The Testament of Sherlock Holmes Xbox 360

Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
Buy On
  1. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 1, 2012
    50
    Voice acting's okay. [Issue#91, p.79]
  2. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    Adventure game fans may be delighted by this return to the old-school style game from Frogwares. However, more casual fans of the genre may find Telltale's approach more accessible and graphically strong. Fans of the genre, or of prior entries in the series, will probably want to pick it up, for everyone else it may be an anachronistic curiosity.
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    65
    In closing, The Testament of Sherlock Homes is a solid adventure game. The puzzles can be extremely complicated and at points infuriating, but what comes with this is a great sense of achievement that I haven't experienced from playing a game in a long time. While it didn't look as pretty as I had hoped and the puzzles became tedious and unnecessary at points, this was a good attempt at a Sherlock Holmes game and has raised my interests in playing another title if we were to see one released.
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    63
    If you're a die-hard Sherlock Holmes fan and can look past some significant flaws to experience an authentic Sherlock experience, then by all means, go for it. Otherwise, stay away.
  5. Oct 14, 2012
    70
    An interesting twist on the Sherlock Holmes adventure formula. The Testament offers a new view on the beloved detective. It may be a bit far from being considered a classic, but still manages to offer an exciting and entertaining experience.
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    70
    If you can get past the way the characters move and look, and you buy into the slow and thoughtful pace, The Testament of Sherlock Holmes is an enjoyable yarn. If you have the attention span to sit through cut scenes that contain important information. If you enjoy poking around in the contents of a dead man's stomach. If you like opium dens, dirt encrusted cockney urchins, and murderous conspiracies that lead you to hell and back.
  7. Oct 10, 2012
    60
    Sherlock Holmes himself becomes the suspect in a murder investigation. Some moments, the crime scene investigations for example, are really fun, but for the most part it's a pretty bland game with a low budget feeling.
  8. Oct 10, 2012
    65
    A new graphical adventure with Sherlock Holmes, a new investigation with the help of DR. Watson. Not bad but with too much technical problems.
  9. 60
    As a whole, this is an unconvincing round of going through the motions with a character who deserves much better execution.
  10. Oct 7, 2012
    70
    The average visuals, clunky animations, clumsy controls, and nonexistent lip-syncing represents a distinct lack of polish, but this doesn't ruin the otherwise solid game tucked within.
  11. 60
    An admirable effort to make a serious Sherlock Holmes game, but the low production values and needlessly obscure puzzles hinder the ambitious storytelling.
  12. Oct 2, 2012
    70
    Its portrayal of the world's greatest fictional detective does the license justice, and its narrative intrigues up until its satisfying conclusion, even if getting there can be a pain sometimes. In other words, it's all elementary, my dear friends.
  13. Oct 1, 2012
    70
    The Testament of Sherlock Holmes is a point and click-adventure, cast in a modern third person adventure, featuring the greatest detective of them all. Through a wild adventure through the rougher parts of London, an immense conspiracy needs to be cracked open. With decent atmosphere, a real page-turner of a story and clever puzzles, this is a must for fans of Sherlock Holmes or classic adventure games.
  14. Oct 1, 2012
    68
    The Testament of Sherlock Holmes offers a challenging, rigid adventure that emphasizes details and a slow pace. It's not without some significant flaws, but it's a compelling entry into the genre nonetheless.
  15. Sep 26, 2012
    70
    Yet as an overall experience it works, the pacing is done well, the challenge is just right, the visuals just about hold up and you'll most certainly enjoy your time with it.
  16. 60
    As a story that up-ends an icon, Testament certainly delivers for the bulk of your adventure, stumbling only in its weaker, latter third. What hurts the game more, unfortunately, are its dicey production values.
  17. Sep 26, 2012
    70
    The Testament of Sherlock Holmes is the classic Frogwares adventure: quite good, quite interesting and with a good story, but excellence is quite far away.
  18. Sep 26, 2012
    65
    Holmes's back although not at his best. The new Frogwares title follows the usual trends of the genre to portray the fall and rise of a very charismatic character.
  19. Sep 23, 2012
    65
    Focus Home Interactive and Frogwares want to offer something original, but unfortunately The Testament of Sherlock Holmes is afflicted by a variety of technical issues.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Dec 30, 2012
    1
    Amateurish at best. The game greets you first of all with a notice that autosaves are not a part of the game, so "don't forget to saveAmateurish at best. The game greets you first of all with a notice that autosaves are not a part of the game, so "don't forget to save manually!". Obviously an easy way out for lazy developers, and let me say, there seems to be plenty of those. After the awkward controls, the sub-par voice acting and the ridiculous first tutorial plotline (a trained monkey steals a necklace by cutting glass with a diamond) I just turned it off.

    Sherlock is a great franchise and you should be ashamed for this.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    5
    This game is not anything special. The graphics are so and so, the plot is decent, the game,altogether, okay. I wouldn't spend forty dollarsThis game is not anything special. The graphics are so and so, the plot is decent, the game,altogether, okay. I wouldn't spend forty dollars on a game like this. Maybe twenty-five, i think the makers had a hard time deciding on some things in the game. If you like Sherlock Holmes, and your bored, this may be a good game for you. Otherwise, i don't recommend it. Full Review »
  3. Oct 23, 2012
    5
    I didn't like this game as much as the Jack The Ripper game. I just didn't think it captured the atmosphere as much as the other game. TheI didn't like this game as much as the Jack The Ripper game. I just didn't think it captured the atmosphere as much as the other game. The puzzles didn't seem as much fun or as challenging. It was an easy 1000 points so if you need to boost your gamer score it is a pretty fun way to get a quick 1000 but it won't be a game that you keep or play again. Also the children in the intro are creepy and unnecessary. Full Review »