Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There is a rising tide of fear in The City. Hatred saturates every stone and whilst the rich prosper, the less fortunate face misery and repression. Ravaged with sickness and famine, they wait for something to change. Into this shadowy world steps Garrett, THE master thief in a first-person adventure featuring intelligent design that allows players to take full control, with freedom to choose their path through the game's levels and how they approach and overcome each challenge. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    85
    If you’ve enjoyed past Thief games, you’ll enjoy the reboot as well. Those new to the franchise, or iffy about stealth, would be better-served renting it to give it a shot.
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    65
    Ignoring the story and cherrypicking the best side missions is the best way to approach it.
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    63
    Thief is a lazy slug of a game that drags itself across the planes of mediocrity and it could’ve been so much more. Quite simply, it’s brought to us by a developer that should know better.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Thief is truly an excellent game for excellent people. Foreboding atmosphere, superbly controls, complex gameplay systems, intricate graphics, exceptional storytelling, etc. Eidos Montreal have proven once again that their team has the chops to reboot a classic franchise after the incredible Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Thief is a Thief game for fans of the older titles. While some things have changed, 99% of it remains the same but better than ever. 10/10, well deserved! A masterful creation! Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    Awesome in every way. Mixing stuff form all 3 previous games. The mechanics are awesome and the medieval chaotic city with its complex twists and turns might be annoying but its quite realistic for the setting. The story itself is not as bad as they make it out to be, in parts amusing and funny in parts emotional, the thief taker general character for instance is a real blast, nicely acted. Garrets actor sound a lot like Russell so no problem there either. Nice addition to the thief legacy. worth the 10 year wait, just hope we might get a sequel to the reboot sooner this time. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    After playing 1/2 an hour of this game I put it back in the box and generally decided I didn't like the game. But, after watching some soccer on the TV, I was really thinking about putting the game back in and having another play. When I put it back in I saw a completely different light to this game, a stealth game that can quickly turn from a slow pace, to a quick rush of excitement. Square Enix did there best with this game, and especially since there will be some hardcore fan who are simply not satisfied with this game. Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After anticipating being disappointed with Thief I found the gameplay to be what it should be. From the beginning I definitely felt as though this were part of the Thief franchise. The story is admittedly thin but that did not detract from the gameplay which harkens back to the first three games. The worst aspect of the game was definitely loading going through portals between sections of the map and the lack of access to the complete map through the map system. Also the heads up map would disappear upon reload manually. The light gem was a little clunky compared to previous games but much of the functionality of the previous games was evident here. Although I do miss being able to recover arrows such as rope arrows and broadhead arrows as was possible with previous games causing more player expense and at times causing the player to run out of certain resources which previously had been recoverable. It would have also been nice to have moss arrows to combat the broken glass sections of floor to further quiet Garrett's movements. The upgrade for lock picking actually took away from the fun and suspense of lock picking and was generally clunky and it's application compared with previous titles despite looking cooler than the standard mode. The two boss battles were also anticlimactic and easy to figure out and overcome quickly. Also the new actor sounded more like Guido from Long Island rather than Garrett master Thief. After being very disappointed with Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag I can honestly say that there is more Thief in the new Thief than there is Assassin's Creed in the most recent Assassin's Creed game. In the end I give the gameplay a B+ I give the story a C- I give the overall experience 6.5 on a scale of 1-10. If you like the first three games you will enjoy the reboot and look forward to more titles hopefully with better stories and perhaps a better engine for a better open world experience. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2014
    5
    oh God...i **** HATE THIS **** ''Game'' its a **** piece of **** it had some good mechanics but its a totally **** this..dont buy it..................
  6. Apr 13, 2014
    4
    What appears to be a perfectly serviceable reboot of a once excellent game series is let down by occasionally horrendous game design. I can recommend Thief for the most hardcore of stealth fans, but only those who can overlook the fact that their success is usually down to bad A.I rather than player skill. If you were a fan of the original and are looking for an equally good stealth experience then, like Adam Sessler says, go play Dishonored. Expand
  7. May 7, 2014
    0
    I've spent about 48 hours on this game, and I should say that I'm *very* glad I didn't buy it (a friend of mine was very kind to allow me to play his copy).
    While it sounds ridiculous, but in Thief 2014, you *don't* even need to steal, at all... The game will anyway reward you at the end of each mission, so why bother? Nice, isn't it?
    The setting. Remember the old three Thief games? Ok, now forget them! Since Thief 2014 is a reboot, you will encounter *nothing* from the old ones. I mean Eidos Montreal has *totally* destroyed and erased everything that made Thief series so unique: Keepers, Pagans, Hammerites, Mechanists, Kurshoks, burricks, and hell - even zombies! Everything!
    The plot. Definitely the worst I ever met in video games. Just abominable! You still have some doubts? Ok then. Just try to watch the *bossfight* with Thief Taker General on YouTube and see for yourself. Yeah, *bossfights* in a *stealth* game.
    The audio. It's just disgusting. All NPCs have just two phrases, and several NPCs have even just *one* phrase. And you know what? These NPCs will repeat their "repertoire" till the kingdom come, with just *one* second interval. Sound propagation works so erroneously, so it was a real pain for me to understand where the sound came from.
    The protagonist. His new voice, by Romano Orzari, sounds so dull and boring! Instead, the old Garrett's voice, by Stephen Russell, was just brilliant! So if you still love Stephen Russell's voice as Garrett in Thief 1&2&3, you will absolutely be disappointed by Romano Orzari's voice in Thief 2014.

    Bottom line: it's a tasteless hack, so make yourself a favour and save your money for something really useful.
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews