Thief Xbox 360

Thief Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There is a rising tide of fear in The City. Hatred saturates every stone and whilst the rich prosper, the less fortunate face misery and repression. Ravaged with sickness and famine, they wait for something to change. Into this shadowy world steps Garrett, THE master thief in a first-personThere is a rising tide of fear in The City. Hatred saturates every stone and whilst the rich prosper, the less fortunate face misery and repression. Ravaged with sickness and famine, they wait for something to change. Into this shadowy world steps Garrett, THE master thief in a first-person adventure featuring intelligent design that allows players to take full control, with freedom to choose their path through the game's levels and how they approach and overcome each challenge. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    85
    If you’ve enjoyed past Thief games, you’ll enjoy the reboot as well. Those new to the franchise, or iffy about stealth, would be better-served renting it to give it a shot.
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    65
    Ignoring the story and cherrypicking the best side missions is the best way to approach it.
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    63
    Thief is a lazy slug of a game that drags itself across the planes of mediocrity and it could’ve been so much more. Quite simply, it’s brought to us by a developer that should know better.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Ok people trust me here this is a very good game. I never played the first two but played and loved deadly shadows. Unfortunately theOk people trust me here this is a very good game. I never played the first two but played and loved deadly shadows. Unfortunately the reviewers have been way to harsh on this game. I hope this franchise hasn't been ruined by this as we all know how much it costs now to make a game. If you like proper stealth with a cracking atmosphere put this on your list. As this last generation comes to an end I've noticed reviewers getting harsher and harsher with their critique of games. Just look at the start of the generation with fable 2 getting 89 on metacritic and it was an average game at best!!! So it just shows you dont be influenced too much by reviewers. Try this for yourself if you like stealth. Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    If you are a long time fan of the series this reboot will not disappoint. It will if you long for the original, but keep in mind rebooting isIf you are a long time fan of the series this reboot will not disappoint. It will if you long for the original, but keep in mind rebooting is what the Zelda series generally does with each installment. This feels like garret in an alternate thief reality and I really dig the approach. Having reflected on other reviews I admit my bias: I was going to love this game no matter what. It basically started the stealth approach in gaming and it has chosen to keep its pacing despite over ten years of gaming trends and changes in gaming culture. I admire that. This game requires full immersion, it wants you to go slow and take your time. That's what thriving is: being patient slow and cautious.

    As much as I love the game and am happy with the style and the story it does suffer. I dislike the cinematic elements preferring the old games' picture frame storytelling better. The cinematics force a dramatic tone where the writing takes a hit here and there...no biggie. Also the camera in these sequences is choppy. A technical faux pas. Enemy ai isn't always great and NPC dialogue volume is wonky, and sometimes it echoes. Still not bad enough to break the game. New tools are cool, new ideas for thriving like cutting out paintings are nice.

    Story Missions aren't horrible at all. Other reviewers are praising the open world missions and condemning the story's. Some of them are pretty white knuckled!

    Don't dislike this game on the merits of what other games do or have done. Like this game on its own see what it offers and you will find a game that requires silence, darkness, patience, timing; if you like low calorie games with lots of flash and sugar you should search elsewhere. Thief is substance.

    The city layout is cramped not because the level designers dropped the ball but because that is what The City is. Get lost in it. Know its paths. Know its routes and its history.

    One thing I miss from the old games is reading letters on paper not on the drop down pause screen.
    Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2014
    7
    Good game overall but there are several serious design flaws making it be the great game it could have been. Start with the fact that theGood game overall but there are several serious design flaws making it be the great game it could have been. Start with the fact that the emphasis is clearly on stealth yet the game goes out of its way to punish you for using the stealth route. Enemies are almost superhuman in their ability to detect you once they become alerted, most challenges and goals cannot be reached without retrying several times because of the seemly clear desire by the devs to force you into combat. There is even one place late in the game where you are basically forced into combat even though the entire game was about stealthy. Crappy design there.

    Graphics glitches are common causing you to think there is loot when there isn't. The checkpoint system is crappy because you get 1 checkpoint and 1 manual save. Because the level designs prevent you from returning to some areas (without warning I might add) you'll end up repeating entire chapters or carefully checking off lists rather than actually playing the game.

    Finally there is no way to track secret areas even though there are cheevos for it. Even the strategy guide doesn't provide any info. If there is a cheevo for something then there should be a way to track it. It seems like it was an afterthought.

    I've seen worse reboots. It isn't as good as Deus Ex reboot but it isn't that bad either. Just tedious way too often and some poor design decisions.
    Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After anticipating being disappointed with Thief I found the gameplay to be what it should be. From the beginning I definitely felt as though this were part of the Thief franchise. The story is admittedly thin but that did not detract from the gameplay which harkens back to the first three games. The worst aspect of the game was definitely loading going through portals between sections of the map and the lack of access to the complete map through the map system. Also the heads up map would disappear upon reload manually. The light gem was a little clunky compared to previous games but much of the functionality of the previous games was evident here. Although I do miss being able to recover arrows such as rope arrows and broadhead arrows as was possible with previous games causing more player expense and at times causing the player to run out of certain resources which previously had been recoverable. It would have also been nice to have moss arrows to combat the broken glass sections of floor to further quiet Garrett's movements. The upgrade for lock picking actually took away from the fun and suspense of lock picking and was generally clunky and it's application compared with previous titles despite looking cooler than the standard mode. The two boss battles were also anticlimactic and easy to figure out and overcome quickly. Also the new actor sounded more like Guido from Long Island rather than Garrett master Thief. After being very disappointed with Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag I can honestly say that there is more Thief in the new Thief than there is Assassin's Creed in the most recent Assassin's Creed game. In the end I give the gameplay a B+ I give the story a C- I give the overall experience 6.5 on a scale of 1-10. If you like the first three games you will enjoy the reboot and look forward to more titles hopefully with better stories and perhaps a better engine for a better open world experience. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2014
    5
    oh God...i **** HATE THIS **** ''Game'' its a **** piece of **** it had some good mechanics but its a totally **** this..dont buy it..................
  6. Jul 1, 2015
    4
    I'll give it some credit. The core stealth mechanics are good and it's a stealth game that genuinely values being stealthy. There's noI'll give it some credit. The core stealth mechanics are good and it's a stealth game that genuinely values being stealthy. There's no stepping out off the shadows here. Doing so is sure to lead to a quick death. However that's where the praise ends as everything else in the game is crap.

    I'm just going to go ahead and get this part of the review out of the way before diving into the gameplay. If you're looking for story then look elsewhere. The conflict here is painfully uninteresting and the characters are bland and unlikable. It also tries way to hard to be "mature" by including things like nudity and pointlessly gratuitous violence. It doesn't work and thanks to it's presentation the game comes off as juvenile as possible. Cutscenes are also quite glitchy. Dialog isn't synched properly so expect to see times where the characters lips are moving but words aren't coming out of their mouths. The subtitles appear where they are supposed to though.

    As far as the gameplay goes like I said the core stealth works, but the level design often just sucks. It's a shame because usually the levels have cool themes. For instance a trip through an atmospheric asylum ends up being particularly memorable. However despite how cool they may seem at first irritating puzzles and confusing layouts suck the fun out of them before you're finished most of the time.

    The same crummy layouts apply to the city you'll navigate in order to get to these objectives. This made me avoid the side-quests the game offers. It also killed the thieving aspect of the game for me as there are plenty of secrets hidden in the corners of the city that just aren't worth going through the tedium to collect.

    Speaking of the actual thieving, levels will often have items scattered throughout them you can collect in order to get gold you can use in order to buy more items. However given the state the city is in there isn't much laying around. It feels kind of worthless to search through countless empty drawers and dressers only to end up with a four dollar pen at best.

    While I can't speak for how it stands up against other games in the "Thief" series I can tell you how it stands up as a stealth game on it's own merits. It's got solid core stealth mechanics that initially make the game show some promise, but it doesn't take long for the flaws to show up and leave gamers with what is just a bad stealth game. It's one I don't recommend and it's just not worth your hard earned money.
    Expand
  7. May 7, 2014
    0
    I've spent about 48 hours on this game, and I should say that I'm *very* glad I didn't buy it (a friend of mine was very kind to allow me toI've spent about 48 hours on this game, and I should say that I'm *very* glad I didn't buy it (a friend of mine was very kind to allow me to play his copy).
    While it sounds ridiculous, but in Thief 2014, you *don't* even need to steal, at all... The game will anyway reward you at the end of each mission, so why bother? Nice, isn't it?
    The setting. Remember the old three Thief games? Ok, now forget them! Since Thief 2014 is a reboot, you will encounter *nothing* from the old ones. I mean Eidos Montreal has *totally* destroyed and erased everything that made Thief series so unique: Keepers, Pagans, Hammerites, Mechanists, Kurshoks, burricks, and hell - even zombies! Everything!
    The plot. Definitely the worst I ever met in video games. Just abominable! You still have some doubts? Ok then. Just try to watch the *bossfight* with Thief Taker General on YouTube and see for yourself. Yeah, *bossfights* in a *stealth* game.
    The audio. It's just disgusting. All NPCs have just two phrases, and several NPCs have even just *one* phrase. And you know what? These NPCs will repeat their "repertoire" till the kingdom come, with just *one* second interval. Sound propagation works so erroneously, so it was a real pain for me to understand where the sound came from.
    The protagonist. His new voice, by Romano Orzari, sounds so dull and boring! Instead, the old Garrett's voice, by Stephen Russell, was just brilliant! So if you still love Stephen Russell's voice as Garrett in Thief 1&2&3, you will absolutely be disappointed by Romano Orzari's voice in Thief 2014.

    Bottom line: it's a tasteless hack, so make yourself a favour and save your money for something really useful.
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers