User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 691 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 691

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    ive seen this game for the pc back in 2004 and it blew me away, i never played it till it hit the xbox, and lemme tell you, this is the best 1st person solo campaign i have evr witnessed. its jsut amazing, every aspect of the game is crazy. **** the whole package is a steal.... 5 games on a disk? come on now, thats too easy not to pass up... **** i dont think i should say more? **** buy this bih if you havent already Expand
  2. DME
    Mar 21, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is the only game of the five that I don't really like. Sure, the PC version is freakin' awesome but this XB360 version is definitely not. Portal was awesome and left me disappointed when I found out how short it was (about 4 hours worth) but even so... Half-Life 2 series is the best of the bunch with a great story and great gameplay. The only thing that's not top-notch about HL2 is it's sound effects, which I found poor at times. But don't let the small gripes outweight the incredible package that this game is! $20 is an AMAZING deal for this game. If you like FPS games... The Orange Box is for you. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    3 games and 2 expansions for halflife 2 all for the price of $60 is a great value . you get half life 2 which is a great game and the gravity gun is just a neat idea not just for a wepon but for solving puzzles . Portal is such a fun and intresting game although short i still found myself runing through it a few times and just having a ton of fun . team fortress didnt do any thing for me i didnt hate it or any thing i just didnt get into it. all in all the orange box is a sure buy . you are bound to find some fun in atleast one of thoose games. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This is the best game including more games since the Chronicles of Riddick, and that wasn't that good. This box has some of the games that will be remembered for many, many years, until after the sequels come out for them. Portal; Yes, it's short, and a confusing puzzle game, but that makes it even more fun, when it tests your mind. The very anticipated sequel could make this game a for sure Game of the Year! Half- Life; Yes, a cliffhanger, but that just makes you wanna play it more before Episode III comes out. Team Fortress; Yes, just a game for Live, which I was a little disappointed at, but once I got Live, this game became more fun than Halo 3! Valve is still well- into the Zombie category as well as the action- adventure category. This game made me stay inside for two weeks, 25 hour days, skipping meals, sleep in my clothes, or stay awake in my PJ's, and made me anticipate harder and longer than I was for Bioshock 2, which was a big disappointment. This game is one that will stay in my library for many, many years, at least until Episode III of Half- Life comes out, as well as Portal 2. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    The best game on Xbox, bar none. The Orange Box has 5 truly brilliant games on one disc. Team Fortress 2 is a bloody, shouty shooter that's only flaw is it's small fan-base. With more support, it could be amazing. The three Half Life games are an example of how to make shooters constantly fun, always throwing around new ideas, always being supremely playable. Finally, Portal is a brand new (though at the time of writing, Portal 2 has been released) puzzle shooter that unique, yet fits in with the Half Life mythology. It's truly mind bending and simply unmissable. And, as is The Orange Box itself. A collection of five unmissable games in one unbeatable package. Get it! Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    The original half life 2 that was released 4 years ago and is included in this package is worth the price of the entire package. If you rate this package lower then a 9 you just don't know what makes games fun.
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Great content. Half life 2 and portal would be worth buying on their own. The episodic content is less good and I couldn't get in to team fortress 2 at all. But I would still recommend this to anyone
  8. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the finest,immersive,clever game ever.
    i played this package for more than 90 hours now...
    portal is genial,the half life saga is simply the best fps ever made and team fortress 2 is one of the best multiplayer game available.
    Expand
  9. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Best Compilation disc . . . EVER!!!
  10. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Half-Life 2 on it's own is worth a million dollars let alone put with the genius that is portal. DO yourself a favour if you haven't played this get on it now.
  11. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    This has so many games packed into one game I hesitate at giving it a 9 instead of a 10. But 9 it is because the game is showing it's age, especially now a few years after its release. I feel like it's a better experience on the PC, and that Xbox 360 makes the game lag and stutter in places and it just doesn't have that same polish on the Steam side of things. It's great, don't get me wrong: there is so much to do in this package... but I still feel like I'm coming up short somehow. Expand
  12. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    You've read the reasons this game is an easy 10. Let's be honest here. And although it feels dated in some ways by now (obviously), it still is just so great.
  13. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Even considering its age.Half-life 2 is one the finest games ever made and still the benchmark in FPS's.Packed with the add-ons,(Portal especially)The Orange Box is truly excellent.
    For the younger Gen though,you may wonder what all the fuss is about considering that COD and Halo have most of your attention(I can't,for the life of me,figure out why)
  14. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    How could this game be given anything other than 10? 5 fantastic games at no extra charge. Half Life 2 is a classic FPS with unparalleled level design and storytelling. Its following episodes continue this well. Team Fortress 2 is an addictive, frantic online shooter that only has a handful of maps, although the ones given are highly polished. The real showstopper here is Portal, a darkly comedic and mind bending puzzle game. Its short length is a perfect fit, ensuring that it doesnt outstay its welcome. Glados is a magnificent video game creation, a character who uses dry wit, sarcasm and just about every other kind of humor to good effect with a hefty sprinkling of judgement. The Orange Box is incredible and you would be a fool to not buy it. Expand
  15. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Well worth its money HOW many games,shooters,puzzles and portal what a gem of a game,half life love it..but the puzzler portal is brillant..spent a week completeing the shooters then 2 (cough) weeks puzzling out portal.....man am i thick....but had great fun......:-)
  16. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    Valve is one of my favorite game developer companies, and I now love them even more when they released "The Orange Box". The orange box includes Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2: Episode 1, Half-Life 2: Episode 2, Portal, and Team Fortress 2. Let's start with Half-Life 2, Episode 1, and Episode 2. If you never played the first Half-Life and started the second, you might ask "WTF is the purpose of this game?" You really need to know the storyline of the Half-Life franchise or you'll be stuck in a confused territory. After playing "Portal", I now know what is my favorite puzzle game. I thought the timing of "Portal" was a bit too short and I wished it had harder puzzles. Team Fortress 2 is a class-based multiplayer that I love so much. I really love the style in Team Fortress 2. You might be thinking "This is going to be really expensive." Well you're wrong, because this whole package is less than $20. I really love the style in Team Fortress 2. Now the Verdict.

    Valve always impresses my with their products and this product blew me away. This package would've easily cost "$60". You are getting a good deal. Please buy it!



    + 5 Games
    + Cheap
    + Creative Puzzle Game
    - Needed harder puzzles.

    RATING: 9/10
    Expand
  17. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    Bundle Half-Life 2 with it's 2 episode installments, the out-of-nowhere masterpiece Portal and the PC sensation TF2 and you have any gamer's wet dream. This is pretty much an essential element to any gamer's collection. Where Half-Life 2 might not have aged particularly well, its still a great game. Portal will please every part of your brain with it's quirky humor and brain-bending puzzles and TF2 will potentially occupy hundreds of hours of your time. Do yourself a favor and play this game. Expand
  18. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed this. 5 games in one game is great value for money. Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2: Episode One and Half-Life 2: Episode Two are incredible games and the story is great and takes about 15-20 hours to complete them all. Portal 2 may now be out but Portal is still an incredible game, it challenges you and is often quite funny. Team Fortress 2 is a really good multiplayer game but unfortunately now does not have many players although you can usually get into full games if you are on at the right time. All in all, The Orange Box is one of the best games I have ever played and at the price it is to buy now, it's worth it. Expand
  19. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    i have to give this 10 out of 10 due to the fact i am a big valve fan i love there games like l4d and l4d2 and tfc and so on there the best game creators to date tf2 is awesome hl2 hl2e1 and hl2e2 is my favourte single player games ever the grapics are very outdated on these games and so am i for reviewing the game 4 years after release. but hey will still play half-life 1.
  20. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    In my opinion, the Orange box is the best game ever released. This game is a great deal, getting five really amazing games for a low price. You will not hate anything about this game, if you ever get it.
  21. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    Essentially Portal and Half-Life 2: Episode 2 + 3 games you probably already own, but it's forgivable, because they're truthfully three of the best games on the market. Half-Life 2 and its episodes are a beacon of intelligent game design and compelling narrative, while Team Fortress 2 is a well balanced shooter, but lacks enough content to enthral any fps fan for too long, and you'll find yourself being drawn back to much more populated games like Halo, Call of Duty and Battlefield. Portal...short, sweet, hilarious, intelligent and individual, a truly original piece of gaming that'll have you addicted from sublime start to perfect finish. Valve just really gets what it is that gamers want, you have to think to progress, these are games that involve the player, and that's what makes them so incredible Expand
  22. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    One of the greatest gaming deals ever, it comes with 5 great games. Half Life 2 and its episodes are already great on their own, offering great FPS playing, puzzle solving and fun achievements to complete. Portal, though short, is a marvel to play and you'll see just how fantastic it is when you dive into it. Team Fortress 2 is probably one of the greatest online games ever, though it does play better on the PC. Overall - superb package. Expand
  23. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    Wow. Just wow. Valve has always been an amazing developer, all of their games I've played are fantastic. This just blew me away. I have to admit, I very recently picked this up. I know, my bad. I grabbed this collection, used, for $17.00. This is the best video game value I've seen, ever. I haven't played Half Life 2 up until now, but I finally see what the hype is about. That game alone is worth the $17.00. Then adding the amazing Portal, which needs no introduction, as well as Team Fortress is a great deal. Also, the Xbox ports are not bad like everyone says. Expand
  24. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    The Orange Box is the best value ever. Half life 2 is amazing. Portal is a new fresh puzzle and TF2 is a great team based multiplayer game.
  25. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    this is just the best package ever. granted portal is too short and team fortress looks dodgy, they are all great games at a very low price. excellent value and overall i think it is even better than blops, dead rising, fable 3 (by miles) and even guitar hero (for value)
  26. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Not really a game, but a compilation of several, both new and old. There's the Half LIfe 2 which I know and love so well and its Episode 1, plus the all new Episode 2, Team Fortress 2 and Portal, and, man, they are all simply awesome.
    Episode 2 brings back that epic quality and feel of Half-Life 2 and expands it to new dimensions.
    Team Fortress 2 is a really good and quirky multiplayer
    which probably requires gamers with at least half a brain.
    And lastly, Portal is the surprise package of the package, packing an intriguing and charming story, combined with fun and fresh gameplay into a short game.
    The Orange Box is unconventional, but Valve shows their prowess once again. Always a pleasure.
    Expand
  27. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    It's games like this that show Valve is one of the only developing companies that demonstrate extraordinary consistency.

    The Half Life series seems to have most every quality of a single player shooter that people receive well; original, great pacing, interesting environments, fun weapons, etc. Not only does it have those qualities that are just generally talked about, but it also the
    small amounts of polish added to the game to make it that much more enjoyable, and make no mistake; the small things matter, gamers are way to OCD to ignore the small things. I'm talking about the way set pieces are placed to where it doesn't take away control of the character when it comes time to explain the story. I see this as a very good median between those who are interested and less interested in the story. If we look at past releases that were extremely successful (Bioshock, Oblivion), it is obvious that gamers love freedom. Half Life does have more linear elements to it than open elements, however I would go as far to say that Half Life 2 has the based pacing for any other linear single player game I have played that I can remember.

    Portal is one of those games where it's really hard to find something wrong with it. At least in Half Life you could probably FIND something to **** about, regardless of the fact it's a fantastic game. Portal has nothing against it; if it's your kind of game, you will LOVE it. I could not find one instance while playing through it where I found myself frustrated by things that were not necessarily dependent on my playing. So many games will have potential, but it will have crappy controls, or lack of polish, or it doesn't run smoothly enough, Portal is all good challenge. I suppose one could make the case that Portal is not original because it was based on a student made game called Narbacular Drop; my response to that is, which one did YOU play? (Exactly). There were other first person shooters before Doom and probably Wolfenstein, doesn't take away from those games one bit. It had no technical short comings, it was cleverly staged, amazingly creative in its puzzle and level design, it offered more of a challenge for more advanced players, and it had very decent humor (although I suppose that's subjective).

    I'm not sure I should review Team Fortress 2, because I suck at it. Yet, I can also put credit to the game for still being a blast despite my terrible performance. I do think that they should not stray away from having everyone on a level playing field, which is what I felt made it significantly more balanced than Call of Duty. I don't know if they have always had the store, but I think that was a little step away from an aspect I liked about the game. I also think they could have done a better job of gauging the speed a each class should move based on their primary weapon(s). If I had to guess what makes TF2 as popular as it is, is the obvious reason that every multiplayer game should emulate; it is a shooter that most can just jump right into.

    These games have all of the wow-factor and originality of a good game, except no one can touch Valve when it comes to polish, for it takes out all of the annoying nuances of a good game to turn it into a mediocre game. Stunning!
    Expand
  28. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Just buy this package, you will enjoy the games immensely, plenty on gameplay hours, and the greatest hits Valve has ever made. Valve is awesome once again.
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best thing ever created. Considering the Half-Life series was my favorite game series to begin with there wasn't a chance i was not going to like this. I recommend this to anyone who likes video games in general. Your getting three Half-Life games which have an amazing story and are very fun to play, then you have Portal which is an awesome and extremely well made puzzle game, and last you have Team Fortress 2 which is a fun cartoon multiplayer game. Expand
  30. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    It's a must play. I would have given it a 9, but with the addition of Portal...it's an absolute 10. There's also a 20gig expansion pack you can download that "freshens" up Half-LIfe 2, and is amazing. Highly recommended. Enjoy.
  31. MarkT.
    Oct 10, 2007
    0
    I previously voted 8 because of Steam problems.. seems they sorted that out. This is a great package... hard to see how you can go wrong. Team Fortress is a hilarious multiplayer... surprisingly deep when you start to appreciate the well-balanced classes; HL2 is, well HL2... a great great shooter, and for me the surprise was Portal - not a long game, but gripping and playful, funny... very worthwhile. Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    For first-person shooter fans, it doesn't get much better than this. What's even better is that each individual game runs amazingly well on the Xbox 360. The graphics are amazing as is the presentation. The interface that Valve created for navigating through the content is also wonderful.
  2. 95
    That so much great content is offered at the standard single-game price is astonishing.
  3. The Orange Box can't stop giving. It's a sci-fi masterpiece, a clever puzzler and a multiplayer monster wrapped into one, making this a landmark achievement in gaming value and one of the easiest buying decisions you'll make all year. Color us impressed.