User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 232

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Telltale has done it again this is definitely a must buy! The art style is yet again amazing the controls are fluid and responsive the story is compelling and the characters are loveable!
    Can't wait for episode 2!
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Better than the Walking Dead. The Walking Dead and its pint sized protagonist (Clementine) gained mass appeal and rented a place in the hearts of gamers everywhere, however this love affair blinded many to the minor voice acting and gameplay flaws that it presented. These minor blemishes do not show up in the Wolf Among Us as Tell Tale seems to have perfected the formula with stellar voiceBetter than the Walking Dead. The Walking Dead and its pint sized protagonist (Clementine) gained mass appeal and rented a place in the hearts of gamers everywhere, however this love affair blinded many to the minor voice acting and gameplay flaws that it presented. These minor blemishes do not show up in the Wolf Among Us as Tell Tale seems to have perfected the formula with stellar voice acting and a perfect mix of narrative and action including an early fight sequence which closely resembled the opening fight sequence in the sleeper hit Heavy Rain. For a story involving fairy tale characters it is decidedly adult with mature language and mature themes, but this odd mixture of fairy tale and gritty adult themes plays out like a beautifully composed symphony of video game greatness. Tell Tale seems to have translated the wonderous world of Fable Comics and creator Bill Willingham's hit comic book series with flawless execution. Sadly The Wolf Among Us won't sell like The Walking dead sold, but it deserves to. Tell Tale has clearly perfected the genre which they created from a fledgling and admittedly unpolished Back To the Future series to what i believe is their magnum opus in The Wolf Among Us. You owe it to yourself as a gamer to at least try the demo and tell me it isn't great. 10/10 Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    Well, let´s cut it short: Ahe art design, the dialogues, the story telling and foremost the characters are extremely well done, if you judge an adventure by that, it´s a true masterpiece. However, don´t forget that the solution to most "problems" in the game are pretty obvious, and it´s quite short even for a first episode.

    However, it is still a game every TT fan can buy without remorse.
  4. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Really deep characters and awesome graphic style. If you loved The Walking Dead, you gonna love this too, it have same mechanics, but improved. Great music doing good job and fighting scenes are much more intensive, than in TWD. Im really looking forward new episodes, hopefully it will not take so long between them, as it was with TWD. PS: i haven't been so angry for a while (endingReally deep characters and awesome graphic style. If you loved The Walking Dead, you gonna love this too, it have same mechanics, but improved. Great music doing good job and fighting scenes are much more intensive, than in TWD. Im really looking forward new episodes, hopefully it will not take so long between them, as it was with TWD. PS: i haven't been so angry for a while (ending scene), great emotions. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    It is a 100% must have for a noir style fun. Don't think that if it about fairy tales it cant be a real noir .Solid story,charismatic protagonist ,fatal.woman and the city that smells like cigarette smoke and tastes like whisky.
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    Telltale is the king of writing when it comes to video games. And they have proved that once again with The Wolf Among Us. They are also strike back hard with a new and improved combat system. Story's awesome, characters awesome, gameplay smooth as hell. Just because its point-and-click doesn't make the game bad, do yourself a favor and get it now.
  7. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    The Wolf Among Us is based on one of the largest creator owned franchises in comics, Fables. The game, like some arcs in the comic, stars Bigby. He is the Big Bad Wolf, the wolf that ate Little Red Riding Hood, and he has destroyed entire armies, killing thousands in before the Homelands were taken over. Now he is the sheriff of Fabletown, shortly after dealing with a rather dispute, mustThe Wolf Among Us is based on one of the largest creator owned franchises in comics, Fables. The game, like some arcs in the comic, stars Bigby. He is the Big Bad Wolf, the wolf that ate Little Red Riding Hood, and he has destroyed entire armies, killing thousands in before the Homelands were taken over. Now he is the sheriff of Fabletown, shortly after dealing with a rather dispute, must investigate a murder. The Graphics of the game capture the comics typical art design, characters being instantly recognizable, but manages a gritty noir like coloring. Its is a truly distinctive look. The voice acting and the dialogue are improved upon from Telltales previous game, The Walking Dead. This is a game that should be played if you want a great story, an even lead character, or a different kind of game. Expand
  8. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Telltale has proven, once again, that it's capable of crafting amazing games out of equally amazing licenses. "The Wolf Among Us" is shaping up to become yet another home run for the team, as it proves how well the world and it's characters can be transformed into a video game in the hands of incredibly capable individuals. It isn't "The Walking Dead", but neither should it. There areTelltale has proven, once again, that it's capable of crafting amazing games out of equally amazing licenses. "The Wolf Among Us" is shaping up to become yet another home run for the team, as it proves how well the world and it's characters can be transformed into a video game in the hands of incredibly capable individuals. It isn't "The Walking Dead", but neither should it. There are several similarities when it comes to gameplay, but both the story and the setting itself differ greatly from the tone of Kirkman's work. As something more of a mystery/detective type of game it instantly feels refreshing and different. The artwork and visuals are fantastic, especially if you're a fan of the comics, since they have an even more striking resemblance to the source material than TWD did (mostly because those comics are in black and white, of course). When it comes to story, "The Wolf..." delivers an interesting plot with several twists and turns with a side order of choice and consequence. Characters are well fleshed out, for a 1st episode, and are all done justice by providing them both solid voice actors and great dialogue. Even Bigby himself sounds like the sarcastic badass he is. Oh, and the soundtrack. Yes, the soundtrack. It's great. Ready for the next episode! Expand
  9. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    Fantastic. If you liked Walking Dead's gameplay, you'll love this one. Admittedly a fan of the comics, but I don't think that's necessary to like this game. Deep characters, tense action, and a thrilling mystery will keep me coming back and replaying episodes. Play this game.
  10. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Great start to a new series, sets the high bar and makes you want more. There is a lot to nitpick here, but sheer pleasure after this couple of hours will prevent you from doing that.
  11. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    Which matters more: story or gameplay? Much like Telltale's Walking Dead series, A Wolf Among Us focuses primarily on story and choice rather than the constant thrill of the interactive gaming experience. Unlike the traditional videogame blockbuster that rewards the player with explosive set pieces and constant combat, A Wolf Among Us rewards you for choices and interactions. ThisWhich matters more: story or gameplay? Much like Telltale's Walking Dead series, A Wolf Among Us focuses primarily on story and choice rather than the constant thrill of the interactive gaming experience. Unlike the traditional videogame blockbuster that rewards the player with explosive set pieces and constant combat, A Wolf Among Us rewards you for choices and interactions. This uniqueness within the gaming world is what makes this installment so compelling. The pacing is perfect with the tone of the crime drama. Further, the biggest problem Telltale had with the Walking Dead series has been addressed. Specifically: the quicktime events are now more interactive, responsive, and dynamic. There's a rewarding sense of accomplishment when you get to choose whether you throw an opponent against the bookshelf or bash him into the sink. Further, the Fables world is compelling in itself. The story does an excellent job of immersing the player such that both fans of the comic series and newcomers will be intrigued and rewarded. This effort by Telltale is even more accessible than it's Walking Dead games. Still, if you're more interested in non-stop action over a compelling and interactive story, you should probably stick with Call of Duty. If however, you want an adult drama that rewards the way you play, I'd recommend A Wolf Among Us. Expand
  12. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Excellent game. Don't let the fairy tale premise turn you off. If you liked the walking dead, you'll like this. There's no doubt about it. Literally the one glaring error with this is for me personally is telltale doesnt like their games having controller support on windows 8. Other than that, this game is going to keep me hooked.
  13. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    Telltale has created yet another glorious game ripe with juicy choices, great art direction, and stellar voice acting. With the free add-on of episode 1, and taking your time while playing the game, it'll last you a solid 3 hours. I'm already hooked on the series and looking forward to playing every future episode. However, there were still the same technical problems present in theTelltale has created yet another glorious game ripe with juicy choices, great art direction, and stellar voice acting. With the free add-on of episode 1, and taking your time while playing the game, it'll last you a solid 3 hours. I'm already hooked on the series and looking forward to playing every future episode. However, there were still the same technical problems present in the Walking Dead, such as freeze-frames during action sequences and occasional late texture buffers. These were especially prevalent in the Xbox 360 version. It's also still a bit disappointing to see your "choices" will rarely have an impact on major events in the story, such as character deaths. Overall though, if you enjoyed The Walking Dead, complete with it's flaws, The Wolf Among Us may just be your Game of the Year. Expand
  14. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    Telltale does it again with another great "interactive story." If you were a fan of Telltale's "The Walking Dead" series, then odds are you will like this one as well. Great story backed up by great voice-acting. The fram-rate was laggy at times (especially during the action scene), and it did take away from the experience, but not to the point that it hindered my ability to play it (ITelltale does it again with another great "interactive story." If you were a fan of Telltale's "The Walking Dead" series, then odds are you will like this one as well. Great story backed up by great voice-acting. The fram-rate was laggy at times (especially during the action scene), and it did take away from the experience, but not to the point that it hindered my ability to play it (I hope that a title update fixes this problem for future episodes).

    I am eagerly awaiting eps. 2-5 and season 2 of "The Walking Dead."
    Expand
  15. Oct 12, 2013
    8
    This is a great game. Story seems interesting and Im hooked. The characters are well written. The choices seems to matter. The noir atmosphere is well done. And it does not have the cliche zombies. Only negatives are the game length (2-3 hours) and that the game is still suffering framedrops in between scenes. It was instant season purchase for me and I really recomend this game series.
  16. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Telltale Games go a different route here and be harder.
    Walking Dead was certainly not dressed for kids but here is the screw again.
    The graphic style is the same as the previous game and control the game character is also 1:1.
    Although I have never read the "Fable" comics is very agreeable with the story.
    Every child knows the tale and here is how the creatures in the real value could be.
    It is clear that this is not like any of the previous game but still Telltale Games offers something new.
    Expand
  17. Oct 12, 2013
    0
    Telltale has taken over yet another well established series, put shoddy writing, shoddy gameplay, and worked the minimal amount to try to maximize profit. They learned nothing from The Walking Dead's technical difficulties or from the flaws in their writing. Yet people with half a bran will continue to praise these bland uncreative shoddy writers and allow them to continue to ruin Gaming.Telltale has taken over yet another well established series, put shoddy writing, shoddy gameplay, and worked the minimal amount to try to maximize profit. They learned nothing from The Walking Dead's technical difficulties or from the flaws in their writing. Yet people with half a bran will continue to praise these bland uncreative shoddy writers and allow them to continue to ruin Gaming. This year we saw LucasArts go down and I was sad, but the day I see that Telltales has gone down I will rejoice because it will be a day where gamers have shown that they are tired of the generic and poor writing that is Telltales. Expand
  18. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    Althought I worried The Wolf Among Us would not live up to the expectation TellTale set with The Walking Dead I found myself unable to stop playing this amazing game... The artwork is amazing and it shows that the game is based on a comic book... The characters are so well developed and everyone has his own personality which affects the way you interact with each and every one of them...Althought I worried The Wolf Among Us would not live up to the expectation TellTale set with The Walking Dead I found myself unable to stop playing this amazing game... The artwork is amazing and it shows that the game is based on a comic book... The characters are so well developed and everyone has his own personality which affects the way you interact with each and every one of them... The noir feeling this game projects only adds to the amazing atmosphere it creates... I can't wait for Episode 2.... Expand
  19. Dec 25, 2013
    4
    $5 to watch a cartoon. Your dialogue options are merely just a choice of flavor to the story. They don't mean anything. Everything that is supposed to happen, will happen, regardless of what you say, or if you say ANYTHING at all. There's no real gameplay. All it has is point and click segments and the occasional action scenes full of QuickTime button presses, which, only a select few only$5 to watch a cartoon. Your dialogue options are merely just a choice of flavor to the story. They don't mean anything. Everything that is supposed to happen, will happen, regardless of what you say, or if you say ANYTHING at all. There's no real gameplay. All it has is point and click segments and the occasional action scenes full of QuickTime button presses, which, only a select few only matter. Even the ones that matter only serve one purpose, advance the story, and the story always goes the same way, regardless of how things are handled.

    I DO however like the moody soundtrack and visuals. The game IS very I the resting storytelling. But it doesn't give you any real choices or gameplay, making it feel like just something to watch. Something to watch, which is also annoying, because it's like a tv show, you get a taste, but then have to wait for the next episode...5 more dollars please! No thanks.

    I've never played more than a demo of telltale's walking dead "games". If this game is just like it, I don't see what all the fuss is about.
    Expand
  20. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    The story surprised me, grate opening episode for a new series. After finished the game I bought the season pass immediately, I really wanna to see where the story heads.
    + Interesting story setting
    + Really colorful graphic style + good voice acting (except for one minor character, wont name it here) + I like the new QTE fighting style, adding some tense to the game. However, I
    The story surprised me, grate opening episode for a new series. After finished the game I bought the season pass immediately, I really wanna to see where the story heads.
    + Interesting story setting
    + Really colorful graphic style
    + good voice acting (except for one minor character, wont name it here)
    + I like the new QTE fighting style, adding some tense to the game. However, I pressed the wrong button and somehow it still worked...

    - Still a lot of frame-drops, at least on Xbox, happened to me more than three times. How come they haven't fixed them yet?
    - Still noticeable loading time between every cut-scenes and chapters. Maybe I asked too much, but after GTA 5 I expect a game with no loading time between missions.

    All in all, I like the game and can't wait for Ep 2.
    Expand
  21. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    I have to say I am actually enjoying this more than I did walking dead and I feel a large part of the reason why is this time around I am not the one playing it. Whist I sit beside my wife watching her make the hard decisions and constantly questioning every step she takes I have to remind her that there are no wrong decisions the game is about the choices you would make, something II have to say I am actually enjoying this more than I did walking dead and I feel a large part of the reason why is this time around I am not the one playing it. Whist I sit beside my wife watching her make the hard decisions and constantly questioning every step she takes I have to remind her that there are no wrong decisions the game is about the choices you would make, something I sorely remember whilst playing the walking dead. Atmosphere, story, style and tension are excellent not your classic style of game but definitely worth everyone's time. Expand
  22. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    The Big Bad Wolf is a Sheriff keeping other Fairy Tale stories from killing each other? Count me in!

    The Good: The Story: Sheriff Bigby Wolf is in charge of keeping peace and order through FableTown, but for the first time in a very long time (game doesn't specify how long) someone has started to kill Fables, and your job is to find out who. Very Good concept and is (so far) executed
    The Big Bad Wolf is a Sheriff keeping other Fairy Tale stories from killing each other? Count me in!

    The Good:
    The Story: Sheriff Bigby Wolf is in charge of keeping peace and order through FableTown, but for the first time in a very long time (game doesn't specify how long) someone has started to kill Fables, and your job is to find out who. Very Good concept and is (so far) executed very well.
    The Characters: Very Very Interesting, the voice acting is once again excellent.
    The Art Style: It took me a while to get into The Walking Dead's Art Style, i don't know why. But here it just works beautifully, i mean it, the way this game looks may push some Movie Critics and some Art Critics to change their thoughts on whether or not Games are Art or not.
    The Bad:
    Gameplay: This game gameplay wise is not much, most of the action is in Quick Time Events, but due to the Story and the Characters this can be over looked.
    Some Facial Animations: The Facial Animations in this game range from "Good" to "Muppet style". The first character we see after the opening (besides Bigby) facial animation was just, crappy, to say the least.
    But the Human characters are done really well.
    So, all in all, i give The Wolf Among Us:Episode One a 9/10
    Expand
  23. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    The Wolf Among Us is a fantastic start to this adventure game. I can't wait for the next episode and that in itself shows that it's succeeded. If the rest of the season keeps on par or improves as it goes on, then we could be looking at a game of the year contender.
  24. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    This is a pretty good game for the price. The story is fun and pretty straightforward. You won't need to spend hours trying to get the hang of it. I've never read the comics so I cannot compare the game to the comics.

    I have a few complaints though. The QTEs seem almost random and give you almost no time to react. This leads to frustration more than fun as you're continually
    This is a pretty good game for the price. The story is fun and pretty straightforward. You won't need to spend hours trying to get the hang of it. I've never read the comics so I cannot compare the game to the comics.

    I have a few complaints though. The QTEs seem almost random and give you almost no time to react. This leads to frustration more than fun as you're continually watching the screen rather than playing the game. This is even worse in the conversations. I like the fact that if you don't respond to a character in a reasonable amount of time then the game responds accordingly. Unfortunately the time you get isn't sufficient to both listen to what the character is saying and read your responses. Most conversations have you reading ahead of what the character says and then quickly pick the first option that makes sense because if you wait much longer than that the game assumes you didn't respond.

    Speaking of conversations I felt the use of profanity was there for profanity sake. I generally don't care about profanity too much but when it seems almost thrown in just because you can it seems a bit much. This might be how the comics read but I felt it was more of an immature joke.

    It might just be my console but this game stalled several times while playing. One time it even did it during an action sequence. For such a small game I wouldn't expect it to cause the console any issues. Nevertheless I'm looking forward to the later episodes.
    Expand
  25. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    I never played any Telltale game before, so I tried the demo of this one. Although it was short, I was instantly convinced by the aesthetics and narrative style. I bought the whole season pass but unfortunately there is only this one episode available. Still, I have to say, since Fahrenheit this is the first adventure game that convinced me. Since I couldn't wait I also tried The WalkingI never played any Telltale game before, so I tried the demo of this one. Although it was short, I was instantly convinced by the aesthetics and narrative style. I bought the whole season pass but unfortunately there is only this one episode available. Still, I have to say, since Fahrenheit this is the first adventure game that convinced me. Since I couldn't wait I also tried The Walking Dead by Telltale Games and got addicted. Positives: graphics, crisp story line, possibility to decide. Negatives: Very very short, only 2 hours (Walking Dead: 4 hours per episode), small replay value, no skills & items. Expand
  26. Jul 12, 2014
    8
    Opinion for the whole season:

    The Wolf Among Us (besides its excellent title) makes the Fables universe more known and it also makes it quite compelling. The game has its technical problems with all the long loading times and the irritating stutter issues with every frame change, becoming especially annoying in the fast action sequences. This game has an excellent concept for its
    Opinion for the whole season:

    The Wolf Among Us (besides its excellent title) makes the Fables universe more known and it also makes it quite compelling.

    The game has its technical problems with all the long loading times and the irritating stutter issues with every frame change, becoming especially annoying in the fast action sequences.

    This game has an excellent concept for its world with all the fairytales gone in a "noir" way and I couldn't even imagine that the Big Bad Wolf would make such an excellent protagonist, who is both deep and bad-ass.

    The choices are more "grey-ish" than Walking Dead (if I remember correctly, have a better variety and more visible effect. It is quite an achievement to make the whole Fablestown be affected and finally play a part in the whole story.

    In my opinion, though the middle episodes had their "didn't see that coming" moments and great characters, the first and last episodes were the trully great ones that made the story whole and delivered what all this was meant to be.

    I would very much like to see a second season cause this is one of the most interesting worlds and Telltale has a way to show its finest moments. If only the technical aspect was better...

    ps. The action sequences (though still QTEs) are much improved with great choreography and sadly the minor puzzle element this time is non-existant. Nonetheless...
    Expand
  27. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This is how interactive narrative games are meant to be made. Its a 10 because in its genre with are current tech you cant get better than this. Graphics are well drawn cell shading, music is flawless, the atmosphere is stylish. The writting is amazing, the twists are horrifying. The combat creates a panic, dialogue is sped up using a timer making you quickly give a reply keeping theThis is how interactive narrative games are meant to be made. Its a 10 because in its genre with are current tech you cant get better than this. Graphics are well drawn cell shading, music is flawless, the atmosphere is stylish. The writting is amazing, the twists are horrifying. The combat creates a panic, dialogue is sped up using a timer making you quickly give a reply keeping the pacing high in scenes, keeps you focused. every answer is constantly reminded that you made it changes the whole story. YOUR CHOICES MATTER which puts most games like mass effect to shame. The world hooks you in from the get go must buy. Expand
  28. Oct 30, 2013
    1
    this is a "c" budget video game with writing ripped off an already established story with still the same issues as walking dead and absolutely no gameplay or worthwhile choices

    sheep rejoice your game is here
  29. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    If you enjoyed what The Walking Dead offered you as a game, then The Wolf Among Us is right up your alley. Not knowing anything about the world these characters are based is no biggy, as soon enough you will love the story being told to you. I for one shall return for the following episodes.
  30. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    The Wolf Among Us is a wonderfully crafted game that I would recommend to anyone seeking an interesting story. TellTale Games have managed to capture the theme of the comic books well, while not following any lore guidelines previously put in place. There were times I this game where it felt like I was playing 'Quick-time events: The Game' but I think that's the whole reason why I enjoyedThe Wolf Among Us is a wonderfully crafted game that I would recommend to anyone seeking an interesting story. TellTale Games have managed to capture the theme of the comic books well, while not following any lore guidelines previously put in place. There were times I this game where it felt like I was playing 'Quick-time events: The Game' but I think that's the whole reason why I enjoyed this game so much- I wasn't shooting zombies or driving a car, just wandering the streets of New York in typical Noire fashion.

    All in all, wonderful game and a lovely break from mainstream game genres.
    Expand
  31. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    A great entry from Tell Tale... A little lacking in gameplay, but a great story. The artwork and atmosphere is amazing and the voice acting solid. For what it is, it's almost perfect.
  32. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    The Wolf Among Us ep.1 is another amazingly engrossing interactive story by Telltale. Though, I was initially skeptical of the whole hardboiled fairy tale theme, the surreal mix of fantasy and gritty reality worked surprisingly well. The plot is intriguing, the characters are voiced extremely well, and the QTE sequences are much smoother and more forgiving this time around. Aside fromThe Wolf Among Us ep.1 is another amazingly engrossing interactive story by Telltale. Though, I was initially skeptical of the whole hardboiled fairy tale theme, the surreal mix of fantasy and gritty reality worked surprisingly well. The plot is intriguing, the characters are voiced extremely well, and the QTE sequences are much smoother and more forgiving this time around. Aside from some rather annoying frame rate hiccups, there is little to complain about. If this series continues to improve as time goes on, Telltale may very well have another GOTY on its hands. Expand
  33. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing! The story is excellent right out of the gate. The characters are really interesting, and they make you care, which is extremely important in these kinds of games. I haven't been this dragged in to a story in a long time!

    However, The Wolf Among Us gameplay is lacking a bit. I found myself missing the QTEs, even though I am certain I hit it. This may just
    This game is absolutely amazing! The story is excellent right out of the gate. The characters are really interesting, and they make you care, which is extremely important in these kinds of games. I haven't been this dragged in to a story in a long time!

    However, The Wolf Among Us gameplay is lacking a bit. I found myself missing the QTEs, even though I am certain I hit it. This may just be human errors, so i won't drop the score because of this.

    Buy this game with a seasonpass! You don't want to miss this gem!
    Expand
  34. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    Even though, like all Telltale games it has a few technical issues, this is still the beginning of another great game series based on choices. I definitely recommend it!
  35. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I prefer this honestly over the Walking Dead, not because I have something against zombies its mainly because this games if FREAKING AWESOME. A great combination a story, characters and laughter. You'll find yourself stuck between choices that affect your game, chill characters, and Fables. Could yah ask for more? Can't wait for episode 2!
  36. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    When it comes to the "point and click" adventures, I am always looking for the next big thing. I grew up with a huge passion for the likes of all the old Sierra classics, Monkey Islands and anything even vaguely similar. While I enjoy picking up the often lazily re-hashed developments of such games on iOS, it is always refreshing to stumble across games which push the boundaries ofWhen it comes to the "point and click" adventures, I am always looking for the next big thing. I grew up with a huge passion for the likes of all the old Sierra classics, Monkey Islands and anything even vaguely similar. While I enjoy picking up the often lazily re-hashed developments of such games on iOS, it is always refreshing to stumble across games which push the boundaries of ingenuity and genuine excitement. This game is certainly no exception.

    I had little idea what to expect when I purchased this game, and for about £3 I wasn't taking too much of a risk either. The game intrigues you from the very start with a strange concept and mind-blowing linear graphics which make you feel like you are actually part of a comic book. I was hooked instantly.

    The game involves a lot of interaction and conversation decisions which ultimately shape your destiny, you are given time limits on what to say in conversation with various characters. You also have to react fairly quickly to fight scenes where you use combinations of joystick and buttons. The fight and action scenes seem heavily influenced by those in Shenmue II, which is also an excellent game but very different. You also have the classic walking around and interacting with objects as your would except from many point and click games.

    All the aspects I have mentioned are by no means difficult but this takes nothing away whatsoever away from the overall enjoyment and experience of the game. It is just like being actively involved in a film like Sin City for example.

    Most games of this kind of genre offer no real replay value due to the fact that there is only one way of finishing them. You might revisit a point and click adventure game after a year or two but this one made me want to re-visit it instantly to explore other combinations of playing and interacting.

    I would highly recommend this game to anyone- a fantastic experience and leaves you hungry for much more in the upcoming 4 episodes.

    An excellent job done- hopefully the start of a whole new breed of this type of game.
    Expand
  37. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    An absolutely fantastic first episode Telltale have definitely done it again! The story and characters are fantastic and voice acting is top drawer. There is a CSI style investigative element to this episode which is very satisfying and fits the P&C interface well. On the subject of the interface, Telltale have made some significant improvements from TWD: Season 1 this is the mostAn absolutely fantastic first episode Telltale have definitely done it again! The story and characters are fantastic and voice acting is top drawer. There is a CSI style investigative element to this episode which is very satisfying and fits the P&C interface well. On the subject of the interface, Telltale have made some significant improvements from TWD: Season 1 this is the most capable and competent P&C interface since the golden days of Broken Sword et al. The graphical style is unique and looks more "comic-y" than TWD, but it suits the game perfectly. The only real downside to the game, much like TWD, is the bevy of technical issues that plague the experience. The frame rate is highly unstable and there seem to be long loading scenes every thirty seconds which punctuate the flow of the experience. That said, this is such an outstanding piece of gaming and storytelling that most of these issues are countered by the quality of the game itself.

    If Telltale can get these massive technical issues under wraps, their games will be a definite 10. But don't let this stop you from playing what is, in about an hour or two's gameplay, one of the very best games of 2013.
    Expand
  38. Jan 1, 2014
    7
    I love TellTale Games; I mean I really love them! After playing and subsequently being emotionally violated by The Walking Dead Games I am convinced that they can do absolutely no wrong! That being said, I aim to be a professional so I am going into this review trying to be impartial as I possibly can be.

    As soon as the game starts you are greeted by a very comical and simplistic design
    I love TellTale Games; I mean I really love them! After playing and subsequently being emotionally violated by The Walking Dead Games I am convinced that they can do absolutely no wrong! That being said, I aim to be a professional so I am going into this review trying to be impartial as I possibly can be.

    As soon as the game starts you are greeted by a very comical and simplistic design of the menu that has a very simple, quite childish nit of music in the background. This does a really good job of not only giving off the comic/fairy tale vibe they are going for but you mix it with the dark and gloomy colors and it actually becomes pretty damned creepy. We’re off to a very good start here! Before you start the Wolf Among Us 3game you are given the chance to look over the titles of the upcoming episodes that are going to be released at a later date, each one gives you a little hint of what’s to come. For now though only episode 1 is available so I guess that’s the most logical place to begin. As soon as the game begins you are hit full on by the vivid colours or New York at night as Bigby makes his way in a cab to a callout he’s received. As you enter the run down building you are faced with the thing that makes TellTale Games so special, their multiple choice discussions. To make things even better, you’re first discussion is with a Mr Toad, which is just brilliant. Long story short I ended up with a pissed off amphibian and a ruckus upstairs that needed to be investigated, happy days! The ruckus that needed to be investigated was Woody (The Woodcutter) beating up an unknown woman. You stop him, you speak, you argue and you are immediately thrown into your first combat situation. The combat Wolf Among Us 6scenarios are essentially just QuickTime events where you have an onscreen prompt to either attack or dodge (for anyone who doesn’t know what a QuickTime event is…). The beauty of this is that it is done very very well! Some QT events can tend to feel a little clunky and forced but TT Games have managed to incorporate it into the story and it feels nice and fluid without pulling you out of the story at all. From here on you are thrown pretty much head first into a dark and gritty tale of murder, tough decisions and fairy tale lore.

    Full review on:
    http://idiotbox.co.uk/wolf-among-us-episode-1-faith-review/
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    85
    Telltale delivers us a grand game with the first episode of The Wolf Among Us. A great atmosphere, sublime storytelling and memorable characters, we can’t wait for the next episode in this great saga.
  2. games(TM)
    Dec 17, 2013
    70
    We're already anticipating the next chapter in this fantastical fable. [Issue#142, p.112]
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    90
    It’s just hard to grasp how Telltale manages to do it. Because in record time they have a game that seems if not more promising than The Walking Dead. The Wolf Among Us is a dark mystery with well-written dialogue and fantastic characters. It is game that shouldn’t be missed by anyone.