The Walking Dead: Episode 1 - A New Day Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Episode one of a five-part game series set in the same universe as Robert Kirkman’s award-winning series. Play as Lee Everett, the convicted criminal who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. Experience events, meet people and visit locations thatEpisode one of a five-part game series set in the same universe as Robert Kirkman’s award-winning series. Play as Lee Everett, the convicted criminal who has been given a second chance at life in a world devastated by the undead. Experience events, meet people and visit locations that foreshadow the story of Deputy Sheriff Rick Grimes. A honed game experience in which actions, choices and decisions you make will affect how your story plays out across the entire series. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. May 15, 2012
    90
    A New Day is an exciting point and click adventure, and a great adaptation of the graphic novels with both a thrilling story and comic book look. It's all about the choices you make, which have consequences for the story as it progresses.
  2. May 3, 2012
    90
    Walking Dead: Episode 1 - A New Day is a great opening chapter to the game and I can't wait to see what happens in the next episode. I'm also curious to see if it delivers on its promise that the choices that I've already made will affect the way the story unfolds from here. Even if the impact of these choices is minor, I won't be too disappointed. The game weaves one hell of a story and I want to see how it turns out.
  3. May 23, 2012
    89
    The first episode of The Walking Dead is a great adventure and we can't wait for the second part.
  4. Apr 27, 2012
    82
    A great starting point for the episodic series, with an involving story and deep characters: it will surely please every lover of story-focused games. Our main complaint is about the complete lack of italian localization, expecially seen the game's deep focus on storytelling.
  5. May 8, 2012
    80
    A great point and klick adventure, set in the middle of a Zombie outbreak. Focus lies on the people you meet and the stories they tell.
  6. 80
    It doesn't really feel like a point and click adventure, and sometimes it barely even feels like a game - but if you're in the mood for something different, this is superb entertainment at a fantastic price. If you're a fan of zombie movies, get involved. We're hooked: bring on Episode 2.
  7. May 10, 2012
    60
    Its rudimentary puzzles may not satisfy point-and-click fans, but those who enjoy interactive drama will be happy to tune in for Episode Two after this solid season premiere.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Simply amazing, from start to end. The story and gameplay mechanics is what makes this game, and is a truly worthy addition to the TV seriesSimply amazing, from start to end. The story and gameplay mechanics is what makes this game, and is a truly worthy addition to the TV series and Comic. Hopefully the following episodes will be just as good!
    However, one playthrough will last around 4-6 hours, but there are plenty of decisions to be made, which adds to replay value. 9/10
    Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Usually games based off tv shows or movies are horrible but this one is worth a try.For Xbox 360 you may notice if something big happens itUsually games based off tv shows or movies are horrible but this one is worth a try.For Xbox 360 you may notice if something big happens it freezes for like 5 seconds and saves.Their are a few bugs and glitches like on episode 3 when Katjaa is holding duck he might be invisible.But if the bugs is just something that doesnt effect the gameplay it is worth a try.This is also probably the most successful telltale game out there. Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    I have played many point-and-click and many zombie games before, but this is the first time I see someone mix both ideas and come up with suchI have played many point-and-click and many zombie games before, but this is the first time I see someone mix both ideas and come up with such a fun game design concept.

    I actually felt like I was the character, and the action sequences become way more tense, in a survival horror way, because you have to select your target or the weapon before attacking. The only problem I had with my roleplaying was the fact that I did not know everything about my character, so some questions made to my character made me wonder what was the truth.

    This game is a great value for such nice content. I took about 3 hours while exploring everything!
    Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2012
    9
    I'm positively surprised by the impact this game had for me. It has a new and fun gameplay. What I especially liked was the involvement youI'm positively surprised by the impact this game had for me. It has a new and fun gameplay. What I especially liked was the involvement you have on the story. Your choices matter and you realy care about the characters around you. Be warned though, don't come looking for a shooter like Left for Dead... this game is more an interactive story... Just one technical issue, sometimes it shows hickups while saving or loading a new area, but this doesn't interrupt the great experience you'll get from playing this game. If all episodes are like this... it'll be one great ride! Expand
  5. May 8, 2012
    9
    More games need to be like this. I love that there is a time limit to the questions you have to answer. Instead of trying to make a wellMore games need to be like this. I love that there is a time limit to the questions you have to answer. Instead of trying to make a well thought out calculated answer that will make your character look good, you have to make decisions in just a matter of seconds. I really enjoy all the characters, especially the main protagonist and I am invested in everything that he is doing and actually care about the outcomes of his choices. Also, i thought it was awesome that Glenn was wearing a Hieroglyphics (band) shirt, and apparently he wore it in the comic books too. I enjoyed this game very much and I can't wait to play the next episodes to come. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2013
    8
    A great start to the series with some really interesting characters. The urgency of a world infested with the undead is instantly imposed onA great start to the series with some really interesting characters. The urgency of a world infested with the undead is instantly imposed on the gamer with the use of QTEs and having to choose conversation options within a defined time-limit. Some may find the puzzles too easy, but this is more about the journey, the characters and the story. Treat it as an interactive story and you won't be disappointed. Some decisions are truely heart-wrenching and have long-standing consequences throughout season 1. Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    Kind of interactive, quite short zombie comic with no replay value. Watch the trailers and you get an idea of what to expect and - in terms ofKind of interactive, quite short zombie comic with no replay value. Watch the trailers and you get an idea of what to expect and - in terms of game play and interaction - NOT to expect from the series. 2 hours video for 400 MS points - you to decide. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews