User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 188

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Hands down the best game I have ever played in terms of story, connection between characters and players. This morning as I finished this game at about 8am for the final 5 minutes of dialogue between our main characters I began crying, when the title screen came up I for a moment felt angry "Wait, WHAT? That's it", when it showed me all the characters I'd come in contact with over the past 7 months a deep pain set in and I felt bad for some of the things I'd done, and I cried for them. When the credits ran and the lyrics said "take us back oh take us back" I couldn't stop myself from heaving heavy sobs and wishing that for these 12 digital people we could have stayed away from the place that doomed them. It is so powerful and potent of an ending that I'm not sure I'll be able to play my alternate save right away. It's an hour and a half later and I'm still trying to disconnect and get ready for work this morning. This was everything that Kirkman brought to the comics, the sense of dread and never ending sorrow, it is something we are just starting to see in the show. I applaud telltale for not falling into the typical zombie game pitfalls and trying to tidy it all up and keep us all happy, for making me wonder where my beloved characters are. In staying true to the spirit of Kirkman they surpassed him in devastation. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    I personally would like to to thank Telltale Games for reaching emotions I never thought I'd experience with a video-game. I loved making choices in video-games ever since Knights of the Old Republic introduced the light side or dark side spectrum, but Walking Dead series takes choices to a whole another level. Each choice I make feels like a bad decision because of the emotional connection I have with each character. I have never played a videogame that puts so much detail into how you feel towards people in survival. It's unbelievable what the climax brought me to as a gamer and for that I'm a lifelong fan. NEVER would I have thought in a million years a video-game would make me cry like a baby, but Walking Dead has that effect. Bravo Telltale Games for the best game of 2012! Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Phenomenal, this should be the word you choose to describe this entire experience. The writing held up from beginning to end. The game made you interact and bond with the characters, made you LOVE Clementine. There has absolutely been no other experience quite like Walking Dead: The Video Game. The art style used to make the game feel a lot more unique succeeded tremendously well, this combined with the animation work makes the game feel especially unique and add to the character of the whole experience. Episode 5 has you make a tough choice right from the beginning, what that is though, i'll leave you find out for yourself. In conclusion this game DESERVES Game Of The Year 2012 Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    This was the perfect ending to a brilliant game. Every decision I've made through the game seemed to come back to haunt me, it made me uneasy and at points made me feel like a monster but I loved every minute of it. This is one of the best games of the year and it was made with a pretty small budget. Other game developers should take note that powerful emotions in a game are far more effective than nice looking graphics. 10/10. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    It is a rare experience when you are drawn into a story to such a degree where it effects your feelings long after the story ends. We see it in the movies at times, but in the video gaming industry, its practically non-existent. That is; not until this game. This "game" has superseded the emotional impact of the actual series its based upon. No matter how much hope you create in the world of the Walking Dead, its an illusion. Hope doesn't exist in this world, and the choices I made brought an attachment to the story unlike any movie I have ever seen. I created my own hope for each character and I had to live with the decisions I made. Even if the decisions really didn't really deviate from the story's path, the fact that I made decisions, good or bad, brought a level of attachment that I found unique in storytelling. The Walking Dead is a monumental achievement. It deserves an Oscar. Animated movies have won Oscars, why not a video game? Is this game that good? Absolutely! Expand
  6. 4DI
    Nov 21, 2012
    10
    What can I say? I'm speechless.
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This is how you finish a video game (I'm looking at you Bioware). Its heart breaking, its depressing as hell, but it envokes such a powerful emotional response from the player that you can't help but applaud. In this honest gamers opinion, the best video game of 2012.
  8. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Mere words cannot relate what a very special game this is. It's one of the best if not the best games I've played, and I've been a keen gamer for 25 years or more. This truly is a real leap forward for storytelling in video games. I did not just play this I lived it. You owe it to yourself to play this game. Go on enjoy. You'll be left affected long after the end credits roll. Thank you TellTale for making this game. More of the same please. Expand
  9. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    I am going to be honest. Until the Walking Dead game series that Telltale has brilliant crafted, I cannot remember the last time I played a point and click adventure game, but I sure am glad I tried it again. Throughout the entire series, I saw my choices have an influence on what happened later in the episode or in later episodes, but never as much as that that is seen in the final episode "No Time Left." Telltale has successfully created a game that blends a unique art style, wonderful voice acting and a story that is probably the best story you'll play this entire year to create a series that, I believe, will have an impact on the future story development of video games. After playing through all of the episodes, I can definitely say that this was the most enjoyable episode, previously episode 2. It is such a delight to see how Telltale managed to bring the entire story together. The emotion that is brought out by the story and voice acting is so powerful, I almost cried at certain parts. I don't want to spoil the ending, but let's just say I can't wait for Telltale's newly announced Season 2. If you haven't played this game yet, you owe it to yourself to play all of the episodes. Telltale's series is not perfect, but the way they brought it all together at the end makes you understand why this game should be considered for game of the year. I would give it a 9.5/10. Expand
  10. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game. If you have the opportunity to pick up this game, GET IT. The story itself isnt perfect, and now completing the entire game [or season 1 at least] I can say there were moments I would have liked to see or would have done differently. HOWEVER - The great news is, that this is still a helluva great game and should not be missed my anyone. The story is just so personal and the characters so believable that it has been a LONG time since I have actually given a crap about characters in a video game. The ending was poignant and well done, and makes me all the more excited for season 2.
    ...
    If nothing else, fans should be glad for getting a well-respected ending that deserves their time and newcomers should be excited to take part in this
    Collapse
  11. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This is the definitive Walking Dead experience. Rick, Carl, and Andrea can all be devoured by walkers for all I care. Give me Lee, Kenny, and Clem any day. Playing any other game immediately after playing an episode of this game feels meaningless and hollow. There is more emotion and strong character moments in one hour of this game, than in any other triple A title to come out this year. I cannot say enough good things about this series. If you haven't played it yet, you are sorely missing out. But be forewarned, this game will reduce you into an emotional pile of goo. It took every ounce of my manliness not to burst into tears after playing this. I cannot wait for the next season to start. Expand
  12. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    The walking dead episode 5 is the last episode in telltales series. I feel it is the best and most emotional of the five and is a must play for anyone that loves vivid story telling.
  13. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    From the previous four episodes, The Walking Dead game was a big contender for Game of the Year. After finishing the fifth, I am already assured this is definitely the game of the year, without question. The stylish graphics and the gameplay is much the same from the previous games. But this has probably the best conclusion I've ever seen in a game. This game moved me absolute tears, more than any form of media has in this Millennia. It's not an over-exaggeration. It is that good. The decisions here come to full fledge here to make this more than just a game. It's an experience

    Do yourself a favour and play this magnificent series.You won't regret it and will be one of the best (if not the best) way to spend your money on entertainment this year
    Expand
  14. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Honestly the greatest game I have played in a long time 10/10 so many manly tears shed after this episode. Game of the year this game is **** beautiful
  15. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    The Walking Dead has entertained from beginning to end, a powerful and emotive story mixed with clever gameplay makes TWD my GOTY. With Lee running out of time to find Clementine due to the ending of Episode 4: Around Every Corner, he and the remaining group members must search Savannah for her, to get her back, to find her kidnapper and to live another day. Here is a to a great year of TWD and here is to The Walking Dead: The Videogame Season 2 Expand
  16. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    I thought the season finale would of disappointed, but boy was I wrong! I actually liked the storyline to this game better then the TV series. So many emotions towards the end will leave you wanting more, Season 2
    could not come any sooner. GOTY winner for me, Hands down!
  17. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Prepare to ball your eyes out, this is the most emotional story ever. No movie or game will ever draw you in as much as the characters and although the ending isn't happy it is amazing.
  18. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    An emotional and fitting finale to the first season, the series as a whole is a suburb example of story telling that does not pull any punches. The series builds a rapport between the player and the protagonist, i couldn't help but feel Lee's exasperation at how things had gone over several of the episodes, i made my choices, lived by them, some died by them. There were big shocks along the way, i watched events fold at times with my mouth wide open wondering if i could have done anything to avoid it, to say i felt great satisfaction from getting my feelings across through a dialogue choice says a lot about the narrative and story telling qualities. The down time in episodes builds relationships and background to the fast paced action where the big decisions are ones that are made with little opportunity for analysis. I can honestly say i had a tear in my eye at the end, i truly connected with the characters, this game made me think, even explore my own emotions. The credits role to a beautiful and fitting song, at the end i couldn't help but feel sorrow for the original group of survivors, decimated largely, the character we close out on cuts a lonely figure in a harsh, horrific world. Telltale games have created a masterpiece, there was little need for the brief inclusion of one or two of the TV/Comic book characters in episode one, these characters took their place in Walking Dead lore all by themselves. A brilliant exploration of the human condition when society and morality break down and humans become desperate and threatened, a truly epic and deep piece of gaming, brilliantly written, a perfect blend of engaging conversation during moments of sanctuary and draw dropping drama in the many moments of dread. More please Telltale! Expand
  19. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    A truly incredible gaming experience. This is Telltale's finest work. It is one of the most emotionally draining experiences you will get in a video game. The voice acting is some of the finest I've ever heard and the writing is so far above the "Industry standard" that for a $5 (for the game) or $20 for the season experience it is a must purchase. This game series will most probably win many game of the year awards. Following Lee & Clementine through this 5 episode experience has been amazing, with many twists and turns and the final episode brings everything together at the end. I think the best way to play this game, is play it once, live with your choices, and experience the outcomes. Our lives are all about choices, we make mistakes, we make some good, some bad, this game manages to address this in a very smart way, and makes you wonder where the humanity is, in a zombie infested world. Who can you trust? Who should you keep alive? What will you do to save a child? Buy this game, play it, and remember it for bringing the art of video gaming forward. Expand
  20. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Ever since I've started playing video games, no single game has made me question myself about who I am as a human being. Telltale's The Walking Dead Game made me question myself. Great game, great story, can't wait for more
  21. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    A groundbreaking experience in terms of sheer emotional impact in a game. By the end of the game, tears were shed, and it felt natural. Episode by episode, this game ceased to be disappointing. A must play for anyone who enjoys fantastic storytelling.
  22. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    I would have given a 15/10 to this game if I could.
    And I also want a sequel. Me and probably everyone who played it. This game messes with your feelings. Either good or bad ones. GotY for sure.
    Congratulations, Telltale. I'm already a fan since Tales of Monkey Island, that I also want a season two.
  23. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    By far, one of (if not) the best games of this year, if not one of the best period. No game has come close to having a story as good as this. From beginning to end, the story, characters, and writing have been phenomenal. I have never cared more about a character in a video game like this.
  24. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    this game is better than the last chapter in all aspects and open new intrigues me, questions and answers of the history , the new environment is creative and gives a lot of adrenaline
  25. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    It sounds like waxing ecstatic here, but the greatness of this game cannot be overstated when judged within the realm of gaming. Is it a literary masterpiece on par with War & Peace? Probably not, but it does hold more than its own when compared with some of the mindless, lazy, drivel coming out of Hollywood these days. While it may not be a cutting edge experience in terms of game play, it absolutely sets the bar in terms of interactive storytelling. In spite of the fact that it doesn't break any new ground technically, its writing and art-direction alone should be enough for GOTY consideration. At the very least, it should have some of the giants in this field (I'm talking to you Activision and EA Games) doing a real assessment of the quality of the experiences they are producing in their games. Expand
  26. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    Hard to criticize this game its just so damn near perfect, I'm sad its over, and would have liked to have one more season just to learn a little more about some of the newer characters and the story, but overall epic story.... perfect ending, not buggy at all, not a rip off either. Excellently made, and a thriller to get you into the next season which we all see coming. Story-10, gameplay-10, characters-10, emotion-10, graphics- who cares, everything else-10. Not a lot of creative elements but I can't complain here Expand
  27. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    a little too shot but who the **** cares, this is probably one the very best episodes they have ever provided. One of the most emotionally invested games in gaming history only for the price of 5 bucks. Manly tears were shed at the end of this story.
  28. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    While it was the shortest episode it was also a great ending. The entire series was a great experience as well as a captivating story. Telltale has given us an instant classic allowing us to live and make crucial decisions in a zombie appocolipse.
  29. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Legendary ending for an epic game, last episode was tense (the good kind, not the cheap b movie kind) from beginning to end. Every episode had me playing them the moment I got any free time from beginning to finish in one go, and this last one, I don't even know if it were shorter than the rest or it was so time flew by.
  30. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This game is one of the most intense emotional experiences I've ever had. The story is incredibly emotional, and the way that TellTale weaves your choices into the final episode is amazing. Because of this, you don't play as Lee, you ARE Lee. If you want flashy graphics or intense game play, look elsewhere. If you want a truly fantastic experience in interactive storytelling which will leave you emotionally spent and leave you questioning things about yourself at every turn, pick up The Walking Dead. I almost shed a tear at the ending. That's how good this game is. A masterpiece, and in my opinion, the definitive zombie narrative. Expand
  31. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Personally, I am not surprised on the positive reviews this game has been getting. The comic-book style graphics and emotional story are great. The ending where Clementine has to shoot Lee is tearful, but this game is an emotional, suspenseful video game. Expand
  32. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt, the finest story of any game I've every played. All five episodes culimnate into an emotional experience unlike many found in film, television, of even any event in my short life on this earth. My tears have dried, yet the attachment to the characters I'd crossed paths with with never leave my memories and will forever change all relationships I have until I graduate from this life. If you can, you really should invest the time to live a short time with Lee and foster the relationship with Clementine and the colorful cast of characters involved in this masterpiece. Do yourself the favor of the $25 investment. It's much cheaper than a visit to a theripist and you'll get more done. Expand
  33. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    The Walking Dead series is a series unlike any which i have ever played before, and I mean that in the best way possible. I'm not here to review the whole season, so lets just jump to episode 5. This episode may even surpass episode 2 in greatness (don't get me wrong, i loved them all, just some more than others). There are some tough decisions, and past choices may come to haunt or help you, your relationships with characters become much more apparent, and it's all done so well. I've never felt so attached to characters, Now onto the next topic, the characters. Telltale did a fantastic job designing them and giving them all distinct personalities. There are also some big revelations in this episode, like why Lee was arrested (a more in depth description), or who the man on the radio is. All of these are handled well, and take you by surprise when you know the answer. Now onto the ending. Lets just say that this was the first video game ever to make me cry, in a tragic or heartwarming way, you ask? Well i guess you'll just have to play to find out. I want to applaud Telltale for their masterful work on this game unlike any other. The Walking Dead gets a 10, out of 10. Expand
  34. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    I just finished this game, and now see why it deservingly won game of the year. It's better than the tv show. I didn't think that a videogame could get me as emotionaly invested in a story and characters as this has. Congratulations Telltale Games.
  35. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I am giving this a 10, not only for it's ability to engage the player in the story, or because of the awesome characters, but because it is on a VERY short list of games where I've cried at the end. This game finishes with such power, that you're journey readies you to accept what comes to happen. I actually felt for the characters the entire time, something which isn't to common in regards to many simple FPS' or such. Astounding. Expand
  36. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    This is the best episode by far. It was an emotional masterpiece. The conversation with the campman and the last scenes with Clementine were perfectly executed. The episode is a bit short though at around 1-1.5 hrs and the cliffhanger aftercredit-scene leaves many questions. Still, this was the best game in 2012 for me.
  37. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    The finale of the first season, No Time Left is emotionally captivating, beautifully composed (music), and phenomenally written. The Walking Dead The Game told an incredible story that is a huge payoff for all the time and decision making that went into it. Highly recommend it!
  38. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Epic! I can't believe how amazing this last episode was... thanks for keeping me interested the whole time and going out with a bang! This is not an action game, but a game with a great story with deeply defined characters.
  39. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    An amazing experience and an achievement in storytelling through the use of video games. I felt attached to all of the other characters towards the games conclusion due to the fantastic writing by Telltale. It's conclusion is sad but both satisfying as it will keep players hooked for the wait of Season 2. in my opinion, this was not only the best game of 2012, it's ranks up to being one of the best games ever created. You'll see what I mean once you complete Episodes 1-5. Expand
  40. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    This is a beautiful, satisfying, cinematic end to one of the best (if not THE best) games of the year. Playing this game and particularly this episode was one of the most emotional video game experiences of my life and I will never forget it. If you've been on the fence about buying this game, jump. Go buy this game.
  41. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    Stand with your legs shoulder length apart but don't tense your muscles.
    One should be like water, able to roll and flow as necessary.
    When an opportunity presents itself be sure to strike and allow your body to follow through.
    Do not hesitate. Not even for a second. And never, never look away.
  42. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    The game-play is blissfully fluid throughout the series, making for a masterpiece both in storytelling and interaction. Just wonderful, and worth every praise and cent put onto it.
  43. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Before playing episode 5, be sure to have a box of tissues to your side, because you'll be needing it. While I don't believe that the Walking Dead is the first example of a game with minimalist gameplay and excellent story, I do believe that it's one of the best. Any game that can bring me to tears deserves my recommendation.

    9.4/10
  44. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    An emotional climax to this epic 5 piece episode series about two people trying to survive in the dark, gritty place we call earth. Telltale has done it, and they will soon do it again.
  45. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    This episode confirms The Walking Dead as my favorite story-line in any video game ever. Although it is only 1 hour 30 minutes and extremely linear this episode is less about exploration and more about the conclusion of Lee and Clementine's story, which is so beautifully done. Hands down a must buy for absolutely everyone. A phenomenal game!
  46. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    This is easily the best episode yet with the dark atmosphere and amazing emotional story that's believable a bad ass scene that I won't spoil for you and a conclusion ripe for expansion if you like a story based game buy the entire Walking Dead episodic series and if you liked the other episodes why the hell haven't you already bought it? play this game in the dark with headphones and a box of tissues and get ready for a feels trip Expand
  47. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    Fantastic game. If you have the opportunity to pick up this game, GET IT. The story itself isnt perfect, and now completing the entire game [or season 1 at least] I can say there were moments I would have liked to see or would have done differently. HOWEVER - The great news is, that this is still a helluva great game and should not be missed my anyone. The story is just so personal and the characters so believable that it has been a LONG time since I have actually given a crap about characters in a video game. The ending was poignant and well done, and makes me all the more excited for season 2.
    ...
    If nothing else, fans should be glad for getting a well-respected ending that deserves their time and newcomers should be excited to take part in this
    Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jan 16, 2013
    92
    Telltale's best episode yet is a fitting end for their landmark series of story-driven games. [Feb 2013, p.88]
  2. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    The biggest issues wind up coming from the rushed nature of the season-with a little more polish and a couple more once-overs of the script, I'd definitely love this game a lot more, but as it is, there are just enough problems to keep it from greatness.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    93
    No Time Left ventures into masterpiece territory, particularly when considered in relation to the episodes that came before.