User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 391 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Very good game sound,zombie vibe and gameplay is amazing too bad that graphic isnt great but its decent overall this is very good game and it turns better if you like zombies in games
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    If the idea of a stealth and melee based zombie game where using a gun is seldom the best option appeals to you, give this game a chance. If you can get past the graphics its a surprisingly good.game and I think the negative reviews are overly harsh.
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    I really enjoy this game! It's exactly what you want in a horror survival game. It's fun and to the point. This game is not for video game( gamerZzz") elitists, people that LARP or otherwise have no interpersonal social skills. It's a video game for the Everyman who want to slays some bodies.
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    The game is very nice but the graphics isn't vvery amazing.I like the overall of this game lot of action and interesting storyline.Not so good as teltate game but still it looks nice.
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is a must for a walking dead TV fan, it had all the atmosphere that it needs. Well worth the money if you look around its already reduced in some stores.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Good game, not revolutionary but not bad. Doesn't deserve a 10 but it's definitely at least a solid 7. It's high points are that it includes Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker, and it's survival elements. Graphics and combat could have benefited from extra development time.
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    First of all, been waiting LONG time for this game! Thought it was awesome that Amazon was running it for about $37! The game is rad so far, saw a few wonky glitches here and there, but the adrenaline rush of getting mobbed by zombies and having to hunt for supplies more than makes up for that! Loved the in-game story moments too, kudos to whoever did them! I def recommend this title if you like WD and want something challenging! Expand
  8. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is AWESOME!! For those looking for a sequel for the Telltale game this one is NOT it. This is "Survival Instinct". An FPS survival horror game for real gamers. The game play is solid and the story is very well told. It scared the crap out of me several times. I really felt like I was playing in the Walking Dead world. I highly recommend this game to anyone even if your NOT a Walking Dead fan. It is a really cool addition to the zombie genre. Expand
  9. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is sooooooooooo much fun! They make you feel like you are on THE WALKING DEAD SHOW! When the walkers are coming up on you.. you feel the adrenaline kick in! So FUN so CREEPY 0_o LOVE it! Kickin Zombie Butt and Takin Names.... YUP YUP!
  10. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. I have never played a game that made me actually feel like I was surviving the zombie apocalypse like this game does! Yes, the graphics are outdated but the gameplay delivers. Plus, its only 50 bucks so its not like they tried to make it appear to be some huge blockbuster...it is what it is and that is zombie apocalypse gameplay superior to any seen yet on consoles!
  11. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    If you love slow-paced zombie/survival horror games you are gonna love this one! i really do recommend the game for those who like the "feel" of the NBC-series "The Walking Dead" cause this game is so much fun, it handles a little more unrealistic than "ZombiU" but it feels alright. If there is one thing i hate about this game its that the graphics look really good for.................2006 i mean
    WHAT THA HEEEEEEEEEUUUULL! Why didn't u use a real graphics engine?
    Expand
  12. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I personally enjoyed the stealth aspects of the game as well as the health system. While the game could use a little work, I think it was a good game overall.
  13. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    I give this game a score of 8/10.
    As a Gamer I do not care so much about the graphics as I love the Walking Dead series and still do. The game does not change my feeling for walking dead but they could make the game better and not rush thing out. This is another example as ACM (Aliens). I recommend this game to people who don't care about graphics and love Walking dead as much as me Game
    Price: Around 40 Pounds.
    The game price is quite high for the game but I do not care. I love the series and I love the game!
    Expand
  14. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    This is first person survival horror, not Left 4 Dead 3 or a point and click adventure. What made these people expect anything else? If you're looking for zombie survival mechanics and are a fan of the walking dead series, at least give this a rental.
  15. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    I have to strongly disagree with the comments from most of the stale turd people.im a walking dead fan and this game was amazing violent stealthy/run and gun assault rifle madness and pure epicness with the crossbow,at times in the game i actually thought i was daryl creeping through the dark zombie infested pharmacy shops looking for marls MEDS with Flashlight and crossbow head shotting anything that moved with turtle beaches on full high as a kite playing in the dark THE GAME WAS STRAIGHT ERIE FUN ADDICTIVE AND PORTRAYED A GREAT STORY AND MISSING LINK IN THE WALKING DEAD STORY AND CAN I POINT OUT TO ALL THE STALE TURD GAMERS OUT THERE THAT GIVE IT THIS DIRE RATING THE GRAPHICS ARE BETTER I THINK THAN BATTLE FEILD 3 WIHCH IN MY CASE IS GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME SO DONT NO WHAT HALF OF U ARE DRIBBLING ON ABOUT OBVISLEY URE NOOBS AND DONT NO HOW TO GAME ANYWAY EXCELLENT GAME AND PC GAMERS ARE CONSOLE GAMING IS WERE THE PRO,S ARE PC IS FOR Collapse
  16. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    If you are a patient gamer who wants a couple hour long game to beat this was a good time. You MUST take your time and find weapons early on. BE QUITE and make distractions. Those of you WHO didnt like this game, i can bet that this game took you more than 2 hours playtime to complete and is a very impatient person and write bad reviews to compensate for your poor gamer skills.GREAT GAME
  17. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    this game is AMAZING. I hate it when someone disses this game but love assassins creed (a game that has never improved in any way and charges 60$ every year for the EXACT same game).
  18. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Fantastic. A zombie videogame with a new point of view which will make everyone think about the consequences on the society caused by a disaster... I really like it
  19. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    ThiS GAME IS SO AWESOME! The framerate is always 200 fps or something like that, the graphics look better then crysis 3, and the story is so emotional. U NEED TO BUY THIS! This isn't a sandbox game but you will not see a difference. The variety of maps is SO HUGE and SO BIG. U really think ur living in a big city. Also the zombies are SO detailed and the texture quality are SO awesome. At really every chapter I had to cry because the story was SO good. BUY THIS GAME!!! ITs like I bought four games for the very CHEAP price of 50 euro's!!!!!!!!! SO CHEAP!!!!!!! Expand
  20. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    I was really getting into the L4D series and was revisiting it. I started checking around for zombie games and ran across this. I really enjoyed the title and was surprised to see the very bad reviews it is getting. Yes true, it is sort of a throwback to older games but I liked that about the game and also liked the stealth gameplay idea since you wouldn't want to draw in the attention of hordes of zombies. Nice change-up from a run of the mill FPS that shows they put some thought into the gameplay. Not a bad game, and it will definitely get me into Season 4 of the TV show, which I hadn't previously watched. Expand
  21. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    A translation of... "AREALGAMER, Mar 23, 2013... review. For those who could not understand it.

    I would like to severely differ with the opinions of a majority of these good folk. I am a fan of the ‘Walking Dead’ television series and found this game to be astonishing. It was violent, stealthy and quite action packed (I particularly enjoyed the crossbow).

    At times whilst frolicking
    through this virtual adventure I became so engrossed that I felt as though I now existed as the ‘Daryl’ protagonist, skulking through the dim, zombie infested apothecary searching for ‘Marls’ medicine, carrying a flashlight and crossbow and causing various mayhem.

    With my ‘Turtle Beach’ headphones turned up quite high and myself quite high also, playing in the dark (and I’d like to strongly stress the next points) I found to be quite unnerving and yet amusing. I thought this game portrayed a great tale and exposed us to the omitted link in the ‘Walking Dead’ story.

    And may I call attention, to all the good folk that dare to decide to have an opinion that differs to my own, that the graphics are on par with some other titles in the marketplace that I’ve seen, so I disagree with any argument to that nature. Honestly, you are all such uncouth savages it’s unbecoming of me to attempt to enlighten you. One last point, I also think consoles are the superior gaming devices.

    (It's midnight and I was bored so I thought it would be fun to translate a poorly written review, if this somehow offends anyone then bugger off and get some real problems.)
    Expand
  22. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing due to the replayablitiy and its full of content and about 12 hrs story and the likeness of norman reedus an dmicheal rooker is spot on and excellent voice work well done terminal reality
  23. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    A great game,even though it was repetitive everyone loves games that are repetitive i mean why do you think call of duty sells more and more each year they release a new game,this theory also applies with Mario games and so on.
  24. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Instead of just talking about how great this game is, I'm going to list my personal Pros & Cons about the game. Pros: Its a FPS Walking Dead game where you play as Daryl Its more of a realistic zombie game where every zombie doesn't swarm you unless you make a lot of noise or seen by them. Norman Reedus & Michael Rooker both did an amazing job with their voice-overs Like the Telltale Games TWD game, there is choice & consequence
    You meet other survivors, some of which join you.
    You can tell which survivors to perform specific tasks to find resources while you do the main mission
    There have been times where the game will catch me off guard and actually make me jump

    Cons:
    You don't get to drive the car(s)
    You can't restart checkpoints
    At times, you can end up getting overwhelmed by zombies a bit too quickly

    In the end though, I have been thoroughly enjoying this game. Activision & Terminal Reality did a very good job on it in my personal opinion.
    Expand
  25. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    I believe that for a $49.99 price, this is definitely worth it. It stays true to the story, and the game play is great. I highly recommend you buy this game.
  26. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    While yes, it is visually impaired, the game presents a very different style of FPS. Being that it is the first in a hopeful series, it does a fantastic job at demonstrating the games style and potential. It perfectly combines the elements of stealth and guns a-blazin' in order to not become too repititious or boring. The game definitely has some room for improvement with the executions, fluidity with movements and attacking, as well as creating a playable and interesting story line, but overall I have loved the game so far. the retort featured by Norman Reedus is undeniably amazing. the decision making in the game is also a nice addition; choosing which survivor you want to keep, deciding to search for supplies even with the risk that you could leave the area with less health than you came out with. I personally enjoyed the break from typical FPS games that never seem to run out of ammunition or health. Supplies are scarce and you have to be frugal, while also deciding whether or not to send other members of your party looking for supplies and potentially coming back with less than they left with. The game does a good job at really just diving right into the zombie apocalypse action and really gives a good feel for what it would be like in the same reality. I loved how the zombies react to Daryls presence in the game. Shooting a rifle, for example, will generally bring a huge horde of zombies from all over the area and the zombies in this game are no joke. They are not the one-hit kill or shoot them enough type of zombies, they are the shoot in the head exclusively or many hits with most melee weapons per zombie. A task far too difficult to do with very limited health. I was a fan of the telltale game, and i knew that this one would be incredibly different but i was not let down. Perhaps if the two games were to be combined into one SUPERgame, it would be the best thing that has ever happened to interactive digital entertainment. I think overall, the game is absolutely worth the purchase. Dont expect another telltale, high graphics, or online/multiplayer capabilities. Do expect a very different, true apocalyptic horror/survival game, almost retro game. Expand
  27. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    What makes a zombie game good for me. That's really what you need to ask yourself. For me it's the atmosphere the game gives me. Been playing for around 4 hours and find it refreshing that I haven't been attacked by spitters, witches, tanks and other kind of super zombies. Just me and the walkers. Sure the graphics good be better but it really isn't that bad. I love it when you're indoors with your flashlight on and the shadows it produces. Or the grain filter it has that's also on the tv show. Love the survival feel it gives me. Stopped on a mission to push a car to clear the road and to survive had to use most ammo that I had. Traveled to my next destination and had to play different because I had no ammo left. But can see why a lot of people won't like this game. This is not like the zombie mode on BO where you end up running a little circle and make a train of the zombies again and again to survive. Expand
  28. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    despite all the negative reviews from people expecting it to be a click and choice game like Telltale games The walking dead, this game is very good, yes the graphics aren't up to par but they arent bad either which is why i gave it a 9 instead of 10. People don't understand this is a Survival FPS game, and not a cinematic type of game which is probably what most of the negative reviewers were expecting. Expand
  29. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    I liked it. It's a TV show/comic book base game, of corse it's not going to be a masterpeace... has any movie or TV show based game been one?? IDTS. All in all I enjoy stabbing walkers in the face as Dixion. If they would have had another year.. this game might just be perfect and worth full-sale price.. they have the right idea guys.. never diss The Walking Dead guys.. it's ALL good.
  30. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Yes I can understand why people would not like this game..but this isnt COD zombies. You actually have to try and survive by trying to hit the head, use stealth and destrations. I think it is a Awsome, and great game and the graphics have a Boderlands 2 feel and the zombies grabing you is pain but other than that i feel like it was almost spot on..feeling of a real zombie Apocalypse
  31. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    I actually enjoyed this game. I do have to retort to the people giving it bad reviews, what were you expecting? The main point of topic is that it has bad graphics which is nonsensical to dock it points for that. The graphics aren't ground braking, but certainly not bad, at times the lighting and shading is epic. The rest of the game is lots of fun. I'd recommend this game to anyone who likes FPS's or zombies, even more so to a walking dead fan. Although I preferred the TellTale games version, this is a good game. Don't let the bad reviews put you off. Expand
  32. ERB
    Aug 1, 2013
    9
    Why on earth is this game has low scores It is practically fun and awesome.I will never get It why you guys hate this.I mean this game is better than dead island.
  33. May 25, 2013
    9
    I can see why some people don't like this game but as an earlier reviewer said, it's not cod zombies. I really like the way of sneaking and making choices and it has also got a great replay ability. There are some bugs here and there but if you are willing to look past those bugs, it's a great game.
    It's also a really ambient game and it sets your mood to actually fear those zombies that
    are banging on your door.
    The fact that they have based the characters on the tv series is awesome because I really like the tv series.
    Overall a great game and a definite buy!
    Expand
  34. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    I have to strongly disagree with the comments from most of the stale turd people.im a walking dead fan and this game was amazing violent stealthy/run and gun assault rifle madness and pure epicness with the crossbow,at times in the game i actually thought i was daryl creeping through the dark zombie infested pharmacy shops looking for marls MEDS with Flashlight and crossbow head shotting anything that moved with turtle beaches on full high as a kite playing in the dark THE GAME WAS STRAIGHT ERIE FUN ADDICTIVE AND PORTRAYED A GREAT STORY AND MISSING LINK IN THE WALKING DEAD STORY AND CAN I POINT OUT TO ALL THE STALE TURD GAMERS OUT THERE THAT GIVE IT THIS DIRE RATING THE GRAPHICS ARE BETTER I THINK THAN BATTLE FEILD 3 WIHCH IN MY CASE IS GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME SO DONT NO WHAT HALF OF U ARE DRIBBLING ON ABOUT OBVISLEY URE NOOBS AND DONT NO HOW TO GAME ANYWAY EXCELLENT GAME AND PC GAMERS ARE CONSOLE GAMING IS WERE THE PRO,S ARE PC IS FOR Collapse
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 30
  2. Negative: 28 out of 30
  1. May 28, 2013
    40
    With the success of Telltale Games’s arcade game, there were high hopes for this full-fledged retail title. As it happens you would be best off saving your pennies for the already announced sequel to the arcade title as Survival Instinct will leave you with bitter feelings towards The Walking Dead series. Unless you are an absolute nutter for anything to do with The Walking Dead, your money will be best spent elsewhere.
  2. May 20, 2013
    30
    It's as if the developer simply ceased to care, or ran out of time, or both. Who knows? What we do know is that Terminal Velocity has crafted something truly loathsome and undeserving of its heritage. [Issue#135, p.108]
  3. May 9, 2013
    30
    Archaic design spoils good ideas in this shoddy squandering of one of the hottest licenses going. [June 2013, p.74]