User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 85
  2. Negative: 8 out of 85

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is episode was a bit slow paced compared to the other episodes but I still loved it. There was some really cool moments in it and some of the decisions made me feel like a really bad person( when I just let Ben be pulled down by the walker) even though the whole time I was making the decisions I was completely sure of myself. Like some other people mentioned, I didn't feel as attached to a lot of the characters than previous episodes but still my desire to protect Clem kept me motivated. Another highly recommended episode. 10/10. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Around Every Corner was a more action based episode and a little lighter on character development but still faces Lee with difficult decisions and adapting to new, more challenging circumstances (and people). All the build-up in this episode leads to the tension-filled cliffhanger which sets up the final episode to be an epic conclusion indeed.
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    I'm totally stunned, Telltale Games has find the formula for making a great game in 5 different parts and totally worth paid. Each episode gets better, I just don't know what will on the next one that i'll be buying for sure. This game is a must-have for anyone.
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    My only negative here was that this became a lot more combat intensive and I didn't expect it. I died a lot which annoyed me. However the plot twist at the end had me in tears and as usual I was incredibly riveted to the game and played it straight through the same day it was released. They've improved every chapter. #5 is sure to break my heart.
  5. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    Telltale Games have really perfected the blend of story, puzzles and action here. The characters are still real and believable, and you become more and more attached to your favourite characters. Even so, the game's story still has the potential to really shock you. One such moment occurred in this episode and made me rethink all of my strategies for the remainder of the episode and the next. The writing is superb but, even so, don't consider these games as puzzle-adventure games they are interactive stories with superb characterisation and branching storylines. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    There is not much I can say other than WOW. Yes I am not as attached to many of the characters as I was in episode 2 and 3 but I was floored by how good the end of episode 4 was. The last 5 minutes of gameplay will absolutely stun you. I admit I am not as attahed to Clementine after I realized she is more driven to look for her parents than to be with me but she is still the center of Lee's zombie infested world. Many of the critics are saying 4 was a wrap everything up before 5 kind of episode but I think it was very necessary. I agree some plot lines were quickly resolved and the character development was not as good as it had been in other episodes but I never felt more integrated into Lee, felt the feelings he felt. I truely felt every decision I was making for him was a decision I was making for myself and it was an incredible experience Collapse
  7. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Best episode yet IMHO. Heavy stuff and the end destroyed me. Surely he can be saved:-) If the next episode tops this, we may have he game of he decade on our hands. I just can't imagine things getting much better. The relationship between Lee and Clem is incredibly well done and you feel for these folks. It is so very rare that this happens in gaming for me. I will say this episode made me finally say these are better than the books and I have read em all. Just top tier storytelling on display. Expand
  8. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    This is a more relaxed and light-hearted story than the other episodes, but is still thoroughly enjoyable. The ambiance and tone root the player in for the impressive length of this episode, while sinister hints and the great ending set up for the conclusion.
  9. Oct 14, 2012
    6
    I loved the first 3 episodes and was absolutely hooked by them. I found this episode the least enjoyable of the 4. The writing is still good, the voice acting is still among the best and there are no shortages of twists. My only complaint lies with the progression and development of the main character, Lee. I can't stand how incompetent he still is. I was hoping by this time in the apocalypse Lee would be at least a fraction of the survivor Rick has become. Lee continues to put himself in stupid situations. There are moments when Lee can drop a small horde of walkers with his trusty pistol, yet there are scenes where it seems he is seeing a walker for the first time. Seeing Rick, Andrea, and Carl develop into harden badasses was a wonderful treat... I was genuinely hoping for a similar transformation with Lee.. Clementine has followed Carl's footsteps, leaving Lee way behind. The bottom line; protagonist Lee is the same guy in episode 4 that he was in episode 1. And that is very tragic.. Expand
  10. Oct 12, 2012
    0
    There is not much I can say other than WOW. Yes I am not as attached to many of the characters as I was in episode 2 and 3 but I was floored by how good the end of episode 4 was. The last 5 minutes of gameplay will absolutely stun you. I admit I am not as attahed to Clementine after I realized she is more driven to look for her parents than to be with me but she is still the center of Lee's zombie infested world. Many of the critics are saying 4 was a wrap everything up before 5 kind of episode but I think it was very necessary. I agree some plot lines were quickly resolved and the character development was not as good as it had been in other episodes but I never felt more integrated into Lee, felt the feelings he felt. I truely felt every decision I was making for him was a decision I was making for myself and it was an incredible experience Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    90
    A cliff-hanger sets us up for a tearful finale. [Christmas 2012, p.96]
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    Episode 3 of The Walking Dead finally put interesting characters into a plot that I was actually interested in.. After that, Episode 4 started creating a series of gameplay moments that not only influence the game, but are set up in such a way and smartly enough to influence how the player feels at that moment. While it would have been a better series if they'd had this in place from the beginning, the way that the series has picked up as it nears its conclusion is great, and has me waiting for the end excitedly.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    The Walking Dead: Episode 4 really makes us crave the season finale of the game show. The story of Lee and Clementine made such a big impact on us, that waiting a month and a half for the finale is a very difficult task at hand.