Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: There is a rising tide of fear in The City. Hatred saturates every stone and whilst the rich prosper, the less fortunate face misery and repression. Ravaged with sickness and famine, they wait for something to change. Into this shadowy world steps Garrett, THE master thief in a first-personThere is a rising tide of fear in The City. Hatred saturates every stone and whilst the rich prosper, the less fortunate face misery and repression. Ravaged with sickness and famine, they wait for something to change. Into this shadowy world steps Garrett, THE master thief in a first-person adventure featuring intelligent design that allows players to take full control, with freedom to choose their path through the game's levels and how they approach and overcome each challenge. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 27, 2014
    85
    If you’ve enjoyed past Thief games, you’ll enjoy the reboot as well. Those new to the franchise, or iffy about stealth, would be better-served renting it to give it a shot.
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    65
    Ignoring the story and cherrypicking the best side missions is the best way to approach it.
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    63
    Thief is a lazy slug of a game that drags itself across the planes of mediocrity and it could’ve been so much more. Quite simply, it’s brought to us by a developer that should know better.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 34
  2. Negative: 10 out of 34
  1. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Ok people trust me here this is a very good game. I never played the first two but played and loved deadly shadows. Unfortunately theOk people trust me here this is a very good game. I never played the first two but played and loved deadly shadows. Unfortunately the reviewers have been way to harsh on this game. I hope this franchise hasn't been ruined by this as we all know how much it costs now to make a game. If you like proper stealth with a cracking atmosphere put this on your list. As this last generation comes to an end I've noticed reviewers getting harsher and harsher with their critique of games. Just look at the start of the generation with fable 2 getting 89 on metacritic and it was an average game at best!!! So it just shows you dont be influenced too much by reviewers. Try this for yourself if you like stealth. Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    If you are a long time fan of the series this reboot will not disappoint. It will if you long for the original, but keep in mind rebooting isIf you are a long time fan of the series this reboot will not disappoint. It will if you long for the original, but keep in mind rebooting is what the Zelda series generally does with each installment. This feels like garret in an alternate thief reality and I really dig the approach. Having reflected on other reviews I admit my bias: I was going to love this game no matter what. It basically started the stealth approach in gaming and it has chosen to keep its pacing despite over ten years of gaming trends and changes in gaming culture. I admire that. This game requires full immersion, it wants you to go slow and take your time. That's what thriving is: being patient slow and cautious.

    As much as I love the game and am happy with the style and the story it does suffer. I dislike the cinematic elements preferring the old games' picture frame storytelling better. The cinematics force a dramatic tone where the writing takes a hit here and there...no biggie. Also the camera in these sequences is choppy. A technical faux pas. Enemy ai isn't always great and NPC dialogue volume is wonky, and sometimes it echoes. Still not bad enough to break the game. New tools are cool, new ideas for thriving like cutting out paintings are nice.

    Story Missions aren't horrible at all. Other reviewers are praising the open world missions and condemning the story's. Some of them are pretty white knuckled!

    Don't dislike this game on the merits of what other games do or have done. Like this game on its own see what it offers and you will find a game that requires silence, darkness, patience, timing; if you like low calorie games with lots of flash and sugar you should search elsewhere. Thief is substance.

    The city layout is cramped not because the level designers dropped the ball but because that is what The City is. Get lost in it. Know its paths. Know its routes and its history.

    One thing I miss from the old games is reading letters on paper not on the drop down pause screen.
    Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2014
    7
    Good game overall but there are several serious design flaws making it be the great game it could have been. Start with the fact that theGood game overall but there are several serious design flaws making it be the great game it could have been. Start with the fact that the emphasis is clearly on stealth yet the game goes out of its way to punish you for using the stealth route. Enemies are almost superhuman in their ability to detect you once they become alerted, most challenges and goals cannot be reached without retrying several times because of the seemly clear desire by the devs to force you into combat. There is even one place late in the game where you are basically forced into combat even though the entire game was about stealthy. Crappy design there.

    Graphics glitches are common causing you to think there is loot when there isn't. The checkpoint system is crappy because you get 1 checkpoint and 1 manual save. Because the level designs prevent you from returning to some areas (without warning I might add) you'll end up repeating entire chapters or carefully checking off lists rather than actually playing the game.

    Finally there is no way to track secret areas even though there are cheevos for it. Even the strategy guide doesn't provide any info. If there is a cheevo for something then there should be a way to track it. It seems like it was an afterthought.

    I've seen worse reboots. It isn't as good as Deus Ex reboot but it isn't that bad either. Just tedious way too often and some poor design decisions.
    Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. imagine dishonored, then cut its development time by six months. imagine all the hard work and polish that went into making sure that game didn't just fly off a cliff in a flaming mess just never happened. you have the thief. yep, it's pretty terrible. here's why:

    -the game is a directionless mess, especially in classic mode. expect to spend a long time wandering in circles, spotting helpful strategies for entry on the way out, breezing through sections the game wants you to feel are tough, and tearing your hair out at over most mundane, simple things.
    -the game is joyless, kills its own mood and atmosphere constantly
    -menus are ugly, clunky
    -nearly all type is way too small to read
    -borrows heavily from dishonored yet expects you to forget the quality of that game
    -everyone has really weird french canadian accents, it sounds like their faces are melting when they talk. the voice acting in general is pretty awful, and the script and truly ugly character design doesn't do it any favors.
    -the controls are unresponsive. you'll see a prompt onscreen letting you know you can interact with an object by pressing a button, and then 70% of the time it will do nothing unless you press that button really fast three times.
    -garrett's grab and looting animations take a fraction of a second to center the screen and load every time you grab or loot something. this makes for a real distraction considering you do this every 5 seconds
    -voices are heard (frequently) through walls, from above floors and below floors, as if they were right in your ear, leaving you scratching your head wondering what is happening.
    -garrett talks over other people, and other NPCs will talk much louder than the NPC they are speaking to (one guy will be yelling while the other will be whispering, unintentionally)
    -easily avoidable, obvious traps will activate, you'll die instantly, but you won't see how the trap works or how you died until you play it several times and watch carefully, bearing in mind you see right away that it's a trap you should skip.
    -lockpicking has no feedback for what happens if you mess up, and you have to press the button about three times for each lockpicking move to register
    -garrett's character starts the game off by being a huge **** and getting his love interest killed, then makes sarcastic comments about her skill as a thief afterwards. this is not meant to be edgy or show his character, it's just bad writing among lots of other bad writing.
    -you steal boring collectible items to sit on them and browse through them at your den. (like we are supposed to care about browsing jewelry and would prefer not to just have $$$ for them)
    -NPC dialogue, while changing each time you die, is still too repetitive per turn (expect to hear several people humming the same tune while in the same small building), while garret's dialogue is surprisingly accommodating for several playstyles.
    - good luck finding paths that lead to different sections of the map. most of the time there'll just be a random 4''X4'' piece of wood you have to locate without direction or clues and then hold the x button on it. WTF, eidos?
    - you can't loot guards you've knocked out (seriously?)
    - there are several playstyles, apparently, but none are explained. you are just told their names on the pause screen. no manual is included with game.
    - when picking up a document such as a letter or newspaper, often with valuable clues, you have to manually pause the game and find it in your clunky inventory, rather than it just showing up onscreen for you to scan over.
    -you'll want to replay each mission, not because it was fun and you can see alternate strategies you could have taken, but because you'll be graded poorly or be told you missed items, and you'll then go online and see in the walkthrough that you did everything the wrong way and missed entire maps because the game has no direction.
    -you can't do anything to security cameras. just avoid them. super lame!
    - the game lacks fantasy elements of thief 1 and 2, just feels like the developers played **** part 3 only
    -you'll be punished (game over) for knocking any civilians out (in classic thief mode)
    -enemy alert levels above their heads are confusing, ugly, and too small.
    -enemy AI is a psychotic mess. you never know what you're going to get thanks to **** hit detection, buggy controls, and weird, unpredictable ranges of sight. nothing like setting up a plan only to have an enemy turn around and spring on you because your hand touched his ass instead of knocking him out like garrett was supposed to, but couldn't because the icon was taken away for a millisecond

    need i go on? I'm going to do the right thing and sell this game AND dishonored and pick up the dishonored GOTY edition to play the DLC content. it'll be worth a lot more to me than this half-baked game.
    Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2014
    5
    I wanted to like this game but after seeing the reviews I wasn't sure. I decided to pick it up from redbox and I'm so glad I didn't buy it.I wanted to like this game but after seeing the reviews I wasn't sure. I decided to pick it up from redbox and I'm so glad I didn't buy it. Now I won't say it's a bad game just a clunky mediocre one at best. It is a straight up stealth game so if you try to play like a cold blooded killer you will die or get caught up in the worst first person combat I've seen from a high budget game. I couldn't finish it as I was just bored with the game. It didn't do anything new or exciting that some stealth games do. It definitely wasn't my kind of game and its sad because I do love stealth games like splinter cell and metal gear but those two games let you have a choice to play stealth while this game encourages it. The stealth in thief is actually pretty good as you have to hide in the shadows from enemies and wait. The game falls apart when you have to fight a guard one or two on one as the combat is terribly clunky and boring. It's a shame too because I wanted to like this and believe it was good but I was left with a mediocre game from a great development company (they made deus ex human revolution after all) this thief should learn to bring better weapons and and sad to say but this game deserves to stay in the shadows. Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2015
    3
    Having never played any previous thief games i must say that this game is dull. Im sure glad I got a 75 percent discount on it. For a fan ofHaving never played any previous thief games i must say that this game is dull. Im sure glad I got a 75 percent discount on it. For a fan of shooters and stealth shooter games the controls are unusual and take getting used to. Im on the second level so far and I don't see the appeal at all. The gameplay is just sneaking around and stealing stuff in the darkness. Oooo exciting. I havent seen a single weapon in the game yet. Ive played and loved every splinter cell and metal gear solid game so you know where im coming from. If your looking for a stealth shooter this would be a big dissapointment for you. Expand
  7. May 7, 2014
    0
    I've spent about 48 hours on this game, and I should say that I'm *very* glad I didn't buy it (a friend of mine was very kind to allow me toI've spent about 48 hours on this game, and I should say that I'm *very* glad I didn't buy it (a friend of mine was very kind to allow me to play his copy).
    While it sounds ridiculous, but in Thief 2014, you *don't* even need to steal, at all... The game will anyway reward you at the end of each mission, so why bother? Nice, isn't it?
    The setting. Remember the old three Thief games? Ok, now forget them! Since Thief 2014 is a reboot, you will encounter *nothing* from the old ones. I mean Eidos Montreal has *totally* destroyed and erased everything that made Thief series so unique: Keepers, Pagans, Hammerites, Mechanists, Kurshoks, burricks, and hell - even zombies! Everything!
    The plot. Definitely the worst I ever met in video games. Just abominable! You still have some doubts? Ok then. Just try to watch the *bossfight* with Thief Taker General on YouTube and see for yourself. Yeah, *bossfights* in a *stealth* game.
    The audio. It's just disgusting. All NPCs have just two phrases, and several NPCs have even just *one* phrase. And you know what? These NPCs will repeat their "repertoire" till the kingdom come, with just *one* second interval. Sound propagation works so erroneously, so it was a real pain for me to understand where the sound came from.
    The protagonist. His new voice, by Romano Orzari, sounds so dull and boring! Instead, the old Garrett's voice, by Stephen Russell, was just brilliant! So if you still love Stephen Russell's voice as Garrett in Thief 1&2&3, you will absolutely be disappointed by Romano Orzari's voice in Thief 2014.

    Bottom line: it's a tasteless hack, so make yourself a favour and save your money for something really useful.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers