Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Walking Dead: Season Two continues the story of Clementine, a young girl orphaned by the zombie apocalypse. Left to fend for herself, she has been forced to learn how to survive in a world gone mad. Many months have passed since the events seen in Season One of The Walking Dead, and Clementine is in search of safety. But what can an ordinary child do to stay alive when the living can be just as bad – and sometimes worse – than the dead? As Clementine, you will be tested by situations and dilemmas that will test your morals and your instinct for survival. Your decisions and actions will change the story around you. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Feb 3, 2014
    85
    The first episode of the second season is the beginning of something beautiful. The emotional and impressive story is still there and Clementine is the perfect person to bring us through the emotional rollercoaster that is The Walking Dead.
  2. 85
    Telltale has a lot to deal with out of the gate for All That Remains, and is successful managing most of it. It still doles out plenty of handwringing, emotional moments (in both brutal and overarching flavors), but we’re waiting for Telltale to tie this package together in a truly satisfying manner.
  3. Dec 19, 2013
    80
    A great way to begin the second season. Playing with Clementine is great, dialogue mechanics are still enjoyable and action sequences, inspired by those from The Wolf Among Us, are happily more dynamic. A very promising inaugural episode, indeed.
  4. 80
    All That Remains is a strong season premiere that plays it safe in design terms, but makes bold decisions elsewhere. Heart-rending and brutal, it's a downbeat debut episode that shows plenty of promise. Here's hoping the next five can live up to it.
  5. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    The lack of clear black and white moral choices is as refreshing as it ever was, even if this season opener seems to hint at a slight change in tone.
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    70
    The seeds of a story are there, however, and we can only hope that the writers are more confident grasping this particular nettle in future episodes.
  7. Feb 4, 2014
    70
    All That Remains is a bit rougher than I would've liked and not much got established, but I have confidence that the team at Telltale can turn out a good experience. I'm definitely looking forward to seeing where this goes.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    If you were a fan of Season 1 then this Season 2 is exactly what was anticipated and more. It would of been easy for them to play it safe and just extend the original story of Clementine, tying up loose ends as they go... But they haven't. They've broke new grounds in terms of narrative and decision making and emotional moments all of which is what made Season 1 so great. The amazing thing is that in a zombie world, the last thing you'd want to be is a little girl. And that's exactly how this game makes you feel, a vulnerable child being thrown from pillar to post in order to ensure survival. They've done an amazing job truly making you feel in the shoes of Clementine. After the first episode, there's so much room for growth. So far this hasn't disappointed! Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    I can say that I gave WD1 a 10 and I was afraid that playing as Clem would ruin the experience. I can say that it has changed but it is still a very great experience. My rating is for season 2 as a whole and not this particular one, they are all great. Again this absorbs you into an interactive movie, where you sit on the edge of your seat making all the hard choices. Can't wait to finish the season. Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The walking dead season two kicks off to a awesome start First you meet up with Christa and Omid but Omid is shot, we then visit Doc Brown to travel to the future of 16 months later where all of a sudden Clementine is separated from Christa and must SURVIVE on her own... Most epic episode ever... And for those who say I'm dead, I'm.Not.Dead. Expand
  4. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. [Condensed]

    Concept: Take control of the darling Clementine this time around, with no Lee to save you or otherwise spare you from the horrible reality that is the zombie apocalypse from the mind of Robert Kirkman and the folks at Telltale weaving this new tale.

    Graphics: The dark tone, yet comic look is much the same as the original season and the 400 Days episode without much change aside from some lighting and angled effects.

    Sound: The tense and dreary tones continue to inspire and instill fear and anxiety in the hearts of even the most ready zombie apocalypse survivors.

    Playability: The controls work a little bit better in action sequences, but are largely the same as their season one counterparts in handling and layout.

    Entertainment: Although whether or not it is entertainment or moral torture is not clear, even now, the captivating world and continued cast of colorful characters astounds.

    Replay Value: Moderately High.

    Overall Score: 8.0
    Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    The Walking Dead: Season 1 ranks in my top ten games of the PS3/Xbox 360 era. Telltale games completely revitalized the point-and-click genre that I enjoyed so much when I was younger and Lucas Arts was churning out classic after classic. The tradeoff, however, from those days of Sam and Max and Indiana Jones is that the puzzles have diminished in complexity in almost the same degree that the story and emotional involvement in the game have increased. Unfortunately, The first chapter of Season 2 sees a further drop in the complexity in the logical puzzles which Clementine encounters; but the story the characters, and Clementine’s difficult choices are on par with the best moments of Season 1.

    Telltale Games once again shows the humanity of the people scattered about the increasingly resource-scavenged and dangerous landscape. People are pushed into desperation and enough time has gone by since the beginning of the infection that people have adapted and have become consumed with the reality of a situation that just does not seem to get better. Some are even facing the prospect of bringing new life into this living hell. People distrust out of past trauma and are territorial and selfish of possessions out of a strict sense of survival the smallest of generosities, then, can make an average person look a paragon. In this world, the characters are consistent and believable; they act as I imagine people would in these situations, and therefore I can become emotionally tied to this story care about the decisions I make.

    Telltale takes these decisions and fashions a unique experience for each player.
    Personally, I weighed my decisions and made them, as best I could, in the role of the Clementine that perhaps I would perhaps have turned out to be given all that had happened. I measured the loss, the lassitude, and the uncertainty of the times and made choices that showed the effects of Clementine’s childhood being stripped in a death-soaked, paranoid world. At these moments, the game simultaneously became superb storytelling and cause for introspection.

    Still, this is an interactive game and as such, is a bit weak. Action-wise there were some great moments where I was pounding my controller’s button with genuine desperation and panic, but there were also some moments where only the most minimal effort on my part was enough to see me through a very perilous situation safely. The puzzles, as well, were also far too easy this time around. The range of exploration was quite small and the use and function of nearly all items was clear even before they were picked up. No one expects Telltale to produce a game like Dark Souls, but cleverer problem-solving and more challenging action sequences would definitely be welcome.

    This current chapter is a bit disappointing in terms of play, but the gnawing sense of anticipation I feel to be able to place this episode into its full-season context assures me that these games are truly something special.
    Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    Clementine picks up the story of the Walking Dead really well and is still a fantastic and sympathetic character despite being 2 years older. The decisions and consequences return and it is really well written. Disappointingly it is very short at 1 hour 45 minutes tops, but it bodes well for the rest of series 2. Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2014
    6
    First, don't be fooled, your choices don't matter; they are just cosmetics. Not the end of the world really, it's still a good game overall.

    But you should buy/play the "game" once the five chapters are released. Because Telltale don't respect their deadlines and troll you on twitter if you're not a shill/drone. Not a surprise since they now have four projects to handle (TWD2, TWAU, GOT and Borderlands). Sadly too much for them, if you ask me...
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews