Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    91
    The Walking Dead Episode 2 is something that begs to be talked about once it's finished, and not beforehand, which makes writing this review a little challenging. If the first episode didn't convince you enough that the series is worth continuing, than I'm not sure that episode 2 really does much differently to make you think otherwise.
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    To have a game that not only focuses on story but tells one compelling enough to keep thinking about once the console is off? That's something no one should miss.
  3. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    It's so enthralling that I was crushed when I reached the end of Episode 2 and realized that I couldn't continue with the story yet.
  4. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead: Episode 2 - Starved for Help is a very satisfying game and its only flaws are technical. It keeps the same gameplay than the first game, but Telltalte has managed to give the script a twist for it to feel different and surprise us again. Three hours of pure fun, a must have for comic fans.
  5. Jul 2, 2012
    90
    A harrowing, but fantastic, experience.
  6. Jun 29, 2012
    90
    If you liked the first episode, this one won't disappoint you. The formula created by Telltale works wonderfully. Fear, blood, proven game mechanics, and consequence-heavy decisions, all wrapped in a beautifully polished atmosphere supported by a captivating storyline. Quite enough to nullify its little shortcomings.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    90
    The second episode in this five-part series cranks the twisted-ness up to 11-and may push you in directions you never even thought possible.
  8. 90
    Despite the blatantly rushed execution, it's impossible not to love The Walking Dead Episode 2. This is thought-provoking, clever, and genuinely grown-up entertainment. Heart-rending decisions and spectacular pacing make this one of the most intense gaming experiences we've ever had.
  9. Jul 20, 2012
    89
    Telltale has presented yet another riveting story that's arguably superior to the AMC television series on account of the level of immersion granted by its interactivity. It's a different experience than the first episode, but it's also a better one.
  10. Jul 11, 2012
    88
    Episode two puts you in morally ambiguous situations that even a saint wouldn't be able to solve with a clear conscience.
  11. Aug 24, 2012
    87
    Can this stellar series get any better? [Oct 2012, p.92]
  12. 86
    Even with a few short comings every now and then, Episode 2: Starved for Help manages to maintain the same qualities that made the first episode so brilliant as well as drive the story onward into other areas of not only survival, but human nature as well.
  13. Jul 30, 2012
    85
    Overall, Episode 2 is worth playing and I enjoyed my time with it. I did find Episode 1 to be more intense overall and better paced, but Episode 2 is certainly good enough to warrant playing it and to have you looking forward to Episode 3.
  14. Jul 10, 2012
    85
    Despite those bumps, there's no arguing that Telltale is turning out must-play material with The Walking Dead, and unless the game somehow crashes and burns on an epic scale before it reaches the end of the fifth and final episodes, it's guaranteed to earn a spot on my year-end "best" list. Don't miss it.
  15. Jul 4, 2012
    85
    Episode 2 is in every way just as good as the pilot episode. Once again you can enjoy gruesome action and a zombie filled campaign.
  16. Jun 29, 2012
    85
    A triumph of the interactive narrative, good proof that with good writers and a solid direction, letting the player make decisions can make a good story better. An intense game with more decisions and more consequences.
  17. Jun 28, 2012
    85
    A great second episode in Telltale's Walking Dead franchise. The story borrows much from the graphic novels and is predictable even if you haven't read them, and the performance issues cause some grief, but this is an excellent adventure that needs to be played by every horror fan.
  18. 85
    Episode 2 does an excellent job of keeping the adventure going while setting the scene for plenty of struggles ahead. If Telltale stays on target, their full, five-part Walking Dead saga may prove to be one of the best, most ambitious zombie games ever.
  19. Jun 27, 2012
    85
    The suspense builds like a slowly filling water balloon as you have conversations accented with just enough weirdness to unsettle you and then other characters. Then, there's the reveal, and the water balloon pops.
  20. Oct 27, 2012
    80
    This episode turns the story to focus on other survivors being as big a threat as the undead. You have to decide who you can trust, and make some very difficult choices along the way. The story is a lot darker and more brutal than before, which is both thrilling and horrifying.
  21. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    I'm pleased during this rather dull year to be surprised by Telltale's take on not only a monster that has been diluted by pop culture and monopolised for quick cash grabs (irony alert), but also on a decision making system that is constructed with functionality and maturity. As long as they don't botch the ending - I'm sticking by my guess of the final choice that came to me twenty minutes into the first episode, though I hope I'm wrong - this as one complete story will be the best of the year. Matt Sawrey was right, keep horror to the independents.
  22. Aug 3, 2012
    80
    Survive a zombie outbreak in a game that sometimes feels more like an interactive movie. The story is great though.
  23. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    This is one of the most compelling, enjoyable episodic games around. It is a shame about the technical problems, but that's not to say it's not pristine in many ways. A clever interface, a vibrant art style and a simple, atmospheric soundtrack compliment what is a wonderful, harrowing, human story.
  24. 80
    An even more impressive mix of horror and personal drama than the first episode, with intelligent writing, crowd-pleasing gore, and… far too many bugs.
  25. Jul 5, 2012
    70
    Each episode so far has had its good parts and bad parts- but each time, it's something different. It's been inconsistent, and I don't think it can keep my interest if it doesn't settle down and find a groove for itself. The lack of focus on Lee/Clementine is only forgiven because of the extra focus on a good story twist at the end- but I really hope they find a balance in the future, which would truly make the game compelling on a level that Telltale hasn't done before. As of now, it still feels like a work in progress.
  26. Jun 28, 2012
    60
    Games like The Walking Dead are rare, and if you've played the first episode you'll be compelled to pick up Starved for Help, but prepare for the possibility of frustration and at worst, incompletion.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    I could almost bracket a mark for Telltale's belligerent tardiness, but they're forgiven on account of such a stellar addition to their newest game series. Episode one was, surprising, well executed and left me starving for more; and while a little late to the party, episode two pushes the positives of the first even further. More complicated choices, more emotion and a bigger sense of 'this is your life' make this episode more powerful than the first. Yes, it has it's hiccups and no I don't understand why there was such a long delay but Starved for Help is an excellent follow up to episode one and was enough to convince me that purchasing a ticket to the season pass was more than worth the sixteen quid admission tag. Bring on Episode three, and please don't take so long this time! Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    They finally released the second episode in the series. It's incredible how you forget the time while playing. A quick view on this latest chapter. - POSITIVE: - The characters are both interesting and unique, you really care about what happens to them. - Exciting until the very end. - A disturbing post-apocalyptic world. - Choices carry over from Episode 1. - New and difficult choices to make. - Great atmosphere - NEGATIVE: - Some hickups in sound and image. - CONCLUSION: Episode 2 is fantastic. It's characters will suck you in this post-apocalyptic world and you'll try to survive no matter what. Get ready for one of the best stories in recent gaming history. Full Review »
  3. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    This episode of the Walking Dead series is fun and exciting to play as the first one. It's graphics may not be as awesome as the other games out there and the animations can sometimes be weird, but the story and gameplay is awesome and that's all that matters. Full Review »