Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 5, 2014
    85
    Despite being a tad bit disappointed that the overall plot hasn’t been moved all that far forward, I’m still completely invested and more than a bit terrified to see how my tough decisions will affect the story going on.
  2. 82
    If ‘Faith’ was the setup to the story then ‘Smoke and Mirrors’ is where the plot gets into the meat and potatoes of what’s to come.
  3. Mar 24, 2014
    80
    Although it may not sound like high praise to say that The Wolf Among Us: Smoke & Mirrors is holding steady with the status quo, it's so stylish and enjoyable that I'm quite content to get more of the same.
  4. 80
    As a stand alone game it doesn't quite work, but with so many diverse characters with their own motives at play, they do make for a fascinating lot. I am really looking forward to seeing what Episode 3 has to offer.
  5. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    This second episode is not as dynamic as the first one, but it keeps telling a very good story in a fascinating world with quite intriguing characters, asking you to make important choices for a future that seems darker and darker.
  6. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    Episode 2 contains all the elements we've come to expect and deeply admire from a Telltale series, but it's too thinly spread to achieve top marks.
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    80
    Smoke and Mirrors has plenty to like, but it doesn’t quite live up to its impressive prequel. I miss the first part’s abundance of action sequences, but the dialogue and storytelling are still among the best around. And I would still like to turn off those annoying notifications.
  8. Whilst missing some of the violent intensity of the opening episode, Smoke and Mirrors keeps things interesting with a deepening mystery and plenty of nice character beats.
  9. Feb 11, 2014
    70
    That's not to say it's not without its own unique pleasures, but while I'm curious to see what happens next, it so far lacks the edge-of-the-seat impatience that The Walking Dead conjured up at the end of each episode.
  10. Feb 10, 2014
    70
    Technical difficulties aside, Telltale delivers good material, even though it doesn't quite match the previous episode.
  11. 70
    What it does deliver is a clearer, darker look at Wolf’s depressingly downbeat landscape, complete with trolls shooting smack and corrupt, greedy bureaucrats. It’s as mesmerizing as it is glum, using the series’ stark, black-and-neon backdrops as visual clues to Fabletown’s — and Bigby’s — split nature.
  12. Mar 30, 2014
    60
    Visually stunning and audibly impressive, but we are starting to take serious issue with the numerous technical faults found in every Telltale game. [Issue#109, p.80]
  13. Feb 13, 2014
    60
    Ultimately though, Smoke and Mirrors is a short but engaging chapter, hindered by some odd decisions around the choice mechanics but bolstered by a deeper look into Bigby’s heart, for better or worse.
  14. 60
    The storytelling is as well up to Telltale’s usual standards, but waiting three months for such a short and relatively uneventful episode is unavoidably anticlimactic.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    6
    It is a great game but I can't help but I was very disappointed in this episodes length. It was a long wait for what was only an hour of gameIt is a great game but I can't help but I was very disappointed in this episodes length. It was a long wait for what was only an hour of game play. I also wish their had been a branching choice as in the first episode where you must choose which of two objectives to visit first. In general, they only real choices I had to make in this episode where about whether to be violent or not. I know Tell Tale can do great things but this episode just really wasn't up to par.. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    Story continues to be good with unexpected turns. The writers are clearly trying to lead you down one path but they know it is a dead end soStory continues to be good with unexpected turns. The writers are clearly trying to lead you down one path but they know it is a dead end so you shouldn't believe everything you see.

    The only issue I had with this episode is it is still really bad about loading (even in the middle of certain scenes). It's like they didn't even bother to optimize it.

    Can't wait for the next episode.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 7, 2014
    4
    over 3 months since the 1st ep, still no gameplay, reminds me of children's game where you can't fail and is too easy rather than giving someover 3 months since the 1st ep, still no gameplay, reminds me of children's game where you can't fail and is too easy rather than giving some challange. this time around even the story is not that great. also it's around 1-2 hours.... Full Review »