User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 910 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 910

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    Telltale Games have created a niche for themselves where their graphic adventure titles such as Sam and Max and Back to the Future. The Walking Dead Season 1 takes this formula to create an interactive movie. To be honest there is very little actual gameplay to be spoken of other than the odd simple puzzle to solve.

    Fortunately however the creators have managed to create an engrossing
    tale full of interesting characters and, although your choices actually have very little on the overall plot, they do have an impact on the way the other characters think of you. As a result most gamers will quickly become invested in the events that transpire and with some truly unexpected twists and turns along the way most players will be compelled to see Season One right through to its conclusion. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    5
    As a game it really is weak. It gives you the illusion of choice, but in reality it more or less always ends up in the same place and the story's conclusion really does leave you wondering what was the point of all the decisions. As a story, it is very good and delivers a great narrative (even though there are a few small inconsistencies.) Visually it is very pretty but tends to focus more on the the character animation than than anything else. Characters are very well thought out, but ultimately the game leaves you wondering why did they bother building most of them up. I will give it credit for having some really shock worthy moments and some really unexpected twists. But once you've seen them once, the novelty has worn off. Overall: This isn't really a game but rather an interactive story. Choice in this game is an illusion, but one good enough to keep you going until the end. I recommend getting this, but rather treat it as a spin-off show than an actual game. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Telltale's The Walking Dead is absolutely amazing! This choose-your-own-adventure-esque zombie games provides a fantastic story that has plenty of emotional depth as well as some jump-out-of-your-seat scares. Featuring characters that players can care for (that are fantastically well-acted of course), players can fully immerse themselves into the experience that is The Walking Dead game. You may be thinking why have I not given this game a 10 out of 10. Well, the game certainly has some technical hiccups, such as the occasional bad frame rate, tedious load times and other glitches like that. But those technical flaws aside, The Walking Dead is a must play and an experience worth experiencing. NOTE: The game might leave you in tears by the end. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2014
    5
    walking dead video game is brilliant expect the fact where the challenges are hard also getting the weapons . but this is a great game and i love the zombies and the gore
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    5
    Xbox version priced sucked compared to the PC version so went with that. Played the 360 demo unimpressed initially now I love this game on the PC. Thanks for the cheaper version PC clients, cheers.
  6. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    OK so I have written a review for each individual episode already. But this game, this game is the best game to have been produced in a long time. The last game that made me feel this way about characters and my decisions was Heavy Rain back in 2010 and this could arguably do it better. The Walking Dead sets itself in the comic book universe, not the TV one. You play as Lee Everett, a convicted murder being sent to jail. As the escort car crashes Lee is knocked unconscious, upon awakening he finds himself in the midst of a zombie apocalypse. After being rescued by a little girl named Clementine, Lee promises to take her to Savannah to find her parents. Along the way you'll meet Kenny, Duck, Ben, Omid, Christa, Katja, Chuck and so many more characters including Herschel Greene and Glen from the comics. As you travel across America you learn the true value of having someone to love, someone to care for, forgiveness, revenge and how to diffuse a sticky situation. You will encounter a blackmailer, cannibals, suicidal's and people wanting to watch Lee curl up and die before their eyes.
    The Walking Dead is a truly astounding game, emotionally engaging and a well deserved winner of GOTY 2012. A game that everyone must play.
    Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead is not just a game, rather it is an experience that all gamers should undertake. Everything from the amazing characters to the tragic setting help aid this game's outstanding story and premise. The beginning will instantly hook you as you're immediately thrown into a world gone to chaos. Any game that can bring a tear to my eye gets special recognition from me. A must play.
  8. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    the walking dead is absolutely an terrific game,the story is amazing and i liked a lot the choice system,the only problem is thatis an point and click game.
  9. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    This is a truly phenomenal gaming experience. Deeply immersive thanks to flawless voice acting and script and the way your every choice effects the way you progress. I was expecting great things from Telltale games after having enjoyed their monkey island games but they've really gone all out here. Has an old school feel to it to due to the adventure aspect, which is really refreshing. It's completely unique, innovative, and I just can't praise it enough really. I feel like I'm actually living in a zombie apocalypse when I play it. Intense and brilliant. Expand
  10. Aug 1, 2013
    8
    I normally don't like this type of game but I liked it very much. Big fan of The Walking Dead series. This game was very fun, although I got stuck at times because I'm an idiot. lol
  11. DME
    Jan 18, 2013
    8
    It's more of an interactive movie than a video game. But, if you're okay with that, it has an excellent story and great voice acting. Lots of cool moments and it's especially interesting to see how your choices affect them. The only flaw I found in this game is it's persistent framerate drops during cutscenes. (In other words, the animations lag a lot).
  12. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    I haven't played a game with so much emotional interaction and player's choice as this one in a long time. The game play is rather simple in such a way that you locate objects and interact with them to progress through the game as cutscenes play out. Conversation is also an important role as you and your fellow survivors begin to bond or become antagonists along the way. I've read some who say that there isn't any real player choice, and yet, having to choose who to save and let the other person be eaten is a very profound choice that you'll find yourself making. Considering the price for the overall series and the payoff in entertainment that you'll receive, this game is a must have. Expand
  13. May 30, 2013
    9
    This game is so wonderful that word's can't do it justice. It has some of the greatest character development ever, a attention grabbing story and I've played through it several times over. I've never liked point and click games, but this is one of my favorites. Only reason I can't give it a 10 is because it isn't as open as I'd like. What I mean is, no matter what you do, the same overall thing happens. There is different dialogue for each choice you make, but it would've been cool to have a completely different ending if you would've played the game in a different way. Bottom line. Buy this game. Expand
  14. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Graphics: Cell shaded graphics; there not the best looking either, they are average. 7.

    Sound: Nice themes, grade, “A” voice acting, although some of the voices aren’t synced properly, and at times the game scene will completely halt, and then a different scene will pop up and the sound just blasts in without a fade or anything to make it unnoticeable. The game will completely pause
    a scene just to load a new scene of the same environment. 8.

    Gameplay: The game is more of a point and click adventure, but it does have some shooting scenes. There are dialog decisions that are timed, similar to the first Mass Effect. The decisions make a huge impact in the overall gameplay. This game is truly Telltale Games best point and click ever. Most of the game is broken down by environments that need exploring, and dialog to figure out the next move. This was definitely one of the best point and click adventures ever. 10.

    Story: The story is amazing, it’s just so intense, and the decision made change the way the story pans out. Definitely worth playing, and the episodes can be played more than once with different results. 10.
    Lasting Appeal/Value: Definitely worth getting, and at least playing through once. The game is $15 and usually has been going on sale. Each episode is about 3 hours, with the final episode about 1.5 hours. 10.

    Overall Score: 9 out of 10.
    Expand
  15. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    I know, its very stupid to put a 0 to a masterpiece
    but the point is THE GAMEPLAY IS HORRIBLE
    THIS GAME COULD BE FUN BUT IS LIKE A MIX
    OF MASS EFFET WITH HEAVY RAIN I DONT LIKE IT
    ANYWAY,I MUST ADMITE THAT IS MASTER PIECE
    BUT I DONT KNOW,THIS GAME IS NOT FOR ME
  16. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Good: Nice Comic Graphics, Intresting Gameplay,Fantastic Story, Good Moral Choices, Actual good Gameplay, Fluid Presentation, A l t of Replayability
    Bad: Some Annoying Glitches, Camera is sometimes at awkward angles, Some Really Annoying Sections.

    A Great Game and a Good price For What You Get.
  17. Apr 16, 2014
    8
    Es un gran juego, es algo estresante, pero lo disfrute mucho por su trama y ambientación, eso si podría haber sido mas modificable la historia y la mecánica del juego algo mas equilibrada.
  18. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    This game is in my opinion, a cult classic in gaming history. No matter who you are, you should play this game. Everything about this game is flawless, original, gripping, perfection. Voice acting was at an all time high for this, your decisions really suck you in and make you pay the consequences. This game has everything...
  19. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    This game series brings to light an old argument over what qualities of a game matter the most. Does gameplay make a videogame worth playing or does the story? With this divergent entry in the Walking Dead universe, Telltale presents us with compelling characters, difficult choices, and a path we help to create. They've placed all their eggs in the story basket. In doing so, the gameplay such as quicktime events and slow exploration is bland and not very entertaining. But the conversations, the choices, and the personalities keep you playing. You'll have a hard time putting your controller down because much like the television series, you won't be able to wait for what comes next. Telltale did the Walking Dead justice, but I do wish the game part of the game was better. Expand
  20. May 10, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game has its moment. I never liked children, but this game made me care about Clementine so much, she is the sunshine. Every time I had to make a decision, I will think about what is good for Clementine first. The story writing (in the video game) is phenomenal, and since I stopped believing choice matters in a video game after ME3, I had no compliant about the choices/how it affect the ending in this game. No complaint, however, since this game based on choices which doesn't really matter at all, the game has no reply value for me. But one good play-through is enough for me to recommend this game to everyone. I think I started to love this game in episode two, that human-flesh eating scene is totally surprising and shocking. The last decision you had to make, (either make Clem to kill or not) is the toughest one, and the only one I became so selfish and think about 'me' first. Well, I should let Clem save that one bullet for later, it might save her life. Expand
  21. Feb 24, 2013
    1
    This this is barely playable.
    Episodes 1 and 2 were fine although very laggy. but once you finish episode 2 the game freezes and won't let you play episode 3. and you even have to restart episode 2!
    I like the idea of this game but it's just unplayable...
  22. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Captures the essence of The Walking Dead Comic Book perfectly!

    This game is truly a masterpiece. The Walking Dead has fantastic gameplay that relies on the player choices moreso than anything else and the game benefits from this as there are many heart-pounding sections that require quick thinking or else the Zombies kill one of your extremeley likeable comrades!

    These characters are
    even better written than they are in the TV Show and engage the player into their unique back stories that are inextricably linked to the present events. Everything feels right; not a single objective in the game seems pointless. Character development here is one of the best in this medium as each character goes through their own grim, adult and realistic arcs that are very intriguing - It sucks you in right from the get-go.

    The graphics are perfect! Brings the comic books to life better than anything else (I really wish the TV Series followed up on this style as it actually resembles the source material.)

    Overall, a true modern masterpiece and a perfect representation of The Walking Dead by Telltale Games. The Zombie genre has never been better!
    Expand
  23. Jan 17, 2014
    7
    The Walking Dead By Telltale Games Is least enjoyable for me i did not enjoy this game that much the gameplay is one things that was good however the way you play is very confuse i was at were you have find the health aid kt to a guy and i was just so confuse i dont know were it was or is but im not going enjoy playing this game in the future
  24. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    The Walking Dead is powerful BECAUSE it's a video game. Though it may not often feel like one. The choices you make feel real. The consequences resonate in your heart. The characters transcend polygons. They become your friends. Telltale shows just how powerful this medium can be. Through the gameplay, you become Lee. You care for Clementine (one of the most brilliantly written characters EVER). Movies and books do this to an extent. But nothing like Telltale's The Walking Dead. The barrier is shattered. And that's what ultimately makes it so heartbreakingly beautiful. Expand
  25. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    This game changed my opinion on point click games, this game was based off of the walking dead series and for the most part this is the best story out of the whole walking dead universe. The tv show is ok and the comic books are great but the best is this game. The thing that I'm constantly telling people is that this is my favorite because its on my favorite media, games are a huge part of my life and I don't really like the show because of how the story is told. The comic books are the original bases for the whole story that been said the story of Lee and Clementine is my favorite story that has ever been told. They have the best relationship out of anyone in all of the books and in the tv show. The whole reason this game is really great was because of the characters the writes made, the whole experience was amazing and I can't wait to play season 2. Expand
  26. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    It baffles me why people consider this game to be the best of the year. There's nothing in this game that hasn't been done before and its linearity and weak gameplay are really off-putting.
  27. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    Wildly overrated as it may be, The Walking Dead is a fun, innovative game full of choices and consequences. You have to make decisions and live by them, which is unsettling and memorable. Its episodic design is unique and overall, it’s a game series worth playing.

    But I definitely have my gripes with it, starting with the completely unnecessary language. There were so many forced
    F-bombs that it was distracting and unrealistic. Yeah, people cuss, but you don’t need to shove it in our face to be “edgy.” And you have a hillbilly guy who says he’s “a Christian man” after using the foulest language of the bunch. Ridiculous.

    Anyway, I also thought the writing and performance for Clementine was insanely overhyped. I could have written more realistic dialogue and her voice sounded like an adult trying to sound like a child. But the other voice acting was great and overall, the series merits a playthrough.
    Expand
  28. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    One of the best stories in a game, makes you feel for the characters and regret your hard decisions even though you know in your heart it was the right choice.

    Speaking of the right choice, the right choice is to buy this now!
  29. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    When I first saw the trailer for Telltale's The Walking Dead I had mixed feelings towards it. Point-and-click? Apparently lousy animations? That wasn't how I imagined a TWD Adaptation to my console. But when the first episode came out, everyone was so pleased by it I gave it a go. And since, I couldn't stop. Episode 1: It was a great beginning to the franchise. The important decissions and the story wrapped me in the game since the beginning. In Episode 2 the story flew away, although it was still good and tense. Episode 3 (My favourite) was with episode 5, the most shocking of the saga. Also I found an interesting variety of gameplay that made it excellent. Then came Episode 4, which was a little bit repetitive but also tremendously entertaining. And Episode 5, which made me cry like a little b***. After drying my face, I'm proud to say TWD is my GOTY. It isn't perfect (The animations show lots of flaws) but the story, the characters....I've never felt so touched by a game before. Telltale has made something bigger than a game. They have made a story we can build and, even though the ending is the same in any way the story is constructed, the journey is a hell of a ride. Describe The Walking Dead in terms of gameplay is also hard. Point-and-click may seem like an easy, childish term for the game's mechanic, but it isn't. Point-and-click includes choosing answers and decissions quickly, shooting with guns, rifles and snipers, and to be honest....That's what we do in any mainstream big-budget FPS game. Just point and click and maybe click another time. And TWD isn't easy! I died many times, and in Episode 3 for example, I had to get a concussion trying to sort out a puzzle, but still, the game Is so enjoyable. Well, let's put it on another way. Enjoyable for the people who enjoy stories, as TWD proved "Fun" and "Constant Gameplay" is not necessary to make a great game. I would give it a 9.5, but because I can't at least I am an official game critic, I think a 90 will do the same thing I wish it will do. To convince you trying this game. NOW! Expand
  30. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    This is the best game I've played in weeks. Graphics, sound, gore, plot, gameplay, controls. All top notch. And the way it ties back into the plot of the TV series is incredible.
  31. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    Well scripted, emotive and thoroughly enjoyable game. Loved the graphic novel style graphics and was very impressed with the voice acting of all the characters. The writers know how to surprise and you genuinely feel for the characters and care what decisions you make. You don't want to make a decision that affects the future plot but sometimes the game does not leave you a choice. The game has a good pace and does not overload you with hectic or dull moments. My only criticism is that a few times the save time affects some of the more cinematic moments and made the first few seconds stutter a bit. But this is so easily overlooked. I liked the episodic style and next time on the walking dead parts, but I thought the gap between each chapter was a bit long in the release schedule. I would have preferred these to be a little shorter but I realise the studio had reasons. I hated the end of the game. Knowing that there was nothing left to play! However I wanted to go back and replay making different choices. I hope they make a sequel and also would love to see other games made in this way. Must Buy! Expand
  32. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This it's not a "game" as we usually think about. This is more than a movie in which "you" are the protagonist. You can choose what to answer to questions, what to say and how to live throughout the story. In the end i almost cried, it was so deep, so "real"... just like a movie/tv series masterpiece. I liked it very much, many hours of "playing" spent well. Thank Telltale! Expand
  33. Mar 9, 2013
    3
    You can get a pretty good idea of whether or not you'll like this game before you play it as long as you know where the focus of its design was and what generalities of game elements you like/don't like. Do you generally like zombie movies, even the bad ones, even the ones that have VERY little focus on zombies? Do you like the attempt of a unique art style more than the success of its execution? Do you like the illusion of choice in games? Can you tolerate an extended quick-time event trying to pass for a game? I didn't care for this game at all, but will give it credit for trying. The engine feels underpowered, constantly loading between rooms, micro freezing (1/8th second delay) between camera angle switches, clunky body animation (almost all the focus was on the faces). The game warns you that the choices you make will affect the outcome of the game. What they don't tell you is that the choices you make won't have logical consequences and frequently the reactions of other characters won't make any sense. The character writing is idiotic. There are a million things wrong with the storytelling i.e. people yelling don't get noticed by zombies, girl locks herself in a motel room by nailing a board to the OUTSIDE of the door when she's locked inside, characters react before events happen. The slop gets tiring. Most of the action is nothing more than repeating an attack 3 times. Boring. The credit I give this game is for trying to transcend gaming, horror, and storytelling. It would have been amazing had it been successful. It just wasn't. Expand
  34. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    i honestly did not expect a point and click game to be this much fun. with amazing voice acting a great story and solid game play you don't even need to watch the show to be a fan of this game.
  35. May 26, 2013
    10
    Usually I think the most important aspect of a game is the gameplay. but thanks to the Walking Dead by Telltale, I now know excellent story and character development can make this a little thing. the story for the game is one of the best I've seen in any game. The optional choices and multiple pathways to choose add to the replay ability, and you will want to play it again thanks to this game's excellent character development. this game has some of the best character development in any game I've played. As you go along with the story, you'll find yourself caring about the characters more and more, as if they were real people, especially Lee, Clementine, and Kenny. the gameplay is simple. Point and click games are usually a turn off to me, but that didn't matter because I wanted to play this because of the story progressing. it may be simple, but as I said before, Telltale managed to show that gameplay doesn't always have to be the most important aspect. the graphics are very artistic in this game. everything looks like a comic book coming to life. doing graphics like this can be pretty hard, but this game manages to pull it off. the soundtrack or the game is actually my least favorite part about the game. while they do capture the emotion of a scene perfectly, the tracks are forgettable, and honestly, kind of bland. Overall, I think the Walking Dead is worthy of all the praise it's gotten. the story is the best in any video game I've played, the branching pathways lead to tons of replay value, and the character development will have you wishing these characters were real. Expand
  36. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    Not a fan of point-and-click style, but this game deserves to be applauded. The apocalypse theme once again is proved that it is not yet old-fashioned. The different choice throughout the game will keep you play, the impressive voice-acting is also a good factor. No real action can make this game boring somehow, but worth a try
  37. Aug 11, 2013
    8
    this point and click style game masters deep and engaging story lines and creates characters you can understand. A narrative masterpiece, also the graphics are unique and creative modeled after the style of the comic, the actual gameplay is solid but not spectacular, you solve puzzles mostly and sometimes get into generic combat sequences. But, overall great narrative and atmosphere!
  38. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    The Walking Dead tells perhaps the most engaging, phenomenally written, character driven, decision impacting and tension-packed stories ever told in a video game. Only time will tell. But anyone and everyone who loves an incredible story should definitely play this.
  39. Aug 12, 2013
    5
    If you enjoy the 'everyone dies and the world is terrible' zombie cliche then you will enjoy the walking dead.

    Otherwise skip it.

    There were many instances that felt contrived, For instance the second episode has a end you can see from a mile away and is frustratingly slow and painful since you can do literally nothing to stop it. These types of games try to show the 'realistic'
    man-kills-man world and just ends up failing to truly leave a lasting impact.

    Gameplay wise I enjoyed the style of play, but was frustrated by the inconsistency of the gun mechanics the few necessary times it must be used..
    Expand
  40. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I would rate this game higher than a 10 if given the option to! It was brilliant! You get to make your own choices, go through several different situations that put you on edge, and the choices effect outcomes of certain characters and how they feel about/view you. You even become emotionally attached to some characters. It's just an all around great game. I know some people complain about how the graphics look "comic book like" but that's just a part of the game. After all, The Walking Dead was a comic book before anything else.It also have good replay value with going back and doing things differently than you before or changing an outcome you hadn't wanted the first time. I can NOT wait for the sequel! Expand
  41. Dec 12, 2012
    3
    The most overrated game I have seen In my life, tell me what is the most important thing in a videogame, yeah the story is very important and this game has a good one but the story is not the most important thing is the gameplay wich this game has not, the "gameplay" if i can call it that is a bunch of QTE and interactive cutscenes and point and click stuff and like I said the story is really good but the gameplay kills it you just move your cursor and watch things happen. Expand
  42. Jul 3, 2013
    4
    This isn't really a game, it's a combination of a TV show, Where's Waldo, and quicktime events.

    The game engine itself is terrible on the the 360. There's no way to save other than playing to a random checkpoint, you can't invert the right analog stick, and worst of all a lot of times you have to aim with the right stick and then immediately press either A,B,X or Y. Very difficult to do
    if you only have one thumb on your right hand. Expand
  43. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    For 30 years, games have been held back by the idea that 'fun' is a defining factor. Sure, I love fun, and it is one of the most powerful ways to engross a player, but imagine if all films fit under the category of fun? We wouldn't have films like Schindler's List, Hurt Locker, Apocalypse Now, and the Godfather. Our medium has never had our own Citizen Kane, or it's own Godfather. Until now. If Spec Ops: The Line was the Apocalypse now of gaming, and Skyrim is the Lord of the Rings, The Walking Dead is the Dead Alive, and even that isn't doing it justice, as Dead Alive is the best zombie film ever. Look past the glitches, and we have a near perfect game. The puzzles are tricky and take a fair bit of though, the art style is the best use of cell-shading I've seen, the characters are well-written and have arcs, its atmosphere is very tense, and you have the urge to play it to the very end once you've picked it up. The episodes themselves were quite short, 3 hours at best, but the retail release actually makes it seem like one coherent game, instead of playing parts of a game months apart. Actions have consequences. The littlest choice has the hugest effect at the end of your game. Talk to another person who played this game and, most likely, his outcome would of been entirely different. All of this makes the Walking Dead compulsively playable, but not fun. It's not about the thrills of killing zombies, this game focuses on the realtionships between characters in a zombie apocalypse scenario, and makes you see how ordinary people can get along (and indeed fall out) in this scenario. Play it because you like Telltale, play it because you love zombies, play it because you love point and click adventure games, play it because you love substantial choice in games, play it because it's cheap, play it because you're sick of Halo, the bottom line remains the same: DO NOT MISS THE WALKING DEAD. Expand
  44. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    This game is great. The few people that didn't like the game were because they are so shallow they cannot accept a game without good gameplay. This is a game that is played solely for story. If you like that, pick this game up. If you don't, still pick this game up.
  45. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    One of the most engrossing and captivating stories ever told. Some may say this barely qualifies as a videogame due to a lack of interactivity but you do play a large portion of the title directing your characters and interacting with the environment. The choices you make may not change the overall outcome of the story but it is huge fun just being absorbed in the gripping narrative and just waiting to see what happens next.

    It is definitely worth playing through a few times to experience all possibilities and if season 2 can add more depth and choice; we'll have another stunning and thrilling game to explore.
    Expand
  46. Feb 22, 2014
    5
    I can't understand for the life of me why this game is recieving so much praise. I feel it is a good game. Nothing more, nothing less. The "surprise" plot twists I could see coming from a mile away practically everytime. The voice acting for Clementine is so over-the-top "I'm an innocent little girl feel bad for me" that I generally dislike her by the end of the game.

    Despite the
    excessive amount of deaths to unrealistically bad/good characters (there is no in between), only two really effected me in the whole game. And I could tell they were coming, and Clementine almost killed them with her cheesyness. I ended up laughing at a death scene, because Clems crying was so badly voice acted it was hilarious.

    Still, I enjoyed this game, but it needs to be grounded as no better than slightly above average.
    Expand
  47. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Anyone who doesn't view Telltale's The Walking Dead as a masterpiece doesn't have a good taste in games. After a frustrating experience with AMC's The Walking Dead television adaptation, I was surprised to see that Telltale was able to capture the gruesome dark horror of Kirkman's comic, with some amazing new characters and stories. A must play.
  48. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    Why is this even classified as a game? It's not a game, it's an interactive movie, it's like calling Katawa Shoujo a game. Even worse is that it somehow got GoTY, why?
  49. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    You can't deny its emotional potency and engagement, but the illusion of choice seems to fall away as you realize you've been funneled through a tunnel. The story itself is worth the purchase, but its gameplay and "choose-your-own-adventure" mask really aren't that fantastic.
  50. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    I was sceptical when I bought the first episode of Telltale's Walking Dead game. I thought I had an idea of what was going to happen, and it left me smiling. This is my game of the year (2012). I literally can't wait for the next season.
  51. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    The Walking Dead provides an interactive, heart-braking experience as you go through Lee Everett's survival tale. You meet and lose characters along the way, and just ad you start to like me they areCon ripped apart by the hands of the living dead. Intense, right?

    The story is thoughtful and saddening. It was addicting and kept the "Oh, there's a new part, I have to play it now!" feel.
    The graphics were made so that the game moved and felt like a living comic of the Walking Dead. Gameplay was decent, as it was mostly about choices and desicions than the typical search-and-click kind of game.

    Admit it though, one key factor made me disappointed. There's no replay value.

    Overall 7

    Story 10
    Replay Value 2
    Character Development 10
    Graphics 8
    Soundtrack 7
    Expand
  52. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    You play as Lee [the main character], a convicted black man, who inevitably gets a second chance in the world. It was meant for the car to crash, leading up to the point where Lee meets a child that he's obligated to protect at all costs -- all part of God's plan.

    When I first played The Walking Dead, I was amazed. The game has outstanding sound, lighting, graphics, and acting. In fact,
    it looks like a comic book! The Walking Dead blends the themes of survival, trust, hope, and cooperation. You get to make decisions throughout the whole game. The choices you make affect the story as a whole. You actually FEEL like you're part of the game. This game is probably the first to include that feature. It's full of action. I like the fact that it's in third-person. I'm thankful that The Walking Dead is named Game of the Year in 2012. The developers did a great job of portraying an atmosphere of survival and adventure! Expand
  53. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    This game was a real treat, and I dont even like most point-and-click type games in the first place. If youre a fan of the show then you'll definitely like this for sure- its like an interactive season of the show- its that good!!!
  54. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    The Walking Dead is a worthwhile game to play for any fan of the series. Each episode is about 1 hour long, so you should be able to beat the game in about 5 hours. The art style stands out and shows it is geared more towards the comic book rather than the TV show. If you are a fan of Telltales point and click adventures this game will suite you well. This is the most polished and best Telltale games outside of the Lego realm. Expand
  55. May 19, 2013
    10
    Outstanding, just pure, outstanding. In The Walking Dead, you play as Lee Everett, a man who later meets a young girl named Clementine, and the two of you, along with many other background characters try to survive the zombie apocalypse as supplies are scarce and zombies aren't the only thing to fear. At first I thought, "its just a game about a TV show, how good can it possibly be?" I took those words back right after the first episode! it's intense, it's immersive, its a game you sou;don't want to miss out on, with its jump scares, its intense moments and surprises along the way, and not to mention you basically chose what happens next, you don't just watch a cutscene, you control it, you live it, you….experience it. Theres was almost nothing wrong with this game, except for one glitch I experienced, and occasional lag but that is nothing that will make you hate the game. You do not have to watch the TV show before playing this game, which makes it good for almost any person looking to play this game. Each episode is even more intense than the other, It will surprise, it will make you cry, make you happy, excited, shocked, THIS GAME IS ONE GIANT EMOTIONAL FEEL! thats what I look for in a game, immersion that is memorable. I want to remember a game that blesses my childhood, a game that changes the way I think and the way I handle situations, and this is it (Oh god I'm going overexcited aren't I?). Either way, this game will change you, you will definitely not be sorry for buying it.

    I give this game a full on 10/10. Buy this game if you haven't already. Just do it. Go on. Go. Buy It. Now.
    Expand
  56. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Video games are art, or are they? This is a question that has been floating around the industry for years but has never truly been taken serious until this generation of gaming. In many ways it really comes down to how grounded your opinion of art is. Is art free form to you? Is it something that can only be achieved via deep principals, or is it simply anything and everything that is created as a form of expression? While I am not going to further this argument with this review, I will say this. If video games have the ability to be art simply through story telling and tapping at the spine of our emotions then Telltale Expand
  57. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Anyone who remotely likes a story driven game will love this, the game completely went above my expectations and then some. Playing out more like an interactive story than a standalone game allows the player to gain an emotional attachment to the characters like few other games can. It is also one of the only games that has made me well up at the ending. Can't wait for season 2!
  58. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    Telltale Games have succeeded in creating a new type of game. An interactive story where characters, dialogue and decisions take precedence over the hand-eye co-ordination required of gamers in FPS or racing games. The puzzles are fairly simple and are successful in some, but not all, of the episodes. However, the storyline is fantastic and elicits rare emotion from gamers. The whole season is a rollercoaster ride of emotion and leads us to an ending that is brave and thought-provoking. Expand
  59. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I have played the game and now i know why he have won the GOTY of the last year, the game it's full of nice puzzles, and makes you feel Lee emotions, and makes you think that a game ain't just made of graphics, the story it's the body and the soul of the game, and the end was AWESOME 10 out of 10
  60. Mar 7, 2014
    7
    This game IS overrated but it's still a solid game. The most overrated aspect of the game is the story. While it serves it's purpose to drive the game and the player forward, there was nothing outstanding about it. There was no character in the game that matched the level of Rick or Daryl from the show. However, it was nice that it felt like no character was 'safe' from death, as that added some suspense. The art style is good enough, but the performance leaves a lot to be desired. A game like this simply should NOT have screen tearing and problems keeping a solid, non-stuttering frame-rate. All of that being said, the game is still a high-end of average experience and is worth a playthrough if you're a fan of the comics/show/genre. Just be aware that it plays like a highly interactive, choose-your-path, storybook. 7/10 Expand
  61. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Graphics: 7/10 Gameplay: 6/10 Voice Acting: 9/10 Story: 9/10 Enjoyment: 8/10 = 7.8 (Great)
    Game of the year? No. Top 10 game of the year for me. Although highly overrated this game is amazing. Clementine is just a lovable character and Lee is... Lee? I guess. That guy you just know what is going to happen to him as soon as you look at him. It's a horror game. Come on!
    Expand
  62. Jan 18, 2013
    3
    Now i played this "game" for 3 days. What i think about it ? Well, people don't like liberty. That's why Obama was re-elected and that's why TWD was GOTY 2012. It's an extremely restrictive "game" with an acceptable story. It's not a game, it's a movie. There is no real gameplay and the graphics are poor. If i wanted to buy something ONLY for it's story, I would have bought the TWD TV series on Blu-ray. TWD HQs are so much better than this. Buy the HQs instead of this "game". Expand
  63. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    I have to say, this might just be one of the greatest stories ever told in a video game. Even in games like Red Dead Redemption and Mass Effect the general, well, gami-ness came out every once in a while in the story. That doesn't happen here. It's like watching a TV show. It hits the mark on every occasion. Episode 1 was pretty good, but I wasn't blown away. It wasn't until Episode 2 that I realized this was going to be a very very good game. The action sequences, while a little rough around the edges in terms of polishing, are still exciting considering the context they're in. The story leaves absolutely nothing to be desired. This is the first, and probably the last, video game that made me cry. Expand
  64. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    The Walking Dead is an experience you shouldn't miss. I recommend everyone play this, even if you normally don't care about video games. It's an emotional experience unlike anything else. It's a journey with characters that feels very real. It has the usual staples of a great game. Fun gameplay, Amazing story unlike anything else, very memorable characters that all feel real, a soundtrack that will stick... but the most amazing power of this game is it's ability to make you feel. Anger, sadness, fear, joy, guilt and regret, despair... and hope. It has one of the best morality systems in any game ever, there is no red or blue choice, there's no right or wrong choice, it's all about how you survive and what you let the world turn you into. Expand
  65. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    These guys have good writers and the TellTale engine supports doing that; writing directly to gamers a zombie movie in so many parts is successful and this is one of the few games I'm on my second time through and limited it may be replay wise I just love the different ways to get my characters killed and chose to slay. The comic series is a good playground for writing plays and this is very much like seeing a play with button clicks and dramatic choices you imagine in the comic's atmosphere. If you want a single player puzzler this isn't it. I've played Myst even read the novels and loved it, this is just different in its scope and delivery. If you want non-linear gameplay or rpg this isn't it. Its a narrative from start to finish and you don't get side quests for rewards and extra characters because its a story without that as its features. I see a lot of 10's and a few 0's and I want to prevent fellow gamers from spending money on something without knowing its origins or why certain aspects are relevant. Follow the story of a man with a couple choices in a zombie apocalypse. If you don't like graphic novels you might not like playing one literally. Expand
  66. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    One of those super budget advertising games that try and convince you with lots of PR that this game is any good. They even paid off Spike TV, have fake reviews in the users section and 45 thumbs up on the cheeesiest and fakest reviews. Soon we'll need a metacritc for metacritic if they keep manipulating the votes like this.
  67. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    This is outstanding storytelling and character building on display and it carries the entire game. The Graphics are decent and have a nice style, but sadly the animation is terrible and the cut scenes are often choppy. Telltale has always been extremely bad at things that are as basic as lip sync and walking animations (the characters look like they are skating on ice and not natural) and it boggles my mind that they haven't upped their game by now. For a simple game of decision making and a few action sequences, you would think that they could at least have it run smoothly. The ONLY saving grace which makes this game incredible is the story and the voice acting which is so strong that it makes up for these shortfalls. Hopefully, Telltale will not lean on this crutch again though, because without it it is clear to see that they are way behind the times. This game was way better than their other games based on beloved franchises that they are cashing in on, but they need to realize that if they spent the extra effort to really optimize the experience they could not only create something memorable, but truly flawless. ---Sorry but there should NOT be objects that are clipping and disappearing during cut scenes and flickering textures. It is just lazy--- with all of that said though, the story is still very fun and keeps you wanting to play through the end. It is worth a play, just don't expect a polished all round experience. Expand
  68. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    It's fun for at least one playthru. The story is great, and there are plenty of surprises. Characters come and go in dramatic fashion, and you never know who is "safe". It's a semi-throwback to the old Space Quest and Leisure Suit Larry style of play, with point and click puzzles and the occasional quicktime battle. Fun game!
  69. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    First of all would like to say i am not obsessed with the walking dead. I only bought the game because microsoft was having a sale and i heard it was good. At first i felt it might be overhyped but It did not disappoint! If you are looking for a traditional zombie game like resident evil look elsewhere. This is not a shooter and doesn't have any shooter mechanics. The gameplay is simple and there are quick time scenes but where this game shines is the story. Its about the people you are traveling with and the way you want your character to act. There are no traditional choices and there is only one ending but the choices you make do change your character. I don't consider that the illusion of choice personally. You might not be able to change your destination but you can change your character and partially how you get there which for me counts. My only complaints are sometimes the game can feel slow but it makes up for it with the story, the surprises that occur from time to time and the choices you make. If your a fan of the show get it if you prefer games with a great story get it, if you want something similar to a shooter horror game you won't find it here but if want something different if your willing to take the chance what you will find is an surprisingly excellent adventure. I wouldn't say it deserved game of the year but it is for sure a great game. Expand
  70. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    This is one the most nerve-wracking and emotionally intense games I've ever played. It is able to make you feel like you are ACTUALLY there, suffering through the end with these characters. Some you will love, and some you will love to hate! The game is nearly perfect in almost every sense. ESPECIALLY for what it was trying to accomplish: Bring a comic book to life. It was hands-down GOtY 2012. If you are getting a Walking Dead game, make sure it says Telltale, and not Activision! Expand
  71. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    The absolute certainty about The Walking Dead Game is that it will surprise you with its magnificence. It is not a game for everyone, but to those who appreciate other genre of video games will simply love how unique and fantastic 'TWDG' really is. In fact, it the most unique game I have ever played and provided me perhaps my most favorite experience playing a video game.

    The
    mechanics of TWDG is essentially point and click. The core elements will not have you constantly shooting zombies or platforming of any sort, it is basically a fantastic story that you are apart of, you can investigate the surrounding or engage in conversations with other survivors. But there are two main parts about the game that make it so incredible. The journey you go through as a player is memorable, each episode is innovative and different with the current and new characters really engage you into the story.

    But perhaps the number one reason why TWDG is an incredible game is how the writers managed to pull off the amazing relationship and chemistry between Lee and Clementine. Lee is Clem's father figure, each conversation you have has significance and you really care for her throughout, you simply can't hate her.

    All I can say is The Walking Dead Game will be a game like none you have played before, its cheap and worth a try because by the time you beat the story, it will be one of your favorite games ever.

    10/10
    Expand
  72. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Do you like the comics, the show ? The Walking Dead? This game is the first time I got to find out what kinda person I would be in TWD universe. Low on action but HEAVY on feel and atmosphere. I loved it!
  73. Nov 10, 2013
    4
    The Walking Dead is a point and click adventure game created by Telltale Games. I've tested the game on PC, and the compelling story, along with visuals reminiscent of the comics and really interesting characters made it one of the best games of 2012, with some glitches that weren't game-breaking, but a little annoying. The on-disc console version, however, not only ramps up the amount of glitches in the game, but also lags pretty much constantly. In a game like this where quick-time events can appear from nowhere, this is a flaw that can bring the entire game down.
    The story is still one of the best in the "The Walking Dead" franchise and probably of all video games, while the main characters are the best duo. However, the core gameplay is near unplayable because of one horrendously major flaw: lag.
    You see, in The Walking Dead, most of the game is spent in three sections: "pointing and clicking", quick-time events, and dialogue choices. The thing is that, the two latter are almost impossible to win unless you already played them and know which button you must press. The first part is the only one that can be played normally, but even then, it's the one the game least focuses about.
    In the end, it's a shame that The Walking Dead turned out to be a horrendous port. A compilation of the five episodes would have easily got a 9 or a 10, but when more than half of the game is full of glitches, it's a wonder if Telltale tested this release. This could be a 1 point game, but the story it's still the best in gaming. Also, certain episodes hold better than others (Both episode 2 and 5 ran without any major problems, with some hicc-ups. It helped that these). With a GotY edition and the second season right around the corner and Telltale saying that the latter will be a lot less buggier, luckily we'll have a new on-disc release of these wonderful games that isn't as buggy. Don't buy this version at all. Obtain any other version.
    Expand
  74. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    This series of episodes starts out a bit rough but when you look to a book or movie, the ending is really what becomes the deciding factor. And that's the amazing thing about this game, is that the storytelling is comparable to a book or movie. The gameplay and graphics have their rough patches here and there, and there are times where you may need to look up a guide because nothing makes sense. But all in all, this game portrays a great story and one that is well worth checking out. For anyone on the fence about this game, play through the first two chapters (roughly 4 hours) and you will not regret it for a second. The fact that you can get all this for $20 is amazing. You actually get to highly influence the story and how all of the characters (live or die) will keep pushing towards the end. The 3rd and last chapter of it all are really mindblowing, particularly the last. I was really floored by the story on this one, and that truthfully hasn't happened to me since I played through the first bioshock. I can't think of many things that provide more value for $20. Check it out if you haven't. You will not regret it. Expand
  75. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    My GOTY for sure. First, for the handful that doesn't call this a "game" is an unfair statement. You walk around the environment, solve basic puzzles to traverse the levels, have some light shooting and of course make decisions that your group will or will not back you on.

    The story is far and away better than the TV show because its based more on the comic book universe which is a
    braver world, one where death can be drawn out and heartbreaking, or sudden and feeling lacking in resolution. The decisions really grind home the "every-man" aspect because you are no Commander Shepard, or chosen one of any kind. Sometimes your decisions haunt you, and sometimes you don't even get the luxury of choice. The result is a tight narrative story that will ultimately be the same as most people, but with a varying cast of characters to give input along the way, as well as a few major changes in the ending story. Clementine is the most fleshed out, realistic child character in any video game. She's smart, innocent and very adaptable to her surroundings. Without going into any spoilers, there were many times in many episodes where I wept at the idea of her lost innocence. Terrifying and funny. Heartwarming and infuriating, action packed and well paced are all words to describe "The Walking Dead" Expand
  76. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    As a big follower of The T.V. Series I considered giving this game ago and see what the big hype was about, and surprisingly, I was completely taken aback of how compelling and rewarding the story was! I find it very hard for people to fault this game apart from some very minor things like frame rate. By far one of the best XBLA games I've ever played! Even before the 1st episode became free 400 Microsoft points is a bargain! but now that the 1st episode is free you reallly should give it a go! You will not be disappointed! Choose your decisions wisely! an EASY 10/10 Expand
  77. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Incredible game, intense emotion and very good character, and the story, well, simple amazing, It's a must buy, a very good visual active novel!, Congratulation to Telltale!
  78. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Let me get this straight. If you are a fan of left for dead then go play it. But don't expect this game to be a mindless boring shooter with stupid pickup lines. This game does something wonderful. It completely transforms you in your character and for two hours you forget who you are. You think you are in zombie apocalypse and that Clementine is your sweet pea. This game is a wonderful journey that will test your mind. You will understand that there is not always the right way. Sometimes you have to make a decision that is never gonna be good. Its just how it is. Just like in real life. The voice acting is top notch too. And just because the game has few minor bugs doesn't take away anything from this wonderful experience. Expand
  79. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    Expectations: Going into this game for the first time I had high expectations as I bought all 5 episodes after they had all came out, due to this I was subjected to many people talking about this game and ranting on about how good it was, and how they got blown away by certain set-pieces in this game. Scores: Graphics: 10/10 Campaign: 9/10 Sound: 8/10 Gameplay: 9/10 Multiplayer: N/A
    Final Score: 9/10

    Final Verdict:
    Like many of my friends I was blown away by this masterpiece of a game! Personally the graphics I thought graphics in this game were terrific, I heard from certain members of society that they thought that the graphics were terrible, but they could not be more mistaken as the graphics are intended to have a comic-book feel like the actual 'The Walking Dead' comics. The only bad part of the story in this game that was just above average was the beginning of "Episode 3" the rest was outstanding! The attention to detail in sound was good, especially during some sneaking when old wooden floorboards creaked, that just elevated the tension to another level. In a nutshell the gameplay sets out to be fairly simple and excels at at it.
    Expand
  80. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    telltale is back with another great hit with the walking dead title on it. The Walking Dead is a rpg that is filled with Cochise and stuff and makes a great story great art-style and great game 10-10
  81. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    The surprise of the year, blowing away AAA Game of the Year contenders twice it's price with 100x the budget. An absolute must buy and revival of a lost genre. Hopefully other developers take note and stop sh*tting out stupid junk like Call of Duty ever year. I can't wait for Season 2!
  82. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    Not so much a game as it is an interactive TV show. However, that doesn't make it any less enjoyable than some of the more gameplay oriented AAA titles out there. The Walking Dead does something that many other games fail to do. Make me care. Not only do I feel some form of emotional attachment to many of the characters in this game, with Clementine getting the strongest focus of the bunch, but I actually care what happens to them and give second-thoughts to my decisions. And this is coming from a guy that would typically get the worst endings in video games just because it was either easier or funny. I have to give credit to any writers that are capable of creating a video character that could bring out some level of genuine affection from players in this day and age. The story in this game is great, and lives up to the source comics grade of drama and horror. The voice acting is also worth some praise, for which I am thankful for as shoddy voice work could easily break a game like this as there won't be much else for the player to focus on. If you get the chance, by all means, play this game. Expand
  83. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    This game is so damn awesome on so many levels I cannot even describe it. Every second is suspenseful and you have no idea what might happen next. The character development is excellent, and for having 5 different writer's for each episode, they did a good damn job overall. Actual game play may not be that spectacular compared to other zombie games, but there is enough to suffice. Overall this game was amazing, and definitely deserves to be one of the best games of the year 2012. Expand
  84. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    The Walking Dead game is a spectrum that is not only brilliant but emotionally enchanting. The game has you take on the role of Lee Everett as you try to protect a young girl named Clementine in a Post-Apocalyptic zombie world. This game not only has one of the greatest stories ever told in a video game but it also has some of the most innovative game-play I have ever seen. The only flaws are a few technical glitches like texture pop-ins or sometimes peoples mouths don't open when they speak, which can be a little distracting but does not take away to much from the overall experience.

    Overall this game is a work of art and Telltale should be proud of what they have accomplished. 9/10-FANTASTIC!!!
    Expand
  85. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    not much action here but no other story has drug me in so deep. I fell in love with the characters. the story is the best of this millennium. poor graphics and little glitches keep this game from getting a perfect 10.
  86. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    As a fan of The Walking Dead', I purchased this game hoping it would have the same quality, emotion and drama as the television show/comic books, and I was not disappointed at all. The game centers around the protagonist Lee Everett. The art, voice acting, character development, decision trees and environments were fantastic. The only negative was the delay between episodes. Each one is fairly short and you easily lose any momentum in the significant wait. If you are a fan of TWD, this game is a must. Expand
  87. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    THIS GAME IS GREAT. One of the best games I have ever played, and I can't remember the last time a said it about a game.. The story is so captivating, engaging, unexpected, and just plain amazing. I highly recommend it. Whoever wrote this is a genius. The story was so good, I felt it was better wrote than some movies out there. Let me just clear something up first. The only negative comments about this game complain that there is no real gameplay and the choices you make dont really give a difference. In reality, here is what is going on. This game is not like a regular game. There arent really a good amount of controls, but that isn't bad. This game plays out more like an interactive movie and the gameplay is different. This does not in any way take away from the awesome quality of the game. And I don't know how people say the choices dont matter. About half of the story is not influenced by your decisions, but that other half that you control with your choices is equally important as the other half. The choices you make in this game are vital, it's not like they don't mean anything, and they even carry on through episodes, which makes you really think about the long term affect of your actions. The character development was also outstanding, so much to the point that by the end of episode 5, I was so attached to the characters and it made me want more out of the story. The Walking Dead won 2012 Game of the Year. Wow. It definitely deserved it. That alone is impressive. It has received TONS of accolades. Definitely more worth my money than the Halo 4 or Black Ops 2 storyline gave me. You will be so happy when you start playing this game. It doesn't start out slow. It begins and ends with a bang, as it should. Try not to read any spoilers along the way, or any guides. You will be better off trying to get through the game on your own and then you can rewind or start a new game in a blank game slot to see how different Lee's journey would've been if he made some different choices. The last episode is just perfect. They could not have written it better. The music fits perfectly and adds awesome suspense, adding to the amazing craft of the game. There are great twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat for every episode. You go into the last episode expecting certain things from this season finale, and it gives you such a rewarding conclusion that sets you up perfectly for season two, also the best episode in my opinion (sorry for the ambiguity, I just really dont want to give anything away!). I wish season 2 would come out right now! Gahh!!! You will probably feel the same after you are done.Thank goodness that season 2 will come out in 2013. I hope that the wait wont be too long. Definitely a 10/10. Expand
  88. Apr 26, 2013
    2
    Probably the most over hyped game ever. In fact I can't even call it a game. It's a movie where every now and then they make you hit a few buttons. Sure the story is alright (sub par when comparing to the writing of the show) but at the end of the day that's all it has going for it. I found myself slogging through it just to get the achievement points and was completely sick of it before episode 1 even ended. This sums up the game formula perfect, cut scene, click on everything on the screen, cut scene, repeat those steps dozens of time until the end of the game. I "played" the last couple episodes while doing other things like browsing the internet, that's how unlike a game this crap is. Expand
  89. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This game is one the best to hit the market. It is not like most recent zombie games like Left 4 Dead and Resident Evil. This game not only deals with killing zombies but also the decisions you make with fellow survivors.
    There are QTE's most of the time when killing zombies which the only draw back with that mechanic is the d-pad icon for looking. Whenever you have successive QTE's, the
    icon will reset or be somewhere else on the screen rather than where you left that.
    The story is amazing and the interactions with the NPC's are important and interesting. You can make friends or enemies with survivors. The decisions you make in the game affect the game play which increases the replay ability. I got this game for $30 at Best Buy and is a great deal. I definitely recommend this game who wants something different than zombie shooters.
    Expand
  90. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    It's not a 'game' in the strictest sense of the word. I know, I know, it's supposed to be a point-and-click adventure, but to me a point-and-click is supposed to have all sorts of **** puzzles; the "puzzles" in The Walking Dead mostly consist of clicking on stuff until something happens. That being said the game offers an unparalleled (for me at least) emotional experience, and it's the kind of game I think everybody should play through once. Expand
  91. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Despite its plethora of invisible walls, glitches, screen tearing, and straight out freezes, The Walking Dead: A Telltale Game Series manages to touch an emotional level that no game has really ever achieved. The decision never feel fixed, even when they are. But many other decisions have a severe impact on the remaining track of the game. Its the best decision tree in a video game yet, and brings interactive gaming to a new level. Expand
  92. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    I played like 10 minutes of the first episode BECAUSE IT WAS FREE. Please if you are going to give the game a 95/100 at least make an Xbox live arcade rating. Miniseries in video game format, spread over a year? Not fun. Not my type of **** This game is proof you can take ANYTHING with huge popularity and sell it off to a bunch of diehards for huge profit.
  93. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    Overall a pretty great game. I can say without refrain that this is immensely better than the show, as players are given the chance to craft Lee, and in turn Clementine, as you see fit. The unfortunate consequence of programming is that ultimately everything will lead to a point, so the choices you make will only tend to have immediate consequences, but it's still a joy to see them pay off. The story is one of the best gaming has to offer, as getting to know the characters is a truly enjoyable experience, and the best moments come from tense situations where Lee is forced to make a tough decision. The cel-shaded graphics are very impressive to look at, despite their constant hiccups when the action is high. It's convenient that you can pause at any point during the game; however, it's less convenient that cutscenes can not be skipped through during repeat playthroughs. The gameplay takes about half an hour to get used to, and by then you should be handling yourself fine, but ultimately you'll find yourself walking into walls in episodes 4 and 5. Given the fact that cutscenes cannot be skipped and each character's fate is always the same, I don't believe I'll be picking this game up again any time soon, but don't let that sway you from an initial playthrough. Experience the game at least once to get to know Clementine and Lee as they are the core of the narrative, and it's well worth the cheap price tag. Expand
  94. Dec 18, 2012
    0
    Good story, but is much more of an interactive TV show than a game. No actual gameplay is involved. Just watch the show rather than wasting your money on this "game."
  95. Jan 10, 2013
    6
    First i wanna say the game is good as far as story , however as everyone else already said the choices you make dont effect anything at all in the end except a few characters may not be with you, but there disposable characters and just added in for a filler. Overall there is little to do , levels are very very linear no exploring at all, and thats very disappointing. this could have been so much better, and for those inverted players out there forget it u cant change controls.... wow how did this get game of the year Expand
  96. Jan 19, 2013
    7
    Now, I really like The Walking Dead as a series, the show, the comic, and now the game. I started the playing the game with low hopes, but it surprised me. It was fun, got dark later on, and had a nicely crafted plot. BUT, I also had a few issues with it. While everyone says the game is completely altered by your decisions, a lot of you decisions end up not mattering within a short amount of time. And while decisions are fun, I would like them to have more of an effect later. Also, I have had various glitches for it on my PC, and I've heard many complaints about texture pop ins and freezes. Overall though, I feel this is a good game, has it's flaws, but should be played by any fan of The Walking Dead. Expand
  97. Apr 24, 2013
    6
    Everywhere I look I see a fantastic review for this game, and yeah, the game is good. But was it excellent no? I don't understand why no looks at the gameplay aspect of this game. I mean, yeah, I understand it's a point and click adventure and I didn't go into this game thinking it would be a zombie killing festival, however, I want more out of a game then walk around and pick up stuff.The story was fantastic, I won't deny that. But, also, I found the game to have many technical issues, for example, in action packed moments, the game seemed very rough. So here's my opinion: Story 10/10. Gameplay 3/10. Replay Value 5/10. Level of Fun 5/10. Performance 5/10/ Expand
  98. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Can you really become close with characters in a game? The Walking Dead proves yes. The beautiful comic style art with the honesty of the characters you know and develop relationships with make this game superb. The relationship you develop with Clementine and others, as well as fighting your way through the apocalypse makes this game fantastic. Despite the story, the overall good RPG elements are questioned because the majority of the game is decisions. Although I think it is an almost perfect blend it is no doubt the introduction of a barrage of actually playable console RPGs. So play this game, it brings out things inside you one wouldn't think a game couldn't bring out. Expand
  99. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    The Walking Dead has the ability to make any grown man cry. This game is amazing, and also has a sense of humour. Go on an adventure with Lee and Clem, making hard choices and changing the way you play. Good luck, and don't cry.
  100. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    This game has a gripping and fast-paced story, with beautiful detail and memorable characters. It is a welcome and long-overdue change of pace from your standard shoot-em-up zombie game. Plus, it is easy to play and has an intuitive interface.

    The Walking Dead is one of the few games that I've played in recent memory that not only evoked an emotional response from me, but that I
    completed from start to finish. Because I am an older gamer with three young kids, that is a luxury I can rarely afford. This game was worth it. I would highly recommend it to older, more experienced gamers that want to have an engaging experience without the stress of competitive gameplay. Expand
  101. Jan 25, 2013
    0
    The Walking Dead is a game based on the comics and television show of the same name, made by Telltale Games who is known for making point and click games. The story of The Walking Dead is gripping. You want to follow Lee and Clementine through their survival in the breakout if a zombie apocalypse. However the gameplay is not so much the same as the storytelling. After all, it is a point and click game. This game is being overhyped and overrated by it's "flawless story" and "choosing your own story and teammates" but I have to point out that it doesn't matter what who you save or do in the story the outcome is still the same. And the story isn't flawless, it's not the best thing ever. I have played games with better storylines. This game is an interactive story. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    80
    This series offered some of the most memorable hours we spent holding a gamepad during 2012. [Feb 2013, p.102]
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    90
    A masterclass in how to tell stories in games. [Issue#94, p.80]
  3. Jan 7, 2013
    90
    Engaging, dramatic, touching: The Walking Dead is one of this year's masterpieces. Absolutely a must-have.