Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Games Master UK
    Sep 1, 2013
    70
    Reasonably-priced, high quality DLC that's left us hungry for the next full season. [Oct 2013, p.71]
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    It remains close to the spirit of the series in many ways – even throwing in a handful of in-jokes and references to characters and locations from Season One – but in other ways it seems to veer away sharply from what we expect.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    70
    As a primer for Walking Dead’s upcoming sophomore season, 400 Days is absolutely a worthwhile stop-gap. More importantly, it is a great reminder that Telltale can continue to deliver on a quality of writing and characterisation far beyond many of its contemporaries, even when placed into a single chapter so fleeting compared to a full season’s worth of escalated drama.
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    70
    It's testament to Telltale Games' storytelling qualities that each of the DLC's five mini-episodes could be fully developed during Season Two. While the depth and severity of the original series is missing, this quintet of sub-plots is well worth picking up for 400 MSP.
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    50
    The narrative experiments are definitely awesome, but you can’t just put style over substance, especially when all the same problems return. Hitchy framerates, action sequences that hang too long and make you fail them at least once thanks to technical error, the fact that you want to say something but your character doesn’t give you the option.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    An entertaining story that connects between the first and second season for the Walking Dead video game. This new DLC, "400 Days" introducesAn entertaining story that connects between the first and second season for the Walking Dead video game. This new DLC, "400 Days" introduces five new playable characters and their experience in the apocalypse during the events of Season One or after. While each level is short, Telltale still finds a way for the player to get attached to the characters in some way, and also be sure to look out for easter eggs from the first season of the game. Although the DLC is short so is the price so for those who are looking for some more Walking Dead experience while waiting for Season Two, get this DLC. Full Review »
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a piece of DLC set during the first 400 days of the zombie outbreak in the Walking Dead universe. The user takesThe Walking Dead: 400 Days is a piece of DLC set during the first 400 days of the zombie outbreak in the Walking Dead universe. The user takes control of 5 new characters who at different points during this 400 day period, come across or pass a gas station by a main road.
    The first thing that players should be wary of is the fact this content is set out in a completely different format from the first season of the game, which was told as a story. Whereas 400 days allows players to choose the order of the characters they play as which strangely means the game doesn't have to be played in chronological order.
    Fans of the first season should be aware that while there are mentions to the first season this DLC focuses on introducing us to the 5 new characters which we can assume are going to be the main protagonists in season 2. However, this doesn't prevent the game from being incredibly fun to play and if you like the first season you will almost certainly enjoy this "expansion".
    This doesn't mean there aren't issues with the DLC though, the most notable problem being how short it is. Even if you take your time and analyse everything you should still be finished in about an hour and a half.
    In conclusion, I believe this is a must buy for big fans of the first season however due to how fun and short it is it will only make the wait until the second season feel that much longer.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a DLC Episode for The Walking Dead: Season 1 created by Telltale Games, this story follows 5 new characters andThe Walking Dead: 400 Days is a DLC Episode for The Walking Dead: Season 1 created by Telltale Games, this story follows 5 new characters and does not follow Clementine. These 5 new stories are short, brutal, unique situations with 27 characters in total. 400 Days is supposed to be a new experience, but with the awesome Walking Dead atmosphere. These new experiences bring in very interesting situations with a lot of variations, and i love them all, even though i love Clementine, we always need something new.

    Now, as this is 5 new characters that we only have around 15-30 min with, we only get to know them in a very short amount of time, sometimes they tell about themselves to a person they just met, or you just have to listen to people talking with that person about maybe their sister or what crime they committed etc. For the most part, this works, but sometimes you can get a little lost. You also don't get the same attachments with these characters considering it's only 15-30 min with them, unlike Lee and Clementine, in which we had 10 hours to connect with them. But these 5 stories are intense, scary, brutal, and still emotional even though the short time. They all even have their own tone, which is really nice!

    The thing that i also like, is all the connections, because of these connections, i'd recommend you play through the stories by the time, Vince (2nd day) first, and last, Shel (236). You might remember a choice you made in Season 1 or in the previous story, and you might see a character from Season 1 or another story, and my reaction was either sad, happy, or just simply "OH MY GOD!!!". 400 Days is also full of plenty suprises along the way.

    The only negative about it is its short length.

    Sadly i can't give it a 9.5 here at Metacritic so i'll just give it a 10 :).

    www.youtube.com/headshotprolol

    -William
    Full Review »