User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 746 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 746

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GordonFreeman
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    Amazing! Half Life 2, a 4 year old game, is simply amazing on the 360! With enhanced graphics the game looks really good and the gameplay is great. It isn't just a run and gun game like many other shooters. You actually have to solve puzzles and complete difficult tasks to survive and move through the game. Portal is possibly one of the most mind bending an fun games out there, yet itAmazing! Half Life 2, a 4 year old game, is simply amazing on the 360! With enhanced graphics the game looks really good and the gameplay is great. It isn't just a run and gun game like many other shooters. You actually have to solve puzzles and complete difficult tasks to survive and move through the game. Portal is possibly one of the most mind bending an fun games out there, yet it is very simple! Team Fortress 2 is awesome, too. It's almost like the WoW of shooters. While the main point of the game is to win and kill your opponents. There is a huge selection of weapons and classes. And of course Half Life 2 episodes 1 and 2 are great sequels to Half Life 2, bringing back some great puzzles, graphics, gameplay, and AI for all gamers to enjoy. You have to admit that getting so many games in one box for just $50 is a great deal. Certainly a must have! Expand
  2. Mike
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    Ok, the guys who rated this 1 or 0, or terribly wrong or probably enjoy playing Viva Piñata a lot.
    The 5 games are actually pretty good, it is not the best game ever, but I do think is kind of over rated... so remember that you pay for what you get.
  3. James
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    'John D.' has obviously never played Orange Box. It's not a port of HL2, it's HL2, HL2 episode 1, HL2 Episode 2 (new), Portal (new), and Team Fortress 2 (new).

    It's not HL2 for full price, it's 3 new games and 2 old redone games for $60. That's $12 a game, excellent deal if you ask me. TF2 alone is $30.
  4. Colin
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    I had never played a Half-Life game before this and after completing Half-Life 2 and the two episodes I'm now playing the original on pc. I have never played a game with such an engrossing narrative as this before (well maybe bioshock), the characters are devloped amazingly well and that is what keeps the games racing at such a furious pace; the need to find closure to the human I had never played a Half-Life game before this and after completing Half-Life 2 and the two episodes I'm now playing the original on pc. I have never played a game with such an engrossing narrative as this before (well maybe bioshock), the characters are devloped amazingly well and that is what keeps the games racing at such a furious pace; the need to find closure to the human drama. Plus the graphics, gameplay, sound are all excellent. Why turn games into movies when games such as these are already providing excellent cinematic entertainment. Portal is also superb, very short but very well executed and nigh on flawless. Have not played Team Fortress 2 enough to be able to comment on it but was quite good fun and amusing aswell. Next to Bioshock the best experience that can be had alone with an xbox360. Expand
  5. BarryP.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing deal. A set of 5 excellent games on 1 disc...and i only payed £30 for it... Half Life 2 may be 3-4 years old now but the graphics are still very impressive, as well as the overall physics of the game being so realistic it's hard to think of any other FPS game (atleast) that can top it for it's generation. It's the sort of title that every other FPS Absolutely amazing deal. A set of 5 excellent games on 1 disc...and i only payed £30 for it... Half Life 2 may be 3-4 years old now but the graphics are still very impressive, as well as the overall physics of the game being so realistic it's hard to think of any other FPS game (atleast) that can top it for it's generation. It's the sort of title that every other FPS should aspire to be like. I just love the fact that Valve have focused corely on making it a thinking man's game rather than just blasting through everything in chaos. Haven't reached the other 2 episodes yet but i'm about 8 hours through the 1st one and i love it! Portal is also good fun for a bit of action on the side.. TF2, great fun...the best game money can buy, guaranteed. Expand
  6. NickC.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    If Portal is not the most original game of this year for in your opinion, or if Team Fortress 2's cartoonish graphics just does not appeal to your realism, the Half Life 2 Trilogy should be enough to warrant the price tag. Sure Half Life 2, the first one may be a couple of years old, and EP1 is a bit short, but the addition of EP2 combines the series into an experience so unique and If Portal is not the most original game of this year for in your opinion, or if Team Fortress 2's cartoonish graphics just does not appeal to your realism, the Half Life 2 Trilogy should be enough to warrant the price tag. Sure Half Life 2, the first one may be a couple of years old, and EP1 is a bit short, but the addition of EP2 combines the series into an experience so unique and enjoyable, that's hard to pass up. Plus, the gravity gun + portal gun= unlimited creativity!!! Expand
  7. TravisD.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    As others have said this is the best game for the money, I was able to catch it on sale for $40. That is an insane cash point for five great games. I love Portal -- it has been a long time that since a game gave me a new challenging gameplay mechanic and made me laugh the entire time. I have just started on the Half-Life series but so far it is really good and Team Fortress is an As others have said this is the best game for the money, I was able to catch it on sale for $40. That is an insane cash point for five great games. I love Portal -- it has been a long time that since a game gave me a new challenging gameplay mechanic and made me laugh the entire time. I have just started on the Half-Life series but so far it is really good and Team Fortress is an interesting variant on deathmatch play especially if you are used to Halo and COD. Expand
  8. JohnD.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    The best gaming deal you'll ever have. five awesome games, the price on one. I don't see why people are whining about valve also releasing HL2 and episode 1 in the same box. If you have played the both you probly have a PC and you can buy episode 2, portal and TF2 alone. and three games, price of one is still a damn good deal.
  9. LambdaLester
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    Its good probably the best game deal out there not good as the PC version because the Mod´s you can get with the PC.
    But the games are great all HL 2 games and the brilliant Puzzle game Portal and also Team fortress 2 online game
    but i don´t like to wait for EP 3 its to exiting but its still the best Half-life console port out there ps3 was laggy and stuff so i give it 9.5
    Its good probably the best game deal out there not good as the PC version because the Mod´s you can get with the PC.
    But the games are great all HL 2 games and the brilliant Puzzle game Portal and also Team fortress 2 online game
    but i don´t like to wait for EP 3 its to exiting
    but its still the best Half-life console port out there ps3 was laggy and stuff so i give it 9.5
    this is my first rate so sorry for wrong spelling
    Expand
  10. Barry
    Dec 25, 2007
    8
    Team Fortress 2 is a blast, Portal is pretty fun and the polished graphics look really impressive. Half Life i really can't get into tho.. sure the AI is really good and accurate with it's shots.. but the storyline is really boring and there isn't nough fmv going on.. which would make it alot more inteesting and feel more like an awad winning game. To be brutally honest i Team Fortress 2 is a blast, Portal is pretty fun and the polished graphics look really impressive. Half Life i really can't get into tho.. sure the AI is really good and accurate with it's shots.. but the storyline is really boring and there isn't nough fmv going on.. which would make it alot more inteesting and feel more like an awad winning game. To be brutally honest i think the Half Life series is pretty much overrated but the other 2 are quality fun. 8/10. Expand
  11. ChristopherP.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    I love this game. It's so much better than any other FPS' on the market right now. The unique graphics alone make it a game worth playing, whether you enjoy something light and fun, or bloody and hardcore. The gameplay is great, with interesting official maps, and custom ones made by users. One of my favorite games.
  12. NoahH.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    I remember hearing about Half Life from my buddy when I was a freshman in college (2000). I've always owned a mac, I don't want to hear it :), and had never played the Half Life and of course never Half Life 2 until they put out the "Orange Box". Sweet, sweet game. It feels so fresh if all you have ever played are console shooters. I just beat the original Half Life 2 and have I remember hearing about Half Life from my buddy when I was a freshman in college (2000). I've always owned a mac, I don't want to hear it :), and had never played the Half Life and of course never Half Life 2 until they put out the "Orange Box". Sweet, sweet game. It feels so fresh if all you have ever played are console shooters. I just beat the original Half Life 2 and have yet to play the other episodes or portal or multi-player but I'll tell you what, just the original game itself has been worth the money. A note to Exosus. I know your type: everybody likes it so I'll hate it to be different and feel original. You were feeling like a MENSA man for a second there weren't you. LOL. Great game. Go get it. Expand
  13. BRYANBRICENO
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    how the fuck did this box game beat halo 3 wtf!! WHO EVER VOTED FOR THIS GAME SUCKS CHIPS ROTTEN DICK.and this dont even look like a game..that stick figured picture on the cover looks like a MEN OR WOMEN sign to the restrooms..ARE WE SUPPOSED TO PLAY IN BATHROOMS OR A BOX...OR TOILETS..FUCK THIS GAME..WHO ARE WE SUPPOSED TO FUCKEN KILL THE SUPER TOILET OR BATH TUB MANIAC....OR BOX MAN yeahow the fuck did this box game beat halo 3 wtf!! WHO EVER VOTED FOR THIS GAME SUCKS CHIPS ROTTEN DICK.and this dont even look like a game..that stick figured picture on the cover looks like a MEN OR WOMEN sign to the restrooms..ARE WE SUPPOSED TO PLAY IN BATHROOMS OR A BOX...OR TOILETS..FUCK THIS GAME..WHO ARE WE SUPPOSED TO FUCKEN KILL THE SUPER TOILET OR BATH TUB MANIAC....OR BOX MAN yea i heard hes dangerous. Expand
  14. Daveydje
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Superb value for money, with a number of contenders for game of the year for me in there. Halflife 2 still holds up as a decent shooter. Plus Eps 1 and 2 are good little expansions of the story. Portal is a work of genius. Innovative gameplay, funny, and a superb pay off at the end. Yes it is short, but it was designed that way, and it's beautifully made, and polished to death. TF2 Superb value for money, with a number of contenders for game of the year for me in there. Halflife 2 still holds up as a decent shooter. Plus Eps 1 and 2 are good little expansions of the story. Portal is a work of genius. Innovative gameplay, funny, and a superb pay off at the end. Yes it is short, but it was designed that way, and it's beautifully made, and polished to death. TF2 is also great great fun. has to be one of the best online shooters ever made. Value really pulled all the stops out on Orange Box, it really is a 'must buy'. Expand
  15. MattF.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    The Half Life 2 and expansions will keep you occupied for hours, with amazing action packed gameplay and original ideas. Portal is an addictive, fun and entertaining puzzle game, even if it does get frustrating at times. Team Fortress 2 is right at the top with the best 360 online FPS games. With original cartoon style graphics, only really seen before in FPS 'XIII', this game The Half Life 2 and expansions will keep you occupied for hours, with amazing action packed gameplay and original ideas. Portal is an addictive, fun and entertaining puzzle game, even if it does get frustrating at times. Team Fortress 2 is right at the top with the best 360 online FPS games. With original cartoon style graphics, only really seen before in FPS 'XIII', this game is brand new and higly addictive. With the inclusion of the new installment to the series, 'Half Life 2: Episode Two' even people who have played Half Life 2 will be interested in this package. Superb value for money and a superb addition to your gaming collection. Achievements are designed well, with a few challenges in there. The total available gamerscore is 1000 points, but an update that has been confirmed by Valve will offer more rewards. A must have 360 title. Expand
  16. DanB.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Exosus, 'Portal' is meant to be a 3-4 hour game, whoever said 20 hours is obviously incorrect. Team Fortress 2 is my multiplayer game of the year, where in a world of Halo's and CoD's (both of which I own and love), Team Fortress just stands out on the console side, never before have I seen a class based shooter so finely tuned. The animations for each class are Exosus, 'Portal' is meant to be a 3-4 hour game, whoever said 20 hours is obviously incorrect. Team Fortress 2 is my multiplayer game of the year, where in a world of Halo's and CoD's (both of which I own and love), Team Fortress just stands out on the console side, never before have I seen a class based shooter so finely tuned. The animations for each class are hilarious and amazing. The game is beautiful. Half-Life 2 and expansions are my favorites first-person single player experiences ever. Just such a amazing value for all of those games, I would pay $60 dollars for each on their own. Go out and buy this game. Expand
  17. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    6
    Half Life 2 and expansions are highly questionable in quality. They had moments of originality that made up for the boring gameplay, but overall they were fairly mediocre - not noticeably bad, just not all that good. Team Fortress was almost good, it just lacked that certain something to put it over the top. It lacked "top end discrimination." That is to say that someone who was very, Half Life 2 and expansions are highly questionable in quality. They had moments of originality that made up for the boring gameplay, but overall they were fairly mediocre - not noticeably bad, just not all that good. Team Fortress was almost good, it just lacked that certain something to put it over the top. It lacked "top end discrimination." That is to say that someone who was very, very good would not necessarily do better than someone who was not quite as good. The only thing that really saves this is Portals, in my opinion. It's like an IQ test, minus the boring. Again, it lacks top end discrimination, the dev interview I read said it should take 20 hrs to complete the 20 challenges, I finished them in 3. Still a great game, especially with the advanced stuff afterwards. All in all, it gets a 6. It's worth playing, but it isn't really above average overall. Expand
  18. DominicP.
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Team Fortress 2 and Portal was wat i bought it for they both are a must play but i was dissapointed with half life. The story is boring and very confusing at time.
  19. RanderN.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Best value of the year for the 360, and totally a sleeper hit that surpasses even Halo 3 in terms on content and game play, a must buy, even for for Portal alone.
  20. MarkC.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    You can't say that the orange box doesnt offer new content, Episode 2, Portal, Team Fortress. Not to mention most game wouldnthave made it far with Half-Life. The original game (HL1) offered the best graphics, AI, not to mention the great physics of its time. Its Halo 3's main compition. Half-Life has a better story line, Halo has a better multiplier. In Half-Life somtimes you You can't say that the orange box doesnt offer new content, Episode 2, Portal, Team Fortress. Not to mention most game wouldnthave made it far with Half-Life. The original game (HL1) offered the best graphics, AI, not to mention the great physics of its time. Its Halo 3's main compition. Half-Life has a better story line, Halo has a better multiplier. In Half-Life somtimes you feel like a fucking badass, i never feel like that in Halo, here is why, Gordon Freeman-Scientist, not a soldier. Master Chief-Trained soldier, power suit Expand
  21. ldu
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Bought it just for the half-life episodes, but was surprised by how good tf2 was and how addictive portal was. The best out of the 5 to me is Episode 2, even though it's pretty short. The battles with the antlions, hunters/striders were incredible. I dont see how people can give this game(s) under a 9. It's better than Halo 3's sp, but I still think Halo 3's mp kicks Bought it just for the half-life episodes, but was surprised by how good tf2 was and how addictive portal was. The best out of the 5 to me is Episode 2, even though it's pretty short. The battles with the antlions, hunters/striders were incredible. I dont see how people can give this game(s) under a 9. It's better than Halo 3's sp, but I still think Halo 3's mp kicks every other game in its ass. Expand
  22. TheDude
    Nov 9, 2007
    7
    I don't know why, but Half Life 2 never really blew me away. I thought the Ravenholm stuff was brilliant, but I spent way too much time in the game fighting against enemies that were just annoying rather than fun to fight, like the face grabbers or the little buzzy things. The gman is cool, but other than that the story doesn't seem that riveting too me. So, all-in-all, it was I don't know why, but Half Life 2 never really blew me away. I thought the Ravenholm stuff was brilliant, but I spent way too much time in the game fighting against enemies that were just annoying rather than fun to fight, like the face grabbers or the little buzzy things. The gman is cool, but other than that the story doesn't seem that riveting too me. So, all-in-all, it was fun, with some really cool moments, but seemed mostly just kind of like a standard FPS to me. Episode One got so annoying I just stopped playing it, and Team Fortress II had such bad lag I couldn't find a fun game. Plus, it seemed you probably can't have enough players with a good connection on Xbox Live to make it as fun as it seems it should be. I did, however, really enjoy Portal. That was my favorite part of the Orange Box. Since Half Life 2 is an old game and doesn't really float my boat, I can't give this a high rating. However, Portal makes it worth a rental at least. Expand
  23. Marc.D.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    The way I see it...this year's battle for Game of the Year on the 360 comes down to The Orange Box and Bioshock. Sorry Halo...you're good...but these 2 titles are on another level.
  24. JeremyS.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    To say that this game is an eclectic mix of high-octane fps action, brilliant puzzle solving, squad based combat, and blazing vehicle sequences would be a gross understatement. Add to this an epic and engaging storyline and wrap it all in one of the best physics based graphics engines and you can't possibly go wrong. And that's all in the original title, by adding Ep.1, 2, To say that this game is an eclectic mix of high-octane fps action, brilliant puzzle solving, squad based combat, and blazing vehicle sequences would be a gross understatement. Add to this an epic and engaging storyline and wrap it all in one of the best physics based graphics engines and you can't possibly go wrong. And that's all in the original title, by adding Ep.1, 2, portal, and TF2, Valve has given us possibly the best retail purchase gamers have ever seen. Expand
  25. IanS.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    An awesome package, those saying that it is a "repackage" of old games, you have to get through your heads that even if you already own half-life 2 and episode 1, there is still portal (short, but awesomely fun), episode 2 (shortish, but incredibly detailed) and TF2, now Team fortress 2 is a standalone game in my opinion. I would purchase it alone for 90$, the fact that it is one of many An awesome package, those saying that it is a "repackage" of old games, you have to get through your heads that even if you already own half-life 2 and episode 1, there is still portal (short, but awesomely fun), episode 2 (shortish, but incredibly detailed) and TF2, now Team fortress 2 is a standalone game in my opinion. I would purchase it alone for 90$, the fact that it is one of many games (which you may not even own) just makes this package incredible value. Stop with the comparisons with Halo 3, they are completely different games, I myself am a Half-life 2 fan, but Halo has it's own merits, even ignoring the hype. Orange box is one of the best packages, perhaps even the best since I picked up Diablo 2 battle chest for 40$ back in the day. Expand
  26. Nathan
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    Absolutely brilliant mix of games. The only problem I have is that TF2 is a bit laggy, but I still have four other top notch games to play!
  27. JohnS.
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    OK is it me or is there something seriously wrong with the way people are rating video games. Bio Shock- mid 90s- no multiplayer, Halo 3 -mid 90s- basically a hi-def expansion pack to Halo 2. Haven't played COD 4 yet, but really another mid-90s, cmon. Look at the music, TV or movie page there's maybe one per year, maybe. Call me when Gears of War 2 is out, until then stop boring OK is it me or is there something seriously wrong with the way people are rating video games. Bio Shock- mid 90s- no multiplayer, Halo 3 -mid 90s- basically a hi-def expansion pack to Halo 2. Haven't played COD 4 yet, but really another mid-90s, cmon. Look at the music, TV or movie page there's maybe one per year, maybe. Call me when Gears of War 2 is out, until then stop boring me with good, but flawed FPS. Expand
  28. [Anonymous]
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    For all the idiots who are saying "how dare Valve make us pay for Episode 1 and Half Life 2!!!" Why don't you check the individual price of portal and Team Fortress 2 on steam. Oh, wait. They add up to $50.00. They also want $30.00 for episode 2. So basically even if you have Half Life 2 and episode 1, your only paying an extra $10 for episode 2, saving you $20.00 (and you get your For all the idiots who are saying "how dare Valve make us pay for Episode 1 and Half Life 2!!!" Why don't you check the individual price of portal and Team Fortress 2 on steam. Oh, wait. They add up to $50.00. They also want $30.00 for episode 2. So basically even if you have Half Life 2 and episode 1, your only paying an extra $10 for episode 2, saving you $20.00 (and you get your old games again to). So it is a good deal for what you are getting. I played through single player in about 30 hours, which is a huge time considering I had already beaten episode 1 and the origional game, so I only really had to work my way through the puzzles of ep. 2 and portal. Overall, a massively amazing set of games worth every penny. Expand
  29. JasonW.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Regnor V., Jeff K., Andrew H., Ryan W. and Rick R. have no idea what they are talking about. Team Fortress not having Deathmatch? It is called "Team" Fortress, after all.... And as far as Valve forcing long time owners to repurchase HL2 and Episode 1? Umm, call me crazy but HL2Ep1 has never been released on the 360 before. And I save the best for last: calling HL2, HL2Ep1 and HL2Ep2 an Regnor V., Jeff K., Andrew H., Ryan W. and Rick R. have no idea what they are talking about. Team Fortress not having Deathmatch? It is called "Team" Fortress, after all.... And as far as Valve forcing long time owners to repurchase HL2 and Episode 1? Umm, call me crazy but HL2Ep1 has never been released on the 360 before. And I save the best for last: calling HL2, HL2Ep1 and HL2Ep2 an XBLA game?! Do you have any concept of how big these games are? XBLA tops out at around 512MB per game, max. And that's not even 1/10th of what it would need to be to house this game on XBLA. Quit whining and give this game what it deserves. A 10! Expand
  30. BlakeB
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  31. ChrisO.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    After playing some of 2007's best titles--including Bioshock, Halo 3, and Metroid Prime 3--how can a game released over 3 years ago not only still hold its own graphically, but still be superior overall to today's best games? The addition of Portal and TF2 make this must-have collection the no-brainer video game purchase of the century. Half Life 2 is simply perfect.
  32. JasonL.
    Oct 31, 2007
    4
    Call it what it is, it's a bunch of old computer games that are packaged together. I rented this and took it back early, The story was cool in the campaign but the game play and complete lack of variety in enemies was just repetative and annoying. And I love all the comparisons to Halo 3, this game is far inferior to Halo 3. I was originally bebating on buying this but I am so Call it what it is, it's a bunch of old computer games that are packaged together. I rented this and took it back early, The story was cool in the campaign but the game play and complete lack of variety in enemies was just repetative and annoying. And I love all the comparisons to Halo 3, this game is far inferior to Halo 3. I was originally bebating on buying this but I am so releaved that I did not waste my money on it. Expand
  33. LouL.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    How can PC owners possibly feel hard done by. If you've already got the games then its as simple as not buying them again. big deal. and if you didnt have the good fortune of owning them on the PC then now you've got a chance on console. 5 great titles under the same DVD. there's very little wrong here,
  34. NickG.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Great games in one package. A comment made by another poster gave a score of 0 due to it being repackaged goods by Valve. It must be taken into consideration that many console gamers do not cross over into PC gaming, so for most this set of games will be an entirely new experience. Having played only Half-Life 2 prior to this, my experience has been nothing short of excellent. The Great games in one package. A comment made by another poster gave a score of 0 due to it being repackaged goods by Valve. It must be taken into consideration that many console gamers do not cross over into PC gaming, so for most this set of games will be an entirely new experience. Having played only Half-Life 2 prior to this, my experience has been nothing short of excellent. The graphical bar is raised in each episode of Half-Life 2, with Episode 2 being brought up to todays standards. Stories are great in each iteration. Portal, which only last a few hours for the main game, is nothing short of genius. I can say that I happily put Halo 3 aside to play though this set of games. The only knock I have is that I do wish graphics could have been updated throughout, which is why I only scored a 9. Generally, once I finish a game, it's put to the side to collect dust or until I decide to trade it. Playing through a 3+ year old Half-Life 2 did not seem like I was trudging through the same old stuff, and reminded me that FPS games are not all created equal. Only other note I have is that if you have surround sound, this game will treat you right. Highly recommend to all. Expand
  35. MaxM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    This is probably one of the best video game deals you would ever find. Sure it comes with a couple games you wouldn't buy seperately, but Half Life is fun and long-lasting, Portal is witty and trippy, and Team Fortress is just fun to have in my pocket. Orange Box is much more worth the buy.
  36. RegnorV.
    Oct 28, 2007
    1
    Portal is a very cool game, and it's the only reason I withheld the zero that the overall box deserves. This isn't value, this is repackaging of old content in order to sell what amounts to an XBLA game.
  37. SeanM
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    The one that gives this package a 0 is a complete idiot and has scarred the good name of The Orange Box with his stupidity. You have to buy halflife 2 again? So what? Its like $50 for 5 games three of which are brand new. I don't know why your panties are all in a knot considering you save over $50 even if you have to get half-life 2 and episode 1 all over again. In my opinion, evenThe one that gives this package a 0 is a complete idiot and has scarred the good name of The Orange Box with his stupidity. You have to buy halflife 2 again? So what? Its like $50 for 5 games three of which are brand new. I don't know why your panties are all in a knot considering you save over $50 even if you have to get half-life 2 and episode 1 all over again. In my opinion, even if you have them both, get it again, you save some serious money and its well worth it. Expand
  38. MattA.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    Great titles all around. Half-life 2 and all of it's episodes are very good, and flow together seemless to turn minutes into hours of gameing quickly. Portal is quite possibly the most unique, and hilarious game i've played in the past 5 years. Team Fortress 2 has such amazing style and deep gameplay. My only gripe is that Team Fortress two never has enough people on at a time, Great titles all around. Half-life 2 and all of it's episodes are very good, and flow together seemless to turn minutes into hours of gameing quickly. Portal is quite possibly the most unique, and hilarious game i've played in the past 5 years. Team Fortress 2 has such amazing style and deep gameplay. My only gripe is that Team Fortress two never has enough people on at a time, and only has 2 modes. It needs a team slayer mode and more maps. I'm sure some upgrades will come... Portal was short...but it may be my favorite titile in the Orange Box. Expand
  39. ApocalypseBrown
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Only the 5th game I have given 10/10, so tells you the quality that lies within this package. Those idiots who known nothing about gaming, give this 0. But are the same people who give the yearly updates of Need for Speed 10. Says a lot doesn't it! All the games in the box are classics on their own right. HL2 is simply the second best shooter of all time, and despite its age its Only the 5th game I have given 10/10, so tells you the quality that lies within this package. Those idiots who known nothing about gaming, give this 0. But are the same people who give the yearly updates of Need for Speed 10. Says a lot doesn't it! All the games in the box are classics on their own right. HL2 is simply the second best shooter of all time, and despite its age its still oozes class. Esps 1 is good, but not overly different from HL2. Esps 2 is where the series launches to greatness level. Has everything in equal but exciting measure, yet the characters are actually more engaging also. So these three games would well be worth the price, but wait...... theres more! Portal is already a favourite of mine, it is revolutionary in every way possible. Short, but you will be back playing it on the more difficult levels after you finish. Best puzzle game since Tertis. Then lastly you have Team Fortress 2, and possible one of the best multi players out there. It does suffer a lot from lag online and is quite Timespiltters at times with its crazy pace. But all the different characters enhance the game play triple fold, and is seriously fun and addictive. Watch out for more downloadable content for this soon. Overall for 50 quid, it is deal of the decade! Don't believe the Need for Speed comics. Expand
  40. PaulM.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Has to be the best value gaming package in history. I can't believe some idiot had the brass neck to give this game a 0 because you had to re-purchase HL2 + Episode 1! Who cares? You're still getting three more games! Seperately they would cost more. So does it matter if you re-purchase them... no, i don't think so! The Half Life series is awesome and has to be one of the Has to be the best value gaming package in history. I can't believe some idiot had the brass neck to give this game a 0 because you had to re-purchase HL2 + Episode 1! Who cares? You're still getting three more games! Seperately they would cost more. So does it matter if you re-purchase them... no, i don't think so! The Half Life series is awesome and has to be one of the best FPS series ever. Portal takes a bit of getting into but is good fun and Team Fortress is a great multiplayer and quite funny too. The MP doesn't quite measure up to Halo 3's but it's not far behind it. Highly recommended. Expand
  41. JohnM.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Half life 2 is doubled with new content, portal is short but very, very sweet, and TF 2 is one of the best only team bassed fps' out there, all this box set needs is downloadable content on all formats, (port and TF2 new maps must happen!) and this is the definitave purchase of the year, this is enough to top halo 3 for game of the year!
  42. JeffK.
    Oct 23, 2007
    0
    Really lame to force their longtime fans to rebuy half life 2 and episode 1. We're the people who have supported them this long and valve turns around and gives us a raw deal. Very lame.
  43. AlJ.
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    While you cant argue with the amount of content you get in this package, it doesnt mean that all of it is "10" worthy. Case in point, a lot of my friends we're hyping up the Team Fortress portion of the game and thats what I was most looking forward to. Well I was kinda underwhelmed with it (It seemed like no matter how many times you would shoot someone, they wouldn't die, yet While you cant argue with the amount of content you get in this package, it doesnt mean that all of it is "10" worthy. Case in point, a lot of my friends we're hyping up the Team Fortress portion of the game and thats what I was most looking forward to. Well I was kinda underwhelmed with it (It seemed like no matter how many times you would shoot someone, they wouldn't die, yet they would turn around and shoot you once and your gone). I mean I am a rookie at this series so Im being leanient (Hence the 9 score), but as I said, I was slightly underwhelmed with it. Portal seems interesting and should keep me busy for a little bit and HL 1 and 2 are awesome (Great graphics, sound, voice acting,etc). Well worth the $$$, I just only wish they improved the online portion as well as Halo 3 improved there online portion (And yes I realize there made by two different developers, Im just saying that cause Halo 2 online sucked, but online Halo 3 is fantastic!). Worthy of a purchase if your into FPS and great story lines. Expand
  44. ChrisN.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    HL2 was awesome on my PC and im so glad that it was packaged with the new content. this as many have stated so many times before is the best video game release for the money ever. bar none.for all the people talking about halo3 vs HL, give it a rest. we know they are both awesome games and we all have both games, lets just leave it at that and enjoy that fact we get to play awesome HL2 was awesome on my PC and im so glad that it was packaged with the new content. this as many have stated so many times before is the best video game release for the money ever. bar none.for all the people talking about halo3 vs HL, give it a rest. we know they are both awesome games and we all have both games, lets just leave it at that and enjoy that fact we get to play awesome stuff.portal was absolutely hysterical, very innovative and fresh, looking forward to another one.the guys at valve are geniuses.even as an "old release" its graphics and AI are still better than most of whats out there. Expand
  45. AustinP.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Amazing deal, and amazing quality. That more or less describes the Orange Box. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is simply entertaining from start to finish. Then you have Team Fortress 2, the addictive multiplayer game included with the package. Also great. Finally, Portal, one of the best puzzle-based games I've ever played, and has some of the most hilarious humor ever heard in a game. As a Amazing deal, and amazing quality. That more or less describes the Orange Box. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is simply entertaining from start to finish. Then you have Team Fortress 2, the addictive multiplayer game included with the package. Also great. Finally, Portal, one of the best puzzle-based games I've ever played, and has some of the most hilarious humor ever heard in a game. As a whole, one hell of a great deal, and plenty of fun to be had between these three great games. Thumbs up. Expand
  46. XarshaleX.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    this package is worth the 50 dollars even if you are re buying half-life 2 and episode 1, buying TF2, Portal, and episode 2 off of steam is still more than 50. no one should complain about that. Beside the fact that its the biggest bargain in video game history TF2 is a great multi player game which provides fun on end, portal was short but the most fun I've had in a long time, and this package is worth the 50 dollars even if you are re buying half-life 2 and episode 1, buying TF2, Portal, and episode 2 off of steam is still more than 50. no one should complain about that. Beside the fact that its the biggest bargain in video game history TF2 is a great multi player game which provides fun on end, portal was short but the most fun I've had in a long time, and it ties into the greatest FPS adventure of all time. Seriously, if the Orange box doesnt earn 10/10 nothing should Expand
  47. AdamD.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best deal for consumers in the history of the video game industry. Portal is clever, fun, and even sometimes halarious. Half-Life 2 + Ep. 1 have aged well, and Ep. 2 is just as good if not better than its predecessors. I haven't had the time to play Team Fortress 2 yet, but I've heard nothing but praise so... GO BUY IT! If the consumers support this type of This is by far the best deal for consumers in the history of the video game industry. Portal is clever, fun, and even sometimes halarious. Half-Life 2 + Ep. 1 have aged well, and Ep. 2 is just as good if not better than its predecessors. I haven't had the time to play Team Fortress 2 yet, but I've heard nothing but praise so... GO BUY IT! If the consumers support this type of release then game companies will do it more. Expand
  48. JosephF.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    The best $60 you could ever spend on a video game. There is easily $110 worth of product here (Half-Life 2 + Ep 1 & 2 for $60, Team Fortress for $30, and Portal for $20), and they included them all in one package at the price for one Next-gen game. And that's not even speaking to the shear quality of said games. Half-Life 2 maybe one of the best games ever, Portal is a genius (albeit The best $60 you could ever spend on a video game. There is easily $110 worth of product here (Half-Life 2 + Ep 1 & 2 for $60, Team Fortress for $30, and Portal for $20), and they included them all in one package at the price for one Next-gen game. And that's not even speaking to the shear quality of said games. Half-Life 2 maybe one of the best games ever, Portal is a genius (albeit short) First-person puzzle-platformer, and Team Fotress is a diverse, funny, and extremely well balanced multiplayer game. All three of these games are 9/10 or higher, and it's sold in a package at almost half the price than what they could have gotten away with. Valve +1 Expand
  49. DavidP.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    I'm in love with all three of the new Orange Box games, and if you haven't played Half-Life 2 yet, then you're getting a ridiculous bargain. I paid $60 for HL2 by itself and it was worth it. Portal is short but thoroughly enjoyable (and what a great ending), and Team Fortress 2 takes the place of Counter-Strike: Source as my new favorite online FPS. If HL2 has one weakness, I'm in love with all three of the new Orange Box games, and if you haven't played Half-Life 2 yet, then you're getting a ridiculous bargain. I paid $60 for HL2 by itself and it was worth it. Portal is short but thoroughly enjoyable (and what a great ending), and Team Fortress 2 takes the place of Counter-Strike: Source as my new favorite online FPS. If HL2 has one weakness, it's that it is completely linear, in a way that seems implausible and contrived to me. Expand
  50. Jake
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    If you already own or played HL:2 on PC, this deal loses some value, but is still an easy buy. If you haven't played HL:2, this is one of the greatest deals ever. Portal and TF2 are both very good and very fun. They could definately use more maps and such through downloadable content, but that will surely come. What a great game(s).
  51. Patrick
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    I ended up getting this for the 360 because the steam ports are blocked on campus, im mainly a pc gamer. To my surprise, it plays exceptional and looks exceptional even on a non-hd tv. And Tf2 is surprisingly fun with a controller. Kudos Valve
  52. AndrewH.
    Oct 20, 2007
    0
    While the new content is more than impressive the fact that Valve forced long time owners of their products to repurchase HL2 and Episode 1 was really ill advised.
  53. BarryM.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Great stuff. Loads of content. You'll buy it for Half Life but you'll stay stay for Team Fortress 2. Portal is great first time around, drags a little after that but still worth the price
  54. JonC.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    This game(s) is (are) awesome. The fact that it has 3 (or 5, depending on how you look at it) games packed into one for 60 bucks is great. Half Life 2 is amazing as it was on the PC, plus episode 1 and 2 which are equally good. Then there's Portal: the best puzzle game I have ever played. Once you get the hang of Portal, you can't stop playing. Then of course there's Team This game(s) is (are) awesome. The fact that it has 3 (or 5, depending on how you look at it) games packed into one for 60 bucks is great. Half Life 2 is amazing as it was on the PC, plus episode 1 and 2 which are equally good. Then there's Portal: the best puzzle game I have ever played. Once you get the hang of Portal, you can't stop playing. Then of course there's Team Fortress 2, an awesome and balanced multiplayer game that is a good laid-back break from Halo 3. Is it possible to just give each game in it a ten and give it a 50? Expand
  55. Infective.Gaming
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    I mean what an excellent creation!,
    Its never happenned to a Xbox 360 game. 3 games in 1 box!. And the games held in the action-packed package are all devine in their own way!. Im sure & Infective.Gaming are sure that The Orange Box will become a big hit, Not just to 360 but to PC and PS3 aswell!.

    Reviewed by: Coltboy (Infective.Gaming)
  56. JonathanCornwell
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Awesome game! I had played HL2 and some of Ep 1 on PC, but wow... this is an incredible port. It looks terrific and plays just as terrific. The value is incredible... Has all of HL2 plus Episodes 1 and 2... and the new puzzle/FPS game, Portal, which was absolutely brilliant. Very fun and addictive (Portal). Also has TF2 which I only got to play for a few minutes, but it looked reallyAwesome game! I had played HL2 and some of Ep 1 on PC, but wow... this is an incredible port. It looks terrific and plays just as terrific. The value is incredible... Has all of HL2 plus Episodes 1 and 2... and the new puzzle/FPS game, Portal, which was absolutely brilliant. Very fun and addictive (Portal). Also has TF2 which I only got to play for a few minutes, but it looked really good, and I look forward to spending more time with. Outstanding! Expand
  57. G.G.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Quite simply stunning. And even if we were just talking about Episode 2 and Portal it would still get a ten from me! Parts of EP2 are awesome, even on this older engine (With enhancements) Valve do stuff that other devs can't come close to (even when using cutting edge engines, ie Bioshock which is very poor compared to this). In EP2 the lighting, texture use and level design are jaw Quite simply stunning. And even if we were just talking about Episode 2 and Portal it would still get a ten from me! Parts of EP2 are awesome, even on this older engine (With enhancements) Valve do stuff that other devs can't come close to (even when using cutting edge engines, ie Bioshock which is very poor compared to this). In EP2 the lighting, texture use and level design are jaw dropping (on a good system @ full details preferably in widescreen + 8xAA min), it looks almost real in places thanks to their subtle use of HDR and Bluring, the levels also are amazing, never too sparse or too cluttered and just feel 'real' and amazingly immersive. Expand
  58. Eric
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    There's something here for everyone. Each game is a re-invention of their genre and feels very fresh. Portal alone is its own genre (puzzle-shooter?). Highly recommended. A triumph of gaming.
  59. RyanH.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Portal alone is a 9 for $50 and that's only due to its shortness. Then you add TFC2. Then you add Half Life 2 and both its episode. How can this be anything less than the perfect package for an fps fan? Back to portal. Most incredibly original and incredibly polished game I've ever played. With the amount of awesome per minute crammed in I can understand the short length of it. Portal alone is a 9 for $50 and that's only due to its shortness. Then you add TFC2. Then you add Half Life 2 and both its episode. How can this be anything less than the perfect package for an fps fan? Back to portal. Most incredibly original and incredibly polished game I've ever played. With the amount of awesome per minute crammed in I can understand the short length of it. And the combination of dark humor and creepiness is absolutely perfect. A player can't help but stop, look around, and appreciate that sinking feeling of foreboding at one point; and then at another you'll come close to falling out of your seat laughing. Unless you're one of those unlucky few who gets motion sickness from first person shooters, you should own this package. Expand
  60. NathanMerilees
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    The Collection of the Year; the Orange Box features award-winning Game of the Year of 2004, Half-Life 2, two of it's episodic sequels, "Half-Life 2: Episode One" and "Half-Life 2: Episode Two", as well as the amazing and critically acclaimed first-person puzzle game "Portal", and finally, the long-awaited sequel to Team Fortress Classic, Team Fortress 2.
  61. JamesL.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    A truly outstanding collection of games, the quantity is one thing with five games included. But the quality of each individual title just couldn't be any better. Anyone who misses out is depriving themselves of the greatest pieces of video game action to ever be released!
  62. JimM.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Excellent games, portal is worth the price alone.
  63. MattD.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    A great value for a lot of good stuff. My only complaint is that everything is a little short. The time it would take to complete all single-player content was not as advertised. Still, the package as a whole should please HL2 fans and newcomers alike, while easily standing up to FPS heavy hitters: Bioshock & Halo 3.
  64. BenChristenson
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    BEST GAME EVER. Spy vs. Spy with real team work. 9 classes; humor; graphics; balance; and great game play.
  65. GarrettT.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    The Orange Box is likely the best deal in video game history for games tha taren't 7 years old. Now, for those Halo fanboys out there: Half-Life 2 is a far superior game to Halo. Now, I'm not saying Halo wasn't fun, as it sure was, but Half-Life just blows it all away. And those who b**** about graphics are just trying to make an excuse. Who cares about graphics, as long as The Orange Box is likely the best deal in video game history for games tha taren't 7 years old. Now, for those Halo fanboys out there: Half-Life 2 is a far superior game to Halo. Now, I'm not saying Halo wasn't fun, as it sure was, but Half-Life just blows it all away. And those who b**** about graphics are just trying to make an excuse. Who cares about graphics, as long as it's a good game? Portal was simply the greatest. The fact that it was'nt just a simple puzzler just made it all the better. If any of you think it will just be challenge after challenge with no story at all, prepare to be surprised. Episode Two was likely the best of the series so far. TF2 is great, while not my favorite, but I will likely play it with some of my friends in our clan. Portal does NOT come with a level editor, but you can use specialized tools like Hammer to create your own maps once Valve releases the proper rescources to release it. So only serious map-makers will really be able to do much. Expand
  66. SethB.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    First off, I would like to mention that the Half-Life universe is far different from the Halo universe. Please, please, PLEASE stop telling us your opinion on which game is better, it's annoying and unwanted. With that said, The Orange Box, like IGN said, is the greatest gaming value ever released. You don't only pay for the next episode of Half-Life 2, you're paying for First off, I would like to mention that the Half-Life universe is far different from the Halo universe. Please, please, PLEASE stop telling us your opinion on which game is better, it's annoying and unwanted. With that said, The Orange Box, like IGN said, is the greatest gaming value ever released. You don't only pay for the next episode of Half-Life 2, you're paying for Episode 2, Portal, and the much antisipated Team Fortress 2. Half-Life 2 was even upgraded in this pack. It now hosts HDR and the shadows created by the flashlight! This makes "Water Hazard" and "We don't go to Ravenholm" a whole new experience. The new touches to Episode Two are also intertaining, such as new enemies, vehicles, vistas, and not to mention - CINEMATIC PHYSICS! What's more fun than seeing a bridge crumble under the stress of the vehicles on it? When I bought The Orange Box, I immediately played Portal, which in my opinion was one of the most unique games that I've ever played. And alas Team Fortress 2. A very fun and detailed multiplayer. Overall, The Orange Box is a must buy, for those who only want to play the new HL episode, to those who want to play Half Life 2 for the first time. Expand
  67. PeterA.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Super Great Deal! There is no reason not to get this game. Tons of hours of great game play and story. And if you ever get tired of single player, you can jump on TF2 and blow some people up! This should be in everyone's game library!
  68. AhmedS.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    One of the best games of all time gest a second expantion, and along with is the funnest multiplayer game that people will be playing for atleast the next ten years. Valve also gave a nice puzzle game Portal with is fun but is only a single player game. an for good mesure gave Half life 2 and episode one with it. I perordered it and knew that this is a MUST HAVE for any True PC gamer, but One of the best games of all time gest a second expantion, and along with is the funnest multiplayer game that people will be playing for atleast the next ten years. Valve also gave a nice puzzle game Portal with is fun but is only a single player game. an for good mesure gave Half life 2 and episode one with it. I perordered it and knew that this is a MUST HAVE for any True PC gamer, but is also available fot XBOX360. GET IT, PLAY IT, and MAKE sure you have enough time for WORK and SLEEP! i give it a 11 out of 10 Expand
  69. VicV
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    I Never played Half Life 2 and I am so happy it is now available on the Xbox 360. The story line and the engine that runs this game are excellent. BTW - I am playing Bioshock at the same time as HL2 and HL2 wins... I have many hours ahead of me with the rest of HL2 and episode 1 and 2. Looking forward to it.
  70. DoisK.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    As already mentioned by many others, the amazing value for money in this package is astounding and the only issue I have with it is that Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is a tad bit too short. Portal, in my opinion, was just the right length. Most may find that its abit too short but I find it to be appropriate for the type of gameplay. Anyway, though Episode 2 would have been better had it been As already mentioned by many others, the amazing value for money in this package is astounding and the only issue I have with it is that Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is a tad bit too short. Portal, in my opinion, was just the right length. Most may find that its abit too short but I find it to be appropriate for the type of gameplay. Anyway, though Episode 2 would have been better had it been abit longer, the unprecedented engaging story and its god-like in-game cutseens will blow you away. And as for Portal, it will give you tons of laughs and eventually starts to feel more serious to the point it seems like you're in a thriller movie as the main character. It gave be truly the best 3 hours of my life. Awesome game. Finally, Team Fortress 2 is something that will have you glued to your computer forever. As a multiplayer game, it has pretty much infinite replayability. TFC's mods were great, it made the game practically 5 games but now that theres Team Fortress 2, who knows what wonders the community can come up with. Even better - what Valve is going to add... I hear a new player-class is coming up. Expand
  71. JoakimLindblom
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    WOW IT AS JUST SOOO FUCKING AWSOME!!! I MEAN WOW! PORTAL,EPISODE 2 ROCKS! ALSO TEAM FORTRESS 2 AND HALO 3!! half-life and halo would be a AWSOME game if they made it into one! "Halo-Life" THAT would be awsome!. i wish bungie and valve would make a that sutchas game ;)
  72. JoeyK.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    First off, let's disregard the fact that this collection includes two already released games, including possibly the best PC shooter in history. Ignore that. This box includes three games that are each worth paying 20 dollars for, at least. Portal is fantastic. It's short, and doesn't have too much breadth, but it's oh so wonderfully fun, interesting, and new. Episode First off, let's disregard the fact that this collection includes two already released games, including possibly the best PC shooter in history. Ignore that. This box includes three games that are each worth paying 20 dollars for, at least. Portal is fantastic. It's short, and doesn't have too much breadth, but it's oh so wonderfully fun, interesting, and new. Episode 2 is a truly great game, and a great addition to Half Life, but is not a "full game." Team Fortress 2 is fabulous; my favorite multiplayer shooter ever, and undoubtedly the best class-based mp shooter ever. It looks great, plays great, is hilarious, well balanced, and polished to perfection. To summarize, there are three really great games here. TF2 is worth a full 50 dollars, but you get all three for that one epic price. Expand
  73. IsaacB.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    This IS the deal of the century. Five great games for the price of one. Half-Life 2 has been updated. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 was an EPIC experience that I felt as if it were real. Portal was the greatest two hours in gaming I've had. Team Fortress 2 is addicting and fun as hell. Buy this.
  74. DavidK.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Apart from being the best deal in gaming history the story in episode 2 is remarkable, with a dramtic ending and intense graphics, definetly the best half life has to offer. Second team fortress is definetly one of the best multiplayer games ever, along with sick new graphics and animation styles. Something like TF2 can never get boring.... And finally portal, although can get boring, is Apart from being the best deal in gaming history the story in episode 2 is remarkable, with a dramtic ending and intense graphics, definetly the best half life has to offer. Second team fortress is definetly one of the best multiplayer games ever, along with sick new graphics and animation styles. Something like TF2 can never get boring.... And finally portal, although can get boring, is fun since we all know it will have smth to do with episode 3. However the ending in portal was pretty sweet too. Expand
  75. JoeT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Portal is absolutely amazing! I haven't played a game crafted with new ideas and smarts since Shadow Of The Colossus on the PS2 . Portal is the first truly unique experience I've played in quite a while. Too bad Valve didn't see fir to release a longer version of Portal on its own (but hopefully they'll release a Portal level construction set). ...Oh, and the Episode Portal is absolutely amazing! I haven't played a game crafted with new ideas and smarts since Shadow Of The Colossus on the PS2 . Portal is the first truly unique experience I've played in quite a while. Too bad Valve didn't see fir to release a longer version of Portal on its own (but hopefully they'll release a Portal level construction set). ...Oh, and the Episode Two and the revamped HL2, Ep1 are nice too. Expand
  76. WilliamC.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    A solid pack, well worth the price of $49.95. Episode Two's graphics are a bit outdated compared to modern shooters like Halo 3/Crysis, but it's three games in one. EP2 was terrific, and VIA plot-twist at the end left my mouth gaping open in shock. Portal was a fun game, but HOLY JESUS BEANS why is it ONLY 19 levels? Team Fortress 2 is a solid game. A few bugs(I could shoot A solid pack, well worth the price of $49.95. Episode Two's graphics are a bit outdated compared to modern shooters like Halo 3/Crysis, but it's three games in one. EP2 was terrific, and VIA plot-twist at the end left my mouth gaping open in shock. Portal was a fun game, but HOLY JESUS BEANS why is it ONLY 19 levels? Team Fortress 2 is a solid game. A few bugs(I could shoot without reloading on one round, but it never happened again after that) but they'll fix it. Oh, and that other Halo fanboy that complained about TF2 not having a Deathmatch gamemode? Here's a hint: TEAM fortress 2. GET IT? Expand
  77. GMan003
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Just incredible. Even with slightly dated graphics, it still amazes with the gameplay. All three of the main games (TF2, Portal and Episode 2) would be a powerful standalone title, but all together? Only problem: Which one gets "Game of the Year"?
  78. DonGreen
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Fantastic package...probably the best ever in the history of video games. You've got 1....the best FPS of all time in Half Life 2 and ep 1-2...2. Portal - a PERFECT game...seriously...nothing else like it. Perfectly original. 3. Team Fortress 2 - the best and most deep FPS experience. This game rocks!
  79. RobertN.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Anyone not voting this package a 10 is not thinking this through. 9 in the very least. All complaints about this game are vacuous. Yes, it's an "old" engine, but it was the best engine at the time of original release (save maybe Doom 3, but that was nothing but graphics). The game looks amazing, not GoW amazing, but it looks great. Framerates are rock solid. I checked out the Anyone not voting this package a 10 is not thinking this through. 9 in the very least. All complaints about this game are vacuous. Yes, it's an "old" engine, but it was the best engine at the time of original release (save maybe Doom 3, but that was nothing but graphics). The game looks amazing, not GoW amazing, but it looks great. Framerates are rock solid. I checked out the beginning of Episode 2 and was awestruck at the visuals, and I am not easily impressed. Value is a 10, replay is a 10, graphics are a 10 (or at least a 9). Sound is a 10, voice acting is a 10, artistic value is a 10. How could anyone rate this a 6?! How could anyone rate this an 8? I am sorry, but this is a 9+ package and anyone saying otherwise is just trying to stir the pot for no reason. Expand
  80. MarkB.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing package; not only is each piece of it worth the price alone, with hours of single-player entertainment in total and years-worth of value from team-fortress 2, but you get everything for so cheap! It really is a perfect package, a must buy, and one of the best games this year.
  81. Cl0cK*
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    The best gaming deal you'll have in a long time, 5 great games in one box. Portal is an original and amazing singleplayer experience, Episode Two very good sequel to episode one I liked episode two more than any other half-life games. And TF2 is one of the best multiplayer game out there,
  82. RyanW.
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    This package is very over-rated. The core gameplay in Half Life 2 and both episodes has now dulled with age. The AI is inferior to many games, and there is very little variation in combat. The single player part is very very linear and feels like your being led by the hand too much. The graphics are also sub-par, with Episode 2 showing some improvements, many objects and environments are This package is very over-rated. The core gameplay in Half Life 2 and both episodes has now dulled with age. The AI is inferior to many games, and there is very little variation in combat. The single player part is very very linear and feels like your being led by the hand too much. The graphics are also sub-par, with Episode 2 showing some improvements, many objects and environments are poorly textured. Halo 3 is far more entertaining, is better looking and has more replay value in the single player campaign. And Portal is just far too short. Overall: Comprehensive package, but tired gameplay and not much replay value in the single player parts. Expand
  83. KrishanV.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    BRILLIANT!! every game is better then the last!!! the one that i enjoy the most is tf2!! soo god!
  84. ZackT.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Every single game provided in this package impressed me to the fullest. With Half-Life 2: Episode Two you really felt like you were Gordon just as it has been in the previous episodes. Team Fortress 2 has you going for hours trying out all the available classes. Portal's amazing physics had me beating the game twice. 11/10, excellent package for an excellent price.
  85. DaneP.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing.
  86. SteveS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    The orange box is simply awesome. my only complaint is episode 2 and portal were short. but i have no doubt people will create custom portal challenges adding to the replay value greatly, and the price for 5 games makes it a must have.
  87. RichardM.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Ridiculous amount of fun for the price. Each game is outstanding, even if Portal is a bit short. Highly recommended.
  88. TomG.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    First i will start off with the obvious. 50 bucks for 5 amazing games! Now. I will begin with Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2 Episode 1, and Half-Life 2 Episode 2. They are all Amazing games(i have played the original half-life 2 and episode 1 before already, and i loved them. as for Episode 2, I just finnished it, and although short, it is absolutely amazing. You can realy see the depth of the First i will start off with the obvious. 50 bucks for 5 amazing games! Now. I will begin with Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2 Episode 1, and Half-Life 2 Episode 2. They are all Amazing games(i have played the original half-life 2 and episode 1 before already, and i loved them. as for Episode 2, I just finnished it, and although short, it is absolutely amazing. You can realy see the depth of the story in this last episode. Portal was probably the most satisfying gaming experience i have Ever had....i just wish there was more of it. right now im just getting into Team Fortress 2 and again i love it. In fact i love Every part of this package so much im almost tempted to buy it for Xbox 360 as well. Expand
  89. XtHcX519XSimChampion
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Team Fortress Two alone is worth the price tag. The addition of Half Life for people who never played the PC version is good bang for your buck. Not to fond of Portal, but the game has so much more to offer. In my opinion this game is the Halo 3 killer.
  90. FPSMaster
    Oct 12, 2007
    8
    A good compilation of games but by no means deserves a 98/100. Half Life 2 was good when it came out and is still good. So is Episode 1 and Episode 2. But this is a 3 year old engine and for any game remade 3 years later to recieve this kind of praise makes me sick. How many games on 360 that look last gen or have re-used an old engine have gotten reviews this high? None, other than Halo A good compilation of games but by no means deserves a 98/100. Half Life 2 was good when it came out and is still good. So is Episode 1 and Episode 2. But this is a 3 year old engine and for any game remade 3 years later to recieve this kind of praise makes me sick. How many games on 360 that look last gen or have re-used an old engine have gotten reviews this high? None, other than Halo 3 but those reviews don't count since they are reviewing the name and not the game. Any other games this gen that look outdated or run on original Xbox engines have been crucified. I'm not saying this should be crucified, but it deserves no more than an 8/10 because it's old content that's been available for years just repackaged with the worst boxart and name ever. Portal is fun for about 2 hours until you finsih it and Team Fortress 2 sounds better on paper than it actually plays. It's laggy as hell for one and connecting to games can be a chore. Disconnections happen all the time and it uses a lobby system much like the Tom Clancy games meaning the entire team focus goes right out the window as soon as the host quits because it's back to the main menu for you losing all those teamates that made the game actually fun for a bit. The graphics on it look like the Incredibles meets Road Runner which is a nice change of pace. But the actual map design and gameplay are flat out boring. You run around a map for 5 minutes looking for someone to shoot, then it sets in once you try to shoot that the aiming is too twitchy making it feel like Prey did online. Couple that with the worst classes ever in a multiplayer game and you have something even more overrated than Halo 3. The classes are so imbalanced and there are absolutely no grenades whatsoever. Everyone plays as a spy since that class looks like the other teams' temates then they stab you in the back. Everyone plays as the spy which is the most imbalanced class ever and it ruins what little fun the game offered. It's the equivalent of games like COD3 where everyone plays as a sniper which forces you to do it too or you have no chance of winning. I'd say stick with Halo 3 in all it's mediocrity because at least it can be more fun than 3 year old repackaged games packaged with mindless crap(TF2) that somehow took Valve 9 years to make.. Expand
  91. R.Hill
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This rating is for Half-Life 2: Episode 2... I really enjoyed the game. It draws you in with a cinematic experience. I beat it in a day, but still was very entertaining. The only disappointment was that they left you hanging at the end (leading to an episode 3 obviously). Definitely looking forward to the next installment.
  92. AnthonyS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This game has got to be the best combo EVER!!!! Team Fotress 2 is by far one of the funnest multiplayer games I have ever played and Portal, one of the best puzzle games in a LOOOONG time. Half-Life 2 will always be a classic that will be played over and over and Episode Two simply tie's up the loose ends. Great job Valve!!
  93. Ryan
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    A must own. Always something to do in this compilation. There's great story, great innovation, great multiplayer, great replay value, great achievements (99 of them). This is a must buy.
  94. JohnF.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    So much content on one disc. Cmon', you can't go wrong with that. Especially when it's Half-Life. Valve I salute you!
  95. WillM.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Amazing achievement by Valve. Episode 2 is the best Half-Life gameplay has been yet, the story is so immersive, the environent so gripping, that you don't want it to end. Portal is the perfect companion piece to that triumph, and an amazingly fun and inventive game in it's own right. Then there's TF2, and after logging many beta and live hours I can say this is the best Amazing achievement by Valve. Episode 2 is the best Half-Life gameplay has been yet, the story is so immersive, the environent so gripping, that you don't want it to end. Portal is the perfect companion piece to that triumph, and an amazingly fun and inventive game in it's own right. Then there's TF2, and after logging many beta and live hours I can say this is the best online shooter in years. A gamer would be foolish not to buy this, and not just because it's a great deal: It's just the highest quality gaming experience you'll see all year, period. Expand
  96. ChristianB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt one of the greatest buys of al time, the orange box is a masterpiece. 5 games for the price of one is already a good deal, then take in mind each of those games has wonderful appeal.do not ignore one of the greates deals ever.
  97. bazdogherb
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    It's probably the best game/package you could ever hope to buy...
  98. JasonJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This has got to be one of the best releases for any console or PC. Where else do you get such great quality games for such a low price? Thanks Valve!
  99. MarcL
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Awesome... Just reminds me of why I keep saying that Half-Life 2 is the best game I've ever played.
  100. WesS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The sum of the parts is as impressive as the parts of the sum. Great value, solid gameplay, three destinct FPS styles (SP FPS, MP FPS, Puzzle FPS) in one box. Hours, days, weeks of fun.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    For first-person shooter fans, it doesn't get much better than this. What's even better is that each individual game runs amazingly well on the Xbox 360. The graphics are amazing as is the presentation. The interface that Valve created for navigating through the content is also wonderful.
  2. 95
    That so much great content is offered at the standard single-game price is astonishing.
  3. The Orange Box can't stop giving. It's a sci-fi masterpiece, a clever puzzler and a multiplayer monster wrapped into one, making this a landmark achievement in gaming value and one of the easiest buying decisions you'll make all year. Color us impressed.