Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    91
    If you've been on board with the game up to this point, Episode 3 will fail to disappoint. It's another excellent entry in what is easily shaping up to be Telltale's best work yet, and there's no reason to stop playing the series now.
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    90
    In this latest installment of the series you get a story that's even darker than before. A lot of hard moral dilemmas are thrown at you, and you see the group you've come to know as a family falling apart. This episode also brings more puzzle elements than before, making it feel more like a traditional adventure game than an interactive graphic novel.
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    90
    Now that Telltale has captured my attention with this entry, they've got the difficult task of keeping it. This episode is so full of smart character moments and interactions it seems impossible for them to continue it any further, but we'll just have to see what they have in store for us next. Of course it's a lot of pressure to keep the momentum going, but the series is starting to look more cohesive and it feels like it's actually going somewhere, which I appreciate after the second episode felt so aimless and one-off. For the first time since it started, though, I'm looking forward to the next entry in this series, and can't wait to see what happens.
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    In any event, my quibbles with this series are quite small, and easy to forgive when compared to the overall experience that Telltale is crafting. There's nothing else available today able to affect me to a similar degree, or that can resonate with me as a human being. That's the sort of thing that carries a great deal of weight, and it makes The Walking Dead easily one of 2012's best.
  5. Lee is the best protagonist we've seen in years, and his relationship with the group continues to fascinate. Delicate, thoughtful, and unreservedly brutal - The Walking Dead is one of the most mature gaming experiences that money can buy. This is the most exciting game of 2012, and you won't even find it sitting on shelves. Hop onto Xbox Live and buy it immediately, before we're forced to destroy your head and/or brains.
  6. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    With this third episode, Telltale keeps demonstrating an astounding mastery. The gameplay gets more varied, the story is as sharply written as ever, and you will probably feel an emotional rollercoaster while playing it. With but two episodes remaining, The Walking Dead seems to stay on course for a much-deserved masterpiece label.
  7. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    The best episode yet, that ups the ante in terms of not just the zombie threat but how you interact with some of gaming's most convincing characters.
  8. 90
    Betrayal and constant infighting - problems that've been building since the beginning - finally boil over, proving deadlier than anything else in this crazy zombie apocalypse.
  9. Aug 30, 2012
    90
    If you care about The Walking Dead, zombie games, or just spectacular storytelling, The Long Road Ahead will hook you to this series if you weren't already. And if you were hooked to begin with, then you're like me probably, begging Telltale to get on it and release the next episode already!
  10. Aug 28, 2012
    90
    When I beat the episode, I jumped right back in to see how choices could've played out differently. On top of that, it makes me want to play all three episodes back to back to back.
  11. 89
    Much like the previous two episodes, The Walking Dead: Episode 3 – Long Road Ahead is a fascinating tale of survival and is filled with more gut wrenching decisions.
  12. Sep 19, 2012
    88
    As with its predecessors, it's a rare game that earns its difficulty through the weight of its decisions rather than its gameplay, and it sets an increasingly high bar for narrative excellence in video games.
  13. Sep 5, 2012
    85
    After two successful episodes, you truly start to care for Lee and Clementine. The events of Long Road Ahead are therefore hard to process but make an even greater impact than any of the other episodes. This is without a doubt the best episode so far!
  14. Aug 31, 2012
    85
    The gameplay has some rough edges, but as an interactive story, this is an experience that shouldn't be missed.
  15. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    The Long Road Ahead continues The Walking Dead's fantastic storyline and presents a real case for episodic gaming on consoles via digital means.
  16. Aug 30, 2012
    80
    The team at Telltale Games have done an incredible job keeping the series fresh, and they don't look like they're going to rest on their laurels anytime soon.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This episode was pure video game brilliance. The characters are so brilliantly written that they'll make you feel real emotion. When Carly was killed by Lilly, I was just overwhelmed with anger and left Lilly to die but then when Carly's death sank in I was genuinely depressed. It's a weird felling when you feel proper emotion for people you know are fictional. I felt so depressed after this episode that I deeply regretted ever buying it but at the same time I can't wait for the next one. Highly recommended. 10/10. Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    4
    I really wanted to like this game because it`s definitely different. But a handful of glitches in a three hours episode (including a severe one which leads to a number of re-starts from the last saving point) killed my sympathy - plus the fact, that you can`t change the storyline with the decisions you make. All you get at the end are slightly different dialogues. Will think twice if I want to spend additional money and time into the next episodes. Full Review »
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Honestly, if this doesn't deserve an almost perfect review, then I don't know what does. The story is literally incredible. Every 5 minutes something you completely don't expect happens. Everything is right. There's so much to write about the game, but simply put... it has to be the best I've ever played. If you expect to play this episode over two, maybe three days, it's not gonna happen. You're going to be glued to the seat until the very end. The only thing that stopped me from giving it 10/10 is the fact that it's so short. I easily could've been playing this for 6 hours non stop. Great overall. Full Review »