Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. May 15, 2012
    90
    A New Day is an exciting point and click adventure, and a great adaptation of the graphic novels with both a thrilling story and comic book look. It's all about the choices you make, which have consequences for the story as it progresses.
  2. May 13, 2012
    90
    Fans of both The Walking Dead comic book and TV series will be impressed with the great story and gameplay that is another excellent extension of the walker lore. And the scintillating second the episode ends, gamers will be anxiously awaiting the second episode, which if the teaser trailer at the end of the first one is any indication, will be even more tension-filled and exciting.
  3. May 4, 2012
    90
    Fans of The Walking Dead comic book or TV show will love the character development and attention to detail this first episode takes. The only downside is a lack of replay value and the waiting for Episode 2.
  4. May 3, 2012
    90
    Walking Dead: Episode 1 - A New Day is a great opening chapter to the game and I can't wait to see what happens in the next episode. I'm also curious to see if it delivers on its promise that the choices that I've already made will affect the way the story unfolds from here. Even if the impact of these choices is minor, I won't be too disappointed. The game weaves one hell of a story and I want to see how it turns out.
  5. Apr 30, 2012
    90
    Its production value has been put to good use, and the gameplay will really get you involved, even with the push-button segments. We can't wait to see just how much better this series gets.
  6. 90
    This episode dazzled us. Everything from its brisk pace to its gorgeous, comic-booky visuals to Lee and Clementine's sweet friendship just feels right. Unlike so many zombie games, its story is human instead of hokey, and it helps make The Walking Dead, Episode 1 slam-bang entertainment.
  7. May 23, 2012
    89
    The first episode of The Walking Dead is a great adventure and we can't wait for the second part.
  8. May 28, 2012
    85
    A superbly shocking adaptation that drags the point 'n' click genre into the spotlight. [July 2012, p.84]
  9. May 16, 2012
    85
    Those issues aside, there's no question that The Walking Dead: Episode One-A New Day absolutely nails the spirit of the story that inspired it, and it seems poised to become another winning, must-experience branch of Kirkman's über-franchise.
  10. 85
    Running for a short and sweet couple of hours, "A New Day" is a damn cool introduction for what promises to be another sprawling saga from those talented guys and girls at Telltale Games. The cast is brought to life by intelligent writing and just about forces us, in no time at all, to find a soft spot for just about each and every one of them.
  11. May 5, 2012
    85
    A New Day starts an adventure that we don't want to finish. The engaging story, brutal action and beautiful comic style make us eager for more and more.
  12. May 4, 2012
    85
    The Walking Dead: Episode 1 - A New Day is a fine example for what can be accomplished in the adventure genre. The story provides a great introduction to the world and merges well with both the comic and TV show.
  13. Apr 23, 2012
    85
    It has a believable cast of characters and a great look. Sure, the puzzles some adventure gamers love are missing and there will be an audio hiccup here and there, but as an introductory hook to the five-episode series, The Walking Dead Episode 1 has just about everything fans could want.
  14. Apr 27, 2012
    82
    A great starting point for the episodic series, with an involving story and deep characters: it will surely please every lover of story-focused games. Our main complaint is about the complete lack of italian localization, expecially seen the game's deep focus on storytelling.
  15. Apr 25, 2012
    82
    For a few bucks, the first episode of the Walking Dead lets you slip into the well-traveled waters of the zombie blight and experience it from a new and interesting perspective.
  16. May 18, 2012
    80
    Where a great narrative drives forward a game with beautiful crafting and insightful detail, occasional repeat conversations and low-lit confusion make it a little disjointed in places and can break the otherwise powerful immersion.
  17. May 8, 2012
    80
    A great point and klick adventure, set in the middle of a Zombie outbreak. Focus lies on the people you meet and the stories they tell.
  18. May 2, 2012
    80
    What Telltale has created here is a narratively-driven game that's as much about people as events, as much about inaction as it is putting walkers out of their misery, and as much about what cannot be changed as the countless choices the player is forced to make. If the developer can now make good on the game's initial promise, and deliver a truly branching narrative that adapts to the decisions taken throughout each episode – something, lest we forget, that not even the mighty BioWare could carry through the Mass Effect trilogy with any conviction – then The Walking Dead could be remembered as a genuine classic of the genre.
  19. Apr 30, 2012
    80
    This is more story than game, so there's little challenge in the hours you spend fleeing and fighting and talking about the zombie hordes. But that approach works here, allowing the game to build upon the cruel, character-driven comic series and stand apart from more mayhem-oriented zombie games like Left 4 Dead and Dead Island.
  20. 80
    It doesn't really feel like a point and click adventure, and sometimes it barely even feels like a game - but if you're in the mood for something different, this is superb entertainment at a fantastic price. If you're a fan of zombie movies, get involved. We're hooked: bring on Episode 2.
  21. Apr 30, 2012
    75
    So while this first episode is a bit light on the adventure game tropes you might be familiar with, and certainly doesn't require much head scratching in the puzzle department, I think it still serves as an entertaining introduction to what could possibly be Telltale's best work yet.
  22. Jun 19, 2012
    70
    A dark and serious take on an otherwise oversaturated genre. [Issue#86, p.102]
  23. May 24, 2012
    70
    Like Dead Rising 2: Case Zero, this is short, and is going for 400 points, which is barely anything. It's not so long that you get bored, and it's not so short that you feel robbed with the cost, unlike a full retail game which can outstay its welcome. The Walking Dead Episode One is a great experience which makes an overused genre interesting once more and tells a nice tale along the way. Hopefully the next episodes can keep the momentum going.
  24. May 7, 2012
    70
    A game like The Walking Dead ultimately lives and dies based on its characters and writing, though, which has always been something that Telltale's been good at. While it's a little weaker on average than usual, they've also never reached higher highs than they have here. The gameplay is much simpler, but they've shown the direction that the series is going, and with the promise shown here, I hope they can deliver the emotional heft that this series needs to survive.
  25. Apr 30, 2012
    70
    The Walking Dead is not a traditional adventure game nor a survival horror: it's more like an interactive novel that complements the comic and the TV series.
  26. May 10, 2012
    60
    Its rudimentary puzzles may not satisfy point-and-click fans, but those who enjoy interactive drama will be happy to tune in for Episode Two after this solid season premiere.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Simply amazing, from start to end. The story and gameplay mechanics is what makes this game, and is a truly worthy addition to the TV series and Comic. Hopefully the following episodes will be just as good!
    However, one playthrough will last around 4-6 hours, but there are plenty of decisions to be made, which adds to replay value. 9/10
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Episode 1: This game is totally different than any game I am used to and so I decided to try it. The main reason I gave it a go and many others is because it is Walking Dead related. I spent $20 on all five episodes and I do not regret it one bit. To me it was just like watching another episode on TV but this time I had to, solve problems, make hard choices and lead a group. It took me a little over 2 hours to finish the episode and it left me wanting more. I loved the graphics Telltale has chosen; it fits right in. The blood and gore is also amazing. I loved this episode and I cannot wait til the next is released. Walking Dead FTW! Full Review »
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    Let me get something out of the way first; for those who're expecting another zombie action game a la Resident Evil or Left 4 Dead, save yourself the trouble, don't be an ass and just don't expect "The Walking Dead" to be like those games. Cos it's NOTHING like that. It's just something DIFFERENT and sometimes I think we just need a little difference.

    It's engaging from start to finish, your (mostly timed) choices will affect how other characters approach you, what they will say to you, and whether they will trust you. Cos honestly buddy, you're stuck in a **** of a zombie apocalypse and friends are just who you need. For those who have played Telltales' Back To The Future, it has the same mechanics but very polished this time. Combining 'move and click' style gameplay, added with dramatic set pieces and camera angles, TTG managed to tell the story with all guts and glory. Yes there are few QTE segments, but it's done right as it doesn't feel out of place. Mashing the button hasn't felt 'right' for some time now.

    Each of your choices determine how the story goes, and it's not a gimmick. It actually feels smooth and not at all scripted. That dynamic (which also affects the "Next on Walking Dead" preview cutscene at the end of the game) is the recipe of making you not putting the controller down.

    Timing it at 1-2 hours of gameplay, it's short, sweet, and is making me crave for the next 4 episodes. Kudos TTG! Can't wait for the next episode!

    P.S: Those who don't like story oriented games, can go continue playing L4D or RE and whine somewhere else.
    Full Review »