User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 746 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 746

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IanH
    Mar 27, 2010
    10
    Best deal in gaming history. Not a huge half-life fan, but i still played it thourgh and was pleased. Portal was excreidibly fun the first time as well, but TF2 is the gift that keeps giving. The only problem is Pc gamers are getting more weapons are services for TF2. Remember the console gamers, Valve!
  2. MartinS
    Mar 5, 2010
    9
    100% worth it as a bundle. As stand alone games, none would be worth the retail price. Half Life 2 is an amazing, if somewhat dated looking shooter. The episodes and portal are also great, but too short. And Team Fortress 2 is only worth it if you like online games. I still highly recommend these as a bundle.
  3. BlakeB
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  4. AnthonyS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This game has got to be the best combo EVER!!!! Team Fotress 2 is by far one of the funnest multiplayer games I have ever played and Portal, one of the best puzzle games in a LOOOONG time. Half-Life 2 will always be a classic that will be played over and over and Episode Two simply tie's up the loose ends. Great job Valve!!
  5. MarkT.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    I previously voted 8 because of Steam problems.. seems they sorted that out. This is a great package... hard to see how you can go wrong. Team Fortress is a hilarious multiplayer... surprisingly deep when you start to appreciate the well-balanced classes; HL2 is, well HL2... a great great shooter, and for me the surprise was Portal - not a long game, but gripping and playful, funny... I previously voted 8 because of Steam problems.. seems they sorted that out. This is a great package... hard to see how you can go wrong. Team Fortress is a hilarious multiplayer... surprisingly deep when you start to appreciate the well-balanced classes; HL2 is, well HL2... a great great shooter, and for me the surprise was Portal - not a long game, but gripping and playful, funny... very worthwhile. Expand
  6. Marc.D.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    The way I see it...this year's battle for Game of the Year on the 360 comes down to The Orange Box and Bioshock. Sorry Halo...you're good...but these 2 titles are on another level.
  7. BarryM.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Great stuff. Loads of content. You'll buy it for Half Life but you'll stay stay for Team Fortress 2. Portal is great first time around, drags a little after that but still worth the price
  8. James
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    'John D.' has obviously never played Orange Box. It's not a port of HL2, it's HL2, HL2 episode 1, HL2 Episode 2 (new), Portal (new), and Team Fortress 2 (new).

    It's not HL2 for full price, it's 3 new games and 2 old redone games for $60. That's $12 a game, excellent deal if you ask me. TF2 alone is $30.
  9. RayA.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    I don't see how anyone could possibly give this less than a 10! This is an absolutely an amazing deal. All of the games on it are highly detailed, original, and crazy fun. One of the best things about this is portal. It is a completely mind bending game, with a great sense of humor. Half life 2 ep.2 is also great, because of the way characters react to every decision you make.The I don't see how anyone could possibly give this less than a 10! This is an absolutely an amazing deal. All of the games on it are highly detailed, original, and crazy fun. One of the best things about this is portal. It is a completely mind bending game, with a great sense of humor. Half life 2 ep.2 is also great, because of the way characters react to every decision you make.The physics in the source engine I love! The fire is great. A good example of the things you can do with the crazy awesome details in the game is when your driving in a car with Alyx, and you can hit zombies. When you hit a zombie just right, it will cut in half, torso and legs flying around, Alyx yells nice! and then you see splotches of blood on the car. If you hate videogames, you will like the orange box anyway. This game drew me into the half life series, because it was so good. Buy it! Expand
  10. RobC
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    Possibly my favorite title on the 360. Innovative and genius, this game makes your brain go crazy and want more! This also is the 1st half life game i have played and really loving it. If you love puzzle orientated adventure games with a unique twist, and unbelievably atmospheric graphics, you'll go crazy 4 this!!
  11. aguy
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    the best games compilation ever made with 5 of valves best offerings id have bought it for hl2 by itself however gamers also get treated to the most ingenious puzzler ever designed from portal. one of the best online multiplayer games ever in the form of team fortress 2 and get 2 fantastic additions to the halflife universe in the form of HL2 episodes 1 and 2. i cant recommend this game the best games compilation ever made with 5 of valves best offerings id have bought it for hl2 by itself however gamers also get treated to the most ingenious puzzler ever designed from portal. one of the best online multiplayer games ever in the form of team fortress 2 and get 2 fantastic additions to the halflife universe in the form of HL2 episodes 1 and 2. i cant recommend this game enough a must buy. Expand
  12. Phantom
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    The Orange Box surprised me. I was expecting a cheap old compilation of mediocre last-gen games but oh no! The single-games themselves would be worth the full retail price! Half-Life 2 series maybe getting on now; but still exceptionally brilliant to this day, personally its my first time on Half Life 2, and I thought it could pass for being next gen (current gen now lets say - it is 2008 The Orange Box surprised me. I was expecting a cheap old compilation of mediocre last-gen games but oh no! The single-games themselves would be worth the full retail price! Half-Life 2 series maybe getting on now; but still exceptionally brilliant to this day, personally its my first time on Half Life 2, and I thought it could pass for being next gen (current gen now lets say - it is 2008 after all). Portal and Team Fortress 2 pretty much sold the collection; both equally being as innovating and original as each other. Portal can be completed within a few hours; but I still play it now, and Team Fortress 2 could simply pass a full multiplayer retail game too! It's not a perfect 10; but it's the biggest compilation of full price games that you could realistically be paying over £100 for. Great deal. And replying back to John. D; its not just Half Life 2 in the collection its the entire series with 2 additional games which are unbelievably innovative! Gameplay: 10 (5 massive games in one box; what can I say? Did I mention 99 achievements?) Graphics: 8 (Dating; and not too much done with Half Life 2's visuals. TF2 makes up for it) Sound: 10 (Fantastic soundtrack, acting, and realistic sfx for each game) Overall: 9/10 Completion time: 30 hours without a break. Doesn't include multiplayer or achievements. Difficulty: Easy - All games can be completed easily enough, there are some one off difficult achievements though. Expand
  13. NicholasA
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    This is a great game for anyone who likes first person shooters. I think this is one of the greatest gaming deals out there
  14. Chris
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    TF2 was worth the 8 years of waiting.
  15. SteveT.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Wow, this is the best deal ever for a game. Honestly I would pay full price for each of the new titltes alone. Half Life 2 is awsome as ususal. The gravity gun makes it too awsome when compared to every other FPS. I can only assume that episodes 1 and 2 will be just as solid. Portal is a game every gamer should experience. It is kind of hard to get used to, but once you do, it becomes a Wow, this is the best deal ever for a game. Honestly I would pay full price for each of the new titltes alone. Half Life 2 is awsome as ususal. The gravity gun makes it too awsome when compared to every other FPS. I can only assume that episodes 1 and 2 will be just as solid. Portal is a game every gamer should experience. It is kind of hard to get used to, but once you do, it becomes a very fun and intense game to play. Lastly the game I spent the most time with yesterday was Team Fortress 2. This game would be worth the full price alone. Even when you die you are having a good time. The team element makes for some killer strategic yet comedic game play. The best part is you can switch between the different classes at a whim to see which type suits you or your team's situation the best. All in all the total package is outstanding...don't sit on the fence for this one..go buy it now! Expand
  16. P.Dub
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    First, I thought Bioshock was the best game of the year, then I thought Halo 3 was the best game of the year. Now, I pretty sure that accolade belongs to the Orange Box. Portal will twist your mind, the HL trilogy is jaw dropping in every way ; physics, graphics, animation, and AI are the best I've ever seen.
  17. ChrisC.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Three of the best games of 2007 at an unbeatable price. You can't go wrong with The Orange Box.
  18. WilliamC.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    A solid pack, well worth the price of $49.95. Episode Two's graphics are a bit outdated compared to modern shooters like Halo 3/Crysis, but it's three games in one. EP2 was terrific, and VIA plot-twist at the end left my mouth gaping open in shock. Portal was a fun game, but HOLY JESUS BEANS why is it ONLY 19 levels? Team Fortress 2 is a solid game. A few bugs(I could shoot A solid pack, well worth the price of $49.95. Episode Two's graphics are a bit outdated compared to modern shooters like Halo 3/Crysis, but it's three games in one. EP2 was terrific, and VIA plot-twist at the end left my mouth gaping open in shock. Portal was a fun game, but HOLY JESUS BEANS why is it ONLY 19 levels? Team Fortress 2 is a solid game. A few bugs(I could shoot without reloading on one round, but it never happened again after that) but they'll fix it. Oh, and that other Halo fanboy that complained about TF2 not having a Deathmatch gamemode? Here's a hint: TEAM fortress 2. GET IT? Expand
  19. KrishanV.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    BRILLIANT!! every game is better then the last!!! the one that i enjoy the most is tf2!! soo god!
  20. Cl0cK*
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    The best gaming deal you'll have in a long time, 5 great games in one box. Portal is an original and amazing singleplayer experience, Episode Two very good sequel to episode one I liked episode two more than any other half-life games. And TF2 is one of the best multiplayer game out there,
  21. JoakimLindblom
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    WOW IT AS JUST SOOO FUCKING AWSOME!!! I MEAN WOW! PORTAL,EPISODE 2 ROCKS! ALSO TEAM FORTRESS 2 AND HALO 3!! half-life and halo would be a AWSOME game if they made it into one! "Halo-Life" THAT would be awsome!. i wish bungie and valve would make a that sutchas game ;)
  22. SiphaiBorsch
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    This is easily the best deal of the year as you get 5 groundbreaking, amazing games for the price of one overly expensive games. Even though only 3 are new, it is still worth it as all of the games in the deal are much better than anything out at the moment.
  23. JimM.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Excellent games, portal is worth the price alone.
  24. MattD.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    A great value for a lot of good stuff. My only complaint is that everything is a little short. The time it would take to complete all single-player content was not as advertised. Still, the package as a whole should please HL2 fans and newcomers alike, while easily standing up to FPS heavy hitters: Bioshock & Halo 3.
  25. Infective.Gaming
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    I mean what an excellent creation!,
    Its never happenned to a Xbox 360 game. 3 games in 1 box!. And the games held in the action-packed package are all devine in their own way!. Im sure & Infective.Gaming are sure that The Orange Box will become a big hit, Not just to 360 but to PC and PS3 aswell!.

    Reviewed by: Coltboy (Infective.Gaming)
  26. Patrick
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    I ended up getting this for the 360 because the steam ports are blocked on campus, im mainly a pc gamer. To my surprise, it plays exceptional and looks exceptional even on a non-hd tv. And Tf2 is surprisingly fun with a controller. Kudos Valve
  27. ChrisN.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    HL2 was awesome on my PC and im so glad that it was packaged with the new content. this as many have stated so many times before is the best video game release for the money ever. bar none.for all the people talking about halo3 vs HL, give it a rest. we know they are both awesome games and we all have both games, lets just leave it at that and enjoy that fact we get to play awesome HL2 was awesome on my PC and im so glad that it was packaged with the new content. this as many have stated so many times before is the best video game release for the money ever. bar none.for all the people talking about halo3 vs HL, give it a rest. we know they are both awesome games and we all have both games, lets just leave it at that and enjoy that fact we get to play awesome stuff.portal was absolutely hysterical, very innovative and fresh, looking forward to another one.the guys at valve are geniuses.even as an "old release" its graphics and AI are still better than most of whats out there. Expand
  28. DanB.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Exosus, 'Portal' is meant to be a 3-4 hour game, whoever said 20 hours is obviously incorrect. Team Fortress 2 is my multiplayer game of the year, where in a world of Halo's and CoD's (both of which I own and love), Team Fortress just stands out on the console side, never before have I seen a class based shooter so finely tuned. The animations for each class are Exosus, 'Portal' is meant to be a 3-4 hour game, whoever said 20 hours is obviously incorrect. Team Fortress 2 is my multiplayer game of the year, where in a world of Halo's and CoD's (both of which I own and love), Team Fortress just stands out on the console side, never before have I seen a class based shooter so finely tuned. The animations for each class are hilarious and amazing. The game is beautiful. Half-Life 2 and expansions are my favorites first-person single player experiences ever. Just such a amazing value for all of those games, I would pay $60 dollars for each on their own. Go out and buy this game. Expand
  29. JohnM.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Half life 2 is doubled with new content, portal is short but very, very sweet, and TF 2 is one of the best only team bassed fps' out there, all this box set needs is downloadable content on all formats, (port and TF2 new maps must happen!) and this is the definitave purchase of the year, this is enough to top halo 3 for game of the year!
  30. MattF.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    The Half Life 2 and expansions will keep you occupied for hours, with amazing action packed gameplay and original ideas. Portal is an addictive, fun and entertaining puzzle game, even if it does get frustrating at times. Team Fortress 2 is right at the top with the best 360 online FPS games. With original cartoon style graphics, only really seen before in FPS 'XIII', this game The Half Life 2 and expansions will keep you occupied for hours, with amazing action packed gameplay and original ideas. Portal is an addictive, fun and entertaining puzzle game, even if it does get frustrating at times. Team Fortress 2 is right at the top with the best 360 online FPS games. With original cartoon style graphics, only really seen before in FPS 'XIII', this game is brand new and higly addictive. With the inclusion of the new installment to the series, 'Half Life 2: Episode Two' even people who have played Half Life 2 will be interested in this package. Superb value for money and a superb addition to your gaming collection. Achievements are designed well, with a few challenges in there. The total available gamerscore is 1000 points, but an update that has been confirmed by Valve will offer more rewards. A must have 360 title. Expand
  31. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    The best game on Xbox, bar none. The Orange Box has 5 truly brilliant games on one disc. Team Fortress 2 is a bloody, shouty shooter that's only flaw is it's small fan-base. With more support, it could be amazing. The three Half Life games are an example of how to make shooters constantly fun, always throwing around new ideas, always being supremely playable. Finally, Portal is a brand newThe best game on Xbox, bar none. The Orange Box has 5 truly brilliant games on one disc. Team Fortress 2 is a bloody, shouty shooter that's only flaw is it's small fan-base. With more support, it could be amazing. The three Half Life games are an example of how to make shooters constantly fun, always throwing around new ideas, always being supremely playable. Finally, Portal is a brand new (though at the time of writing, Portal 2 has been released) puzzle shooter that unique, yet fits in with the Half Life mythology. It's truly mind bending and simply unmissable. And, as is The Orange Box itself. A collection of five unmissable games in one unbeatable package. Get it! Expand
  32. May 27, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece. One of gamings best offerings. A gaming experienced that will be remembered for a lifetime. Mind blowing. Superb. Revolutionary. Another all time fav. Of mine
  33. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    ive seen this game for the pc back in 2004 and it blew me away, i never played it till it hit the xbox, and lemme tell you, this is the best 1st person solo campaign i have evr witnessed. its jsut amazing, every aspect of the game is crazy. **** the whole package is a steal.... 5 games on a disk? come on now, thats too easy not to pass up... **** i dont think i should say more? **** buyive seen this game for the pc back in 2004 and it blew me away, i never played it till it hit the xbox, and lemme tell you, this is the best 1st person solo campaign i have evr witnessed. its jsut amazing, every aspect of the game is crazy. **** the whole package is a steal.... 5 games on a disk? come on now, thats too easy not to pass up... **** i dont think i should say more? **** buy this bih if you havent already Expand
  34. EvanH
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Every one of these games compares favorably with the best currently on the market, despite being 3-5 years old. By far the most fun I've had on xbox360 in years. Now that the price is down to $15 or less for a new disk, it is ludicrous to give this anything but a 10.
  35. JustinV
    Jul 30, 2009
    9
    The orange box is a game that exceeded my expectations when I bought it. The game has great gameplay and multiplayer action, with amazing textures and graphics to go with it. Over all it is a great game.
  36. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    You've read the reasons this game is an easy 10. Let's be honest here. And although it feels dated in some ways by now (obviously), it still is just so great.
  37. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Best Compilation disc . . . EVER!!!
  38. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    The Orange Box is the best value ever. Half life 2 is amazing. Portal is a new fresh puzzle and TF2 is a great team based multiplayer game.
  39. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    this is just the best package ever. granted portal is too short and team fortress looks dodgy, they are all great games at a very low price. excellent value and overall i think it is even better than blops, dead rising, fable 3 (by miles) and even guitar hero (for value)
  40. JoshuaB.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    Did 360 get all the maps (loads of 'em)? And with the trophies have you been able to upgrade your medic and pyro (2 new updates for pc with pyro and medic achievments, get some and you get new weps)?
  41. TomG.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    First i will start off with the obvious. 50 bucks for 5 amazing games! Now. I will begin with Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2 Episode 1, and Half-Life 2 Episode 2. They are all Amazing games(i have played the original half-life 2 and episode 1 before already, and i loved them. as for Episode 2, I just finnished it, and although short, it is absolutely amazing. You can realy see the depth of the First i will start off with the obvious. 50 bucks for 5 amazing games! Now. I will begin with Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2 Episode 1, and Half-Life 2 Episode 2. They are all Amazing games(i have played the original half-life 2 and episode 1 before already, and i loved them. as for Episode 2, I just finnished it, and although short, it is absolutely amazing. You can realy see the depth of the story in this last episode. Portal was probably the most satisfying gaming experience i have Ever had....i just wish there was more of it. right now im just getting into Team Fortress 2 and again i love it. In fact i love Every part of this package so much im almost tempted to buy it for Xbox 360 as well. Expand
  42. ApocalypseBrown
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Only the 5th game I have given 10/10, so tells you the quality that lies within this package. Those idiots who known nothing about gaming, give this 0. But are the same people who give the yearly updates of Need for Speed 10. Says a lot doesn't it! All the games in the box are classics on their own right. HL2 is simply the second best shooter of all time, and despite its age its Only the 5th game I have given 10/10, so tells you the quality that lies within this package. Those idiots who known nothing about gaming, give this 0. But are the same people who give the yearly updates of Need for Speed 10. Says a lot doesn't it! All the games in the box are classics on their own right. HL2 is simply the second best shooter of all time, and despite its age its still oozes class. Esps 1 is good, but not overly different from HL2. Esps 2 is where the series launches to greatness level. Has everything in equal but exciting measure, yet the characters are actually more engaging also. So these three games would well be worth the price, but wait...... theres more! Portal is already a favourite of mine, it is revolutionary in every way possible. Short, but you will be back playing it on the more difficult levels after you finish. Best puzzle game since Tertis. Then lastly you have Team Fortress 2, and possible one of the best multi players out there. It does suffer a lot from lag online and is quite Timespiltters at times with its crazy pace. But all the different characters enhance the game play triple fold, and is seriously fun and addictive. Watch out for more downloadable content for this soon. Overall for 50 quid, it is deal of the decade! Don't believe the Need for Speed comics. Expand
  43. MattA.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    Great titles all around. Half-life 2 and all of it's episodes are very good, and flow together seemless to turn minutes into hours of gameing quickly. Portal is quite possibly the most unique, and hilarious game i've played in the past 5 years. Team Fortress 2 has such amazing style and deep gameplay. My only gripe is that Team Fortress two never has enough people on at a time, Great titles all around. Half-life 2 and all of it's episodes are very good, and flow together seemless to turn minutes into hours of gameing quickly. Portal is quite possibly the most unique, and hilarious game i've played in the past 5 years. Team Fortress 2 has such amazing style and deep gameplay. My only gripe is that Team Fortress two never has enough people on at a time, and only has 2 modes. It needs a team slayer mode and more maps. I'm sure some upgrades will come... Portal was short...but it may be my favorite titile in the Orange Box. Expand
  44. BarryP.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing deal. A set of 5 excellent games on 1 disc...and i only payed £30 for it... Half Life 2 may be 3-4 years old now but the graphics are still very impressive, as well as the overall physics of the game being so realistic it's hard to think of any other FPS game (atleast) that can top it for it's generation. It's the sort of title that every other FPS Absolutely amazing deal. A set of 5 excellent games on 1 disc...and i only payed £30 for it... Half Life 2 may be 3-4 years old now but the graphics are still very impressive, as well as the overall physics of the game being so realistic it's hard to think of any other FPS game (atleast) that can top it for it's generation. It's the sort of title that every other FPS should aspire to be like. I just love the fact that Valve have focused corely on making it a thinking man's game rather than just blasting through everything in chaos. Haven't reached the other 2 episodes yet but i'm about 8 hours through the 1st one and i love it! Portal is also good fun for a bit of action on the side.. TF2, great fun...the best game money can buy, guaranteed. Expand
  45. KhristianR.
    Oct 2, 2008
    9
    A great offer and a collection of five very well made games. Half Life definitely set the first person benchmark and number 2 definitely carries it on in great style. Team Fortress is a great inclusion for multiplayer and if you fancy giving your brain a work out, try Portal. Just who is the guy with the briefcase though.... SCORE : 94%.
  46. JohnD.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    The best gaming deal you'll ever have. five awesome games, the price on one. I don't see why people are whining about valve also releasing HL2 and episode 1 in the same box. If you have played the both you probly have a PC and you can buy episode 2, portal and TF2 alone. and three games, price of one is still a damn good deal.
  47. TravisD.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    As others have said this is the best game for the money, I was able to catch it on sale for $40. That is an insane cash point for five great games. I love Portal -- it has been a long time that since a game gave me a new challenging gameplay mechanic and made me laugh the entire time. I have just started on the Half-Life series but so far it is really good and Team Fortress is an As others have said this is the best game for the money, I was able to catch it on sale for $40. That is an insane cash point for five great games. I love Portal -- it has been a long time that since a game gave me a new challenging gameplay mechanic and made me laugh the entire time. I have just started on the Half-Life series but so far it is really good and Team Fortress is an interesting variant on deathmatch play especially if you are used to Halo and COD. Expand
  48. TARGET1058
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Portal is worth a 10 alone, but all the other many games that come in this pack a good quality games. One of the best deals for the money.
  49. GordonFreeman
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    Amazing! Half Life 2, a 4 year old game, is simply amazing on the 360! With enhanced graphics the game looks really good and the gameplay is great. It isn't just a run and gun game like many other shooters. You actually have to solve puzzles and complete difficult tasks to survive and move through the game. Portal is possibly one of the most mind bending an fun games out there, yet itAmazing! Half Life 2, a 4 year old game, is simply amazing on the 360! With enhanced graphics the game looks really good and the gameplay is great. It isn't just a run and gun game like many other shooters. You actually have to solve puzzles and complete difficult tasks to survive and move through the game. Portal is possibly one of the most mind bending an fun games out there, yet it is very simple! Team Fortress 2 is awesome, too. It's almost like the WoW of shooters. While the main point of the game is to win and kill your opponents. There is a huge selection of weapons and classes. And of course Half Life 2 episodes 1 and 2 are great sequels to Half Life 2, bringing back some great puzzles, graphics, gameplay, and AI for all gamers to enjoy. You have to admit that getting so many games in one box for just $50 is a great deal. Certainly a must have! Expand
  50. GeffroyS>
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    The perfect masterpiece of all time.
  51. GustavoF.
    Mar 3, 2010
    10
    Best deal in existence. Most people talk about Portal, and I like it, but it's just a small fraction of how good is Orange Box. Half Life 2 and episodes are probably the best part of the pack. The action isn't senseless, it's not a Call of Duty kind of a game where you can take your brain out and play. HL2 will truly challenge you and at the end, that feeling will be very Best deal in existence. Most people talk about Portal, and I like it, but it's just a small fraction of how good is Orange Box. Half Life 2 and episodes are probably the best part of the pack. The action isn't senseless, it's not a Call of Duty kind of a game where you can take your brain out and play. HL2 will truly challenge you and at the end, that feeling will be very rewarding. TF2 is quickly addicting, maybe the best multiplayer game ever made, not for its quality or graphics or realism, just because its really FUN. Valve shows the potential of inovation and set new standards for the gaming industry. Expand
  52. DaivdD.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    5 GREAT games for the price of one? NONE of these games are "so-so", not a single one. Each on it's own is worth the price of a full game. There is no better deal. The word to express the amazement escape me. I can't see how ANYONE chould rate this less then ten, it's like a hurricane of awesome!
  53. WesS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The sum of the parts is as impressive as the parts of the sum. Great value, solid gameplay, three destinct FPS styles (SP FPS, MP FPS, Puzzle FPS) in one box. Hours, days, weeks of fun.
  54. AndrewA.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Valve delivers every time! The Orange Box is no exception, especially if you are new to the Half Life 2 experience. Team Fortress 2 is great fun with wonderful characters and quick game play, Portal is new and challenging, and Episode 2 is more great Half Life 2 gaming goodness! All this, and I am playing these on a 3 year old laptop! Gotta love it!
  55. MarcL
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Awesome... Just reminds me of why I keep saying that Half-Life 2 is the best game I've ever played.
  56. MarkC.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    You can't say that the orange box doesnt offer new content, Episode 2, Portal, Team Fortress. Not to mention most game wouldnthave made it far with Half-Life. The original game (HL1) offered the best graphics, AI, not to mention the great physics of its time. Its Halo 3's main compition. Half-Life has a better story line, Halo has a better multiplier. In Half-Life somtimes you You can't say that the orange box doesnt offer new content, Episode 2, Portal, Team Fortress. Not to mention most game wouldnthave made it far with Half-Life. The original game (HL1) offered the best graphics, AI, not to mention the great physics of its time. Its Halo 3's main compition. Half-Life has a better story line, Halo has a better multiplier. In Half-Life somtimes you feel like a fucking badass, i never feel like that in Halo, here is why, Gordon Freeman-Scientist, not a soldier. Master Chief-Trained soldier, power suit Expand
  57. JohnW.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    WOW! I was really shocked at this. Every single one of the five games is a great. Half Life and it's add-ons were jaw dropping, the story and visuals, as well as the characters feel like a living, breathing world. Portal is a comedic stroke of genius, the physics and almost obsessive compulsive mood of the game brings a smile to my face and a dreamy sigh of relief. Now the big one, WOW! I was really shocked at this. Every single one of the five games is a great. Half Life and it's add-ons were jaw dropping, the story and visuals, as well as the characters feel like a living, breathing world. Portal is a comedic stroke of genius, the physics and almost obsessive compulsive mood of the game brings a smile to my face and a dreamy sigh of relief. Now the big one, Team Fortress 2, WOW. I didn't think I'd say this, but good-bye for a while Halo 3, I've got a new game to play, the brief comedy and artistic style gives me smile even when I'm loosing. All of these games look and feel great, though, Team Fortress 2 did come with a few errors, I am pretty sure a patch will fix this. Good job Valve! Expand
  58. JasonH.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Having so many games together makes this a steal for $60. Although a few elements were left out from TFC in the new TF2, several were added as well. I really miss having grenades, though.
  59. A.D.Salo
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    I know I'm a little off topic here but I really think this is the one of the better sites for game ratings. Since it takes the ratings made by other sites and compiles them. In addition, providing their own take. Well done. [Ed: my new best buddy.] Oh, the game by the way, fantastic.
  60. C.henry
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    easily one of the best games on the xbox, and definitely the best bang for you dollar. It's practically 5 games for the price of one. One of the best single player FPS games ever, HL2. Portals is ridiculously innovative and creative. Plus, it's a hoot. TF2 looks and plays great.
  61. PhilM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    After the disappointing single player experience of Halo 3, it's great to play the Orange Box single player games and be reminded that there are still developers who can get it right...
  62. ScottR.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The three games here are not without flaw. Regardless, I can't think of any game that I would say is definitely better than this. Especially when you consider the value of 3 near perfect games for the price of one.
  63. DamienA.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Ridiculous games! HL2 alone is amazing, but including 4 other games in this package is unbeatable. Portal is a little too short but how can you complain when you have a good 20 hours of HL2 game play included on the disk. Not to mention the countless hours for TF2!
  64. JonT.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This box is a must buy. After you beat Portal you will agree that it was worth it for that game's ending alone. Yes, I'm serious.
  65. DarthGoat
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    100% awesomesauce.
  66. R.Hill
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This rating is for Half-Life 2: Episode 2... I really enjoyed the game. It draws you in with a cinematic experience. I beat it in a day, but still was very entertaining. The only disappointment was that they left you hanging at the end (leading to an episode 3 obviously). Definitely looking forward to the next installment.
  67. XtHcX519XSimChampion
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Team Fortress Two alone is worth the price tag. The addition of Half Life for people who never played the PC version is good bang for your buck. Not to fond of Portal, but the game has so much more to offer. In my opinion this game is the Halo 3 killer.
  68. WillM.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Amazing achievement by Valve. Episode 2 is the best Half-Life gameplay has been yet, the story is so immersive, the environent so gripping, that you don't want it to end. Portal is the perfect companion piece to that triumph, and an amazingly fun and inventive game in it's own right. Then there's TF2, and after logging many beta and live hours I can say this is the best Amazing achievement by Valve. Episode 2 is the best Half-Life gameplay has been yet, the story is so immersive, the environent so gripping, that you don't want it to end. Portal is the perfect companion piece to that triumph, and an amazingly fun and inventive game in it's own right. Then there's TF2, and after logging many beta and live hours I can say this is the best online shooter in years. A gamer would be foolish not to buy this, and not just because it's a great deal: It's just the highest quality gaming experience you'll see all year, period. Expand
  69. JohnF.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    So much content on one disc. Cmon', you can't go wrong with that. Especially when it's Half-Life. Valve I salute you!
  70. Ryan
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    A must own. Always something to do in this compilation. There's great story, great innovation, great multiplayer, great replay value, great achievements (99 of them). This is a must buy.
  71. DavidK.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Apart from being the best deal in gaming history the story in episode 2 is remarkable, with a dramtic ending and intense graphics, definetly the best half life has to offer. Second team fortress is definetly one of the best multiplayer games ever, along with sick new graphics and animation styles. Something like TF2 can never get boring.... And finally portal, although can get boring, is Apart from being the best deal in gaming history the story in episode 2 is remarkable, with a dramtic ending and intense graphics, definetly the best half life has to offer. Second team fortress is definetly one of the best multiplayer games ever, along with sick new graphics and animation styles. Something like TF2 can never get boring.... And finally portal, although can get boring, is fun since we all know it will have smth to do with episode 3. However the ending in portal was pretty sweet too. Expand
  72. JoeyK.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    First off, let's disregard the fact that this collection includes two already released games, including possibly the best PC shooter in history. Ignore that. This box includes three games that are each worth paying 20 dollars for, at least. Portal is fantastic. It's short, and doesn't have too much breadth, but it's oh so wonderfully fun, interesting, and new. Episode First off, let's disregard the fact that this collection includes two already released games, including possibly the best PC shooter in history. Ignore that. This box includes three games that are each worth paying 20 dollars for, at least. Portal is fantastic. It's short, and doesn't have too much breadth, but it's oh so wonderfully fun, interesting, and new. Episode 2 is a truly great game, and a great addition to Half Life, but is not a "full game." Team Fortress 2 is fabulous; my favorite multiplayer shooter ever, and undoubtedly the best class-based mp shooter ever. It looks great, plays great, is hilarious, well balanced, and polished to perfection. To summarize, there are three really great games here. TF2 is worth a full 50 dollars, but you get all three for that one epic price. Expand
  73. JoeT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Portal is absolutely amazing! I haven't played a game crafted with new ideas and smarts since Shadow Of The Colossus on the PS2 . Portal is the first truly unique experience I've played in quite a while. Too bad Valve didn't see fir to release a longer version of Portal on its own (but hopefully they'll release a Portal level construction set). ...Oh, and the Episode Portal is absolutely amazing! I haven't played a game crafted with new ideas and smarts since Shadow Of The Colossus on the PS2 . Portal is the first truly unique experience I've played in quite a while. Too bad Valve didn't see fir to release a longer version of Portal on its own (but hopefully they'll release a Portal level construction set). ...Oh, and the Episode Two and the revamped HL2, Ep1 are nice too. Expand
  74. DoisK.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    As already mentioned by many others, the amazing value for money in this package is astounding and the only issue I have with it is that Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is a tad bit too short. Portal, in my opinion, was just the right length. Most may find that its abit too short but I find it to be appropriate for the type of gameplay. Anyway, though Episode 2 would have been better had it been As already mentioned by many others, the amazing value for money in this package is astounding and the only issue I have with it is that Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is a tad bit too short. Portal, in my opinion, was just the right length. Most may find that its abit too short but I find it to be appropriate for the type of gameplay. Anyway, though Episode 2 would have been better had it been abit longer, the unprecedented engaging story and its god-like in-game cutseens will blow you away. And as for Portal, it will give you tons of laughs and eventually starts to feel more serious to the point it seems like you're in a thriller movie as the main character. It gave be truly the best 3 hours of my life. Awesome game. Finally, Team Fortress 2 is something that will have you glued to your computer forever. As a multiplayer game, it has pretty much infinite replayability. TFC's mods were great, it made the game practically 5 games but now that theres Team Fortress 2, who knows what wonders the community can come up with. Even better - what Valve is going to add... I hear a new player-class is coming up. Expand
  75. AhmedS.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    One of the best games of all time gest a second expantion, and along with is the funnest multiplayer game that people will be playing for atleast the next ten years. Valve also gave a nice puzzle game Portal with is fun but is only a single player game. an for good mesure gave Half life 2 and episode one with it. I perordered it and knew that this is a MUST HAVE for any True PC gamer, but One of the best games of all time gest a second expantion, and along with is the funnest multiplayer game that people will be playing for atleast the next ten years. Valve also gave a nice puzzle game Portal with is fun but is only a single player game. an for good mesure gave Half life 2 and episode one with it. I perordered it and knew that this is a MUST HAVE for any True PC gamer, but is also available fot XBOX360. GET IT, PLAY IT, and MAKE sure you have enough time for WORK and SLEEP! i give it a 11 out of 10 Expand
  76. Nathan
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    Absolutely brilliant mix of games. The only problem I have is that TF2 is a bit laggy, but I still have four other top notch games to play!
  77. IanS.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    An awesome package, those saying that it is a "repackage" of old games, you have to get through your heads that even if you already own half-life 2 and episode 1, there is still portal (short, but awesomely fun), episode 2 (shortish, but incredibly detailed) and TF2, now Team fortress 2 is a standalone game in my opinion. I would purchase it alone for 90$, the fact that it is one of many An awesome package, those saying that it is a "repackage" of old games, you have to get through your heads that even if you already own half-life 2 and episode 1, there is still portal (short, but awesomely fun), episode 2 (shortish, but incredibly detailed) and TF2, now Team fortress 2 is a standalone game in my opinion. I would purchase it alone for 90$, the fact that it is one of many games (which you may not even own) just makes this package incredible value. Stop with the comparisons with Halo 3, they are completely different games, I myself am a Half-life 2 fan, but Halo has it's own merits, even ignoring the hype. Orange box is one of the best packages, perhaps even the best since I picked up Diablo 2 battle chest for 40$ back in the day. Expand
  78. NathanMerilees
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    The Collection of the Year; the Orange Box features award-winning Game of the Year of 2004, Half-Life 2, two of it's episodic sequels, "Half-Life 2: Episode One" and "Half-Life 2: Episode Two", as well as the amazing and critically acclaimed first-person puzzle game "Portal", and finally, the long-awaited sequel to Team Fortress Classic, Team Fortress 2.
  79. G.G.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Quite simply stunning. And even if we were just talking about Episode 2 and Portal it would still get a ten from me! Parts of EP2 are awesome, even on this older engine (With enhancements) Valve do stuff that other devs can't come close to (even when using cutting edge engines, ie Bioshock which is very poor compared to this). In EP2 the lighting, texture use and level design are jaw Quite simply stunning. And even if we were just talking about Episode 2 and Portal it would still get a ten from me! Parts of EP2 are awesome, even on this older engine (With enhancements) Valve do stuff that other devs can't come close to (even when using cutting edge engines, ie Bioshock which is very poor compared to this). In EP2 the lighting, texture use and level design are jaw dropping (on a good system @ full details preferably in widescreen + 8xAA min), it looks almost real in places thanks to their subtle use of HDR and Bluring, the levels also are amazing, never too sparse or too cluttered and just feel 'real' and amazingly immersive. Expand
  80. JonathanCornwell
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Awesome game! I had played HL2 and some of Ep 1 on PC, but wow... this is an incredible port. It looks terrific and plays just as terrific. The value is incredible... Has all of HL2 plus Episodes 1 and 2... and the new puzzle/FPS game, Portal, which was absolutely brilliant. Very fun and addictive (Portal). Also has TF2 which I only got to play for a few minutes, but it looked reallyAwesome game! I had played HL2 and some of Ep 1 on PC, but wow... this is an incredible port. It looks terrific and plays just as terrific. The value is incredible... Has all of HL2 plus Episodes 1 and 2... and the new puzzle/FPS game, Portal, which was absolutely brilliant. Very fun and addictive (Portal). Also has TF2 which I only got to play for a few minutes, but it looked really good, and I look forward to spending more time with. Outstanding! Expand
  81. BenChristenson
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    BEST GAME EVER. Spy vs. Spy with real team work. 9 classes; humor; graphics; balance; and great game play.
  82. JonC.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    This game(s) is (are) awesome. The fact that it has 3 (or 5, depending on how you look at it) games packed into one for 60 bucks is great. Half Life 2 is amazing as it was on the PC, plus episode 1 and 2 which are equally good. Then there's Portal: the best puzzle game I have ever played. Once you get the hang of Portal, you can't stop playing. Then of course there's Team This game(s) is (are) awesome. The fact that it has 3 (or 5, depending on how you look at it) games packed into one for 60 bucks is great. Half Life 2 is amazing as it was on the PC, plus episode 1 and 2 which are equally good. Then there's Portal: the best puzzle game I have ever played. Once you get the hang of Portal, you can't stop playing. Then of course there's Team Fortress 2, an awesome and balanced multiplayer game that is a good laid-back break from Halo 3. Is it possible to just give each game in it a ten and give it a 50? Expand
  83. ldu
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Bought it just for the half-life episodes, but was surprised by how good tf2 was and how addictive portal was. The best out of the 5 to me is Episode 2, even though it's pretty short. The battles with the antlions, hunters/striders were incredible. I dont see how people can give this game(s) under a 9. It's better than Halo 3's sp, but I still think Halo 3's mp kicks Bought it just for the half-life episodes, but was surprised by how good tf2 was and how addictive portal was. The best out of the 5 to me is Episode 2, even though it's pretty short. The battles with the antlions, hunters/striders were incredible. I dont see how people can give this game(s) under a 9. It's better than Halo 3's sp, but I still think Halo 3's mp kicks every other game in its ass. Expand
  84. DavidP.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    I'm in love with all three of the new Orange Box games, and if you haven't played Half-Life 2 yet, then you're getting a ridiculous bargain. I paid $60 for HL2 by itself and it was worth it. Portal is short but thoroughly enjoyable (and what a great ending), and Team Fortress 2 takes the place of Counter-Strike: Source as my new favorite online FPS. If HL2 has one weakness, I'm in love with all three of the new Orange Box games, and if you haven't played Half-Life 2 yet, then you're getting a ridiculous bargain. I paid $60 for HL2 by itself and it was worth it. Portal is short but thoroughly enjoyable (and what a great ending), and Team Fortress 2 takes the place of Counter-Strike: Source as my new favorite online FPS. If HL2 has one weakness, it's that it is completely linear, in a way that seems implausible and contrived to me. Expand
  85. JosephF.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    The best $60 you could ever spend on a video game. There is easily $110 worth of product here (Half-Life 2 + Ep 1 & 2 for $60, Team Fortress for $30, and Portal for $20), and they included them all in one package at the price for one Next-gen game. And that's not even speaking to the shear quality of said games. Half-Life 2 maybe one of the best games ever, Portal is a genius (albeit The best $60 you could ever spend on a video game. There is easily $110 worth of product here (Half-Life 2 + Ep 1 & 2 for $60, Team Fortress for $30, and Portal for $20), and they included them all in one package at the price for one Next-gen game. And that's not even speaking to the shear quality of said games. Half-Life 2 maybe one of the best games ever, Portal is a genius (albeit short) First-person puzzle-platformer, and Team Fotress is a diverse, funny, and extremely well balanced multiplayer game. All three of these games are 9/10 or higher, and it's sold in a package at almost half the price than what they could have gotten away with. Valve +1 Expand
  86. Daveydje
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Superb value for money, with a number of contenders for game of the year for me in there. Halflife 2 still holds up as a decent shooter. Plus Eps 1 and 2 are good little expansions of the story. Portal is a work of genius. Innovative gameplay, funny, and a superb pay off at the end. Yes it is short, but it was designed that way, and it's beautifully made, and polished to death. TF2 Superb value for money, with a number of contenders for game of the year for me in there. Halflife 2 still holds up as a decent shooter. Plus Eps 1 and 2 are good little expansions of the story. Portal is a work of genius. Innovative gameplay, funny, and a superb pay off at the end. Yes it is short, but it was designed that way, and it's beautifully made, and polished to death. TF2 is also great great fun. has to be one of the best online shooters ever made. Value really pulled all the stops out on Orange Box, it really is a 'must buy'. Expand
  87. AdamD.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best deal for consumers in the history of the video game industry. Portal is clever, fun, and even sometimes halarious. Half-Life 2 + Ep. 1 have aged well, and Ep. 2 is just as good if not better than its predecessors. I haven't had the time to play Team Fortress 2 yet, but I've heard nothing but praise so... GO BUY IT! If the consumers support this type of This is by far the best deal for consumers in the history of the video game industry. Portal is clever, fun, and even sometimes halarious. Half-Life 2 + Ep. 1 have aged well, and Ep. 2 is just as good if not better than its predecessors. I haven't had the time to play Team Fortress 2 yet, but I've heard nothing but praise so... GO BUY IT! If the consumers support this type of release then game companies will do it more. Expand
  88. XarshaleX.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    this package is worth the 50 dollars even if you are re buying half-life 2 and episode 1, buying TF2, Portal, and episode 2 off of steam is still more than 50. no one should complain about that. Beside the fact that its the biggest bargain in video game history TF2 is a great multi player game which provides fun on end, portal was short but the most fun I've had in a long time, and this package is worth the 50 dollars even if you are re buying half-life 2 and episode 1, buying TF2, Portal, and episode 2 off of steam is still more than 50. no one should complain about that. Beside the fact that its the biggest bargain in video game history TF2 is a great multi player game which provides fun on end, portal was short but the most fun I've had in a long time, and it ties into the greatest FPS adventure of all time. Seriously, if the Orange box doesnt earn 10/10 nothing should Expand
  89. Jake
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    If you already own or played HL:2 on PC, this deal loses some value, but is still an easy buy. If you haven't played HL:2, this is one of the greatest deals ever. Portal and TF2 are both very good and very fun. They could definately use more maps and such through downloadable content, but that will surely come. What a great game(s).
  90. AlJ.
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    While you cant argue with the amount of content you get in this package, it doesnt mean that all of it is "10" worthy. Case in point, a lot of my friends we're hyping up the Team Fortress portion of the game and thats what I was most looking forward to. Well I was kinda underwhelmed with it (It seemed like no matter how many times you would shoot someone, they wouldn't die, yet While you cant argue with the amount of content you get in this package, it doesnt mean that all of it is "10" worthy. Case in point, a lot of my friends we're hyping up the Team Fortress portion of the game and thats what I was most looking forward to. Well I was kinda underwhelmed with it (It seemed like no matter how many times you would shoot someone, they wouldn't die, yet they would turn around and shoot you once and your gone). I mean I am a rookie at this series so Im being leanient (Hence the 9 score), but as I said, I was slightly underwhelmed with it. Portal seems interesting and should keep me busy for a little bit and HL 1 and 2 are awesome (Great graphics, sound, voice acting,etc). Well worth the $$$, I just only wish they improved the online portion as well as Halo 3 improved there online portion (And yes I realize there made by two different developers, Im just saying that cause Halo 2 online sucked, but online Halo 3 is fantastic!). Worthy of a purchase if your into FPS and great story lines. Expand
  91. PaulM.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Has to be the best value gaming package in history. I can't believe some idiot had the brass neck to give this game a 0 because you had to re-purchase HL2 + Episode 1! Who cares? You're still getting three more games! Seperately they would cost more. So does it matter if you re-purchase them... no, i don't think so! The Half Life series is awesome and has to be one of the Has to be the best value gaming package in history. I can't believe some idiot had the brass neck to give this game a 0 because you had to re-purchase HL2 + Episode 1! Who cares? You're still getting three more games! Seperately they would cost more. So does it matter if you re-purchase them... no, i don't think so! The Half Life series is awesome and has to be one of the best FPS series ever. Portal takes a bit of getting into but is good fun and Team Fortress is a great multiplayer and quite funny too. The MP doesn't quite measure up to Halo 3's but it's not far behind it. Highly recommended. Expand
  92. SeanM
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    The one that gives this package a 0 is a complete idiot and has scarred the good name of The Orange Box with his stupidity. You have to buy halflife 2 again? So what? Its like $50 for 5 games three of which are brand new. I don't know why your panties are all in a knot considering you save over $50 even if you have to get half-life 2 and episode 1 all over again. In my opinion, evenThe one that gives this package a 0 is a complete idiot and has scarred the good name of The Orange Box with his stupidity. You have to buy halflife 2 again? So what? Its like $50 for 5 games three of which are brand new. I don't know why your panties are all in a knot considering you save over $50 even if you have to get half-life 2 and episode 1 all over again. In my opinion, even if you have them both, get it again, you save some serious money and its well worth it. Expand
  93. MaxM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    This is probably one of the best video game deals you would ever find. Sure it comes with a couple games you wouldn't buy seperately, but Half Life is fun and long-lasting, Portal is witty and trippy, and Team Fortress is just fun to have in my pocket. Orange Box is much more worth the buy.
  94. LouL.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    How can PC owners possibly feel hard done by. If you've already got the games then its as simple as not buying them again. big deal. and if you didnt have the good fortune of owning them on the PC then now you've got a chance on console. 5 great titles under the same DVD. there's very little wrong here,
  95. NickG.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Great games in one package. A comment made by another poster gave a score of 0 due to it being repackaged goods by Valve. It must be taken into consideration that many console gamers do not cross over into PC gaming, so for most this set of games will be an entirely new experience. Having played only Half-Life 2 prior to this, my experience has been nothing short of excellent. The Great games in one package. A comment made by another poster gave a score of 0 due to it being repackaged goods by Valve. It must be taken into consideration that many console gamers do not cross over into PC gaming, so for most this set of games will be an entirely new experience. Having played only Half-Life 2 prior to this, my experience has been nothing short of excellent. The graphical bar is raised in each episode of Half-Life 2, with Episode 2 being brought up to todays standards. Stories are great in each iteration. Portal, which only last a few hours for the main game, is nothing short of genius. I can say that I happily put Halo 3 aside to play though this set of games. The only knock I have is that I do wish graphics could have been updated throughout, which is why I only scored a 9. Generally, once I finish a game, it's put to the side to collect dust or until I decide to trade it. Playing through a 3+ year old Half-Life 2 did not seem like I was trudging through the same old stuff, and reminded me that FPS games are not all created equal. Only other note I have is that if you have surround sound, this game will treat you right. Highly recommend to all. Expand
  96. NickC.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    If Portal is not the most original game of this year for in your opinion, or if Team Fortress 2's cartoonish graphics just does not appeal to your realism, the Half Life 2 Trilogy should be enough to warrant the price tag. Sure Half Life 2, the first one may be a couple of years old, and EP1 is a bit short, but the addition of EP2 combines the series into an experience so unique and If Portal is not the most original game of this year for in your opinion, or if Team Fortress 2's cartoonish graphics just does not appeal to your realism, the Half Life 2 Trilogy should be enough to warrant the price tag. Sure Half Life 2, the first one may be a couple of years old, and EP1 is a bit short, but the addition of EP2 combines the series into an experience so unique and enjoyable, that's hard to pass up. Plus, the gravity gun + portal gun= unlimited creativity!!! Expand
  97. Colin
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    I had never played a Half-Life game before this and after completing Half-Life 2 and the two episodes I'm now playing the original on pc. I have never played a game with such an engrossing narrative as this before (well maybe bioshock), the characters are devloped amazingly well and that is what keeps the games racing at such a furious pace; the need to find closure to the human I had never played a Half-Life game before this and after completing Half-Life 2 and the two episodes I'm now playing the original on pc. I have never played a game with such an engrossing narrative as this before (well maybe bioshock), the characters are devloped amazingly well and that is what keeps the games racing at such a furious pace; the need to find closure to the human drama. Plus the graphics, gameplay, sound are all excellent. Why turn games into movies when games such as these are already providing excellent cinematic entertainment. Portal is also superb, very short but very well executed and nigh on flawless. Have not played Team Fortress 2 enough to be able to comment on it but was quite good fun and amusing aswell. Next to Bioshock the best experience that can be had alone with an xbox360. Expand
  98. O.C.
    Dec 27, 2008
    10
    Pros: - 5 great games in one package - Cons: - Graphics could use work on a few of the games - The Bottom Line: With an addictive online multiplayer, an ingenious puzzle game, and one of the best single player FPS games ever made, The Orange Box is a terrific deal. ---- mjhhiv's Full Review: I recently paid $60 for Bomberman: Act Zero. The game is a degenerate mess, and is clearly Pros: - 5 great games in one package - Cons: - Graphics could use work on a few of the games - The Bottom Line: With an addictive online multiplayer, an ingenious puzzle game, and one of the best single player FPS games ever made, The Orange Box is a terrific deal. ---- mjhhiv's Full Review: I recently paid $60 for Bomberman: Act Zero. The game is a degenerate mess, and is clearly not worth your money. Half Life 2: The Orange Box was also worth $60 on release day, and with 5 games in one box, you Expand
  99. TheNumberQ.
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game I have ever played. I have spent more play time on this game than probably any other game I own. I have played half life 2 and episodes one and two uncountable times. Portal has given me endless amounts of fun and team fortress 2 does an amazing job at providing a wonderful multiplayer experience. If you don't have this game, then I'm guessing that every Easily the best game I have ever played. I have spent more play time on this game than probably any other game I own. I have played half life 2 and episodes one and two uncountable times. Portal has given me endless amounts of fun and team fortress 2 does an amazing job at providing a wonderful multiplayer experience. If you don't have this game, then I'm guessing that every gamestore within 200 miles of you is closed, or some other extremely unfortunate circumstance where you cant get your hands on this game. If you can get this game and are choosing not to, I suggest you check into the nearest mental hospital. Expand
  100. Maslab
    May 19, 2008
    10
    Hands down the best collection of games ever. You've got the Game of the Year and its little babies, the Best Multiplayer Game of the Year, and The best Puzzle Game of the Year. Portal also created a whole new genre, the First Person Puzzler, and if I'm wrong, just ignore that. HL2: Episode 2 is, like Portal, short but sweet. With wider and more realistic areas to battle Hands down the best collection of games ever. You've got the Game of the Year and its little babies, the Best Multiplayer Game of the Year, and The best Puzzle Game of the Year. Portal also created a whole new genre, the First Person Puzzler, and if I'm wrong, just ignore that. HL2: Episode 2 is, like Portal, short but sweet. With wider and more realistic areas to battle through. Team Fortress 2 is a blast, nice graphics choice, great gameplay, and great maps, even if the one use 80% of the time is 2Fort. Portal is just plain fun. The physics are great. Its short, 3-4 hours on your first run through, maybe 45 minutes on later run throughs. Portal is awesome. If you think it bites because its short, just ask what Valve could've added to make it longer. The Orange Box has definitely shown that Valve is still out there. This Box is a must for all fans of games who like shooters, puzzles, and online multiplayer. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    For first-person shooter fans, it doesn't get much better than this. What's even better is that each individual game runs amazingly well on the Xbox 360. The graphics are amazing as is the presentation. The interface that Valve created for navigating through the content is also wonderful.
  2. 95
    That so much great content is offered at the standard single-game price is astonishing.
  3. The Orange Box can't stop giving. It's a sci-fi masterpiece, a clever puzzler and a multiplayer monster wrapped into one, making this a landmark achievement in gaming value and one of the easiest buying decisions you'll make all year. Color us impressed.