Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    90
    Amid the Ruins ends abruptly, but the cliffhanger serves to amp up the suspense for the finale.
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    80
    Season 2 of The Walking Dead shows its first cracks. Relationships are just not that important anymore. Amid the Ruins is still a good episode though. We hope Telltale Games glues everything back together in an amazing series finale.
  3. Jul 30, 2014
    80
    My gut feeling is that a player could easily skip the past events and get just as much value out of Amid The Ruins— maybe more.
  4. Jul 24, 2014
    80
    One of the best episodes of the series. As we keep on wondering what is best for Clem and have to take more difficult decisions, our heroin becomes the true boss of this group which is not really in good shape. More tension, people coming, other leaving, shocking deaths : the last episode is going to be exhausting.
  5. Jul 24, 2014
    80
    Amid the Ruins has great moments but isn't the best episode in terms of climax. However, it's a good step before the final stop in Clem's journey.
  6. 70
    Amid the Ruins did do a nice job in setting up a finale.
  7. Sep 9, 2014
    60
    It’s just a shame that a promising start has once again been squandered at the penultimate point, leaving a great deal of damage control to be done in the finale.
  8. Jul 25, 2014
    60
    Too many random problems arise and detract from the main issues of the story, leaving Amid the Ruins feeling like a weird valley right before the hopeful peak of the season finale.
  9. Jul 22, 2014
    60
    Episode 4: Amid the Ruins is the weakest episode of The Walking Dead: Season 2. Despite its major changes -- both regarding Clementine as a character and the roles of those around her -- there are too many out-of-left-field events to build tension convincingly.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Aug 6, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I think this episode is a solid one, for me it is definitely better than episode 3. The story is quite predictable, however, the intro and the ending are well-done. And this episode has both dark and funny moments. I am so glad that I can get rid of Sarah. Full Review »
  2. Aug 5, 2014
    8
    The Walking Dead: Season Two Episode 4 - Amid the Ruins is one of the the weakest episodes so far, but that does not mean it isn't a great piece of storytelling. Episode 4 starts off in the climactic ending of it's predecessor, giving us an action packed stressful intro but it seams like your previous decisions didn't affect your relationships with the other characters. Amid the Ruins has some great dark choices but they don't really affect what will happen, characters are killed off because the writers couldn't find space for them in the finale and the crappy villains don't help, yet the episode has a lot of high points, you develop relationships with different characters and you see a lot of their breaking points. Amid the Ruins does a great job of setting up the finale and end's with a brilliant cliffhanger that will make want to build a TARDIS so you don't have to wait another 2 months. Full Review »
  3. Jul 25, 2014
    8
    The Walking Dead: Season Two Episode Four- Amid the Ruins is a lot slower of an episode than the prior ones. This episode clearly sets up the finale with its ending, but that's about all it does. Thankfully, it does that successfully. Full Review »