User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 190 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 190

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Mere words cannot relate what a very special game this is. It's one of the best if not the best games I've played, and I've been a keen gamer for 25 years or more. This truly is a real leap forward for storytelling in video games. I did not just play this I lived it. You owe it to yourself to play this game. Go on enjoy. You'll be left affected long after the end credits roll. Thank you TellTale for making this game. More of the same please. Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    I just finished this game, and now see why it deservingly won game of the year. It's better than the tv show. I didn't think that a videogame could get me as emotionaly invested in a story and characters as this has. Congratulations Telltale Games.
  3. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I am giving this a 10, not only for it's ability to engage the player in the story, or because of the awesome characters, but because it is on a VERY short list of games where I've cried at the end. This game finishes with such power, that you're journey readies you to accept what comes to happen. I actually felt for the characters the entire time, something which isn't to common in regards to many simple FPS' or such. Astounding. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    It sounds like waxing ecstatic here, but the greatness of this game cannot be overstated when judged within the realm of gaming. Is it a literary masterpiece on par with War & Peace? Probably not, but it does hold more than its own when compared with some of the mindless, lazy, drivel coming out of Hollywood these days. While it may not be a cutting edge experience in terms of game play, it absolutely sets the bar in terms of interactive storytelling. In spite of the fact that it doesn't break any new ground technically, its writing and art-direction alone should be enough for GOTY consideration. At the very least, it should have some of the giants in this field (I'm talking to you Activision and EA Games) doing a real assessment of the quality of the experiences they are producing in their games. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    I am going to be honest. Until the Walking Dead game series that Telltale has brilliant crafted, I cannot remember the last time I played a point and click adventure game, but I sure am glad I tried it again. Throughout the entire series, I saw my choices have an influence on what happened later in the episode or in later episodes, but never as much as that that is seen in the final episode "No Time Left." Telltale has successfully created a game that blends a unique art style, wonderful voice acting and a story that is probably the best story you'll play this entire year to create a series that, I believe, will have an impact on the future story development of video games. After playing through all of the episodes, I can definitely say that this was the most enjoyable episode, previously episode 2. It is such a delight to see how Telltale managed to bring the entire story together. The emotion that is brought out by the story and voice acting is so powerful, I almost cried at certain parts. I don't want to spoil the ending, but let's just say I can't wait for Telltale's newly announced Season 2. If you haven't played this game yet, you owe it to yourself to play all of the episodes. Telltale's series is not perfect, but the way they brought it all together at the end makes you understand why this game should be considered for game of the year. I would give it a 9.5/10. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    This is the best episode by far. It was an emotional masterpiece. The conversation with the campman and the last scenes with Clementine were perfectly executed. The episode is a bit short though at around 1-1.5 hrs and the cliffhanger aftercredit-scene leaves many questions. Still, this was the best game in 2012 for me.
  7. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    This was the perfect ending to a brilliant game. Every decision I've made through the game seemed to come back to haunt me, it made me uneasy and at points made me feel like a monster but I loved every minute of it. This is one of the best games of the year and it was made with a pretty small budget. Other game developers should take note that powerful emotions in a game are far more effective than nice looking graphics. 10/10. Expand
  8. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    It is a rare experience when you are drawn into a story to such a degree where it effects your feelings long after the story ends. We see it in the movies at times, but in the video gaming industry, its practically non-existent. That is; not until this game. This "game" has superseded the emotional impact of the actual series its based upon. No matter how much hope you create in the world of the Walking Dead, its an illusion. Hope doesn't exist in this world, and the choices I made brought an attachment to the story unlike any movie I have ever seen. I created my own hope for each character and I had to live with the decisions I made. Even if the decisions really didn't really deviate from the story's path, the fact that I made decisions, good or bad, brought a level of attachment that I found unique in storytelling. The Walking Dead is a monumental achievement. It deserves an Oscar. Animated movies have won Oscars, why not a video game? Is this game that good? Absolutely! Expand
  9. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game. If you have the opportunity to pick up this game, GET IT. The story itself isnt perfect, and now completing the entire game [or season 1 at least] I can say there were moments I would have liked to see or would have done differently. HOWEVER - The great news is, that this is still a helluva great game and should not be missed my anyone. The story is just so personal and the characters so believable that it has been a LONG time since I have actually given a crap about characters in a video game. The ending was poignant and well done, and makes me all the more excited for season 2.
    ...
    If nothing else, fans should be glad for getting a well-respected ending that deserves their time and newcomers should be excited to take part in this
    Expand
  10. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    Hard to criticize this game its just so damn near perfect, I'm sad its over, and would have liked to have one more season just to learn a little more about some of the newer characters and the story, but overall epic story.... perfect ending, not buggy at all, not a rip off either. Excellently made, and a thriller to get you into the next season which we all see coming. Story-10, gameplay-10, characters-10, emotion-10, graphics- who cares, everything else-10. Not a lot of creative elements but I can't complain here Expand
  11. Aug 21, 2013
    8
    Season 1 of The Walking Dead ends as a real triumph for Telltale Games. The branches of the storyline tie together well. Decisions become even more heart-wrenching. Our favourite characters are put in even more danger. The ending itself is worth a 10. Rarely have I felt so much emotion in playing a videogame or even watching TV/movies. There is also a silent conversation within the episode that is laced with tension and proves that decisions you made previously WILL come back to haunt you!

    However, I have scored this episode an 8 for two reasons. Firstly, I felt that some of the decisions that certain characters made were a little bit out-of-character particularly when they may be sacrificing something to save other members of the group where there were prior tensions or even hatred. Secondly, the episode felt short. This is positively an interactive movie with very few puzzles, some simple real-time events, and the ending seems to come across you quickly. This may possibly be due to my earlier decisions in that characters had died?

    There are more huge decisions to make. One decision, made towards the beginning of the episode, helps to prove the notion that some outcomes are fate, and the helplessness of the situation will promote the strongest emotions in the player.

    One quick thought on the ending. Without spoilers, ensure that you wait until after the credits as the "true" ending is shown then. I was very disppointed with the ending. I suppose that Telltale had to keep it fairly ambiguous as different players would have made vastly different decisions. However, my recommendation to Telltale for season 2 will be to develop a more satisfying ending. They may need to produce a number of alternative endings to fully satisfy, and conclude, the branching storylines.
    Expand
  12. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This is the definitive Walking Dead experience. Rick, Carl, and Andrea can all be devoured by walkers for all I care. Give me Lee, Kenny, and Clem any day. Playing any other game immediately after playing an episode of this game feels meaningless and hollow. There is more emotion and strong character moments in one hour of this game, than in any other triple A title to come out this year. I cannot say enough good things about this series. If you haven't played it yet, you are sorely missing out. But be forewarned, this game will reduce you into an emotional pile of goo. It took every ounce of my manliness not to burst into tears after playing this. I cannot wait for the next season to start. Expand
  13. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    The finale of the first season, No Time Left is emotionally captivating, beautifully composed (music), and phenomenally written. The Walking Dead The Game told an incredible story that is a huge payoff for all the time and decision making that went into it. Highly recommend it!
  14. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Epic! I can't believe how amazing this last episode was... thanks for keeping me interested the whole time and going out with a bang! This is not an action game, but a game with a great story with deeply defined characters.
  15. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    a little too shot but who the **** cares, this is probably one the very best episodes they have ever provided. One of the most emotionally invested games in gaming history only for the price of 5 bucks. Manly tears were shed at the end of this story.
  16. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    From the previous four episodes, The Walking Dead game was a big contender for Game of the Year. After finishing the fifth, I am already assured this is definitely the game of the year, without question. The stylish graphics and the gameplay is much the same from the previous games. But this has probably the best conclusion I've ever seen in a game. This game moved me absolute tears, more than any form of media has in this Millennia. It's not an over-exaggeration. It is that good. The decisions here come to full fledge here to make this more than just a game. It's an experience

    Do yourself a favour and play this magnificent series.You won't regret it and will be one of the best (if not the best) way to spend your money on entertainment this year
    Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    While it was the shortest episode it was also a great ending. The entire series was a great experience as well as a captivating story. Telltale has given us an instant classic allowing us to live and make crucial decisions in a zombie appocolipse.
  18. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Honestly the greatest game I have played in a long time 10/10 so many manly tears shed after this episode. Game of the year this game is **** beautiful
  19. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    The Walking Dead has entertained from beginning to end, a powerful and emotive story mixed with clever gameplay makes TWD my GOTY. With Lee running out of time to find Clementine due to the ending of Episode 4: Around Every Corner, he and the remaining group members must search Savannah for her, to get her back, to find her kidnapper and to live another day. Here is a to a great year of TWD and here is to The Walking Dead: The Videogame Season 2 Expand
  20. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    I thought the season finale would of disappointed, but boy was I wrong! I actually liked the storyline to this game better then the TV series. So many emotions towards the end will leave you wanting more, Season 2
    could not come any sooner. GOTY winner for me, Hands down!
  21. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Legendary ending for an epic game, last episode was tense (the good kind, not the cheap b movie kind) from beginning to end. Every episode had me playing them the moment I got any free time from beginning to finish in one go, and this last one, I don't even know if it were shorter than the rest or it was so time flew by.
  22. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    aortaclogger, you can't wait 5 minutes for a cut scene to play out? ADHD anyone? Anyway, the ending is pretty satisfying and I think this was a success for TellTale. Next installment should have less of a buggy delay when performing an action and some better gameplay, but the story telling and dialog is near perfect. Definitely a fun (and different) type of ride.
  23. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Prepare to ball your eyes out, this is the most emotional story ever. No movie or game will ever draw you in as much as the characters and although the ending isn't happy it is amazing.
  24. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    An amazing experience and an achievement in storytelling through the use of video games. I felt attached to all of the other characters towards the games conclusion due to the fantastic writing by Telltale. It's conclusion is sad but both satisfying as it will keep players hooked for the wait of Season 2. in my opinion, this was not only the best game of 2012, it's ranks up to being one of the best games ever created. You'll see what I mean once you complete Episodes 1-5. Expand
  25. 4DI
    Nov 21, 2012
    10
    What can I say? I'm speechless.
  26. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Phenomenal, this should be the word you choose to describe this entire experience. The writing held up from beginning to end. The game made you interact and bond with the characters, made you LOVE Clementine. There has absolutely been no other experience quite like Walking Dead: The Video Game. The art style used to make the game feel a lot more unique succeeded tremendously well, this combined with the animation work makes the game feel especially unique and add to the character of the whole experience. Episode 5 has you make a tough choice right from the beginning, what that is though, i'll leave you find out for yourself. In conclusion this game DESERVES Game Of The Year 2012 Expand
  27. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    This is a beautiful, satisfying, cinematic end to one of the best (if not THE best) games of the year. Playing this game and particularly this episode was one of the most emotional video game experiences of my life and I will never forget it. If you've been on the fence about buying this game, jump. Go buy this game.
  28. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Hands down the best game I have ever played in terms of story, connection between characters and players. This morning as I finished this game at about 8am for the final 5 minutes of dialogue between our main characters I began crying, when the title screen came up I for a moment felt angry "Wait, WHAT? That's it", when it showed me all the characters I'd come in contact with over the past 7 months a deep pain set in and I felt bad for some of the things I'd done, and I cried for them. When the credits ran and the lyrics said "take us back oh take us back" I couldn't stop myself from heaving heavy sobs and wishing that for these 12 digital people we could have stayed away from the place that doomed them. It is so powerful and potent of an ending that I'm not sure I'll be able to play my alternate save right away. It's an hour and a half later and I'm still trying to disconnect and get ready for work this morning. This was everything that Kirkman brought to the comics, the sense of dread and never ending sorrow, it is something we are just starting to see in the show. I applaud telltale for not falling into the typical zombie game pitfalls and trying to tidy it all up and keep us all happy, for making me wonder where my beloved characters are. In staying true to the spirit of Kirkman they surpassed him in devastation. Expand
  29. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This game is one of the most intense emotional experiences I've ever had. The story is incredibly emotional, and the way that TellTale weaves your choices into the final episode is amazing. Because of this, you don't play as Lee, you ARE Lee. If you want flashy graphics or intense game play, look elsewhere. If you want a truly fantastic experience in interactive storytelling which will leave you emotionally spent and leave you questioning things about yourself at every turn, pick up The Walking Dead. I almost shed a tear at the ending. That's how good this game is. A masterpiece, and in my opinion, the definitive zombie narrative. Expand
  30. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    Stand with your legs shoulder length apart but don't tense your muscles.
    One should be like water, able to roll and flow as necessary.
    When an opportunity presents itself be sure to strike and allow your body to follow through.
    Do not hesitate. Not even for a second. And never, never look away.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jan 16, 2013
    92
    Telltale's best episode yet is a fitting end for their landmark series of story-driven games. [Feb 2013, p.88]
  2. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    The biggest issues wind up coming from the rushed nature of the season-with a little more polish and a couple more once-overs of the script, I'd definitely love this game a lot more, but as it is, there are just enough problems to keep it from greatness.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    93
    No Time Left ventures into masterpiece territory, particularly when considered in relation to the episodes that came before.