Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    95
    With the second episode of Season 2 of The Walking Dead, TellTale delivers it's best episode yet. Everything you want from this kind of story driven game is here: difficult choices that really matter, a high pace and no glitches or technical difficulties. You are probably already invested in the story, but if you still need to begin with this great series, this is the time to do so.
  2. 90
    I think that is perhaps the testament to what Telltale Games does best with its stories - when the team can put an emotional punch in there that simply resonates for hours or even days at a time. This was an excellent episode that did precisely that for me.
  3. Mar 10, 2014
    90
    We may have passed the watershed for interactive storytelling of this nature some years back, but Telltale continue to refine and polish their craft to such an extent that even the misery of the narrative can’t hold us back from wanting more.
  4. 90
    A House Divided makes a strong case for being the best episode of Telltale’s Walking Dead series to date, but it’s more amazing to think on what's being set up for the rest of the season.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    90
    A great representation of what Telltale does best: engrossing us in a dark world of secrets and deceit, where the walkers aren’t the only monsters lurking in the shadows.
  6. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    The acid test will be if Telltale then carry these decisions through the remainder of the season...Which, fortunately, is set up terrifically by this second episode. A House Divided does occasionally suffer from its position as a bridge, rattling exposition off in order to set up the subsequent episodes, but it performs its role with real élan.
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    80
    A House Divided sees Clementine's new group finally developing a little bit. It does the episode some favors. It focuses more on what makes The Walking Dead so great: conversations and confrontations. After this second episode you'll have made enough choices to affect the rest of the season.
  8. Mar 6, 2014
    80
    A solid episode that raises the cast and the plot of this second season. Clem is a great protagonist, cleverly designed to be both strong and fragile, but many situations are too much familiars for the fans of The Walking Dead.
  9. Mar 5, 2014
    80
    A very tense episode that messes with our mind as we talk more with people and groups, and brilliantly introduces someone who's probably going to be a great archvillain for this season.
  10. This episode ends on a doozy of a cliffhanger, but as a fan of the comics (and to a lesser extent, the TV show), I'm worried it's straying into another kind of scenario we've seen played out several times before. Here's hoping Telltale proves me wrong. Keep that hair short.
  11. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    While the first episode was too perfunctory in how it set the stage and got everything into motion, you can now see both the story and the characters taking shape and evolving. This slow-burn approach should continue to pay dividends as the saga matures in future episodes.
  12. Apr 27, 2014
    70
    Another good episode, but the QTEs need to go - this is a game you play for the story, so scenes like the one below just don't need to be interactive. [Issue#110, p.74]
  13. Mar 8, 2014
    60
    A House Divided is the weakest episode, by far, in Telltale’s Walking Dead series. Much of the action and plot “twists” are predictable and don’t hold nearly as much weight as in previous episodes.
  14. Apr 7, 2014
    50
    The core of the Walking Dead experience depends on the writers making a connection with the player, and for me right now, that's just not there. Without that, I'm just going through the motions without much worry over the consequences.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Again, The Walking Dead leaves me absolutely speechless. Another excellent episode with emotion, twists and turns. Dialog and multiple choicesAgain, The Walking Dead leaves me absolutely speechless. Another excellent episode with emotion, twists and turns. Dialog and multiple choices are as good as ever. This is summing up to be just as good as the 1st season of Walking Dead! Masterful episode, can't wait for the next one. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2014
    8
    This episode was one of the best in the series. A lot of action, drama, and the plot for this episode was near perfect, not to mention theThis episode was one of the best in the series. A lot of action, drama, and the plot for this episode was near perfect, not to mention the return of one of the most loved characters in Season One. Full Review »
  3. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    The Walking Dead Season 2 Episode 2: A House Divided left me extremely excited for the rest of the season. The story is better than ever, andThe Walking Dead Season 2 Episode 2: A House Divided left me extremely excited for the rest of the season. The story is better than ever, and it runs relatively well, despite some framerate issues. Aside from that, this episode is flawless. Full Review »