 if it let me. This is simply an amazing deal. Obviously the graphics are a little dated by today's standards considering when this was released, but they hardly look bad by any regard either. Team Fortress 2 remains in it's original vanilla state, which is somewhat disappointing, but it still provides many hours of multiplayer enjoyment regardless. For the three of you who haven't played Portal yet, it provides an entertaining puzzle game with a interesting story to boot, and remains one of my top games of all time despite not being considerably long, and provides challenges to add to the replayability of it. Finally, the best part of it is Half Life 2 and it's two story expansions. Half Life 2 has a certain elegance about it where the music, gameplay, and story all combine to make one of the best game experiences in a long time. It's too hard to explain what about it exactly is so great, but just trust me when I say it's a must play that still holds up as an amazing experience to this day; sure beats most of the shovelware coming out these days anyways in almost every regard. 3 great games for the price of half a single game: what's not to love? The only complaints I have about this are that there were definitely a large number of loading screens, the ai often got in your way, and vehicle controls could have been better. Nothing gamebreaking, just minor complaints. Expand
  85. May 2, 2014
    9
    Wow, what a deal this puppy is. Being a console dude and having to listen to my PC elitist dick friends tell me about their new $700 graphics card they can run a game on max graphics that costs $3 today and how great the Half Life games are, I was a little skeptical going into playing Half-Life 2, especially years after it's initial release. Well, I couldn't have been more wrong. IWow, what a deal this puppy is. Being a console dude and having to listen to my PC elitist dick friends tell me about their new $700 graphics card they can run a game on max graphics that costs $3 today and how great the Half Life games are, I was a little skeptical going into playing Half-Life 2, especially years after it's initial release. Well, I couldn't have been more wrong. I can't put my finger on it, but this game is majestic. Still better than 90% of all the FPS put out today. Oh yeah, it also has the expansions and Portal. Best gaming decision I've ever begrudgingly made. 9.9 rounded down. No 10s. Expand
  86. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    The value of this set is extraordinary, but hardly the most impressive thing about the Orange Box. This is quite possibly the best set of Valve games ever created. You are not a gamer until you have played and beaten all of these games. Half-Life on its own is one of the greatest games ever made! Portal is ingenious in its design, and my all-time favorite game. Team Fortress 2 is one ofThe value of this set is extraordinary, but hardly the most impressive thing about the Orange Box. This is quite possibly the best set of Valve games ever created. You are not a gamer until you have played and beaten all of these games. Half-Life on its own is one of the greatest games ever made! Portal is ingenious in its design, and my all-time favorite game. Team Fortress 2 is one of the most original or entertaining multiplayer games, I love it to death and have played countless hours. all in all...PERFECT. Expand
  87. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    Graphics: 7/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Enjoyment: 7/10 Value For Money: 10/10 8/10
    This game is... Wow! If you have a gaming computer I would obviously recommend this on there. However here it is just a little bit worst... BUT STILL AMAZING!!!!!
  88. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Why spend $60 on a new game when you can spend only $30 on 5 games? The Orange Box is one of the best deals in gaming. It contains Half Life 2, Half Life 2: Episode 1, Half Life 2: Episode 2, Portal, and Team Fortress 2. So, essentially you're getting one of the best FPS games, one of the best puzzle games, and one of the best multiplayer games all in one bundle. There really isn't muchWhy spend $60 on a new game when you can spend only $30 on 5 games? The Orange Box is one of the best deals in gaming. It contains Half Life 2, Half Life 2: Episode 1, Half Life 2: Episode 2, Portal, and Team Fortress 2. So, essentially you're getting one of the best FPS games, one of the best puzzle games, and one of the best multiplayer games all in one bundle. There really isn't much more to say. Just play it for yourself. Expand
  89. Jan 21, 2014
    9
    Half Life 2 (and Valve in general), have earned a place in the hearts of gamers that play video games in the regular biases.
    It is strange to find someone that doesn't even know at the slightest what the whole Half Life universe it's about, even then it happens to be understandable.
    Half Life 2 starts where the first installment of the series, Half Life, left you. You begin to
    Half Life 2 (and Valve in general), have earned a place in the hearts of gamers that play video games in the regular biases.
    It is strange to find someone that doesn't even know at the slightest what the whole Half Life universe it's about, even then it happens to be understandable.

    Half Life 2 starts where the first installment of the series, Half Life, left you. You begin to understand the overall thematic, and situation of the entire experience even if you never happened to touch the first game, or even know it's slightest about it, however, if what you're looking it's for a compelling story, that will somehow compensate, and go hand to hand with the gameplay, then you're looking at another game.
    Half Life has always have a very simplistic story (which is fine by me), it never truly fills you in into your outgoing objectives, and goals, rather than that the true essence that's going to impulse you to keep playing this incredible experience, it's going to be it's gameplay (which ironically tends to be the most important aspect of any game).

    The fluidity of the gameplay it's incredible, it never truly removes the control to the player, and even when it does, it still gives the player the freedom to do whatever he pleases to do.
    This mixture in between the linearity of the entire level design, accompanied with the pure sheer of beauty that it's the freedom, to give full control to the player. It is truly something that stands out, and even to this date some developers should take note on how to do so.

    There's several different key components that make the Half Life series so popular, for starters, it's the enigmatic moments in the game that truly share an extremely unique, and unforgettable experience, Ravenholm, the several different vehicle sections, the sudden stop of the experience to get the gravity gun, the game it's filled with moments that are extremely memorable, and even while i'm writing this im still getting flashbacks, on a couple of the splendorous moments, inside what is already, an splendorous moment.
    And that's the pure sheer, nor substance that makes this particular game to be so recognizable.

    The game does not only shares with you an already incredible experience, but it allows you to create your own experience.
    Expand
  90. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    To say that any fan of gaming needs to own this collection is an understatement. Unless you already own HL2 plus eps 1&2, and Portal and don't feel the need to buy the whole thing simply for Team Fortress, you can't really consider yourself a fan of quality video games without owning this usually budget price box. The value in here is like finding a still wrapped original pressing of theTo say that any fan of gaming needs to own this collection is an understatement. Unless you already own HL2 plus eps 1&2, and Portal and don't feel the need to buy the whole thing simply for Team Fortress, you can't really consider yourself a fan of quality video games without owning this usually budget price box. The value in here is like finding a still wrapped original pressing of the White Album in the $2 bin at your local charity store...with cake. Expand
  91. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    one of the best games i ever bought. this is what introduced me to the half life franchise and pc gaming. I played tf2 for hours and played and replayed all the other games multiple times i seriously recommend getting this game if you dont want to pay much and want the most bang for your buck
  92. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Half Life 2 and its episodic additions set the bar for first person shooters almost a decade ago. Even today, that standard is almost unmatched by today's games. While many modern shooters are good, even great, none combine every conceivable facet of gaming and put it into a superb product.

    I still play this game every once in a while and it still amazes me how I can be entertained even
    Half Life 2 and its episodic additions set the bar for first person shooters almost a decade ago. Even today, that standard is almost unmatched by today's games. While many modern shooters are good, even great, none combine every conceivable facet of gaming and put it into a superb product.

    I still play this game every once in a while and it still amazes me how I can be entertained even 9 years later. The graphics still hold up with superior animation and physics engine. Half Life 2 is able to weave a story that is truly epic, but not so over the top so as to lose credibility. Overthrowing an evil alien regime has never been more fun. There is appropriate pacing, where it's not non stop pointless action like the COD series, yet moments where you can connect with the characters and gives purpose to your goal. The AI was terrific, reacting to grenades, seeking cover when hurt, using coordinated teamwork. Some games even today can't get the basics right when it comes to AI. There are varied environments and challenging, but not frustrating puzzles to overcome with your famed gravity gun. You're never just running down the same drab corridor again and again with endless respawning enemies due to lack of creativity. The best part is no playthrough is the same twice. You can always try new tactics, made possible by the sweet gravity gun.

    The other games include Portal 1 and Team Fortress, which is a physics based puzzle game and a team multiplayer game respectively. Both are well done and Portal is probably the most thought out physics game ever. Team Fortress is a little cartoonish, but the gameplay is solid fun.

    In short, it's hard to find a better deal than these five games rolled into one bundle. These games have really showed that graphics arent everything and that gameplay and story are the most important aspects for a gaming experience.
    Expand
  93. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Contains the greatest (top 3?) game ever created, at least in my little world. The orange box is a no brainer, despite being fairly old now and oddly rare on the 360, the OB is a real piece of work. Half-Life 2 is ported 100% perfectly and in the most recent of patches (at the time of release). Even in the year. 2014, HL2 still looks quite good and is as fun as ever to play. The epicContains the greatest (top 3?) game ever created, at least in my little world. The orange box is a no brainer, despite being fairly old now and oddly rare on the 360, the OB is a real piece of work. Half-Life 2 is ported 100% perfectly and in the most recent of patches (at the time of release). Even in the year. 2014, HL2 still looks quite good and is as fun as ever to play. The epic single player saga is as every bit amazing as it once was! Couple the fact you get Episodes 1 and 2 2 being the length of a full game and better than most and you have the best value out there! Oh and portal is fun too! But don't bother with this version of TF2, it has about 15-20% of the con-current PC version. Total valve fan service and the best boxed deal on planet earth...Outside of Stuffed Crust meat lovers... so Second best Expand
  94. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    The ability to be able to play Half-Life 2 on console earned the Orange Box a 9, the fact that Portal was thrown in there puts it above and beyond a 10 in terms of content within a disc. Team Fortress 2 is also a great game but doesn't really have the user base on the 360 that it does on Steam so is deemed pretty useless despite it being a solid game. To split them up Half-Life 2 is anThe ability to be able to play Half-Life 2 on console earned the Orange Box a 9, the fact that Portal was thrown in there puts it above and beyond a 10 in terms of content within a disc. Team Fortress 2 is also a great game but doesn't really have the user base on the 360 that it does on Steam so is deemed pretty useless despite it being a solid game. To split them up Half-Life 2 is an absolute classic that is still talked about as one of gaming top achievements and I have to agree, the controls port from PC a little poorly but it doesn't detract from the essential experience of the game, the only other negative is that the graphics look a bit out dated. Portal is another great experience that deserves to be in the echelons of gaming history, only really worth playing through once but the level design, puzzle design, short length and general witty presentation of the game make it a must play for all gamers. All this in one box loses out on game of the year by being unlucky enough to have been released the same year as Bioshock. Expand
  95. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Although the game is merely repackaged content, no one can deny that each and every game on the disc is brilliant and innovative in their own ways; whether it be the multiplayer warfare of TF2, the crowbar-strike and slash of Half Life 2 or the puzzles of Portal, all will enjoy this game.
  96. Nov 1, 2014
    10
    I got five words for you buddy: BEST. GAME . EVER. btw sorry but THE AWESOME LEVEL IS OVER 9000!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  97. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    this game is one of the greatest collections of all time 5 GREAT GAMES IN ONE DISC you got the be out of your mind if you say this masterpiece is even lower than a 8 its 5 great games in one
  98. Jun 1, 2017
    9
    5 excellent games in one shiny disc. What more could you ask for? Valve's Orange Box is practically bursting at the brim with content. It includes Half-Life 2, and It's two episodic sequels, a brilliantly original new IP called Portal, and a great multiplayer experience titled Team Fortress 2. it's an excellent deal worth every cent of it's 60$ purchase. And the game must be a lot cheaper5 excellent games in one shiny disc. What more could you ask for? Valve's Orange Box is practically bursting at the brim with content. It includes Half-Life 2, and It's two episodic sequels, a brilliantly original new IP called Portal, and a great multiplayer experience titled Team Fortress 2. it's an excellent deal worth every cent of it's 60$ purchase. And the game must be a lot cheaper by now, ten years later. Valve may have fallen from grace, (hard) but their games will always be great. Expand
  99. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    This is truly a masterpiece , all these fantastic games in one box . This was is still the best buy in my collection . I loved every half life that ever hit the shelf . This is a must buy
  100. Apr 16, 2017
    10
    The greatest video game bundle ever released.
    5 amazing games for the price of one is a deal no gamer should ever refuse.
    Each game is great for a different crowd and will give you endless hours of fun.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    For first-person shooter fans, it doesn't get much better than this. What's even better is that each individual game runs amazingly well on the Xbox 360. The graphics are amazing as is the presentation. The interface that Valve created for navigating through the content is also wonderful.
  2. 95
    That so much great content is offered at the standard single-game price is astonishing.
  3. 100
    The Orange Box can't stop giving. It's a sci-fi masterpiece, a clever puzzler and a multiplayer monster wrapped into one, making this a landmark achievement in gaming value and one of the easiest buying decisions you'll make all year. Color us impressed.