User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 168

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Episode 2 is riddled with more bugs than any of the other episodes, but looking past those as an experience it is truly amazing. The storyline is even better than the first and it does a good job of setting up future plot lines while remaining nicely self-contained. The characters develop over the course of the game and the events will shock and surprise players from beginning to end. One of the best episodes in series 1! Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    The choices do more impact than the first episode, more dialogues, but like the first episode, the story is closed. Clementine still brilliant.
    GOOD THINGS:
    More impactful and moral choices, more emotional dialogues, walkers are not too in focus, Clementine.
    BAD THINGS:
    Few new characters, some bugs can happen, closed story, the saved characters in the end of first episode doesn't
    interact much. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Episode 2 Starved for Help is more intense, more engaging, and more compelling than episode 1 making the hard decisions more difficult and the things you wish you could take back more regretful. As Leo Dicaprio said in Django Unchained, Gentlemen, you had my curiosity. But now, you have my attention."
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    Episode 2 builds on the tension in episode 1, not just the tension that the player feels, but also the tension between the characters in the game. The puzzles seem more interesting and the story is tight. Without giving any major plot points away, the group find an oasis in the middle of the horrific world they live. However, the player constantly feels that something is not quite right with the situation and the final outcome is both shocking and exciting. Telltale Games are really hitting their mark now. Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    this episode lasted me a good 3 and a half hours to play through it with time, care, and attention. the characters are properly fleshed out in this episode and there are many shocking but really well done moments. the decisions (although others are saying that the decisions aren't what they'd make, they need to take into account that they are playing LEE EVERET and not themselves) are very tense and add a lot of variety in this episode. great game and I cannot wait to play the whole thing through! Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    My personal favorite episode of the four that came out so far in the series. Filled with sick irony and crucial decision making, Starved for Help brings out the best in the creative side of the walking dead showing just how original the game can be.. From talking down a shooter at gun point, to deciding the fate of disturbed brothers, the game continues to keep you locked in at the edge of your seat more in tuned with what's going on in the story line than any show on T.V. could hope to do. Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    Well as I've already stated my impressions on the game in general I'll keep this one focused on the story. I really thought this one was a huge improvement over the first. Each seen felt like there was tension and action driving the decisions and it never really felt like you were just doing "stuff" for the sake of having something be part of the story. I think this was the push I needed to jump on the bandwagon and start playing this episodic series. One point that I did not touch on previously was the decisions. I really like how you are given decisions that can radically change what comes next. It is quite ambitions on tell tales part and something I hope they can pull through on. I know Giant Bomb discussed how they expected the decisions to be diamond shaped if plotted along a time axis which definitely makes me curious as to how much the story could change. Given what else is on my plate right now I don't think I'll go for a second play through on these games but I definitely feel the urge to play through the rest of the episodes. Expand
  8. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Episode 2 is even better than the first one it had me second guessing myself the whole way through and there are some real hard and brutal decisions that will definetely make you stop in your tracks and think about what you're about to decide. Loved every second of it. 10/10.
  9. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    A much more deep and immersive experience than the first episode, focusing a bit more on the human survivors than the zombies. It features a great storyline that keeps you interested with some really hard decisions to make. A must buy if you liked the first episode!
  10. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Awesome game and just as good as the first and worth the 400 points. Cant wait for the 3rd one. Disappointed only that it takes ages for the next episode and would love to more and more.
  11. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    This episode of the Walking Dead series is fun and exciting to play as the first one. It's graphics may not be as awesome as the other games out there and the animations can sometimes be weird, but the story and gameplay is awesome and that's all that matters.
  12. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After playing the first epsiode, and loving it, i was having trouble beliving that the first episode could be topped. I was wrong. Altho i got my suspicions about a certain food related issue very early, i was still suprised about the execution of it all. Episode 2 is another great entry and we can only hope they set quality before anything else (like they amply demonstrated with the delays of ep2) Expand
  13. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    I loved the first episode, and this one just puts more toppings on the sundae! The story behind this one is awesome, and you have a few new characters! I cant wait to see what happens next. I definitely recommend buying the second episode if you've played the first, and if you haven't got either, buy them both!
  14. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    I'm not sure what others expected from this game who are giving it low scores. They also complain that some people like the developers are propping up the scores etc. Well maybe the people giving the low scores are competitors to Tell Tale games because this is one fine game. I highly disliked the Telltale Games Back to the Future adaptation.. I found the puzzles to be poor, the story to be poor and the gameplay in general to be tedious. I also am not a big zombie game fan either.. too many zombie games these days.

    However, this game really drew me in and I enjoyed every second of it, enough to go through and play it again to pick different choices.
    Expand
  15. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    The first episode to the TWD franchise was amazing and I questioned how episode 2 would manage to top that. However episode 2 manages to meet and surpass the first in many ways. Though the sound is yet again a bit off and the camera takes a turn for the worst at times, not to mention the overly dark barn area in chapter 4. But through those minor problems 'Starved for Help' manages to pull out an knockout performance from start to finish. The story answers some more questions, lets you get to know a couple of the characters a bit better, introduces some more and provides plenty of action, plot twists and shocks as every good sequel should. Episode 2 is a must buy for any TWD fan from any background. Collapse
  16. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    The Walking Dead part 2 is a step better from Part 1. The game as caught the spirit of the comic books more than the AMC TV show. If Walking Dead the game is an interactive comic book, it's a really good one, with choices ( viscerally made) that matter and an impressive narrative. The only (and big) lack of this game is the lack of language translation for non English( or American) players.
  17. Vex
    Jul 4, 2012
    9
    This episode is really amazing, much more in line with the original comic book than the previous episode. It is dark, gritty and full of twists and turns and tough moral decisions to make. Developers really succeeded in making the player feel as if he were involuntarily losing his humanity in order to survive and keep his people safe, just like Rick Grimes did. You are faced with dubious moral choices and this is what really allows your real character/personality to shine and really show you how you would act in a world that turned for worse. It makes you ask yourself how far you'd go to protect the people you love. It is MUCH more interesting than the first episode, which was more zombie focused and not as interesting. Telltale did great work with this episode, even though they were pretty late with the release. Expand
  18. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    A great episode and really had me on the edge of my seat at some moments. I wouldn't necessarily call it a game, but rather an enjoyable interactive experience. Pretty much my only gripe with this episode was that there are quite a few technical issues in it but overall a very good addition to the series so far and I'm anxiously waiting for the third episode. I recommend this if you liked the first episode, I thought it was better than that. Expand
  19. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is debate as to whether the game is better than the tv show, but the reality is that they are two different beasts. The walking dead game is taking the darker path, which is always nice. Ep. 2 was a lot more spine tingling, with the idea that humans can be worse than zombies. It was better than Ep. 1, yet I felt didn't last as long. My only problem with the game is always wondering what could've happened if i went different. Expand
  20. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    Episode 2 is just as good as episode 1. The key to a great zombie game (or movie or show for that matter) is not having every second engaged in fighting zombies. Ep2 did have more hiccups in it than Ep1 (lips not synced with speech, lag when transitioning scenes) but it really excelled in building up suspense the entire episode and leaving you with decisions that not only challenge your humanity and beliefs but have high risk/reward. They were able to have a horror/thriller inside a world of zombies without actually having too many zombies involved and they pulled it off really well. I am looking forward to Ep3! I highly suggest you play one save all the way through making the decisions you want and then play an alternative save doing the opposite of what you would do. It really shows you how different the game can be but you eventually get the same results (for the most part). Expand
  21. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Telltale did a wonderful job with this! Love the art style, story is good, characters are well developed, and the decisions carrying over are pretty awesome. Loved it.
  22. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    Presentation: The graphics are "cartoonish" but thats a good thing here, being based on the very popular Comic series by the same name. Voice acting amongst the best that been seen in gaming and its very important here because reading peoples feelings and mixed reactions to some of your actions, and an overall product of high quality.

    Gameplay: The gameplay is very simple, and while it
    does require some precision in some high stake moments where you and your characters are under a lot of pressure, this is not where the game shines. The game is much more about decisions and interactions though so its not a that big of a blemish. Still, the controls are fluid when required to be and there is no major issues or glitches.


    Value: I personally find the plot superior to whats being done on the TV Show of the same name, and I truly think its because im directly involved in the flow of the story. For points, as with its predecessor, your getting a solid 3-5 hours worth of gameplay that is highly enjoyable. And similarly to games with many different branching arcs to the questline its worth at least one replay and knowing your decisions will affect the next episode makes you anticipate the sequel (at a smaller scale) than a game like mass effect.

    Overall: An excellent game worth anyones pocket change.
    Expand
  23. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    This game is purely Telltale doing their thing. They know what kind of game they want to make, and they go for it. The Walking Dead is a great video gaming experience for Adventure game fans and Horror fans alike.
  24. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    I could almost bracket a mark for Telltale's belligerent tardiness, but they're forgiven on account of such a stellar addition to their newest game series. Episode one was, surprising, well executed and left me starving for more; and while a little late to the party, episode two pushes the positives of the first even further. More complicated choices, more emotion and a bigger sense of 'this is your life' make this episode more powerful than the first. Yes, it has it's hiccups and no I don't understand why there was such a long delay but Starved for Help is an excellent follow up to episode one and was enough to convince me that purchasing a ticket to the season pass was more than worth the sixteen quid admission tag. Bring on Episode three, and please don't take so long this time! Expand
  25. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    They finally released the second episode in the series. It's incredible how you forget the time while playing. A quick view on this latest chapter. - POSITIVE: - The characters are both interesting and unique, you really care about what happens to them. - Exciting until the very end. - A disturbing post-apocalyptic world. - Choices carry over from Episode 1. - New and difficult choices to make. - Great atmosphere - NEGATIVE: - Some hickups in sound and image. - CONCLUSION: Episode 2 is fantastic. It's characters will suck you in this post-apocalyptic world and you'll try to survive no matter what. Get ready for one of the best stories in recent gaming history. Expand
  26. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Episode 2 begins to develop the sense of SURVIVAL that many zombie games fail to do. It is much more story driven this time around, meaning more emotional and more immersive.
    If you are a fan of the series, then there is simply no reason why you shouldn't play the series...
  27. Jul 4, 2012
    0
    The first episode to the TWD franchise was amazing and I questioned how episode 2 would manage to top that. However episode 2 manages to meet and surpass the first in many ways. Though the sound is yet again a bit off and the camera takes a turn for the worst at times, not to mention the overly dark barn area in chapter 4. But through those minor problems 'Starved for Help' manages to pull out an knockout performance from start to finish. The story answers some more questions, lets you get to know a couple of the characters a bit better, introduces some more and provides plenty of action, plot twists and shocks as every good sequel should. Episode 2 is a must buy for any TWD fan from any background. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    80
    This episode turns the story to focus on other survivors being as big a threat as the undead. You have to decide who you can trust, and make some very difficult choices along the way. The story is a lot darker and more brutal than before, which is both thrilling and horrifying.
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    I'm pleased during this rather dull year to be surprised by Telltale's take on not only a monster that has been diluted by pop culture and monopolised for quick cash grabs (irony alert), but also on a decision making system that is constructed with functionality and maturity. As long as they don't botch the ending - I'm sticking by my guess of the final choice that came to me twenty minutes into the first episode, though I hope I'm wrong - this as one complete story will be the best of the year. Matt Sawrey was right, keep horror to the independents.
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    87
    Can this stellar series get any better? [Oct 2012, p.92]