User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 391 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    2
    I remember when a Dragon Age 2 developer hopped on here to shower praise on their half assed game. Seems alot like what's going on here. reviews that read like a promo cash in. So, show of hands...how many that scored it 10 are employed by Activision, AMC or Terminal Reality? Ya I figured.
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    4
    I checked a few of the 10/10 reviews and they were first time reviews, on only this game. They seem like mark bots. So either fans talking up the franchise or company employees or trolls. Either way, don't believe it. I'd buy this game for $15 max and that is because I'm a chump for zombie games. Terrible graphics, stupidest a.i. I have seen in years and bad plot. Shame on an otherwise decent series. It is an obvious money grab with no effort put in. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    2
    Oh dear...another cash in.

    This game is a dreadful FPS. It looks like it was made in 2005 not 2013.

    Don't be fooled, this is not on par with the excellent series and looks like the result of a rushed, mess created to satisfy those who moaned that the first walking dead was a point and click.

    At the end of the day this game smell of ploppy pants and doesn't deserve your cash.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    3
    OOOO dear itz so beefy....poor graphics even by beefys standards, chucklevision walker a.i., only reedeming features are the beefy theme tune and the main actors voice overs....da rest, as they say, IS BEEFY
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    1
    I love the series and I loved telltale's game so I thought this follow the succes the series is having.
    Well I think it could have been a great game but somewhere in 2004-2005 then. I've seen tons of glitches and bugs in the environment and AI. The grafics feel like i'm playing duke nukem forever again. I think that a lot of people will buy it without knowing anything about this game.
    It's short, no co-op, no effort at all really.
    Everything has been done a lot better already so this really just is a way to make quick cash abusing the good name of that the walking dead has. I would not recommend this game to anyway, maybe if you get it for free...
    Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    4
    the minute I heard this was from Activision, I knew this was gonna be bad. But then again, I could always be proven otherwise, could be fun like L4D2 which is mindless shooting and is still fun: spoiler, it isn't. don't grab this one
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    This polished piece of crap locked up on me within 5 minutes of gameplay. The textures are hideous and I wish I had never preordered it. I tried to contact customer support but the developers were rude and offered no help. So far it has locked up on me ten times in 2 hours. I'm returning this to gamestop.
  8. Mar 19, 2013
    3
    Terrible game. The developers fail to make a game that grasps the player in the least. The graphics are awful, the gameplay is even worse. Don't even get me started on the story, its full of cliches and cheesy lines. Stay away from this game. Obviously, all of the good user scores are made by the pathetic activision. I would not recommend this game to anyone even to the biggest fans of TWD world.
  9. Mar 21, 2013
    1
    EDIT* Do yourselves a favor and look how many people who gave it a 10 posted separate reviews for multiple systems for this game. Activision literally planted these people to bolster the scores. Their reviews are so off the mark it's so obvious that they're lying. Watch one gameplay video of the game and you'll see how fallacious their reviews are. DO NOT BUY THIS. *EDIT Game is actually pretty bad. Obviously rushed. You can tell from the small things like limited attack animations, barely any variation in zombie character models, bland textures, strained dialogue, maze-like levels that are covered by a veneer of non-linearity, and combat that is so dull you'll wonder why you aren't playing something else while you swing at the same zombie 5 times in a row (hitting their heads, mind you), just waiting for them to die and leave you alone so you can finally get through this barely 5-hour adventure. Expand
  10. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    Wow this game is horrible! The graphics are choppy and so out dated, look at the hair texture on the walkers heads. I mean its like this game was made in someones basement. The AI of the walkers is a joke! They just stand around inn groups and wait to be shot! Its like you have god mode enabled all the time. The control latency is obvious movement feels sludgy and unresponsive. The missions are all the same, campaign is embarrassingly short. With a price of 49.99 at launch that alone should tell you not even activision thinks its a decent game there not even charging you full retail, evem they know this is a sub par game. I would not recommend this title to anyone. DO NOT BUY THIS Expand
  11. Mar 19, 2013
    2
    This game blows massive chunks. Horrible plot and terrible graphics. I had hoped the game would've at least pleased me half as much as the Telltale game... So much for hope.
  12. Mar 21, 2013
    2
    This game felt like it was headed in the right direction then some executive just stepped in and said "Release it now!" despite the fact that it was only half done.

    The controls are the worst example of this half baked feeling. VERY clunky which is a deal breaker in a zombie game where you need fast reflexes to dispatch them in close combat. Weapon swings take SO LONG it would be a
    death sentence to try and fight more than one zombie with just melee weapon swings even with something like a sledge hammer. Bottom line melee in this game is totally broken and useless.

    The best way to kill them is just hitting RB then side stepping behind them for an "execution" which is also WAY too quirky and buggy to work reliably.

    The firearms in the game work fine nothing special but there really no point in using them because they attract every zombie on the map to your location. So the best strategy ends up being to run past everything to the end which you can do on almost every map.

    If you try and go the "stealth" route which is what they clearly push in the game then you can enjoy all the melee bugs and instances of them respawning zombies right behind you to add difficulty. Then also enjoy all those free scratch hits zombies get while you try to melee with their awful combat system.

    The "survivors" you pick up along the way are totally pointless. You can send them out to scavenge but supplies are so plentiful there's never a point to doing this and it ends up being a total waste of time.

    The last level is horrendously bad. I won't spoil it for you but when you finish off the game you will realize just how bad and half baked this game was.

    I would have loved to see what they could have done with more time and money. A better scavenging/survivor system and a much more fluid melee combat system would have propelled this game into the "good" category for sure. Sad to see this get rushed out.
    Expand
  13. Mar 20, 2013
    0
    The game is terrible. Off the gate, the gameplay videos looked terrible. Booting up the game the UI is horrendous and really out dated. The game seems to have been outsourced to college students, but none of them did the work except that one kid that didnt want to get a F.
  14. Mar 24, 2013
    2
    I am a huge Walking Dead fan, but this game........ FANDBOYS, this game isnt worth the effort to defend. I was foolishly hyped up for it due to the excellent game "The Walking Dead", but instead we get a half assed, money grab. Not even the story could save this game!? Stop saying that the lowering of the price or the story. It sucks, its bad, please accept the fact that its bad and stop, watch the show and cry about it. Expand
  15. Mar 27, 2013
    1
    Lets have a look at this game shall we? Invisible walls? Check! A.I. that doesn't work most of the time? Check! Emotion? no.. Immersion? No.. An ending that closes up the story nicely and links to the Tv series? No... Graphics probably made by a monkey? Check! This game is a half arsed unfinished piece of published by greedy 'ol Bobby. Although i do merit the fact the good parts of gameplay were completely ripped off these flash games called "the last stand" which i quite enjoyed when i was a bit younger. Expand
  16. Mar 20, 2013
    1
    If you like the cabela's hunting games then you may like this game. They have similar quality levels. The game is not open world, the environments you do play in are small. I can count the types of loot available on one hand, and the loot that is available is place in obvious places like on tables and desks. The environments are populated by alot of static debris that you can not interact with such as empty food containers that look like they should be useable but aren't. The zombies do not drop any loot. The game literally spawns zombies on top of you...on purpose; you will have no zombies around you and once you interact with a quest item...splat 3 zombies right beside you. They even spawn zombies on you right after cut scenes that force you into quicktime events that can kill you if you fail. You can not manually save, and the automatic save points are far apart when you are spend 30 mins trying to be stealthy searching a build and then die. When you die the game reloads at your last automatic save, meaning any items you have picked up and zombies you have kill are respawned. The combat mechanic is a dead island knock off that is poorly executed. You have a knock back attack that does no damage but keeps 1 zombie from attacking you for 1 second, and you have a swing weapon attack. The weapons take three or 4 hits to the face to kill a zombie and depending on your weapon require you to use the knock-back attack between swings. If you get grabbed by a zombie you are put into a quick-time event where you cross-hairs are swaying back and forth on your screen and you have to target the head of the zombie to stab it; you can get grabbed by multiple zombies back to back and they form a queue on you like their trying to by hotdogs. There are no drivable vehicles, driving is done during the loading screens where you get to watch a red line move on a map...weeee. Weapons do not break. Weapons have a set amount of damage with no range on them, so it always takes the same amount of hits to kill a zombie. The Graphics are last generation quality....animations, environments, characters, etc. Expand
  17. Mar 22, 2013
    3
    Ill save you the time and just tell you now not to buy the game. First off, the gameplay is just sub par. There is nothing really challenging about it, and sometimes the zombies are too stupid to even make good dead people. The graphics are terrible, but that is acceptable to an extent (It not all about the visuals.) But why does it deserve a three? Because i can't think of a SINGLE good aspect of the game short of the Dixon brothers and real voice actors from the TV show. Expand
  18. Mar 19, 2013
    4
    Almost as bad as The Walking Dead: The Game by Failtell Games. Graphics are subpar, story is meh, and the only redeeming quality is the game play which eventually feels kind of meh as well. Funny how people are saying all these things about this game that can also be directed at the Telltale Game failure. At least this has gameplay though.
  19. Mar 20, 2013
    1
    I had been looking forward to this game. RPG and FPS games are mainly what I play, but I did play the tell tale walking dead game (I read the comic, watch the show, blah blah) I thought tell tales game did not have enough options an gave less freedom than what I look for in a game, and plus there was no actual zombie fighting. So you can see why I was thrilled that this FPS game was coming out. First couple of chapters were awesome! I was kicking zombie butt! Then a couple of chapters later in the game you can see that is much more strategy than I feel necessary. There are more zombies and they are even harder to kill (One or the other folks, not both) Without giving a spoiler There are parts in the game that you HAVE to do things a very specific way and if you try to do it a different way you automatically die. Is this a glitch? A major complaint of mine is that there are no difficulty options; I like to play on easy or medium the first time through a game. This game is a difficult one and I like to play casual the first time through to get a feel for the storyline. In Survival Instinct you are too busy looking over your shoulder, while you would think that would make the game feel "authentic", it doesn't. Only being able to keep 10 items on your character? thumbs down. I see a lot of highly positive reviews... I can see that these people are not real gamers, they're walking dead fans which is awesome I like both, but I'm not going to kiss walking dead's ass for making an awful game. I really did have high hopes for this since I love gaming and walking dead, but I'm a gamer first. A note to the creators: I still love you and you can have a second chance. Expand
  20. Mar 20, 2013
    3
    I only picked this up for my enthrallment of the Walking Dead, this kind of killed it a little. I spead ran through the game in 1hr 30mins, the graphics are mediocre at best, the story has it moments but they are few and far between. The $50 new price tag had me skeptical, and now I know why, it is a cash grab before the end of the television season. Needless to say, Gamestop will have an extra copy to sell to a sorry consumer, I am extremely disappointed in this. Expand
  21. Mar 20, 2013
    4
    The Walking Dead is a pretty hot cup of pig fat these days. It's successful as a comic, TV show, video game, and probably bath soap if it doesn't chill off a bit. Now here's something else they've thrown at us, with yet another game those of you paying zero attention will confuse as something it's not. This one has nothing to do with that little bit of episodic business TellTale put out last year. No, this title takes its universe from that fine AMC television program where people get really short with one another and make their most serious faces, until eyes start crossing and forehead veins pop all over Lori's neck and chest.. full review at http://www.bloodwcinnamon.com/rev/walkingdeadsi.html Expand
  22. Mar 19, 2013
    3
    Let's just say that because this game isn't as bad as we thought, doesn't give us an excuse to fool ourselves into thinking this game is decent. We all know the graphics were lackluster in this game, so I will move through that point fast. The graphics are a little better than a ps2 game, maybe early this generation of consoles. The backgrounds looks better than the walkers(only 3 different types) and humans in the game. However, the locations in this game are very generic and boring. Here a few points that I want to hit in this review: As you will notice early on in the game is the combat. While using the knife, you basically have to slap the zombie in the face 4 times causing them to fly backwards as stiff as a board. Later on in the game some melee weapons will allow you to one-hit kill a walker in mediocre style. The knife stealth kill animation is nice at first when you sneak up on walkers, however it gets boring and actually hinders your ability to fight in some aspects. While this animation unfolds, there is no way to stop it, so walkers from all sides of you can hit you while you perform this move. Nevertheless, it would have been nice if they created animations for stealth kills with other weapons, but they didn't. Other weapons can been found such as shotguns, rifles, pistols, a crossbow(of course), axes, bats and other weapons. However, guns usually are the secondary weapon of choice and all guns act the same(since you can only shoot the zombies in the head to kill them). Creating too much noise will cause zombies to come find you(sometimes). That brings me to my next point...the zombie AI. In some situations, the AI is spot on. If you make a noise, they will find you, investigate or they will see you from yards away and confront you. Other times, you can shoot their friend right next to them and they might walk the other way. Also, they cannot reach you if you stand on top of a car or in a train car, giving you the chance to pick them off one by one. This unpredictable nature of the zombies can make the game too easy. Other times, zombies will spawn behind you and overrun you quickly. In this case, there is a real-time event when a zombie grabs you, where you have to line the button up to the zombies head(while pressing it), this in turn puts you one on one with a zombie(in a crowd) and allows you to kill them in one hit. In many cases, it is easier to use this real-time event to your advantage and pick zombies off one by one while fighting a horde. Another way in which this game disappoints is the traveling sequences(staring at a map much of the time), it all gets too predictable over the course of the game. I really wish they allowed you actually drive the vehicle. You can choose three routes(text based choices), which include highways(conserves the most gas). Each of the three choices gives you the chances of finding supplies and breaking down. If you break down, the game will bring you on a side mission to fight a horde of zombies and receive gas and supplies. Again, this gets old after a while. I agree that the inventory works pretty well, where you only have a set amount of space for weapons and supplies. However, collecting the same weapons and supplies over and over(such as energy drinks for health), drags the game down. The voice acting in this game is actually one of the things that shines. Norman and Mike really seem like they put a lot into these roles and make the game bearable. Without those two, the game wouldn't even be worth mentioning. The other survivors do a pretty good job at supporting them, albeit the story is lackluster. One other positive about this game are the survivors. The aspect of having a team and allowing survivors to help you find supplies is a great idea. However, a lot of times the survivors only find 1/3 of what you would find on your own. In most cases the reward isn't that great, but might make a difference when your close to running out of bullets. My final point has to do with the reason many people have bought the game. As a prequel to TWD show, explaining how Daryl got his crossbow. To tell you the truth, I expected an Excalibur moment. Yet, I was very underwhelmed at the point he received his crossbow. I will not go into too much depth, but it was basically like "Oh, ok that's how he got it...that sucked." I feel as though the walking dead's name was sold out here. There was so much source material to make this game great, but it just seems rushed. Also, Merle and Daryl without co-op? What a waste! I really wanted to like this game, since I am a big Walking Dead fan, but it was a 6-7 hour let down. I would say this game is not worth more than $20, if that. There is no game ending glitches that I have noticed yet, but there is nothing special about this game. This game is nothing more than a half-finished disappointment. Expand
  23. Mar 21, 2013
    0
    Ok, let's get one thing straight. This is not Telltale's Walking Dead nor did I expect it to be one, I expected this to be at least enjoyable zombie bashing game, but no. First of all the graphics. Good graphics don't make good game but c'mon! If I pay full retail price for a game I expect to have at least good graphics! This is XBLA quality and this belongs there if even deserving that. Then the enemies, or should I say enemy, the zombie. You basically kill this same zombie a million times over the course of the game, this slow moving, brainless zombie that just comes toward you. I didn't expect them to have stellar AI seeing as they obviously are zombies, but they could've at least thrown some human enemies there, like the comic book, tv show and even Telltale's game had. Human enemies make you see other side of the zombie apocalypse and what people are capable of if they need to survive. The show especially captivates this feeling perfectly. Combat itself is just boring, just boring and boring is the worst sin a game can make. It's not bad story and voice acting, bad gameplay, bad graphics or lots of bugs, those can make the game fun to play even though they're bad, there are lots of examples, but WD:SI is just boring. No game should be boring to play. I just don't understand how people can give this game positive reviews, probably because they don't know better and don't understand the point of Walking Dead, and this isn't Walking Dead. Outside of Daryll, nothing here says Walking Dead. No caring about the people you come into contact with, basically no feel of surviving and it just becomes annoying. People are saying stuff like "fans will love this." NO! Just no! If you're fan, you will stay the f**k away from this, WD franchise doesn't deserve this kind of treatment and fans should be the ones who criticize this game harshly to make developers understand that this kind of s**t is not ok, it's not ok to make bad games and piss in the eyes of fans of this franchise or any franchise. Say no if you're fan of WD, maybe then we could actually get another awesome game like Telltale's WD, or even game like Survival Instinct that ACTUALLY is good. But as long as you people keep giving bad games positive reviews and giving them the assumption that this kind of crap and mediocrity is ok, no. Just say no and make them give us actually good and worthwile games. Expand
  24. Mar 23, 2013
    3
    Instead of the walking dead this game should be named Dead on arrival, or Dead in the water. This is nothing but a cash grab. Is this game worth pulling Ulysses S Grant out of my wallet, heck no! Glad i just rented it. I played better games on my android for free. Shigero Miyamoto said it best "A delayed game is eventually good, but a rushed game is forever bad." Nuff said.
  25. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    The game was decent but got repetetive really quick. You come across the the same areas multiple times and it just doesnt seem much effort was out into this game. The only reason to finish this game is if your a fan of the show. The game is also very short so its just worth a rent.
  26. Mar 23, 2013
    1
    Whoever rated this anywhere near 10, needs to reconsider their purpose in life. Daikatana and Fable 3 must easily be a 15 if this was a 10. The only good thing about this game is laughing at it with other people. But even if you laugh through it, you will end up feeling depressed and feel the need to bash your head against the wall to forget the tragedy which you someone happened to play before reading reviews. The ending is a joke and instantly shows that the game wasn't anywhere near finished. There are no feels in this game. Expand
  27. Mar 21, 2013
    1
    Please. Anyone notice how the high ranked reviews sound suspiciously like they are written by the same people who made the game? few games are beneath contempt, or comment, This one is, partially because such rich source material is wasted...no, INSULTED, by the quality of this game
  28. Mar 22, 2013
    1
    i don't under how people are giving 10/10 to this game, i wonder if they are payed or just dunno are still playing games released 15 years and they are like wow this is a video game and at 40$+ you would expect AAA quality or refund, this worse than War Z and this is not a compliment.
  29. Mar 30, 2013
    0
    I don't understand how it is possible for someone to say anything good about this game. I am a huge Walking Dead fan and wasn't expecting much from this game, however I was shocked at how bad it actually was. Prepare yourself for dull gameplay that is so repetitive, it will make you sick. The fake sweat pouring down the screen is incredibly stupid. This was by far the worst game I played this generation. Anyone who gives this a good review has to be a developer. Unreal that some idiot would give it a 10 then try backing it by saying it was story driven. I give it a 0 due to how many undeserving 8s, 9s, and 10s it received. Expand
  30. Mar 22, 2013
    1
    To keep things short and to the point, this game is not good. Boring, slow game play. Horrible graphics. Decent story. I knew this was gonna be bad from the start, and it was. And as a hardcore fan of the TV series, I am disappointed. The ONLY reason this does not get a zero is because of the voice acting by the characters.
  31. Apr 1, 2013
    4
    Activision's way of "cash-cowing" a popular franchise and advertising with fan-favorite characters. Acting as if they are filling a untold void all fans of the show want to know. All I have to say is: generic and irrelevant. Talk about corporate synergy though.
  32. Apr 24, 2013
    4
    One of my favorite TV shows with Merle and Daryl made into a game was a dream come true. But the end result turned out to be a big disappointment. First of all, the graphics are really muddy and outdated when I started up the game. But i was willingly to looked past that to play the game. The game play itself is nothing amazing but sneaking pass zombies and killing them was pretty enjoyable. I found the assassination animation pretty repetitive and it would have been nice if the developers put different animations for different melee weapons Instead of the same old stab in the head with a knife. The story was bad and the ending was even worst. I enjoyed they the option to choose multiple paths which offers replay-ability. The choice to enlist different survivors was a pretty cool idea but they were completely useless and would be best to leave in the car. You can only have a certain number of survivors with you and you would have to leave someone behind if the car got full. I found it off leaving someone behind without a word of complaint. The only good part of the game is probably the appearance of Merle and Daryl but they barely say anything to increase the value of the game. Overall, the game was rushed and a quick cash in and not worth the buy. Expand
  33. Apr 27, 2013
    2
    Playing through this game I maid a mental checklist of just about everything a game could do wrong. Walking Dead Survival Instinct hit on all of them. Invisible walls, check. Horrible AI, check. Awful graphics, double check. Unresponsive guns that feel like a toy, check. Non-fluid animations, check. I could keep going but you get the point. This game is an insult to gamers and the people who buy games. This should have been a $10 novelty game and even at that price it would deserve the scores it's getting. The game is absolutely horrible with the only redeeming quality being that it's the only shooter where you can live in the Walking Dead world. The devs and the Activision knew full fell this game would be horrible and they are doing damage control with user reviews. It's actually worse than Alien Colonial Marines which I didn't think was possible. Hands down worst game of the year and it's pushing worst game of the decade I've played. There is absolutely no reason why this game should exist. It's only there to trick gamers who don't follow review scores into thinking it's good because of the name only and to spend their hard earned money on this game (not even sure it should be called a game.)

    Avoid at all costs unless you want to rent to find out just how bad it is for yourself like I did.
    Expand
  34. Mar 25, 2013
    1
    This game was not even completed! The animations look unfinished, concepts are there but not fully implemented, almost everything seems half-arsed and rushed. There appears to be no optimization at all. Changing screen resolution and graphics options crashes my game to desktop followed by a bunch of error messages. It's as if this was an alpha build and some idiot in charge said, "Release this now!", and the developers gave up trying to explain to that person that the game wasn't completed. It should have spent a few more months in development. I don't even care that the graphics aren't the best I've seen, I was just hoping for a game that actually worked and was finished, and had all the ideas FULLY implemented into them that were talked about while it was in development; a game that put me into the walking dead world and was tense. I just hate to have to give a game such a low score, but the fact that it was released like this with a $50 price tag ticks me off, and I want everyone to know that they should avoid buying this game like the plague. I seriously doubt they can fix (finish) this game by releasing a series of patches. It's just awful. The one point I do give it for the fact that they put in RPG elements and the ability to lean to look around corners as well as a few other little things. But these little things that might surprise you and make you say, "hey, that is cool!" are just overshadowed by the gut wrenching fact that they are inside of a big steaming pile of over-priced pooh. Expand
  35. Mar 24, 2013
    2
    Huge fan of the television series. Unfortunately this game is nowhere near as good as the show or the Telltale game. This is a rushed title trying to cash in on the popularity of the show. The poor graphics wouldn't be a problem if the game had any substance. There's a total of 3 levels that cycle randomly depending where you stop. The zombies have terrible AI, the animations are horrendous, the voice acting was phoned in and the gameplay is boring.

    If this was a $5 alpha build with claims of further development, I might tell friends to take a chance. But this is a full price pile of doodoo, pure rip-off.
    Expand
  36. Apr 8, 2013
    4
    I'm glad I borrowed this game instead of buying it. There is some fun to be had, but it gets highly repetitious very quick. As far as I can tell, there are only about 6 different zombie faces, so get used to bashing/shooting the same 6 zombies over and over.

    My biggest complaint about this game is the auto-save feature. It doesn't save until you actually accomplish part of the quest or
    a side quest. There's been a couple occasions where I had to replay 15 minutes of the game over because of the auto-save.

    There are some decent aspects of the game. Deciding which survivors to take with you (although I don't understand the whole having a pickup truck and only being able to choose one survivor...you would think the other survivors wouldn't mind getting in the back of the truck), and choosing which route to take when driving (you choose back roads, street, or highway...you don't actually "drive").

    Bottom line, if you don't mind mediocre graphics and endless repetition, then you may really enjoy this game. Otherwise, I highly recommend renting or borrowing from a friend.
    Expand
  37. Mar 27, 2013
    0
    I made it 30 minutes into this game and quit. Its a horrible cash grab, and deserves to be forgotten in a trash bin. The developers must have droped a load in their pants when TellTale's game started winning awards and they knew they had to come out with this trash with a TWD stamp on it.

    Norman Reedus and Michale Rooker, are both amazing actors but this game is sadly not.
  38. Jul 12, 2013
    2
    There really isn't much to say about this game apart from the fact that it is just plain awful I will start with the graphics which are a big thing nowadays. Even on the outdated Xbox 360 console the graphics are bad. This game looks like it is from the play station 2 old Xbox era and I have seen better graphics on Xbox live arcade games. But that's not the biggest thing for some people is it so I'll go say how the story is next If your a big fan of the walking dead like me then I beg you dont buy this game and fall into the trap like me and so many others have done. It's obvious this game was just a money grab and from activision that doesnt suprise me. You may be tempted with it having the dixon brothers in it like me and it also having the actual actors from the show for the voice acting but thats no reason to go and blow your hard earned cash on this crap game. The story is sub-par and doesnt do the show or the dixon brothers the credit and justice they deserve You drive around from place to place with the game actually being scripted I kid you not scripted. When travelling from one destination to another if your hear dialog as you do so you will not I repeat will not find any supplies or have the opportunity to scavenge any places The ending was crappy too and was a huge letdown I managed to scrape through the game and was looking forward to seeing the ending as I thought that would atleast maybe make up for something but it doesnt This game just screams rushed. The gameplay is also very boring too like the story and the zombies are incredibly stupid too you can at times stand behind one for several seconds and they wont even smell you and turn around The zombies also re spawn too when leaving a area and going back Dont buy this game I would suggest renting it at best Expand
  39. Jul 13, 2013
    4
    I am a really big fan of The Walking Dead and this game really pissed me off. The game is short, the game play is repetitive, and Merle is barely in the game! The survivors that you can recruit in your group are useless in this game because when you send them to get supplies, they either come with one piece of food that you have to use on them because they get so up, or they die. And the ending is horrible, even though if one of my favorite levels of the game. I blame Activision Expand
  40. Mar 27, 2013
    0
    This game is utterly terrible, everything in this game is half-assed, from the gameplay to the story to the presentation. Why is it, that most film adaptations have to be THIS bad? And it's also approved by Activision, one of the biggest publishers, this has to be one of the biggest cash in the past few months. This game is a disgrace and absoluitely NO match to the TV-series. It appears this game was made for the uninformed peasants who just buy games after the cover and because of the name. This game is a prime example of today's idiocracy in the gaming industry. STAY CLEAR, this game is NOT worth the money. Pirate it if you really want to play it.. Expand
  41. Mar 23, 2013
    2
    They should rename this title to "The Walking Disappointment". I think its amazing how the leaked trailer that was dismissed by Terminal Reality as not being actual gameplay, but in fact it was an exact representation of the game released! I really wanted this to be something special like TellTales TWD. What this game should of been was a 3rd person open world game! where you can go around Atlanta surviving the outbreak in the same way you do in DayZ, but with a proper story mode with emphasise on the bond between the Dixon brothers as they struggle to survive the outbreak. You could have loot-able shops,house's, cars,warehouse's etc, in this game you cant even break a car window or jump over a small fence to go places that look accessible! The Walking Dead isn't going to stop any time soon! so the quick cash in was totally pointless. They should of taken a leaf from TT's book... oh wait you did, you wrote a review about your own game, like TT's self review of Jurassic Park. Expand
  42. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    The only thing going for the game is the voice over actors Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker which, unfortunately for them cannot do them much good, in fact, I would be pursuing for career damages with this absolute pile of steaming sh!t.
  43. Mar 23, 2013
    3
    As soon as I saw the Activision logo, I knew I was in for a crapfest. This, in no way, can compete with the, in my opinion, phenomenal Walking Dead game by Telltale Games. If you honestly had to make a choice of a Walking Dead game to choose from, pick the amazing Telltale version.
  44. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    It's a real shame Terminal Reality (or Activision but I mostly suspect TR for that, Activision wouldn't be that dumb) are using bots on Metacritic to "boost" their User Score.

    I hope Metacritic techs are saving the IPs user agent of all these 10/10 reviews and doing a little bit of tracing, if that goes unpunished all the shoddy devs like TR will do the same to Metacritic.
  45. Mar 26, 2013
    2
    Awful game. graphics are just awful at least borderland 2 meant to have comic graphics.grass just looks like a cardboard box painted green a laid on the ground.zombies are as stupid as a drunken hobo in fact the only highlight of this game is the voice acting of Norman reedus.do not buy.
  46. Apr 1, 2013
    2
    WTF is this. This was terrible ive never seen anything more poorly excuted in my life. The only positive is the voice acting thats it. The survival aspects are gone in this. You have poor AI for zombies! Really how do mess that up i cant believe it
  47. Apr 5, 2013
    2
    The back story to Daryl and Merle... was a FAILURE. No wow factor, nothing in this game will want you to keep playing to the end. It's pretty bad when you care less about the characters as the LEADS in a game as opposed to the TV show where they are not. This game is worth a play at 10 bucks, but anything more and you're just getting ripped off.
  48. Apr 15, 2013
    3
    Just another rushed game for a quick buck. Boring and repetitive game-play, boring story line, boring weapons. This is one of the worst games I've ever played.

    Wait, I'm confused, EA didn't make this?
  49. Apr 25, 2013
    1
    This game could have been so much more. But it wasn't. When I saw it advertised instead of being excited and interested, I just simply said 'This'll be terrible.' The game itself is broken and the A.I. is that of a wondering sheep in a field.
  50. Apr 27, 2013
    1
    Terrible. It was a good thought for a game but thy should have spent more time with it. Honestly I hated and it was not worth 40 bucks maybe 10 or 15.
  51. Apr 28, 2013
    3
    Is this a prototype? Meh. The AI of the zombies are stupid, Even though guns feel right, everything else doesn't. This is not a survival game this game is meant for the story? Pardon me? The Story is completely A child could of wrote it.. The developers gave the bare minimal effort to create this game, This was only made to get money off of stupid consumers. I mark this as a Scam for the Xbox 360, This was meant for the Playstation 2. Expand
  52. May 19, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game had high hopes for me being a hardcore fan of the series, then I played it, now this game had piss poor graphics to warz standard, and a combat system with duh hit 3 times that'll do it" not much variety at all. So I expected the story and atmosphere to do something, like the telltale game, WRONG linear story, goofy walkers and no feel that the world went to Now there are cool features like going in stealthy or Rambo-ing it up with guns but it made no difference, then there was alternate routes back roads used more fuel but more scavenge opportunities but then highways had lower fuel consumption but you break down more often. This cool except you can take the highways, use less fuel then break down and scavenge for supplies in same gas station you find every time with ZERO variety.
    Then at the end SPOILERS!! you get a cliffhanger ending where Daryl and Merle drive off into the sunset YOU it is mass effect 3 bad.
    Then if you buy the dlc what happens oh some new guns and a absolute survival mode that has 1 map and random weapons spawn. There is no tactics just shoot every thing in sight and drink some soda while your at it.
    So final verdict is rental or pirate it cause it has potential bad terrible execution.
    Expand
  53. Dec 2, 2013
    4
    Nothing more then your average money grab by activation. Poorly executed and rusted, although the game still provides entertainment it's just missing a true story which could of been a masterpiece. Its a shame this happened to such a well known franchise name, looks like another missed opportunity. Would not recommended unless your looking to blow cash or your a serious WD freak.
  54. Jul 5, 2013
    0
    this game is horrible! the A.I. is broken! the game has outdated graphics and there are so many invisible barriers. the walking dead title deserves better than this.
  55. Jul 9, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I didn't mind a few of the bugs, but their were very few memorable characters besides merle and dearl. plus it had the worst ending I have ever seen. it said it was a prequel but it ended with merle pulling you out a evacuation helicopter and saying the pilot was bitten, then you drive out of the evacuation zone. The End. It's a average game, a lot of bugs and glitches, and I only remember 2 of the characters besides dearl and merle. the ending is what got it a 4 out of 10 Expand
  56. Sep 30, 2013
    3
    The Story

    The Walking Dead: Survival Instincts brings you into an apocalyptic world where zombies roam the world. Throughout the game you play as Daryl Dixon, one of the main characters from the television show. In Survival Instincts, the story line gives general players and fans of The Walking Dead and insight look of how Daryl, and his brother Merle Dixon, met up with the main group
    and what they went through before that time occurred as well as show how Daryl achieved his ever-so famous crossbow.

    The Graphics

    Graphics quality in Survival Instincts somewhat lacks a dynamic punch, for example a walkers, otherwise known as a zombie, hair looks like it was made of glue or clay then molded onto the head. However, the diversity of each walkers face has it's own unique pattern of bite marks, scratches, shapes of the jaw, teeth and more, these all add to a good fright factor at the right moment of time e.g in a dark room, turning round and a walker attacks you out of no where. There are a great amount of bugs relating to graphics, such as broken fence pieces still floating midair, gates flashing black when opened, walkers floating when killed. All around missions have invisible walls, preventing you from going further away from the current map without any sort of police barricade, for example, taking away a bit of the realistic touch.

    The Mechanics and sound

    The AI is very sloppy, throughout gameplay I had opened a metal fence and the walkers still attacked the fence, paying no attention to me whatsoever, I then began to kill them one by one. When one walker died another took its place, as if they were lining up to die. The scavenging mechanics allow you to gather survivors and send them out to gather supplies, but the amount of survivors depends on the size of the car you currently have. That said, there are missions that allow you to find car keys to either bigger, or smaller, cars. When sending out survivors to scavenge for supplies, there is always a chance of getting them killed by walkers, depending on what item you give them to defend themselves with as each survivor has their own skill trait such as being good at using blunt weapons. There were countless sound bugs within this game, fences breaking with the sound of wood getting chopped, walkers dying with the sound of a metal fence breaking and more. The game includes a feature where the player can choose a method of travel such as highways, streets and backroads. Depending on what method you choose, one method can either consume less fuel or another method may take a road such as backroads where it consumes a lot of fuel with a high chance of breaking down. If, by chance, your car breaks down or runs out of fuel, a side mission will take place allowing you to scavenge the nearby area for fuel or car hose. The issue with the side missions is that they're very repetitive, as there are about 3-4 different areas.

    The Gameplay

    It felt a bit stiff trying to kill walkers, e.g using the sledgehammer was a lot quicker than normal. One thing that gives a good addition to gameplay is sneaking around, trying to sneak past walkers and stealth killing them by sneaking up from behind and executing the stealth kill action. Like any realistic movie or game, gun fire attracts walkers to your location so be sure to only use your gun in dire situations and ammo is scarce to watch out, you don't want to run out of ammo when you desperately need it. If you ever happen to get grabbed by a walker, it activates a grappling mechanic where the player must place the circle onto the walkers head, activate the attack trigger and stab them in the head. This method breaks fighting gameplay by 50% due to the fact after killing the walker that grabbed you, if there is another walker, it will grab you almost instantly after you let go of the previous walker, this allows you to kill over 15 walkers without using any ammo, losing any health and just drains the fun and realism out of the game entirely. On the last mission, near the very end the last thing you did is mount a military vehicles machine gun and kill any incoming zombies, after which it cuts to black screen and goes to the credits, without showing you how exactly Daryl and Merle met the group like the game was purposely made for.

    Final Verdict

    The game seems rushed, only to gain quick money. For the price of $49.99 or £31.99 makes the game a complete rip off, due to the lack of effort of the game. I feel the only reason others need to buy this game, is to play as Daryl Dixon and get to see Merle, even though he is barely in the game. A poor effort to a great series that could have become something incredible if more time was put into it.
    Expand
  57. Aug 5, 2013
    3
    This is my review for walking dead: survival instinct SINGLE PLAYER: 4/10. good characters, but very poor storytelling and direction GRAPHICS: 3/10. outdated, awful N64 graphics with loads of glitches SOUND: 5/10. legit voice actors, but poor quality otherwise GAMEPLAY: 3/10. sub par controls, loads of glitches, and poor fighting and mechanics FUN FACTOR: 4/10. as a fan of the show, i was very disappointed with this mediocre attempt at the game. good ideas, but terrible execution. man, i wish this game turned out better.
    TOTAL: 3/10
    Expand
  58. Nov 21, 2013
    2
    There are some good things about this game, but they are countered by the many things wrong with this poor excuse for a licensed video game. The graphics are textureless, the story is dull and lacking (especially for walking dead) voice acting is awful, and most of all... there is no replay values. This game could have been soooo much more.
  59. Nov 25, 2013
    2
    This game is a very big deception to the AMC TV show TWD. I love the series but the game is worse that I thought. The story is monotone, the sceneries are always the same as well as the zombies appearance. The graphics and the movements are very limited as well as the gameplay. In this game you don't have an emotion and a connection with your "partners", you can treat them as dolls. The only positive point is: you play with Daryl. Collapse
  60. Feb 7, 2014
    1
    AWFUL!!! Quite possibly the worst game I have played on this console generation. A cash in money grab by Activision to take advantage of fans. I love the walking dead and loved telltales version go buy that not this it's cheaper and more fun and will not make you want to kill yourself. Beware the 10/10 reviews they mostly only have that one review on their account hello Activision staff we are not as stupid as you like to think. Personally I would find a real zombie apocalypse a lot less distressing than playing this game.

    The only reason it get's a 1 is due to the fact they released a game that sort of works all though I wish they had not and would have not had to suffer through it. You get the feeling it was rushed and no one gave a toss it was just a scam to separate you from your hard earned cash.

    The good- Errr it is short so you don't suffer any longer than necessary
    The bad- A toss up between the awful combat awful look of the game.
    The ugly- How can you not program zombie A.I? Please tell me
    Verdict: 1/10 YOU FAIL IT!!
    Expand
  61. Jan 18, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a shameless cash-in on The Walking Dead,(which is by the way one of my favorite TV shows), with awful AI, and lazy, and dull gameplay, completely useless fellow survivors, and a terrible ending which, shows how big of a bunch of cash whores is Activision, this is a really awful game. Expand
  62. Feb 8, 2014
    1
    Why the flying f**k was this game made?! I mean seriously I was disappointed, my world with Lee and Clementine is sooooo much more interesting than this steaming pile of crap. The only thing I liked about this game is that later on you get to use THE GODDAMN CROSSBOW! Which is a show iconic weapon... I feel a bit bad for the actors who decided to stay in this ah well but at least they were interesting and did rather good in their part of the game. And whoever gives this a 10 I will hunt you down and do what I did to Larry.
    I'm Kenny from the walking dead and I review to save lives.
    Expand
  63. Feb 9, 2014
    1
    Absolutely horrible. I wish I never bought this game. Save your money. The only good part is the actors voice-overs. I got it to have a TWD weekend starting with playing the game and then watching the return of the show on Feb 9th. I played the game for one hour and couldn't stand it anymore. It's in the box on the shelf never to be seen again. Thanks for ruining a fun weekend Activision.
  64. Feb 24, 2014
    0
    I will start by saying "I love the walking dead series"!! Maybe this is why i am rating this game so low.. oh no it is because this game has no merit what so ever. The movement is terrible, the zombies are terrible and the game play.. well i only played it for about an hour before selling it. I lost £15 instantly but glad to see the back of it. How did you score it 4.0 Meta? Honestly
  65. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    This game is a very big deception to the AMC TV show TWD. I love the series but the game is worse that I thought. The story is monotone, the sceneries are always the same as well as the zombies appearance. The graphics and the movements are very limited as well as the gameplay. In this game you don't have an emotion and a connection with your "partners", you can treat them as dolls. The only positive point is: you play with Daryl. Collapse
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 30
  2. Negative: 28 out of 30
  1. May 28, 2013
    40
    With the success of Telltale Games’s arcade game, there were high hopes for this full-fledged retail title. As it happens you would be best off saving your pennies for the already announced sequel to the arcade title as Survival Instinct will leave you with bitter feelings towards The Walking Dead series. Unless you are an absolute nutter for anything to do with The Walking Dead, your money will be best spent elsewhere.
  2. May 20, 2013
    30
    It's as if the developer simply ceased to care, or ran out of time, or both. Who knows? What we do know is that Terminal Velocity has crafted something truly loathsome and undeserving of its heritage. [Issue#135, p.108]
  3. May 9, 2013
    30
    Archaic design spoils good ideas in this shoddy squandering of one of the hottest licenses going. [June 2013, p.74]