Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Nov 29, 2010
    70
    Bottom line, The Sims 3 is solid and worth checking out.
  2. Nov 28, 2010
    70
    All in all, keeping the same Sims formula may keep old fans satisfied but in my eyes changing things up a bit more would have made this title much more interesting and successful.
  3. Oct 30, 2010
    70
    The Sims 3 for Xbox 360 and PS3 not only has the spirit of the original one from PC, but offers the same gameplay and options. This is great news for the console owners, who will have the option of controlling the lives of their Sims: where they live, who they fall in love with, their job and their dreams for the future. Unfortunately, the control system and the loading times remind us we're not playing on a computer.
  4. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    The console version of the PC megahit lacks fluidity, though it's still fun in its own right.
  5. Dec 19, 2010
    65
    The Sims 3 commits the greatest crime a game possibly can: I want to have fun, but it just won't let me.
  6. Jan 18, 2011
    60
    It's an absurdly addictive experience that maintains this draw on consoles. As a whole, the game's fairly solid.
  7. Jan 5, 2011
    60
    As expected, the virtual playground that is the Sims doesn't convert very well into the console world. Even with the added gameplay components like Karma, the experience is very much like Sims 3-lite compared to the larger world in Sims 3 for the PC.
  8. 60
    Does The Sims series fit in the console world? We're not sure. The problem is not in the controller but more in the game concept itself. [Dec 2010]
  9. 60
    It was probably foolhardy to ever try to bring The Sims 3 to consoles and despite a spirited attempt this is just a shadow of the PC version.
  10. Oct 29, 2010
    60
    This console version of the Sims 3 will be able to satisfy fans of the series and will more importantly allow console gamers to enjoy the thrill of creation and divine impartiality thanks to the addition of the Karma. If the added exchangeable contents and new features work, we sill regret that only the Wii version of the game has real exclusive original content (multiplayer, ability to live on a houseboat...) on top of better ergonomics thanks to the Wiimote.
  11. Oct 28, 2010
    60
    Clearly not essential for those who own The Sims 3 on PC, this title nevertheless incarnate the best episode from The Sims on console.
  12. Oct 28, 2010
    50
    It's true that key gameplay elements are still there, and its gameplay options guarantee dozens of hours of play, but its unbalanced pace and its noteworthy technical flaws result in a tedious experience, and make its virtues dilute.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This game is fantastic! This is the best Sims has ever been on console... Karma Powers rock!!! I've played Sims 3 on the PC and I've played other versions of the game on handhelds. I've also played Sims 2 on console. By far this is the best translation of a Sims game from PC to console. They got it all right. There is a new feature in the game where you can use Karma powers. This changes the game dramatically. You can "get lucky" in a matter of minutes now. You can curse someone you don't like...and ...well...I'll save a few surprises. This adds a whole new level to the Sims unpredictability. This new Karma power stuff is new and available in only the console versions. Also for all trophy and achievement whores out there...you have plenty of awards. I would say about half are pretty easy to get...the other half will take some time. Good stuff EA! Full Review »
  2. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    this game is addicting. if u dont have a powerful pc to play sims 3 like me, then get it for the console. the game is awesome. u can use karmathis game is addicting. if u dont have a powerful pc to play sims 3 like me, then get it for the console. the game is awesome. u can use karma powers to make good/bad things happen (max happy for all need for 1 day/catch house on fire). create a household with either 1 up to 8 sims. juggling their needs, job, friends, the house, and other unpredictable events, you will be playing this nonstop. only things that not make it a 10, no vacant lots, have to destroy building that already exsists for that. cant have more than 1 sim family per save. and sometimes wish there was a go uber fast, because fast x3 and x4 is not fast enough. great game that can be addicting Full Review »
  3. Dec 1, 2010
    8
    The Sims 3 is good first of all but I wished you can play as you did in The Sims 2. I also wished you could also see and work at your jobThe Sims 3 is good first of all but I wished you can play as you did in The Sims 2. I also wished you could also see and work at your job instead of fast-forwarding until their job is done. I wished it could of been a mini-game. Also doing simple things like eating and taking a shower take an hour to finish! It should of been 10 minutes just to eat and take shower. It wastes time and doesn't let you do other things you need to do. I would of like it more if you could have an option to set the game play as Regular Sims style or Mass Effect style(Controlling one person and walking around from the point of view of GTA IV, Saints Row, and of course Mass Effect). I would of used it and would of liked this game more. Still The Sims 3 is enjoyable even though it could of been better. Full Review »