User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinA
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    Wow! What a difference. It just plays so much better than the last two iterations. It looks and feels great. When it comes to EA I'm quite cynical, but this year with Tiger Woods 09 they have delivered a game that balances 'fun' and 'simulation'

    Good job all round guys. This bodes well for Fifa 09!
  2. JamieC
    Sep 1, 2008
    4
    Nice graphics, although a tad 'boxy' at times. The gameplay is good, but not really that different then any of the other Tiger games. Putting is ridiculous as missing the hole by an inch when putting uphill can result in the ball stopping in its uphill motion and then rolling back down the hill past your original spot! The attributes system works in strange ways too as I managed Nice graphics, although a tad 'boxy' at times. The gameplay is good, but not really that different then any of the other Tiger games. Putting is ridiculous as missing the hole by an inch when putting uphill can result in the ball stopping in its uphill motion and then rolling back down the hill past your original spot! The attributes system works in strange ways too as I managed to set a course record firing a -11, and yet all my skills decreased by at least .2 each. Tiger Challenge makes the game playable, as with all other Tiger games since the mini games and challenges are fun and rewarding. Match play against a cpu with no fast forward is tedious though. Tournament play also needs some serious tweaking as every single round at least 4 cpu players break the course record. -25 under for a 4 round tournament will get you approximately 30th place, wheres the realism? I shouldnt be able to drive the green of a par five after having the game an hour. Is this arcade style golf? Expand
  3. MichaelM.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    I played the game at the GC in Leipzig for almost an hour and I think it's the best Tiger Woods game so far! The gameplay is much better than last last year and the new attribute system makes more sense. I really like the new graphics too.
  4. Leroy
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    The new club tuner is single handedly the most impressive addition in the entire tiger woods franchise and as a golfer its the coolest thing I have ever seen.
  5. AdamK
    Aug 28, 2008
    9
    I just want to say being an avid Tiger Gamer, that EA have finally put together a game that is stable and fun, and has depth. Compared to last years release that was full of bugs, this year seems to have it all sorted. Well Done EA. Although the only gripe I do have is that the game is easier than last year, and some ridiculous scores are going to be shot.
  6. JohnC
    Sep 3, 2008
    8
    A step up graphically and functionally from 08. Club Tuner allows the game to be tweaked to a reasonable challenge for all skill types. Game is still bogged down by multi-range putting system and a loosely integrated swing inteface, but the ball physics are getting closer to the real thing.
  7. ToddE.
    Sep 6, 2008
    8
    Plays well...but TOO easy to hit fairways and greens. The idea of player attributes needs to go away. Give a player a certain amount of points to spend on player attributes and let them choose what is important to them, that would be much more fun than playing maxed out players online EVERY match.
  8. Adam
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    Controls are way better this year. I like the way the stats work as well. Much Improvement EA!!!!
  9. JamesC
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    This is a big improvement on TW 08 (which I didn't even buy because the demo had shown how horrible it was). The analog swing is much more refined - even better than TW 07. The new stats management system is great - the courses are fantastic and look better than ever. The simplicity of gamernet and how you can win gamernet points simply by playing a single player round shows This is a big improvement on TW 08 (which I didn't even buy because the demo had shown how horrible it was). The analog swing is much more refined - even better than TW 07. The new stats management system is great - the courses are fantastic and look better than ever. The simplicity of gamernet and how you can win gamernet points simply by playing a single player round shows fantastic implementation. Overall - I'd have to say this is the best TW yet - I'm so glad to be able to say that. Trading in TW 07 is finally an option. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. It's great that Tiger 09 doesn't add 17 new mini-games, but instead reformulates its approach to your golfer's skills and gear with dramatically improved results. [Oct 2008, p.81]
  2. 100
    Tiger 09 is remarkably improved across the board.
  3. I’m not sure why EA stripped away features that already worked beautifully. I wish this year’s five new courses were just the beginning of the additions instead of one of the highlights, but it’ll have to do while we wait for a course creator.