Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    93
    It's love that makes The Walking Dead not only Telltale's best game by a mile, but also one of the best adventure games ever.
  2. 91
    It is by no means a flawless game, or series, but is a memorable one and one that raises the bar when it comes to storytelling in a video game franchise.
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    The biggest issues wind up coming from the rushed nature of the season-with a little more polish and a couple more once-overs of the script, I'd definitely love this game a lot more, but as it is, there are just enough problems to keep it from greatness.
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    92
    The Walking Dead makes me feel like a person instead of a person playing a videogame. What's happening feels real, what's available to say is brilliant, and the eventual resolution is perfect.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    Right from the start, this episode cranks up the tension to 11. Unfortunately, this may also be why it burns itself out as the shortest episode of the series. However, it's also one of the most satisfying, as everything you've built up to finally comes to a head-and in the end, you'll do whatever you can to protect Clementine in this accomplishment in videogame storytelling.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    85
    Telltale's episodic love letter to zombies remains one of the most memorable gaming experiences of the year. Telltale has already announced it is working on Season Two, and No Time Left beautifully wraps up the story of these last several episodes while teasing things to come. No Time Left isn't a "happily ever after" affair, but it feels like a dark and stormy intro to another exciting chapter.
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    A masterpiece of a conclusion. Sure, from a gameplay perspective, the same things can be said of this last episode than of previous ones (i.e. it's not perfect), but the writing, the emotions, the story, everything is so powerful and spot-on on that front that one could consider Telltale's game as the first true next-gen one: not from a technical standpoint, mind you, but from an emotional one.
  8. Dec 3, 2012
    75
    All complaints aside, Lee and Clementine are characters that will stay with me for the rest of my life, there's no question in my mind that The Walking Dead is a milestone that should be recognized and honored for the achievement that it is.
  9. Nov 25, 2012
    82
    Episode 5 isn't the strongest in the series, but taken together the five episodes make for a unique and engrossing game.
  10. Jan 16, 2013
    92
    Telltale's best episode yet is a fitting end for their landmark series of story-driven games. [Feb 2013, p.88]
  11. Nov 21, 2012
    75
    No Time Left provides a fulfilling sense of closure to this first series of Walking Dead episodes, even while it strays from the story and characters that were developed in the earlier episodes.
  12. Dec 5, 2012
    93
    No Time Left ventures into masterpiece territory, particularly when considered in relation to the episodes that came before.
  13. Nov 27, 2012
    100
    This is absolutely, without a doubt, one of the best gaming experiences of the year. It's still just a little too early to toss around GOTY nominations, but there's no doubt in my mind that The Walking Dead will be on a short list for a number of critics when those considerations start to make their rounds.
  14. Nov 19, 2012
    95
    Some of this season's best, and Episode 5 is the emotional finale fans deserve.
  15. Nov 22, 2012
    90
    One of the best conclusions that we've ever seen. This finale season is definitely a triumph of the interactive narrative, proof that with good writers and a solid direction, letting the player make decisions can make a good story better.
  16. 90
    As good as the comic is, and as exciting as the TV show's third season has been, this vision of Robert Kirkman's zombie opus will always be our one, true, definitive version.
  17. 90
    The Walking Dead offers a level of narrative quality that outshines anything else currently available in gaming. It makes the TV series of the same name look dull, poorly paced, and insignificant. These are the most important games released this year, and we simply can't recommend them enough.
  18. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    Under no circumstance should these hiccups keep you from this incredible, gut-wrenching, dark, unprecedented experience.
  19. Nov 24, 2012
    90
    One of the year's best games, even when it forgets to hand over the controller and let you have a turn.
  20. Nov 28, 2012
    85
    No Time Left is the finale of an emotional adventure that is told in the best way possible. Never did we have such compassion for a game character. Even after a few years you will remember Clementine and Lee and the hard choices you had to make. An amazing ending to an amazing game.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 53
  3. Negative: 3 out of 53
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Hands down the best game I have ever played in terms of story, connection between characters and players. This morning as I finished this game at about 8am for the final 5 minutes of dialogue between our main characters I began crying, when the title screen came up I for a moment felt angry "Wait, WHAT? That's it", when it showed me all the characters I'd come in contact with over the past 7 months a deep pain set in and I felt bad for some of the things I'd done, and I cried for them. When the credits ran and the lyrics said "take us back oh take us back" I couldn't stop myself from heaving heavy sobs and wishing that for these 12 digital people we could have stayed away from the place that doomed them. It is so powerful and potent of an ending that I'm not sure I'll be able to play my alternate save right away. It's an hour and a half later and I'm still trying to disconnect and get ready for work this morning. This was everything that Kirkman brought to the comics, the sense of dread and never ending sorrow, it is something we are just starting to see in the show. I applaud telltale for not falling into the typical zombie game pitfalls and trying to tidy it all up and keep us all happy, for making me wonder where my beloved characters are. In staying true to the spirit of Kirkman they surpassed him in devastation. Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    I personally would like to to thank Telltale Games for reaching emotions I never thought I'd experience with a video-game. I loved making choices in video-games ever since Knights of the Old Republic introduced the light side or dark side spectrum, but Walking Dead series takes choices to a whole another level. Each choice I make feels like a bad decision because of the emotional connection I have with each character. I have never played a videogame that puts so much detail into how you feel towards people in survival. It's unbelievable what the climax brought me to as a gamer and for that I'm a lifelong fan. NEVER would I have thought in a million years a video-game would make me cry like a baby, but Walking Dead has that effect. Bravo Telltale Games for the best game of 2012! Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Phenomenal, this should be the word you choose to describe this entire experience. The writing held up from beginning to end. The game made you interact and bond with the characters, made you LOVE Clementine. There has absolutely been no other experience quite like Walking Dead: The Video Game. The art style used to make the game feel a lot more unique succeeded tremendously well, this combined with the animation work makes the game feel especially unique and add to the character of the whole experience. Episode 5 has you make a tough choice right from the beginning, what that is though, i'll leave you find out for yourself. In conclusion this game DESERVES Game Of The Year 2012 Full Review »