Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There is a rising tide of fear in The City. Hatred saturates every stone and whilst the rich prosper, the less fortunate face misery and repression. Ravaged with sickness and famine, they wait for something to change. Into this shadowy world steps Garrett, THE master thief in a first-person adventure featuring intelligent design that allows players to take full control, with freedom to choose their path through the game's levels and how they approach and overcome each challenge. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    85
    If you’ve enjoyed past Thief games, you’ll enjoy the reboot as well. Those new to the franchise, or iffy about stealth, would be better-served renting it to give it a shot.
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    65
    Ignoring the story and cherrypicking the best side missions is the best way to approach it.
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    63
    Thief is a lazy slug of a game that drags itself across the planes of mediocrity and it could’ve been so much more. Quite simply, it’s brought to us by a developer that should know better.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 8 out of 29
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Thief is truly an excellent game for excellent people. Foreboding atmosphere, superbly controls, complex gameplay systems, intricate graphics, exceptional storytelling, etc. Eidos Montreal have proven once again that their team has the chops to reboot a classic franchise after the incredible Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Thief is a Thief game for fans of the older titles. While some things have changed, 99% of it remains the same but better than ever. 10/10, well deserved! A masterful creation! Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    Awesome in every way. Mixing stuff form all 3 previous games. The mechanics are awesome and the medieval chaotic city with its complex twists and turns might be annoying but its quite realistic for the setting. The story itself is not as bad as they make it out to be, in parts amusing and funny in parts emotional, the thief taker general character for instance is a real blast, nicely acted. Garrets actor sound a lot like Russell so no problem there either. Nice addition to the thief legacy. worth the 10 year wait, just hope we might get a sequel to the reboot sooner this time. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    After playing 1/2 an hour of this game I put it back in the box and generally decided I didn't like the game. But, after watching some soccer on the TV, I was really thinking about putting the game back in and having another play. When I put it back in I saw a completely different light to this game, a stealth game that can quickly turn from a slow pace, to a quick rush of excitement. Square Enix did there best with this game, and especially since there will be some hardcore fan who are simply not satisfied with this game. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2014
    6
    I don't really know what to think of this game. The stealth is great, and so are the graphics, and well..., that's about it. I am admittedly not done, but I don't even want to carry on. It feels slow, the parkour is lame, and what, the character feels CONFLICTED about killing?! That sounds weird... oops. But seriously. I stop to check every little corner for loot, and am not rewarded. There are parts where the stealth is just simply easy, and other parts where it feels impossible. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2014
    5
    oh God...i **** HATE THIS **** ''Game'' its a **** piece of **** it had some good mechanics but its a totally **** this..dont buy it..................
  6. Apr 13, 2014
    4
    What appears to be a perfectly serviceable reboot of a once excellent game series is let down by occasionally horrendous game design. I can recommend Thief for the most hardcore of stealth fans, but only those who can overlook the fact that their success is usually down to bad A.I rather than player skill. If you were a fan of the original and are looking for an equally good stealth experience then, like Adam Sessler says, go play Dishonored. Expand
  7. May 7, 2014
    0
    I've spent about 48 hours on this game, and I should say that I'm *very* glad I didn't buy it (a friend of mine was very kind to allow me to play his copy).
    While it sounds ridiculous, but in Thief 2014, you *don't* even need to steal, at all... The game will anyway reward you at the end of each mission, so why bother? Nice, isn't it?
    The setting. Remember the old three Thief games? Ok, now forget them! Since Thief 2014 is a reboot, you will encounter *nothing* from the old ones. I mean Eidos Montreal has *totally* destroyed and erased everything that made Thief series so unique: Keepers, Pagans, Hammerites, Mechanists, Kurshoks, burricks, and hell - even zombies! Everything!
    The plot. Definitely the worst I ever met in video games. Just abominable! You still have some doubts? Ok then. Just try to watch the *bossfight* with Thief Taker General on YouTube and see for yourself. Yeah, *bossfights* in a *stealth* game.
    The audio. It's just disgusting. All NPCs have just two phrases, and several NPCs have even just *one* phrase. And you know what? These NPCs will repeat their "repertoire" till the kingdom come, with just *one* second interval. Sound propagation works so erroneously, so it was a real pain for me to understand where the sound came from.
    The protagonist. His new voice, by Romano Orzari, sounds so dull and boring! Instead, the old Garrett's voice, by Stephen Russell, was just brilliant! So if you still love Stephen Russell's voice as Garrett in Thief 1&2&3, you will absolutely be disappointed by Romano Orzari's voice in Thief 2014.

    Bottom line: it's a tasteless hack, so make yourself a favour and save your money for something really useful.
    Expand

See all 29 User Reviews