User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 966 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 90 out of 966

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    This game was one of the largest, most profoundly delightful surprises I have ever experienced in gaming. It invoked such a strong emotional response for me that was both a shocking surprise and a welcomed change. I was intimately attached to all the characters and the loss of any of them was a real impact on both myself and the story. Each person had weight, value and substance. This wasn't so much a game as it was an experience. Telltale games should be damn proud of what they did here. This game should be studied carefully by other companies for a very long time. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    not much action here but no other story has drug me in so deep. I fell in love with the characters. the story is the best of this millennium. poor graphics and little glitches keep this game from getting a perfect 10.
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    1
    This this is barely playable.
    Episodes 1 and 2 were fine although very laggy. but once you finish episode 2 the game freezes and won't let you play episode 3. and you even have to restart episode 2!
    I like the idea of this game but it's just unplayable...
  4. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Where the hell did this come from? A point and click linear game based on a popular series? How did this become one of my favorite games? Simple. From the very start this game is a story, one not told through battlefields, or action. But rather through characters, emotions, sounds and setting. The connection developed for the two main characters, and their impact on the audience is legendary. Never have I cared so much for fictional people. Voice acting, writing, and all small details elevate this small work into AAA status. At a low cost for the series, I highly suggest you see for yourself. The only reason this game loses a point from perfect is numerous glitches, slowdowns and save game erases, which hurts the immersion. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2013
    5
    This game is extremely over-rated. Now don't get me wrong,I'm not one of those people that say this can't be called a "game", but it certainly stretches the definition of "game". The story is pretty good and does draw you fairly well, but it is no where near as good as people are giving it credit for. I suppose the current popularity of the tv show has people more excited for this game than they should be. All things considered,it's not that bad of a game and it is worth a play through.

    My biggest issue with all these reviews I've read is the reviewers giving the game far,far too much credit for the "choices" you make in the game. This whole idea that you can somehow customize your game based on choices is asinine. The choices you are given have no major impact on the game. All you will get are different dialogue from certain people. Either player "A" will like/dislike you and player "B" will do the opposite. It is very clear that you are being told a story, not "creating" one. How this game won game of the year is beyond me. Its not a bad experience by any means, but the truth is you can get the same "experience" by watching a play through on youtube.
    Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    To me the walking Dead Series and comics are amazing, they bring out the Drama in a zombie apocalypse instead of the violence. When I heard of a Walking Dead game, I was worried that this was going to flop, replacing drama with action and gore, all those worries vanished once I played the game, it is a masterpiece, using graphics from the comic books and developing its own story line, and how it was like when the outbreak first started, while I find the TV series cameos to be a tad bit desperate for fans, the game itself is flawless, being a point and click puzzle game and knowing what it is, not trying to be anything else, while there are some awkward shooting sequences, they go with the game rather well. Now the main bit, the core of the game, characters, this game is souly based around the relationship and the drama between all characters involved, and while episode 1 is slow, the other 4 are just incredible, with one of the best endings to a game that I have seen in a long time, never before have I cried at a video game ending, but this one really got to me, I would suggest this game to everyone and anyone. Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    2
    Where's the game? This is essentially a choose your own adventure comic book. The format was tired in the early 80s with Space Ace and Dragon's Lair and it's no more enjoyable today 30 years later.

    The story is engaging but the pacing is terrible as it stops while the player tries to solve a puzzle. The game is non existent, limited to finding and using items in puzzles that a 5 year
    old could solve and mashing buttons in QTEs. We are a looooong way away from the cryptic imagination high of Day of the Tentacle or Monkey Island. The much hyped "real consequences" are smoke and mirrors. Choosing who to save and who to let die has no real consequence, the game keeps on going and presents the same puzzles and story in the next scene. Player choice is rigidly restricted and often what the player wants to do and would choose to do in that situation is not presented as a choice so they are forced to pick an option which doesn't resonate with them emotionally thereby reducing further emotional attachment to both characters and story.

    They should have released this as a non interactive mini web based series like The Guild. If you want a fun zombie game with an emotional response, play Left4Dead and read the wall graffiti. Now THATs how you tell a story without sacrificing the game.
    Expand
  8. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    Simply one of the best games on the console. This game will have you grinding your teeth with decisions you make. I love this game and very affordable.
  9. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    I was not by any means a Walking Dead fan until I played these games. I tried watching the TV series and I couldn't get in to them. Mainly because I was tired of the whole zombie smash kill apocalypse thing, and I never thought any other zombie experience would be able to captivate me. Then I stumbled upon The Walking Dead Game. This game is a story telling masterpiece with writing on par with the likes of Metal Gear Solid. It is most likely the best game I've played in 2012 and I have already named it my game of the year. It has very interesting characters that you'll care about and twists and turns you'll never see. From Clementine, a lone little girl you begin to care for to Lee, the mystery of a man you begin to step into the shoes of. It is a thrill ride with the backdrop of the zombie apocalypse, and this time around the zombies took a backseat to the characters. It is an entirely different perspective of a would be zombie apocalypse and I HIGHLY recommend you do your self a favor and play this wonderful game. This game isn't about zombies, it is about a touching story of people and their will and spirit to live and survive while fighting to maintain their humanity. This game will break you emotionally, but it is such a beautiful and touching experience that I'm thankful to have been able to play it. Expand
  10. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    This is the best game I've played in weeks. Graphics, sound, gore, plot, gameplay, controls. All top notch. And the way it ties back into the plot of the TV series is incredible.
  11. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    Walking Dead is an amazing game that in some scenes, they will make you cry. I thought the game could possibly be a little bad, but it is suprisingly a great game, and everyone who plays Xbox360,PC,or PS3 should really play this kick-butt game! It's that good!
  12. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    As a big follower of The T.V. Series I considered giving this game ago and see what the big hype was about, and surprisingly, I was completely taken aback of how compelling and rewarding the story was! I find it very hard for people to fault this game apart from some very minor things like frame rate. By far one of the best XBLA games I've ever played! Even before the 1st episode became free 400 Microsoft points is a bargain! but now that the 1st episode is free you reallly should give it a go! You will not be disappointed! Choose your decisions wisely! an EASY 10/10 Expand
  13. Feb 6, 2013
    7
    As enamored as people are with the characters and the story of this series, they continually overlook one thing: there is NOT ENOUGH GAMEPLAY. It can barely be called as a game, more an interactive motion comic. As stellar as the storytelling is, it is dragged down by poor gameplay, which at it's worse becomes a series of quick time events. You will be spending 75% of your time watching cutscenes. If that's your thing, then more power to you. Me, I'd rather be playing a game. The choices you make don't seem to meaningfully impact the story either. It will still continue down the same linear storyline no matter what choice you make, albeit with some minor tonal changes. Other aspects are lackluster as well; you can tell the team was working on a budget, as a lot of the animations and artwork aren't as polished as they could be. So on those merits, I give this a solid 7. A good outing by Telltale, but there is a lot of room for improvement. I think people have been so starved of good storytelling in games recently, that they jumped all over this and proclaimed it GOTY. Once the dust settles I think we will be able to view what this is with more objective eyes. Expand
  14. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    I had no idea this game would be as good as it is. For me this was the sleeper hit of 2012. Games before it have touted tough choices that dramatically change story. They need to take a page from Telltale Games. The first time I played through this game, I found myself thinking about what I would do during a real zombie apocalypse. Some of the choices I made during this game, I had no idea I could be that vicious. This is a must play game, it'll teach you something about yourself you never knew. It is the only game that actually make your choices matter. Expand
  15. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    Really a good game, i recomend this because i see so much youtubers doing that and i buy this game, my rate is 10 out 10.
  16. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Amazing from the start. The walking dead is a simple point click game, with basic gameplay, that focuses more on the story. Your actions effect how other characters view you, and makes you feel like that your decisions effect the story. The game is suspenseful with surprises in each episode. The has gotten so far to even bringing me to tears. One of the best Telltales games so far.
  17. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    The Walking Dead game is a spectrum that is not only brilliant but emotionally enchanting. The game has you take on the role of Lee Everett as you try to protect a young girl named Clementine in a Post-Apocalyptic zombie world. This game not only has one of the greatest stories ever told in a video game but it also has some of the most innovative game-play I have ever seen. The only flaws are a few technical glitches like texture pop-ins or sometimes peoples mouths don't open when they speak, which can be a little distracting but does not take away to much from the overall experience.

    Overall this game is a work of art and Telltale should be proud of what they have accomplished. 9/10-FANTASTIC!!!
    Expand
  18. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    Not so much a game as it is an interactive TV show. However, that doesn't make it any less enjoyable than some of the more gameplay oriented AAA titles out there. The Walking Dead does something that many other games fail to do. Make me care. Not only do I feel some form of emotional attachment to many of the characters in this game, with Clementine getting the strongest focus of the bunch, but I actually care what happens to them and give second-thoughts to my decisions. And this is coming from a guy that would typically get the worst endings in video games just because it was either easier or funny. I have to give credit to any writers that are capable of creating a video character that could bring out some level of genuine affection from players in this day and age. The story in this game is great, and lives up to the source comics grade of drama and horror. The voice acting is also worth some praise, for which I am thankful for as shoddy voice work could easily break a game like this as there won't be much else for the player to focus on. If you get the chance, by all means, play this game. Expand
  19. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    Why is this even classified as a game? It's not a game, it's an interactive movie, it's like calling Katawa Shoujo a game. Even worse is that it somehow got GoTY, why?
  20. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Do you like the comics, the show ? The Walking Dead? This game is the first time I got to find out what kinda person I would be in TWD universe. Low on action but HEAVY on feel and atmosphere. I loved it!
  21. Jan 29, 2013
    0
    I had heard good things about this game, and had decided to give it a try. To be frank, what I had heard about the game made me think it was overrated, but I still wanted to try it myself.

    The problem? The disc version is severely broken. Stuttering and slowdown is frequent, and while it's merely an annoyance for most of the game, these issues make the life-or-death quick-time-events
    nigh-impossible to complete.

    After a dozen attempts to succeed at one single QTE, I had to throw in the towel. While there's plenty of hype for this game, it can't drive me to overcome this crippling flaw in the game knowing that it won't be the last time a normally-simple task is made almost-unwinnable by poor programming. While the developer has offered to help people afflicted by faulty discs, it doesn't help people who are unable to download the digital versions of the episodes
    Expand
  22. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    The goty of 2012 this game are the best of the year with a good story with many choices who will change the line of the game the final was the best of the best and the game strong your bond with the people
  23. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Anyone who doesn't view Telltale's The Walking Dead as a masterpiece doesn't have a good taste in games. After a frustrating experience with AMC's The Walking Dead television adaptation, I was surprised to see that Telltale was able to capture the gruesome dark horror of Kirkman's comic, with some amazing new characters and stories. A must play.
  24. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    TellTale Games most definitely redeemed themselves with this game. It is a well though out; well developed trawling story that manages to capture your empathetic emotions. I don't have kids of my own but I've talked to people who do, and for them the true meaning of the game really captured their hearts. While waiting for the episodic content to release was a pain, I was a fun experience. Just like a child waiting for the next issue of a comic book to come out, TellTale did it right in keeping all of its fans cringing for that next episodic content of the game.

    I gave the game a 9 because of the tech issues I and many other encountered during gameplay. Some bugs here and there didn't allow for a smooth gameplay, none the less a smooth transition from cut-scene to cut-scene. To anyone debating wither they should play this game or not, I say don't even think about it just play it! This is more then a game, It is an interactive movie to say the least.
    Expand
  25. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    This is one of the few games that has actually made me cry. It does have parts that really slow down as you're trying to figure things out, but this serves also to build tension and increase interaction with the other characters. That's what ends up mattering the most by the end when you know not everyone is going to survive and others have already died as a result of your choices. The point and click format works in some places but can also make things a bit cumbersome. Overall a fantastic experience with some minor complaints that are easily trumped by the amazing story. Expand
  26. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    There is a lot to be said about this game it keeps you in the moment when it has to an there are times it gets a little repetitive, it's an all around good game though it keeps you wanting to know more at the end of each episode. The voice actors are amazing you can actually feel the emotion they put in to the story line an there rolls in the game, by the time you reach the final episode you feel like you know each character as individual people, you feel like there is actually a life story there because when you reach the end you will feel the emotion of everything you have went through and what could be next. Expand
  27. Jan 25, 2013
    5
    The Walking Dead is a game based on the comics and television show of the same name, made by Telltale Games who is known for making point and click games. The story of The Walking Dead is gripping. You want to follow Lee and Clementine through their survival in the breakout if a zombie apocalypse. However the gameplay is not so much the same as the storytelling. After all, it is a point and click game. This game is being overhyped and overrated by it's "flawless story" and "choosing your own story and teammates" but I have to point out that it doesn't matter what who you save or do in the story the outcome is still the same. And the story isn't flawless, it's not the best thing ever. I have played games with better storylines. This game is an interactive story. Expand
  28. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    There are three points that could give this game a good rating, there they are: 1) Limited time for an answer. Which is novel for such games, 2) Plot. Which is very simple actually, but it could buy your attention. 3) Nothing to compare in 2012. Good quests are so rare to see nowadays and the Telltale is only company that supports this genre. Summing it up, The game of the year ? NO! The game that you should play at least once? Maybe, if you are hungry for quests. Expand
  29. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Despite its plethora of invisible walls, glitches, screen tearing, and straight out freezes, The Walking Dead: A Telltale Game Series manages to touch an emotional level that no game has really ever achieved. The decision never feel fixed, even when they are. But many other decisions have a severe impact on the remaining track of the game. Its the best decision tree in a video game yet, and brings interactive gaming to a new level. Expand
  30. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    The mechanic of you make the decisions is the best part. Sure Mass Effect may have done it first, but The Walking Dead did it better. Mostly because of no starchild ending. Somethings there is slow down, and chugging which won't take away from your experience. 9/10
  31. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    One of, if not THE best games i have ever player. Its gratifying to play a game where the choices you make actually DO have an impact. Throw in exceptional writing, surprisingly emotive animation, and some truly believable characters (and accompanying voice acting) and The Walking Dead is easily the single best game to be released in 2012.
  32. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead is one of the most surprisingly best games ever in my opinion. Never did I think that I would like a game based on a TV series, so buying The Walking Dead never reached my mind, but when I noticed it's great reviews I thought I'll just buy the first one and I'll see how it is. Right after that I found myself anxious to get the next. I thought that I would just spread it out over a long time, five dollars a time, but if you do that you'll find that it's impossible. This is an amazingly addictive game, the story is fantastic as well as the voice acting. The little girl you protect, Clementine, will quickly attach to you with her innocence in a world where it seems that it doesn't exist. She is also very understanding. You have to make very tough choices, which will make you want to strangle the little bar telling you how much time you have to make a choice, and eventually you're going to kill a walker or a dangerous human. Clementine will question some of these hard decisions, but you can easily convince her that it was the only thing to do. The graphics are pretty good and have a Borderlands like, comic book feel. The suspense is very exciting and not one episode will let you down. I ran into something weird where people repeated lines, though it didn't last too long. There's also a very annoying part where you have to inch up to someone with a gun, but if you get too close she shoots instead of just stopping you when you get near her, but thankfully reloading checkpoints is a piece of cake and the game gets you back into the action in a split second. My final problem with it is that there are a couple parts where you get to shoot that just seem forced and are very hard to control. Telltale Games did a fantastic job with this game and I'm dying to see what they do with season 2. Expand
  33. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    Well scripted, emotive and thoroughly enjoyable game. Loved the graphic novel style graphics and was very impressed with the voice acting of all the characters. The writers know how to surprise and you genuinely feel for the characters and care what decisions you make. You don't want to make a decision that affects the future plot but sometimes the game does not leave you a choice. The game has a good pace and does not overload you with hectic or dull moments. My only criticism is that a few times the save time affects some of the more cinematic moments and made the first few seconds stutter a bit. But this is so easily overlooked. I liked the episodic style and next time on the walking dead parts, but I thought the gap between each chapter was a bit long in the release schedule. I would have preferred these to be a little shorter but I realise the studio had reasons. I hated the end of the game. Knowing that there was nothing left to play! However I wanted to go back and replay making different choices. I hope they make a sequel and also would love to see other games made in this way. Must Buy! Expand
  34. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Graphics: 7/10 Gameplay: 6/10 Voice Acting: 9/10 Story: 9/10 Enjoyment: 8/10 = 7.8 (Great)
    Game of the year? No. Top 10 game of the year for me. Although highly overrated this game is amazing. Clementine is just a lovable character and Lee is... Lee? I guess. That guy you just know what is going to happen to him as soon as you look at him. It's a horror game. Come on!
    Expand
  35. Jan 19, 2013
    7
    Now, I really like The Walking Dead as a series, the show, the comic, and now the game. I started the playing the game with low hopes, but it surprised me. It was fun, got dark later on, and had a nicely crafted plot. BUT, I also had a few issues with it. While everyone says the game is completely altered by your decisions, a lot of you decisions end up not mattering within a short amount of time. And while decisions are fun, I would like them to have more of an effect later. Also, I have had various glitches for it on my PC, and I've heard many complaints about texture pop ins and freezes. Overall though, I feel this is a good game, has it's flaws, but should be played by any fan of The Walking Dead. Expand
  36. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    Telltale Games have created a niche for themselves where their graphic adventure titles such as Sam and Max and Back to the Future. The Walking Dead Season 1 takes this formula to create an interactive movie. To be honest there is very little actual gameplay to be spoken of other than the odd simple puzzle to solve.

    Fortunately however the creators have managed to create an engrossing
    tale full of interesting characters and, although your choices actually have very little on the overall plot, they do have an impact on the way the other characters think of you. As a result most gamers will quickly become invested in the events that transpire and with some truly unexpected twists and turns along the way most players will be compelled to see Season One right through to its conclusion. Expand
  37. DME
    Jan 18, 2013
    8
    It's more of an interactive movie than a video game. But, if you're okay with that, it has an excellent story and great voice acting. Lots of cool moments and it's especially interesting to see how your choices affect them. The only flaw I found in this game is it's persistent framerate drops during cutscenes. (In other words, the animations lag a lot).
  38. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    This game has a gripping and fast-paced story, with beautiful detail and memorable characters. It is a welcome and long-overdue change of pace from your standard shoot-em-up zombie game. Plus, it is easy to play and has an intuitive interface.

    The Walking Dead is one of the few games that I've played in recent memory that not only evoked an emotional response from me, but that I
    completed from start to finish. Because I am an older gamer with three young kids, that is a luxury I can rarely afford. This game was worth it. I would highly recommend it to older, more experienced gamers that want to have an engaging experience without the stress of competitive gameplay. Expand
  39. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first saw the way the game was set up after playing the demo, I was a bit disappointed. But then one day, after I was purchasing games to play on my Xbox, I spent my remaining 400 pts (or $5) on The Walking Dead - Episode 1: A New Day. My disappointment slowly began to deteriorate as I saw the major strengths of this game: the characters, the development of those characters, and the story. The story begins when the protagonist of the series, Lee Everett, is being sent to prison (which the crime is mentioned later in the story of him killing of a man who the wife was cheating on him with), but with some "luck", the car hits something on the road which causes the vehicle to flip into a wooded area. As Lee escapes from the wrecked car, he slowly begins to see that the world he once knew is becoming a barren wasteland filled with zombies (or what the series calls them "Walkers"). Later on, he meets a little girl named Clementine and takes her in under his care. And that is when the adventure kicks off!
    Throughout the game, you'll meet other characters like Kenny, Glenn from the TV series, Larry (my most hated character in the game), and many others as you go through the game. Now the character development is built by dialogue and choices. Choices that the player has to make in a select amount of time. This mechanic makes the game truly interesting with the choices people make, like which character do you save situation that makes the player decide who to save and who to let die. The characters are also a delight for this game. By learning more and more about the characters throughout the episodes, you either become more bonded to them or have more hatred towards them. This game also has a lot of moments where you are on the edge of your seat and moments when you want to cry. One of the moments when you want to cry is in Episode 3: Long Road Ahead, where you have to decide whether Kenny kills his son who is infected or Lee does it. It makes the story ever more stronger and it also makes you feel more and more attached to the characters.
    Now good things aside, there is only one problem I have with the game, the controls. The game is a point and click adventure, yet the 360 has a really weird way of pulling it off. You either move in a different direction or the game doesn't seem to click the item that you want. It gets a little bit annoying, but only for the first 5 times it happens.
    In conclusion, the game is deep with story and character development. You can either purchase this game via XBLA or buy it on retail. This is one of those games you can't miss!
    Expand
  40. Jan 18, 2013
    3
    Now i played this "game" for 3 days. What i think about it ? Well, people don't like liberty. That's why Obama was re-elected and that's why TWD was GOTY 2012. It's an extremely restrictive "game" with an acceptable story. It's not a game, it's a movie. There is no real gameplay and the graphics are poor. If i wanted to buy something ONLY for it's story, I would have bought the TWD TV series on Blu-ray. TWD HQs are so much better than this. Buy the HQs instead of this "game". Expand
  41. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    It's not a 'game' in the strictest sense of the word. I know, I know, it's supposed to be a point-and-click adventure, but to me a point-and-click is supposed to have all sorts of **** puzzles; the "puzzles" in The Walking Dead mostly consist of clicking on stuff until something happens. That being said the game offers an unparalleled (for me at least) emotional experience, and it's the kind of game I think everybody should play through once. Expand
  42. Jan 14, 2013
    7
    I never read the comic and quit watching the show after that nonsensical arm hacksawing three episodes in, so maybe I've missed out on something, but for all of the hype surrounding this game, I only felt that the story was "good"--perhaps even "very good," in spite of its predictability, due to its execution. However, the lauded "choices" do not greatly alter the game's course, and, in fact, increase the formula-dependency of the story arcs, which, combined with an overabundance of foreshadowing, renders most major events entirely predictable, and routinely left me wondering how any of the characters couldn't see everything coming. Even so, the story is definitely something the game has going for it.

    However, almost all of the characters are intolerable. You will encounter entirely too many people who simply will not be reasonable, and it is infuriatingly unrealistic. I found myself anticipating each character's inevitable demise, and, in fact, was perturbed by only two characters' deaths, both of which I fully expected. Characters will routinely ask for your advice and then completely ignore it, and they will talk about how much work they do, but never do it. The game basically boils down to you doing all of the hard stuff while everyone else complains about it.

    But the hard stuff isn't even all that hard. I realize that Telltale didn't want the adventure game mechanics to detract from the story's pacing, but the puzzles are entirely too easy. Yet, they still exist, so if you wanted to play through the game a second or third time, I imagine you would feel like you were wasting time on the same silly puzzles when there's different conversations to be had. Some of the puzzles are so simple, the dialog actually pokes fun at them, which was humorous, but also begged the question "why include it?" So in the end, I felt that these mechanics still removed from the experience.

    This is definitely one of Telltale's best offerings, but It mostly left me feeling like they could have done better. I encountered several bugs, and one saved game reset, but fortunately I backed each save up before starting the next episode. I only played it through once, and it was clear to me where the various other decisions would line up or balance out, which, coupled with the host of wholly unlikeable characters, ultimately killed my desire to replay the game.

    Now, to be fair, this is mostly just my dissenting opinion on the game; it has received so much praise that I feel it needs to be grounded a bit. It is not a phenomenal game, but it was a very enjoyable experience, and I still recommend it.
    Expand
  43. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Anyone who remotely likes a story driven game will love this, the game completely went above my expectations and then some. Playing out more like an interactive story than a standalone game allows the player to gain an emotional attachment to the characters like few other games can. It is also one of the only games that has made me well up at the ending. Can't wait for season 2!
  44. Jan 12, 2013
    1
    This game is fun for the first 3 episodes. Then episode 4 comes along and just ruins it. It never saves when I beat it so I have to replay alot of the episode 4 over and over again. Then get to the end and it still wont let me play Episode 5. its Jan. 12 2013. I am sure its out. Just says coming soon. Every week I replay episode 4 to get to the end in hopes I can play episode 5, NOPE. BUT when I delete the game and reinstall. I have the option of playing episode 5 but it tells me I never beat episode 4 and it will choose the decisions for me. BUT THAT IS THE GAME! so to play the last part of the game, I have to forget all the work I did and let the computer choose my path??!?! Now I am playing an Episode 5 based of choices the Computer made for me? This **** sucks. and TellTale blew me off for helping. So I have to give this game a 1. Expand
  45. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    Buy this game. it is down right amazing this proves that video games are not just your every day generic FPS. It is an emotional journey which you must make choices to help your survival
  46. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    Loved the series and was very pleased to see a game that offered the same suspense and satisfaction while being able to dictate situations. A very solid game and story.
  47. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    A narative based game with good game play. This game is one of the games of the year in 2012. Some of the best writing in games, this game shows why Telltale is the king at Point and Click gaming. This game is art in the swarms of Call of Duty's, I tell you all, go play this game(probably not on an Xbox 360 with 4 GBs).
  48. Jan 10, 2013
    6
    First i wanna say the game is good as far as story , however as everyone else already said the choices you make dont effect anything at all in the end except a few characters may not be with you, but there disposable characters and just added in for a filler. Overall there is little to do , levels are very very linear no exploring at all, and thats very disappointing. this could have been so much better, and for those inverted players out there forget it u cant change controls.... wow how did this get game of the year Expand
  49. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Rarely do games come across where you feel so emotionally invested in the characters that you can't leave the game alone. This is one of those games. Grinning, frowning, and almost crying, THe Walking Dead is a masterpiece
  50. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    When The Walking Dead Episode 1 released as a download game from Telltale Games, it had potential and so it did releasing 4 other episodes becoming The Game of the Year. If you need a game, Telltale Games The Walking Dead is what you need. Making choices by how you play ? Not every game has this. I recommend this to people that know The Walking Dead and to others that do not know The Walking Dead. One word: Amazing. Expand
  51. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    This game is out of this world, its awesome. I would like to tell people that this game draws you in because of its story. I'm reading other peoples reviews, below my review and i would like to say they are ignorant. Not all games are based on just gameplay. And the fact that they've said "The game play is horrible" is because all they 're A fat no life xboxlive only playing call of duty type of person. They will hate on this game because all they play is Call of Duty which is based ONLY on gameplay and also the fact that there still young and naive so they don't fully understand the game and story very well. People will comment and say "There's a story for Call of duty, and it has a far better story then The walking dead" If you really believe that then i feel sorry for you because that's all you're open too. Its pretty funny how this company, made its name and made a game that OUT CLASSES other games like Halo 4 and Call of duty Black Ops 2, which in my books are for people who can't understand a picture book Expand
  52. Jan 7, 2013
    8
    The most buzzed about game of the year is a interesting game like no other with a greater focus on emotion, characters, and characters never seen in a game before. First off TWD is a absolute triumph in storytelling with characters you actually care about, a heart breaking story, and a character that you can shape morally whether that is being a horrible person, a saint, or a mixture of both in this quest to survive. unfortunately what holds this game back from masterpiece status is lackluster unsatisfying gameplay and a entourage of bizarre glitches like clipping in foliage and getting stuck in walls. overall this is a game that advances the story telling in video games to a new standard. 8/10 Expand
  53. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    These guys have good writers and the TellTale engine supports doing that; writing directly to gamers a zombie movie in so many parts is successful and this is one of the few games I'm on my second time through and limited it may be replay wise I just love the different ways to get my characters killed and chose to slay. The comic series is a good playground for writing plays and this is very much like seeing a play with button clicks and dramatic choices you imagine in the comic's atmosphere. If you want a single player puzzler this isn't it. I've played Myst even read the novels and loved it, this is just different in its scope and delivery. If you want non-linear gameplay or rpg this isn't it. Its a narrative from start to finish and you don't get side quests for rewards and extra characters because its a story without that as its features. I see a lot of 10's and a few 0's and I want to prevent fellow gamers from spending money on something without knowing its origins or why certain aspects are relevant. Follow the story of a man with a couple choices in a zombie apocalypse. If you don't like graphic novels you might not like playing one literally. Expand
  54. Jan 7, 2013
    7
    Semi decent enough game the decisions you make ultimately dont make any impact the game itself Which hurts the score i will give it. Overall a good adventure game
  55. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    The Walking Dead series by Telltale is one of the more original games I have encountered on the Xbox 360. It is a point and click style game with action sequenced thrown in the mix. The game is based in the walking Dead comic universe (as the TV series is) so will be familiar to most people who would be interested in the game.
    The Graphics: Have a very deliberate cartoon like quality to
    them, probably linking back to its comic heritage. They wont blow your socks off but are very nice to look at in a simple non complex way
    The Storyline: This is where the game come into its own, it is simply riveting and you won't be able to wait out find out what comes next.
    Gameplay: Reasonably simplistic as is with point a click style games, but as the storyline is affected by your actions and choices it adds replay value to the game.
    Downside: Some users have reported that the game can be quite buggy, but I personally never had a problem with the game.
    Overall this is a nice simple game that will keep you on the edge of your seat, well deserving of its 10/10 rating.
    Expand
  56. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    I love this game and haven't been able to put it down since I bought it! The characters are so well written and you will care for some and hate others. When my favourite character abruptly and unexpectedly died I literally got up shouted "WTF!" at the TV. Some superb writing makes this one of the most engrossing stories I have ever become trapped in. Although I realize the game is meant to look like a comic book some of the textures are very pixelated. I know not a lot of Telltale games look very amazing but it is kind of disappointing when you compare the visuals to those of Borderlands 2. Along with quite a few glitches the game is not perfect but definitely worth the low price. One of my new favourites. By the way, why do people keep on giving this game terrible scores for the slight inconvenience of no option for inverted Y axis? Seriously, who still uses inverted Y. Expand
  57. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    The Walking Dead is an amazing game that tells an equally amazing story. This game captures the essence of an adventure point-and-click title. The game allows the user to make several choices that actually feel like they have weight behind them. The story is emotional, the characters deep, and the game play is fantastic.
  58. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    I was sceptical when I bought the first episode of Telltale's Walking Dead game. I thought I had an idea of what was going to happen, and it left me smiling. This is my game of the year (2012). I literally can't wait for the next season.
  59. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This it's not a "game" as we usually think about. This is more than a movie in which "you" are the protagonist. You can choose what to answer to questions, what to say and how to live throughout the story. In the end i almost cried, it was so deep, so "real"... just like a movie/tv series masterpiece. I liked it very much, many hours of "playing" spent well. Thank Telltale! Expand
  60. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    I was not going to write a review for his game at first because frankly i didn't want to create an account to do so. So i made an account to write this review. First off this game is way overrated.I am not saying it isn't a good game but it is not wha it is made out to be. I have run into so many glitches playing this it isn't funny (characters repeating the same word 2 times, ch.3 and ch.4 loading as chapter 1). that is my main problem with the game. i started ch 3 but it loaded as ch 1 so i didn't play for awhile and was gunna write a review based on that but didn't (refer to opening statement). I went and looked it up online and a lot of people were having this same problem so i let it go. But i was halfway through ch 4 and i had to go to my gfs house so i made sure i got to a save point and turned it off after it saved and as i just got home i went to finish the chapter but it loaded as ch. 1. that was the last straw and is why i made an account to write this. the games mechanical structure is also not very well thought out. It makes you use the righ stick at points where lee is running and you have to control the aimer and hit the A button at the same time which is a lot of trouble and causes you to fail and die. It does have a good story but thats it. It should not have gotten so muc praise from people. way overrated imo. I picked all of the episodes p for 800 points and hoestly i wis i didn't. Expand
  61. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    I played like 10 minutes of the first episode BECAUSE IT WAS FREE. Please if you are going to give the game a 95/100 at least make an Xbox live arcade rating. Miniseries in video game format, spread over a year? Not fun. Not my type of **** This game is proof you can take ANYTHING with huge popularity and sell it off to a bunch of diehards for huge profit.
  62. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    This game was a real treat, and I dont even like most point-and-click type games in the first place. If youre a fan of the show then you'll definitely like this for sure- its like an interactive season of the show- its that good!!!
  63. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Let me get this straight. If you are a fan of left for dead then go play it. But don't expect this game to be a mindless boring shooter with stupid pickup lines. This game does something wonderful. It completely transforms you in your character and for two hours you forget who you are. You think you are in zombie apocalypse and that Clementine is your sweet pea. This game is a wonderful journey that will test your mind. You will understand that there is not always the right way. Sometimes you have to make a decision that is never gonna be good. Its just how it is. Just like in real life. The voice acting is top notch too. And just because the game has few minor bugs doesn't take away anything from this wonderful experience. Expand
  64. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Incredible game, intense emotion and very good character, and the story, well, simple amazing, It's a must buy, a very good visual active novel!, Congratulation to Telltale!
  65. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is just amazing! I hate point and click games but this is just so different, it puts in zombie apocalypse and makes you choose that what you say or who you save. It is just an emotional thrill when someone you liked dies or when someone you hated dies, you feel bad even then. If you like movies with good stories, play this game. If you like games with good stories, play this game. If you don't understand english, don't play this game. Expand
  66. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    The game is not without flaws (I thought a few animations looked a bit thrown together), but it's easily one of the best games I played in 2012. This is a game for people who like their games to tell them a story, and who like to feel something for the character they play as.
  67. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    I love the TV series, so while we're waiting for the second half of season 3, I wanted to give this game a try. At first I was excited and really enjoyed the story telling. I finished the game and I had a feeling like I've watched a good side story to the TV series. If I stopped there, the game would be probably a 9/10 for the story and graphics alone. But I wanted to try the game again, differently. After all, the developers advertise that your decisions make difference and I know I made some bad decisions in the first playthrough. Well, as it turns out, your decisions make almost no difference in the story. You can't even decide who you want to save and who you want to let die, because if you don't save "the right" person, someone else will. The only difference is that different people will be pissed at you. False advertising and no replayability force me to reduce the final score. Still a good story telling adventure for cheap price. Expand
  68. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    One of those super budget advertising games that try and convince you with lots of PR that this game is any good. They even paid off Spike TV, have fake reviews in the users section and 45 thumbs up on the cheeesiest and fakest reviews. Soon we'll need a metacritc for metacritic if they keep manipulating the votes like this.
  69. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    The Walking Dead Game was incredible, Lee Everett is the best game character of the year, maybe one of the best of all time. My hat goes off to Telltale Games for creating such a memorable experience, and I definitely expect more in the future. It is my personal game of the year, I enjoyed it more than Mass Effect, and I haven't played Far Cry 3 yet, but it most certainly was an unforgettable ride. Expand
  70. Jan 1, 2013
    8
    I think most negative reviews on this game were coming from people who are used to INYOURFACEACTIONALLTHETIMEOHMYGOD type games. in my perspective, this game is a very genuine involved game, although you may not be killing zombies all the time, It's about the social perspective of the game, much more than the violence. A true gem in my opinion, the the gaming community needs a break from all the run and shoot prevalent in every game today. It keeps you clinging on every word, not many games can do that. Expand
  71. Dec 31, 2012
    4
    No inverted Y-Axis - Play the Trial/Demo before buying

    This is more of a warning than a review, but I think people need to be aware of this. There is no option to invert the Y-axis of your reticule/pointer control, which makes it really hard for people used to an inverted Y-axis (camera stick pushed up -> you look down) to enjoy the game. Furthermore, Telltale has declared repeatedly
    that they have no intention of adding in the option via patch/Title Update, despite a considerably campaign on their forums that started on release day and is still going strong. I was looking forward to the game, since I was a fan of the comic for quite some time. I enjoyed Telltale's other games on the PC, but my PC has gotten old. Ready to buy the game on release day, I still tried the Trial Version first - and was mighty glad I did. No inverted Y-Axis for the "aiming" makes games pretty much unplayable for me. Call it muscle memory, or a trained reflex, or simply the accumulated force of neurons and axons that have been used in this specific way for decades. While this handicap might not be as bad in a point&click adventure like this, there are still action sequences that require you to aim or quickly point at something, and it it's incredibly annoying to feel like someone reversed the controller in your hand.

    Some people are obviously not affected ,some people might not mind, others might be able to "re-train" themselves just for this game, but I refuse to do so, for the simple reason that there is no valid argument whatsoever for a game these days not to have this option. Telltale's outright refusal to integrate it only adds insult to injury. It's something incredibly simple to do, something that can in no way whatsoever adversely affect the game for anyone, yet Telltale does not seem to care. And as such, I see no reason to buy their game, no matter how much I would've enjoyed it.
    Expand
  72. DDK
    Dec 31, 2012
    2
    How anyone could rate this game higher than a 3 is beyond my meagre ability to comprehend. It's incredibly buggy on all platforms. It has high requirements despite having poor quality graphics. The characters in it are beyond moronic. The drama is forced to the point of complete farce. The actual gameplay is atrocious and almost random in its application and you have zero real choice in anything that happens despite the wondrous claims of Telltale (a telling name if there was any). The sole redeeming factor of the series is the artwork and animation. The people who gave this Indie GotY were either paid off or smoking crack. Expand
  73. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    The Walking Dead is a worthwhile game to play for any fan of the series. Each episode is about 1 hour long, so you should be able to beat the game in about 5 hours. The art style stands out and shows it is geared more towards the comic book rather than the TV show. If you are a fan of Telltales point and click adventures this game will suite you well. This is the most polished and best Telltale games outside of the Lego realm. Expand
  74. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    This game makes you feel. I have never been so emotionally attached to a video game character like I am to Clementine, Lee must stop at everything and consider Clementine in all of his actions. This game makes you feel desperate and afraid to turn the next corner. It may be lacking in the actual " game" part (mostly quick time events) but the story sure as hell makes up for the game play. I'm not sure if it deserves game of the year status, but it is definitely the best story told this year, and one of the best stories ever told in gaming. Expand
  75. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    One of the best games iv'e played since iv'e been gaming. An engaging story line with a great selection of characters makes this the best story driven game iv'e ever played. The game play is simple and a bit lacking but telltale has proven that you don't need great game play to make a great game. You need a great story with characters that you will care for and remember for years to come. It also won game of the year which was very well deserved in my opinion. Expand
  76. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    It baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and its linearity and weak gameplay are really off-putting.
  77. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    THIS GAME IS GREAT. One of the best games I have ever played, and I can't remember the last time a said it about a game.. The story is so captivating, engaging, unexpected, and just plain amazing. I highly recommend it. Whoever wrote this is a genius. The story was so good, I felt it was better wrote than some movies out there. Let me just clear something up first. The only negative comments about this game complain that there is no real gameplay and the choices you make dont really give a difference. In reality, here is what is going on. This game is not like a regular game. There arent really a good amount of controls, but that isn't bad. This game plays out more like an interactive movie and the gameplay is different. This does not in any way take away from the awesome quality of the game. And I don't know how people say the choices dont matter. About half of the story is not influenced by your decisions, but that other half that you control with your choices is equally important as the other half. The choices you make in this game are vital, it's not like they don't mean anything, and they even carry on through episodes, which makes you really think about the long term affect of your actions. The character development was also outstanding, so much to the point that by the end of episode 5, I was so attached to the characters and it made me want more out of the story. The Walking Dead won 2012 Game of the Year. Wow. It definitely deserved it. That alone is impressive. It has received TONS of accolades. Definitely more worth my money than the Halo 4 or Black Ops 2 storyline gave me. You will be so happy when you start playing this game. It doesn't start out slow. It begins and ends with a bang, as it should. Try not to read any spoilers along the way, or any guides. You will be better off trying to get through the game on your own and then you can rewind or start a new game in a blank game slot to see how different Lee's journey would've been if he made some different choices. The last episode is just perfect. They could not have written it better. The music fits perfectly and adds awesome suspense, adding to the amazing craft of the game. There are great twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat for every episode. You go into the last episode expecting certain things from this season finale, and it gives you such a rewarding conclusion that sets you up perfectly for season two, also the best episode in my opinion (sorry for the ambiguity, I just really dont want to give anything away!). I wish season 2 would come out right now! Gahh!!! You will probably feel the same after you are done.Thank goodness that season 2 will come out in 2013. I hope that the wait wont be too long. Definitely a 10/10. Expand
  78. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    You can't deny its emotional potency and engagement, but the illusion of choice seems to fall away as you realize you've been funneled through a tunnel. The story itself is worth the purchase, but its gameplay and "choose-your-own-adventure" mask really aren't that fantastic.
  79. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    It's fun for at least one playthru. The story is great, and there are plenty of surprises. Characters come and go in dramatic fashion, and you never know who is "safe". It's a semi-throwback to the old Space Quest and Leisure Suit Larry style of play, with point and click puzzles and the occasional quicktime battle. Fun game!
  80. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    When I first saw the trailer for Telltale's The Walking Dead I had mixed feelings towards it. Point-and-click? Apparently lousy animations? That wasn't how I imagined a TWD Adaptation to my console. But when the first episode came out, everyone was so pleased by it I gave it a go. And since, I couldn't stop. Episode 1: It was a great beginning to the franchise. The important decissions and the story wrapped me in the game since the beginning. In Episode 2 the story flew away, although it was still good and tense. Episode 3 (My favourite) was with episode 5, the most shocking of the saga. Also I found an interesting variety of gameplay that made it excellent. Then came Episode 4, which was a little bit repetitive but also tremendously entertaining. And Episode 5, which made me cry like a little b***. After drying my face, I'm proud to say TWD is my GOTY. It isn't perfect (The animations show lots of flaws) but the story, the characters....I've never felt so touched by a game before. Telltale has made something bigger than a game. They have made a story we can build and, even though the ending is the same in any way the story is constructed, the journey is a hell of a ride. Describe The Walking Dead in terms of gameplay is also hard. Point-and-click may seem like an easy, childish term for the game's mechanic, but it isn't. Point-and-click includes choosing answers and decissions quickly, shooting with guns, rifles and snipers, and to be honest....That's what we do in any mainstream big-budget FPS game. Just point and click and maybe click another time. And TWD isn't easy! I died many times, and in Episode 3 for example, I had to get a concussion trying to sort out a puzzle, but still, the game Is so enjoyable. Well, let's put it on another way. Enjoyable for the people who enjoy stories, as TWD proved "Fun" and "Constant Gameplay" is not necessary to make a great game. I would give it a 9.5, but because I can't at least I am an official game critic, I think a 90 will do the same thing I wish it will do. To convince you trying this game. NOW! Expand
  81. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    I have to say, this might just be one of the greatest stories ever told in a video game. Even in games like Red Dead Redemption and Mass Effect the general, well, gami-ness came out every once in a while in the story. That doesn't happen here. It's like watching a TV show. It hits the mark on every occasion. Episode 1 was pretty good, but I wasn't blown away. It wasn't until Episode 2 that I realized this was going to be a very very good game. The action sequences, while a little rough around the edges in terms of polishing, are still exciting considering the context they're in. The story leaves absolutely nothing to be desired. This is the first, and probably the last, video game that made me cry. Expand
  82. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Amazingly powerful story, that's all that's there to be had here, no real innovative gameplay, but the story is more than worth it. It doesn't half ass its adaptation to your choices like almost every other game, and breaks dozens of tropes.
  83. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    A really good game. Short, cheep and quality. This game is so dramatic and well done. Deep story and very innovating. I give it a 9 because I think it´s a little bit short in my opinion. I´m happy because this game won the VGA´s and that helps a lot the industry motivating developers moving forward this types of experiences.
    GOOD JOB TELLTALE GAMES!
  84. Dec 26, 2012
    6
    Save your money. You'll get the same experience watching each episode on YouTube. The decisions you make do not actually affect the storyline and without any gameplay actions beside point and click there's nothing left thats good in this game besides the story.
  85. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    So, I finally got the game and I finished it in three days, last night playing up to half past four with christmas before and all. So let's see, what's there to like:

    - Graphics are beautifully low-fi (which is what I liked best about). Sure, it's a little too polished maybe, but I still got the feeling I was watching a comic book being read out to me as a video that someone actually
    made with any kind of emotion to it while drawing. You all know this "Oh, it looks mindblowingly great", but you still don't feel anything besides that? It's different with this one. You take what you see for real, because a little human touch is still within all those textures and pixels.

    - The writing: I really don't know what's there to complain about as I have read in some mixed or negative reviews. I got the season-pass via steam and i paid well below twenty euros in some kind of christmas-special and I really can't think about any movie I have seen in the last five years that even came close to "the walking dead" in terms of emotion, story and character-development (which is a word I normally hate). Get yourself any fresh blue-ray ("Prometheus" for example) and tell me you got the same value out of the script. Should that be the case: I don't believe you. Period. I immediately had a feeling for the characters, sided with them in seconds or thought "Yeah, all right, whatever you say, pal". And you might not believe it, throughout the story, I sometimes really had to bother to change my mind about some of them. And guess what, changing my mind cost me some energy to really pull through with it.

    - "Freedom": That's why I compared it to movies in the first place. Sure, I have only one playthrough, sure, sometimes I felt like "Why in God's holy name did that character just die, I tried everything to not make that happen", but nonetheless I never felt angry about it, it literally broke my heart. Well not literally, but I guess you catch my drift, it's just the feeling it carried along of all of it to have been in vain. And isn't this what would happen in a world full of zombies and only thin rays of hope fading in and out? Maybe, as some other reviewers mentioned, the choices I made didn't have the huge effect that was prominently advertised before every episode, but I never cared. For almost every response I wanted to give to any character in the game, there was a dialogue option that was to choose, my favorite being "Are you **** nuts" when this was all I could think of to "say". And yes, I felt like I was actually saying it and that's what I call freedom instead of some fifteen million different endings. When you're able to build up a situation to the point, where 99 percent of the people have the choice they want to choose, then that's all right with me in terms of freedom. After all, people are just people and maybe I'm a bit simple or something, but I'll manage.

    - Addictiveness: It's there, believe me. I had to think about it like half a minute every time I was to select "Exit" from the menu, even though I was running late for some family-meal already.

    Now to what's caused the game to lose it's 10 out of 10:

    - Invisible walls: C'mon, man, just put a solid barrier in front of where you don't want me to go. That shouldn't be too hard in terms of level design. (Although I like invisible walls better than areas you can go to that have absolutely nothing in it four you to do and you have to walk back empty handed)

    - Quicktime-Events: Q and E alone? Klicking some bubbles with your mouse? How about giving me a challenge at times, please. But let's be honest, all these action-scenes are probably only in there so you could lable it as a video-game, which it barely is (which is not a bad thing to begin with). But as I said, a little more challenge and I'd have been even more involved.

    - Dialogue choices are sometimes missleading. At one or two times I thought I was going to calm things down, but instead I was screaming at someone. Also they sometimes involve dialogue forced unto me that had nothing to do with what I intended to say (For made-up example: I wanted to say "I went to the carneval without you", instead of directly saying I slept with someone else there, which I wanted to reveal with my next answer, but the talked to character asked "Why?", and I said, "It's not important" without me having a chance to do anything about it any more, thus not coming clean).

    - WASD to move around isn't the best option considering that "The Walking Dead" isn't an FPS most of the time.

    - I really don't like being told that there is a dialogue-option when it's going to cause me to hear a non-skipable, non-ineractive, "Hey, you all right"-"Yes,-"See you later then"-cutsceen.

    But all in all, 9 out of 10 it is.
    Expand
  86. Dec 24, 2012
    5
    This game is being overhyped for it's engrossing story, which supposedly features choices and consequences that allow you to tailor the story in your own unique way. The problem that many reviews neglect to mention is that these "choices" are not choices. What exists is merely the illusion of choice. Around 5 times each episode, you will be confronted with a "tough decision" that will supposedly shape the story depending on what you do. The only "consequences" that actually occur are some altered dialogue between characters that reflect your choice. In this way, you are not really affecting the story, but merely the attitude of characters in the story towards you, the player. Basically, some characters will either love you or hate you. There's really no middle ground, as each character will treat you in a very black and white way (no grey area). That is all your "choices" really affect.

    An example of the illusion of choice in action: An early choice in episode 1 features a choice between saving a man caught under a piece of farm equipment and a child. Both are being attacked by zombies and you can only save one. Choose carefully... Yeah right. No matter who you "choose" to save, the same event happens - the man dies, the boy will be taken to safety by his father. The "consequence" of this "choice" of one life over the other is not the life and death of a character, but merely if the child's father will treat you nicely due to you saving his boy. So tell me, why did I even have to make a "choice" of who to save if the game already predetermined who would live? Every single choice in this game series is of this nature. Thus, choices do not matter. I repeat for emphasis CHOICES DO NOT MATTER. Naysayers will say that it's about the story and the characters that you shape, but the simple truth is that the story is not shaped by you in anyway. It is being told to you and you merely decide how each character talks to you. The same events happen, but the details of dialogue change. Is that real player choice? It's not. Nevertheless, the story is at least entertaining, if cliche. I recommend watching a playthough on youtube, as you will get the same experience as those who purchased this game. No need to waste money on a game with shallow gameplay elements.
    Expand
  87. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Who said GOTY??? Me? Hell yeah!!! What a game it is....we are thrilled to the very end of the game. The first time i cried in a game ever....thanks telltale for let me see feelings i have never expected to experience in a video game. Cant wait for season 2... A big 9.5 out of 10 for me.
  88. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    I had been anxiously awaiting this game since the moment I heard of it being made online. I can't wait for the second season to come out. If you are a fan of zombies games in general or even better a fan of the Walking Dead franchise BUY THIS GAME. You will not regret it at all, for only $15 this game is a steal.
  89. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    OK so I have written a review for each individual episode already. But this game, this game is the best game to have been produced in a long time. The last game that made me feel this way about characters and my decisions was Heavy Rain back in 2010 and this could arguably do it better. The Walking Dead sets itself in the comic book universe, not the TV one. You play as Lee Everett, a convicted murder being sent to jail. As the escort car crashes Lee is knocked unconscious, upon awakening he finds himself in the midst of a zombie apocalypse. After being rescued by a little girl named Clementine, Lee promises to take her to Savannah to find her parents. Along the way you'll meet Kenny, Duck, Ben, Omid, Christa, Katja, Chuck and so many more characters including Herschel Greene and Glen from the comics. As you travel across America you learn the true value of having someone to love, someone to care for, forgiveness, revenge and how to diffuse a sticky situation. You will encounter a blackmailer, cannibals, suicidal's and people wanting to watch Lee curl up and die before their eyes.
    The Walking Dead is a truly astounding game, emotionally engaging and a well deserved winner of GOTY 2012. A game that everyone must play.
    Expand
  90. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    The Walking Dead is one of the most amazing, shocking, emotionalising, Imustplaythenextpartnow-ing games you will even play. Some of the episodes are a bit better than others (for me the first, second, fourth and fifth were amazing, and the third was just... Very good). Choices you make in the early portion of the game are reflected even in the last, some choices being better than others, and you may wish to play the game again to pick all the best choices.

    TWD, though fantastic, can also be one of the glitchiest games you will ever play. Many times have all my saves been temporarily reset or just not do what I want, but in the end, the game was well worth it, left me begging for more and made me cry. 10/10 for sure.
    Expand
  91. Dec 21, 2012
    2
    I didn't like this game due to its linear story line, and only story line. No matter what paths you take, you will ALWAYS end up doing the same thing. After episode 2, your saved games are wiped for some reason.

    "Beautiful hand-drawn style" Seriously?? Its a piece of crap. Not even lips are synced half the time, and some models aren't even models. They're just drawn on textures
  92. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    Game of the year. Nothing else has come close. The brilliant writing and acting overshadowed the minimal game play elements. So maybe it is more of an evolved graphic novel than a game.. whatever it is I want more.
  93. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. I bought every episode via Xbox Live as soon as they became available and I was not disappointed by any aspect of any of the levels. The story is brilliant and the character development is phenomenal; every character has their part and every level is meaningful. This game is truly incredible and anyone who loves games should play it. One of my favourite games of the year.
  94. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    My GOTY for sure. First, for the handful that doesn't call this a "game" is an unfair statement. You walk around the environment, solve basic puzzles to traverse the levels, have some light shooting and of course make decisions that your group will or will not back you on.

    The story is far and away better than the TV show because its based more on the comic book universe which is a
    braver world, one where death can be drawn out and heartbreaking, or sudden and feeling lacking in resolution. The decisions really grind home the "every-man" aspect because you are no Commander Shepard, or chosen one of any kind. Sometimes your decisions haunt you, and sometimes you don't even get the luxury of choice. The result is a tight narrative story that will ultimately be the same as most people, but with a varying cast of characters to give input along the way, as well as a few major changes in the ending story. Clementine is the most fleshed out, realistic child character in any video game. She's smart, innocent and very adaptable to her surroundings. Without going into any spoilers, there were many times in many episodes where I wept at the idea of her lost innocence. Terrifying and funny. Heartwarming and infuriating, action packed and well paced are all words to describe "The Walking Dead" Expand
  95. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    Outstanding characters, a great script and brilliant comic-style graphics. Some of the most emotionally engaging and upsetting moments in video-game history. Only the fairly straight-forward gameplay and over-reliance on QTE stops it getting a 10 - but don't let that put you off. Absolutely my GOTY.
  96. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    The Walking Dead is powerful BECAUSE it's a video game. Though it may not often feel like one. The choices you make feel real. The consequences resonate in your heart. The characters transcend polygons. They become your friends. Telltale shows just how powerful this medium can be. Through the gameplay, you become Lee. You care for Clementine (one of the most brilliantly written characters EVER). Movies and books do this to an extent. But nothing like Telltale's The Walking Dead. The barrier is shattered. And that's what ultimately makes it so heartbreakingly beautiful. Expand
  97. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    Seriously, one of the greatest gaming experiences to date, I urge anyone with the love of great games to purchase this one. The emotion that this game creates is phenomenal, very few games or movies for that fact can reach the places that The Walking Dead takes you. The gave speaks braveness and risks that few developers are willing to take. Please, ignore all the people saying this game is not a "game", it's biased comments like this that are ruining the games reputation, and preventing some from experiencing this game braking game. And please, don't try the demo and say you have made up your mind, you have to experience the game from start to finish to fully develop a opinion. I will leave you with one last not, regarding those that think that The Walking Dead is not a "game": Considering that adventure games have been going on since 1975 and been considered a legit genre of video gaming for years, I don't think you have the right to determine what constitutes as the definition of what makes a video game, well, a video game. The adventure genre has always been about controlling a protagonist in an interactive story focusing on exploration and puzzle-solving instead of physical challenges. Some of the best games were adventure games: King's Quest, Monkey Island, Grim Fandango, Gabriel Knight, etc. Accept it, it's a real game and which won game of the year due to having a emotionally driven story, great voice-acting, characters that mattered, and went above being just a gaming experience. People will remember moments from this game for years. I could not care less if you hate the game, but to say that The Walking Dead is not a game is pure ignorance. Expand
  98. Dec 18, 2012
    8
    Good story, but is much more of an interactive TV show than a game. No actual gameplay is involved. Just watch the show rather than wasting your money on this "game."
  99. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    This game is so damn awesome on so many levels I cannot even describe it. Every second is suspenseful and you have no idea what might happen next. The character development is excellent, and for having 5 different writer's for each episode, they did a good damn job overall. Actual game play may not be that spectacular compared to other zombie games, but there is enough to suffice. Overall this game was amazing, and definitely deserves to be one of the best games of the year 2012. Expand
  100. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    This game honestly was the best game I played all year. It had something that most games lack, feeling. The story and the character development were amazing. The story had its twists and its turns. There were two main problems that cause people to dislike this game. First, the gaming part of this game is really just figuring out what to do and making decisions. While this at first seems lackluster, the story and the characters keep you wanting to play. Along with this, the decision-making can sometimes seem useless. These two things however can be overlooked by the simple fact that the story was easily one of the best stories I have encountered in years. The Walking Dead TV show could use a story as good as this. It may not be the best game ever, but it definitely should be a must play for anyone who likes RPGs. It was my Game of the Year. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    80
    This series offered some of the most memorable hours we spent holding a gamepad during 2012. [Feb 2013, p.102]
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    90
    A masterclass in how to tell stories in games. [Issue#94, p.80]
  3. Jan 7, 2013
    90
    Engaging, dramatic, touching: The Walking Dead is one of this year's masterpieces. Absolutely a must-have.