Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the award-winning Fables comic book series by Bill Willingham (published by DC Comics' Vertigo imprint), The Wolf Among Us is a dark, often brutally violent, and mature take on the characters and creatures of fairytale and legend. A five episode series from the creators of the 2012Based on the award-winning Fables comic book series by Bill Willingham (published by DC Comics' Vertigo imprint), The Wolf Among Us is a dark, often brutally violent, and mature take on the characters and creatures of fairytale and legend. A five episode series from the creators of the 2012 Game of the Year: The Walking Dead, the player will experience what it's like to be Bigby Wolf (THE Big Bad Wolf), Sheriff of Fabletown. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jul 9, 2014
    90
    The Wolf Among Us is a game that exceeds expectations, providing an intriguing, painful, and thought-provoking journey that everyone should experience at least once.
  2. Jul 15, 2014
    90
    The Wolf Among Us is a winner for its pacing, its character work, its story, and the manner in which it makes the player think without being overly heavy-handed about it.
  3. Aug 22, 2014
    80
    Cry Wolf isn’t without its problems, but it provides a satisfying conclusion to an episodic series that we feared would wrap inconclusively.
  4. Aug 28, 2014
    78
    Bigby Wolf is the perfect protagonist for this shocking Telltale adventure in the Fables universe, because of the convincing way you can mold him into a good or bad wolf. Too bad the game is lacking in the technical and gameplay department. [Aug 2014, p.63]
  5. Jul 23, 2014
    75
    Telltale struck gold with The Walking Dead, but it seems they merely struck bronze with a promising future in The Wolf Among Us. It has some wonderful characters and a lot of potential, but it fell apart as the season continued.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    Great story and thrilling fight scenes. Plot twists around every corner. A little short in my opinion but there is already future confirmationGreat story and thrilling fight scenes. Plot twists around every corner. A little short in my opinion but there is already future confirmation of a season 2. Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2014
    9
    Undeniably Brilliant Game. Yet again TT (Telltale) Games proves they know they're audience with another outstanding game, built on the graphicUndeniably Brilliant Game. Yet again TT (Telltale) Games proves they know they're audience with another outstanding game, built on the graphic art style, the point-and-click adventure based game, featuring the harrowing decision based narrative you should be used to by now. The series contains a mass of interesting, conspiring, debauching characters from Belle & Beast to Captain Bluebeard. The game is an emotional rollercoaster as it does an exceptional job of making your choices feel like they matter and that your mind genuinely sways the tempo of the game through the time sensitive choices flung your way.
    A must play & one of my games for 2014
    Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2015
    9
    This game surpass my expectations and trully amazed me. World is beautiful, case was good, characters were strong, but action was maybe justThis game surpass my expectations and trully amazed me. World is beautiful, case was good, characters were strong, but action was maybe just ok. If you like telltale games and looking for a new setting, you wont be disappointed. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2015
    8
    Really excellent. Though I wasn't quite as gripped by Bigby's story as I wanted to be and ep.4's ending reveal was highly underwhelming, theReally excellent. Though I wasn't quite as gripped by Bigby's story as I wanted to be and ep.4's ending reveal was highly underwhelming, the interesting characters, gorgeous colour palette and Telltale's wonderfully unique formula elevate it beyond in shortcomings Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The idea and the storyline was great, I played it right through as it kept me wanting to know more and find out what happens next. The only thing making my score negative is the fact that very little, if not none of your decisions actually influences the outcome of the game. Yes, you get to decide ones fate at the end, but further than than I experienced linear gameplay, with the story basically forcing you into a direction in which your choices matter very little. I believe this could have been an excellent title if the story was more influenced by the players actions. Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2014
    1
    Have to say this was poor. The main problem is that it can't be installed to hard drive. If I'd known this I wouldnt have bought it.Have to say this was poor. The main problem is that it can't be installed to hard drive. If I'd known this I wouldnt have bought it. Should have relised after the walking dead eps 1 that tell tale don't care about their disc releases as it couldn't be installed either. This makes the game nearly unplayable. It freezes constantly and takes ages to load. It's bad. Pity cause it was quite an interesting story but if you take the loading time off this is really short. Not worth the £30 I paid for it. Won't get another tell tale disc release. Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2014
    0
    This game lacks bad on Xbox 360. Every combat scene lags. Even nonviolent scenes will lag. I was used to some lagging with the Walking DeadThis game lacks bad on Xbox 360. Every combat scene lags. Even nonviolent scenes will lag. I was used to some lagging with the Walking Dead but this is ridiculous. In the flashbacks, the sounds play before the characters are shown speaking them. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews