Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 676 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second installment in the RPG saga about the Witcher, Geralt of Rivia, features a thoroughly engrossing, mature storyline defining new standards for thought-provoking, non-linear game narration. In addition to an epic story, the game features an original, brutal combat system that uniquely combines tactical elements with dynamic action. A new, modern game engine, responsible for beautiful visuals and sophisticated game mechanics puts players in the most lively and believable world ever created in an RPG game. A captivating story, dynamic combat system, beautiful graphics, and everything else that made the original Witcher such a great game are now executed in a much more advanced and sophisticated way. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 82
  2. Negative: 1 out of 82
  1. May 16, 2012
    100
    The Witcher 2 is a highly recommended purchase for those seeking a mature and visceral role-playing experience.
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    96
    The Witcher 2 continues to be a colossal creative and technical achievement and the superb 360 version only confirms the excellence CD Projekt's craft. Console users get a fantastic version of a fantastic game, while the PC users get a great patch that improves and enhances the experience of the original, a perfect excuse to return as The White Wolf and to live his adventure from a new perspective.
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    93
    The Xbox 360 version has some rough edges, but these annoyances aren't significant enough to sully the experience. The Witcher 2 is a beauty to behold with a rich, involving fiction framing strategic and challenging combat. Most of all, its mature implementation of morality, choice, and consequence is a step forward that more games would be wise to follow.
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    90
    The immersive world, memorable characters, exhilarating combat, and branching storylines will have you coming back to play it again and again.
  5. Apr 19, 2012
    90
    The mature theme, gameplay and compelling plot pull us through a story that creates a legend that you would be a fool to miss out on.
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    85
    The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings - Enhanced Edition is a game that lives up to the hype. The story and game come off as more mature than other similarly rated games. The combat is rewarding, and the completely alternate paths and side-quests provide more than enough incentive to replay the game once you finish it. The sound is masterfully done, and the graphics show that, even with a few flaws, developers can pull off some magic with this old hardware. Both RPG and action lovers will be more than satisfied with this very entertaining title.
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    45
    Despite all the additions and enhancements, The Witcher 2: Enhanced Edition is an unsatisfying game that won't appeal to series newcomers and never lives up to its own ambitions.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 200
  1. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    @Dacai: you didn't take into account that 1) in some regions this game was available from the 14th of April and 2) there are quite a few people who bought it on xbox who played it on pc before, thus they ARE able to give an in-depth review after just a day of playing. Please remove your unfair score and make a review only after you have actually played the game. My review: Marvellous story, where your decisions really matter. Gorgeous graphics. Intensive gameplay. Solid voice acting. Original and captivating music. The Witcher 2 has all that and much more. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    An absolutely master full RPG. CDprojeckt red have done a fantastic job porting the game over to the 360, and despite some technical limitations the game sill looks and performs great. The map and inventory system could bea little better as they can be confusing and some of the mission objectives can be difficult to find but these are minor niggles that subtract little from the overall experience. The game has fluent and challenging combat, and a great story. A must for and RPG fan. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    The Witcher 2 is great for many reasons. It's superb story line, engaging characters and it's combat that will punish you if you don't use the resources available for you. It has two very different story paths and your actions actually do make an effect on the game. The only negative thing I can say about this game is it's quest marker on the mini map which can sometimes be very misleading, sometimes sending you in the wrong direction. But this isn't that bad once you become familiar with the area. Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiifwe[iokjgo[cwko0] 3eoyplvc3,e5yp0i0v.,4i5yv 49piyk4v9 [jm vo[jiye4vogj eopigj evg 9jevpyjv9 gre]vuj9 [e 9vhjg erujv ew5=
    5-hyvi3-
    e ehi0vk30h]5ik0 -]htv30 ihj
    ]346
    Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    Quick, re-review.

    Great game, but takes some getting into and hard work to get to the nitty gritty goodness.

    Buy it and follow my advice
    to enjoy it the most -

    1) When answering questions in the Dungeon about what happened do it in order, from top to bottom. Otherwise you play out the prologue in an order which makes no sense and throws you for the rest of the game.

    2) You get the choice of two paths, without doubt one is far more interesting than the other IMO so create a save before you make this choice (it's towards the end of chapter one and *minor spoiler* it's when you choose between an elf or a King's bodyguard), and don't be afraid to restart from that save if you find the path you chose boring.

    3) If you get to the end of Chapter 1 and things aren't making sense, quit, take a breather for a few days/weeks, and start the game again understanding all the terminology/people/events goes a long way to making the game enjoyable.
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2012
    7
    Just want to start out by saying I have played BOTH the PC and Console versions of the game, will not be giving it either a 0 or a 10 like most on here, and do not work for WB. I am just a lonely podcaster (LIQUID GAMER) trying to let you know what I thought of this game on console. First off the good, game play worked well with the controller, I was worried about that. Besides a few misses the graphics are slightly dumb'ed down than its PC counterpart, still colorful and well executed. And the story is and will continue to be excellent and intriguing. Unlike other RPG's the choices you make matter more than just giving you horns or orange scratches on your skin. They will adjust the story and the way things in the world play out. So choose wisely and enjoy it! Now for the not so good... Audio is a big part of gaming in my point of view, even though the score is great the voice acting and recording quality from that voice acting is horrible. Some moments felt as if the voice actors called in the lines over a land line to a cassette tape and then digitized for the game. Very noticeable and very bad. The game was glitchy but most games are now a days so I didn't mind it that much. So that's it, great game all in all, worth ownership due to length and involvement, but not work a 10 and totally not a 0. Good Gaming! http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/ Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Absolutely atrocious. Doesn't live up to the hype, not by a long shot. Okay, after seeing the visually stunning and intriguing trailer aired for this game and reading the overwhelmingly positive reviews, I was very excited to pick this game up and dive in. I don't think I could have been more disappointed. First off, the stunning visuals displayed in the trailer were replaced by "pretty good" visuals in the game itself.
    When being compared to other games of this generation I give it's visuals a 7 out of 10. Actually, to be entirely honest with you I thought this was the game's strongest point. That was the first thing I noticed. Then came the control mechanics. Which to put it lightly where awkward and confusing with no natural flow and ease of use. The menus were even worse. For every minute spent in-game another three were spent in the terribly difficult and slow to navigate menus. But let us step away from the quickly frustrating controls and menus before I go into a fit of maniacal rage on the subject. (We'll save that for later.)

    On now to the choppy, absolutely unnatural, and unimaginative dialog. I mean come on! I've seen more imaginative exchanges in episodes The Telitubbies! And they don't even use complete sentences! To be honest I wish I would have picked up a non-English version. I probably would've gotten more out of it!

    After about 3 hours of hoping that the awesomeness that everyone was raving about was going to reveal itself, I couldn't take anymore abuse. I felt that blood pressure had doubled and my IQ had been halved. I'd had enough. It was with the excitement of someone that's found a dead rat in their home that I removed the disk from my console. I'm still sick about the $60 and 3 hours of my life that I'll never get back because of this disappointment. All in all, if Atari would have put half the vision and effort into the game as they did into the trailer they may have had something. And that's all I've got to say about that.
    Expand

See all 200 User Reviews