Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeO.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    This was the first version of tiger woods i have played. It was bought as a gift. Initially when playing the 'Career' mode i because really frustrated with it. To get the most outof the game patience is needed until your golfers stats improve. when they do this is one of the most enjoyable games i have ever played. the graphics are smooth and very near perfect. I thought another This was the first version of tiger woods i have played. It was bought as a gift. Initially when playing the 'Career' mode i because really frustrated with it. To get the most outof the game patience is needed until your golfers stats improve. when they do this is one of the most enjoyable games i have ever played. the graphics are smooth and very near perfect. I thought another nice touch to the online side of the game was the challenge modes (where i've lost many hours trying to beat one particular longest drive!) There were a couple of glitches i found with the game, for example if your drive a ball to within the range of 7 55-110 yrds from the pin where you would choose probably a 9 iron in real life, the game doesnt allow you to and the only clubs you can use are your wedges which makes it impossible for you to reach the green in two, this is probably the most frustrating thing on the game and hopefully the '09 version with have ammended this glitch. All in all this game is a fantastic buy for none golfing fans aswell as the golfing fanatics, without the couple of little glitches (that can be found in all games if you look hard enough) this game would rate a 10. But i suppose it gives EA a little bit of room to strive for the perfect golf simulation game. Expand
  2. KevinVanden
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    I want to play a role playing game, I want to play Tiger. Play a round of golf! Tiger Woods is a golf simulation. Period. It is an arcade golf experience with a bunch of role playing elements tossed in. I want to go to a Pro Shop to buy a hat that gives me more power, but they model the actual equipment instead. It's a thing of beauty. I'm tired of wasting my time with the LinksI want to play a role playing game, I want to play Tiger. Play a round of golf! Tiger Woods is a golf simulation. Period. It is an arcade golf experience with a bunch of role playing elements tossed in. I want to go to a Pro Shop to buy a hat that gives me more power, but they model the actual equipment instead. It's a thing of beauty. I'm tired of wasting my time with the Links franchise garbage. I gave it a 10 because the putting in this game is actually pretty good, and I would have given it a 12 if they didn't dumb that aspect down with the putt preview feature. Collapse
  3. KevinV.
    Sep 19, 2007
    1
    If I wanted to play a role playing game, I would stick with WoW. Whatever happened to playing a round of golf? Adjusting your stance? Ball positioning? Lie consideration and proper club selection? Tiger Woods is NOT a golf simulation. Period. It is a weak arcade golf experience with a bunch of lame role playing elements tossed in. I don't want to have to go to a Pro Shop to buy a hat If I wanted to play a role playing game, I would stick with WoW. Whatever happened to playing a round of golf? Adjusting your stance? Ball positioning? Lie consideration and proper club selection? Tiger Woods is NOT a golf simulation. Period. It is a weak arcade golf experience with a bunch of lame role playing elements tossed in. I don't want to have to go to a Pro Shop to buy a hat that gives me more power. That's ridiculous. Model the actual equipment instead. You wouldn't use an Adams Tight Lies 3 Wood out of medium rough. Trust me. Off the fairway, it's a thing of beauty. Please Microsoft bring the Links franchise to the 360!! I'm tired of wasting my time with EA's garbage. I gave it a 1 because the putting in this game is actually pretty good, and I would have given it a 2 if they didn't dumb that aspect down with the putt preview feature. Expand
  4. DavidW.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    Man, I don't know what the other user reviews are complaining about regarding bugs. I had heard that there was some problem with the tiger challenge uploading, but it seems to work for me. In fact, the game seems to be pretty solid. I like that they've included the Fed Ex Cup tournament thing. You wouldn't think that EA would incorporate something like that so soon.
  5. AdamK.
    Sep 9, 2007
    2
    How can people buy a game that last a week and then all the bugs come out, holes hanging, players disappearing. EA should come to the party as this could have been a great game, and now many people out there are waiting for a patch to fix the error(s). Very disappointing, could have been a great game, now it is money wasted.
  6. DonM.
    Sep 8, 2007
    0
    You may think this score is harsh but a game that will not even let me hit a ball deserves a very big ZERO!!! My friend and I had been eagerly awaiting this release for some time as 07 was also very prone to crashing and we rushed out and got a copy as soon as it was released. It played fine for a week and is now unplayable as it freezes/crashes on the first hole of most game types!!! DO You may think this score is harsh but a game that will not even let me hit a ball deserves a very big ZERO!!! My friend and I had been eagerly awaiting this release for some time as 07 was also very prone to crashing and we rushed out and got a copy as soon as it was released. It played fine for a week and is now unplayable as it freezes/crashes on the first hole of most game types!!! DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, HEED MY WARNING EA Sports, ripped off again! Expand
  7. MatC.
    Sep 4, 2007
    5
    This game defines mediocrity, and the problem of having too many features. For every step forward, there's a big step back. Putting is easy, and they made it easier. The CPU takes drops for no particular reason. They spend too much time on their photo stuff, but then it doesn't work because their servers are crashed and the game won't accept photos via USB. There are bad This game defines mediocrity, and the problem of having too many features. For every step forward, there's a big step back. Putting is easy, and they made it easier. The CPU takes drops for no particular reason. They spend too much time on their photo stuff, but then it doesn't work because their servers are crashed and the game won't accept photos via USB. There are bad camera angles, but there doesn't have to be, since it's selecting poor angles when good ones exist. Commentary is very 5 years ago, and I have to turn it off immediately. More courses are locked than not on start. Why lock courses at all? They have lots of new equipment, but no hybrids. You have to carry a 56* wedge, and there's no emphasis on major differences like shaft flexibility. This game doesn't have to be a sim all the time; we use Tiger Woods! That's hardly a sim. But the reality is that there is more emphasis on skin spots than having a reliable play between 50-90 yards. Wedges under 30 yds are a crap shoot rather than a realistic short play, and the sickening part is that there's no real reason for it. Too much unrealized potential... this game should be called Sergio Garcia '08. Expand
  8. SeanB.
    Aug 31, 2007
    6
    What happened to my Tiger? Something changed for the worse in the last year, I cant hit a ball anymore and the skill progression is messed up. The game still looks very nice and I love the amount of courses (which seem cleaner and more polished), but it feels like certain areas of the game were completely neglected - and those are the areas I play! Sheesh, the thing crashed on me three What happened to my Tiger? Something changed for the worse in the last year, I cant hit a ball anymore and the skill progression is messed up. The game still looks very nice and I love the amount of courses (which seem cleaner and more polished), but it feels like certain areas of the game were completely neglected - and those are the areas I play! Sheesh, the thing crashed on me three times during the challenges. Not only that but I cant get the photoface feature to work and cant get through an online game at all. This game feels hurried out the door and in comparison, there are many less gameplay features from years past. I think they underestimate their audience and think throwing more courses at us will make up for downgraded gameplay and features. Putting is too easy and I grow so tired of the un-funny dialog. The commentators are tired and I think I cant stand them anymore. The dialog is wrong more often than not. While this is the best golf game out there, that doesnt say much and will stick to last years game if I can find someone to play it with. I expected more out of the madden guys, but then again, they did also make the Superman turdball. Expand
  9. lLeroyR.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    I love the feel of this game it feel much more authentic then the rest. When I hit a good wedge shot I know it, as soon as it comes off the clubface.
  10. OshiA.
    Aug 29, 2007
    9
    Excellent graphics, especially on the new courses. The 3-click is a bit too sensitive, but you get use to it. Photoface isn't flawless, but I can make my own face with the default face maker. The interface seems pretty slick. Overall, the best golf game I've seen.
  11. PaulW.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    An outstanding title. The game is of the highest quality in all aspects. The game's presentation, from the menu screens to the in-game action, is all silky smooth. I was also thoroughly impressed by the new GamerNet feature, by which one can save his or her best shots and rounds and post them, challenging others to best their achievements. This could've been flawed if it An outstanding title. The game is of the highest quality in all aspects. The game's presentation, from the menu screens to the in-game action, is all silky smooth. I was also thoroughly impressed by the new GamerNet feature, by which one can save his or her best shots and rounds and post them, challenging others to best their achievements. This could've been flawed if it wasn't executed well, but the game makers have included their own shots to encourage users to get involved. It's all very compelling without being overly cumbersome, and its a feature I hope to return to time after time. As of this posting, I was unable to get my GameFace completed due to site difficulties. (The out-of-game picture posting service is bogged down with heavy traffic). All this comes as an added bonus to stellar gameplay. There is a game here, and it is a great one. It is not leaps and bounds beyond 07, but it is a significant improvement. Shot mechanics have been tweaked, and it is much more sensitive to how you swing the analog stick. This takes some getting used to, but if you don't have the patience, they've also included a three-button-press meter as well. All in all, if you enjoy video games or golf, at least rent this game. You won't be disappointed in the slightest. Expand
  12. StephenAbbamonte
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    Ok one word, GamerNet. This is one of the best features I have ever seen in any video game, ever. This is what competitive gamers really want, the ability to create your own challenge and give it to the world and see who can beat it. this brings online golf and games in general to the next level.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    85
    It packs enough pure dazzle power to keep you trudging through the lows in pursuit of the sweet, sweet highs - and that's the stuff that great golf is made of. [Oct 2007, p.68]
  2. 90
    No doubt about it Tiger Woods 08 offers up an excellent round of 360 golf. The gameplay upgrades are right on and GamesNet promises unlimited potential for online action.
  3. Sometimes when you’re golfing you nail a hole because you bail yourself out with a superb putt, chip, or tee shot. But this game is instead like masterfully shot hole, where each stroke feels just right.