Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 Xbox 360

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    97
    I ended last year's review by saying, "I don't know how this game can possibly get any better, but I look forward to seeing EA try to best this almost-flawless installment, and what is arguably the best version of PGA Tour in the history of the franchise.". Well, somehow they did manage to best their previous efforts, so I will let that statement and challenge conclude this year's review as I return to the links for another year of great virtual golf.
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    91
    In the end this could be the best golf game you have ever played, or the worst, and it will all be dependent on how much you can adapt to the new swing mechanics, that while take the most realistic approach in video game history, don't provide the option for casual gamers to revert to a different or classic mechanic.
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    91
    It's getting harder to improve upon a title that has seemingly thought of everything for its fanbase. EA Tiburon did a great job in bringing Tiger Woods into the home as not just a golfer, but as a member of their own family with his Legacy mode. The Kinect makes this title that much better. There are some minor issues with the new swing mechanics that increase the difficulty perhaps a bit too much, but once you get past those, you'll find that Tiger 13 is just another solid title in one of EA's more under-appreciated franchises.
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is far more than just a more of the same. Thanks to many new features and a great Kinect implementation, this game is a fantastic sports game for newbies and pros as well.
  5. Mar 27, 2012
    90
    The developers have seriously enhanced Tiger Woods PGA Tour, refining the gameplay, enhancing social features, and even affecting the way the game's extras are unlocked. They've delivered a complete package that offers golf fans the most refined, deepest-and, most importantly, fun-golf experience in years. Whether you're a casual golf fan or a hardcore PGA wannabe, you'll find plenty to love in this year's offering. Now, we just need a few more hours in the day to get out to the course…
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    90
    Even if the motion controls lack a true 1:1 golf swing experience, the Kinect adds a nice new gamplay experience to the series. And if motion controls generate little interest for you, the Country Club mode and other additions warrant your investing time with Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13.
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    88
    There are some technical flaws and minor annoyances, but the strength of the game shines through them. It's not an ace, but it's on the green and very close to the hole.
  8. Jun 16, 2012
    85
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is what we came to expect from the series: it contains enough new stuff to justify purchase, but doesn't do anything groundbreaking enough to speak to a new demographic. The word 'solid' is usually not enough, but this franchise has been on this level for years, and we're simply getting used to it.
  9. Apr 3, 2012
    85
    A brilliant Tiger Woods upgrade. [May 2012, p.80]
  10. Apr 3, 2012
    85
    Overall, Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is a great experience. The gameplay mechanics and modes introduced this year are a great step in the right direction.
  11. Mar 29, 2012
    85
    Overall I have had a lot of fun with Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13. Despite my complaint about the way some of the courses are handled this is a great golfing title.
  12. Mar 28, 2012
    85
    While the presentation could still use work, the tweaks to the play mechanics add a welcome layer of depth in how you approach and execute shots. More importantly, it strikes the right balance between easy to learn and hard to master that's been conspicuously absent from earlier entries in the long-running series.
  13. Mar 27, 2012
    83
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 prevents the series from getting long in the tooth by introducing some great new mechanics and modes. I enjoyed my time reviewing the game and for the first time in years, found myself incredibly excited swing in and swing out. It's too bad that the Free To Play model has seeped into the game and that DLC is continually dangled in front of the player, because it's distracting and annoying.
  14. Apr 4, 2012
    82
    Sadly, for everything Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 does right, the experience is ultimately marred by EA's use of coins to determine so much of the experience. It feels wrong... and I wouldn't have such a problem with it if it didn't cost so much to unlock the extra courses, and that so many of the extra courses are unavailable to you at the beginning. To access it all either involves a major time commitment or shelling out more of my hard-earned money for what I honestly feel like I've already paid for. It's difficult not to feel extorted.
  15. Mar 28, 2012
    82
    Tiger Legacy may not be much, but the new online Country Clubs are, as well as the Masters tournament, the gameplay tweaks and the Party Play.
  16. Mar 27, 2012
    82
    It took motion control to make me enjoy a golf game, and enjoy it I did.
  17. Apr 11, 2012
    81
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is an enjoyable game, however if you already own Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters, there's probably not a great deal of incentives to purchase the latest game.
  18. Apr 26, 2012
    80
    If you own a Kinect or a Move controller, buy this game. And if you don't own the aforementioned motion controllers, buy it all the same.
  19. Apr 18, 2012
    80
    The nuts and bolts of Tiger Woods 13 do more than enough to restore the golfer's digital reputation. [Issue#121, p.116]
  20. Apr 17, 2012
    80
    Though the gameplay additions for this year merit a purchase (yes, even if you own last year's version), I truly hope the DLC model for this game doesn't become standard in sports titles.
  21. Apr 7, 2012
    80
    Gameplay-wise, this is the best golf game you can buy. It's just a shame that the aggressive DLC structure constantly attempts to suck your wallet dry.
  22. Apr 6, 2012
    80
    Remains the definitive video game golfing experience.
  23. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    Overall Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is worth owning, especially if you missed out on last years effort, the swing mechanics are improved and there is a decent amount of new content. It isn't worth buying for the Kinect alone though.
  24. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    Thanks to the new swing setup, I've had more fun playing Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 than any previous entry in the series. By putting the onus on you to think like a real golfer and execute every shot, PGA Tour 13 makes successful play more rewarding than ever before and gives you the closest possible feeling to mastering a world-class golf course in real life.
  25. Apr 1, 2012
    80
    In the end, Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is still a force in video game golf. The mechanics are solid, and the changes to the swing system give the game a little more depth, even if it means that veterans have to spend some time to re-learn the system.
  26. Mar 27, 2012
    80
    This is EA Sports' first use of Kinect, and it shows. The peripheral doesn't come close to replicating your backswing with fidelity, and it lacks fluidity and accuracy. The PS3 Move functionality fares only slightly better, but the hiccups in the backswing animation are annoying when you're trying to gauge how much power to use during putting. I don't recommend either of these peripherals over the normal control setup.
  27. Mar 27, 2012
    80
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 would have been a stellar sports title, with its new emphasis on realism and online clubs, if it traded its microtransactional model for a fairer coin system. No one likes buying a $60 title that thinks it's free to play. If you actually put in the work-the weeks upon weeks of effort playing the game-you still feel shorted people who put in less work but have more money to spend. Of course, if you spend money, you've just bought into the scheme. Somehow, Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is as much a financial test of character as it is a test of gameplay skill, and that's unfortunately as memorable as any sort of comeback.
  28. May 16, 2012
    78
    There's no compelling reason to "upgrade" from last year's version and the game should not be bought for Kinect play alone. However, if you haven't played a Tiger Woods game in a while and can live with the courses available at the start, it's possible for you to be quite happy with Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13.
  29. Apr 18, 2012
    78
    One of the entries in the Tiger Woods series which has included more new features in this generation of consoles, including a great mode in which we can relive Tiger Woods career. Kinect compatibility is obviously the greatest new feature, which works quite well, although it doesn't achieve to replace the traditional controls. A great golf simulator, though.
  30. Apr 13, 2012
    76
    An excellent game of golf. It offers a wide range of options and the new controls are good. Of course, Kinect adds a new experience to the series.
  31. Apr 18, 2012
    75
    Every year, it's the same story. Because of the lack of competition, Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 keeps its position as the best golf game on the market. However, the next game really needs to present new features to the players to give the IP a new lease on life!
  32. Apr 2, 2012
    75
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is still the best golf simulator for sale. The video game is deeply playable and offers a wide range of options which make the game very similar to the real sport. The perfect adaption with Kinect allows to enjoy a realistic experience and makes it the best sport video game for this device. Tiger Woods Legacy is a very funny and spectacular mode in which can be lived again the best golf player ever's career.
  33. 75
    Unfortunately, it all feels very hollow. Minimal Jim Nantz commentary and crowd noise, limited facial emotions or post-shot reactions, and an overriding... silence makes Tiger 13 feel lifeless. We know golf is supposed to be serene, but it all feels unfinished here, as if the developers meant to take another pass on the audio, animation, and overall presentation.
  34. Mar 27, 2012
    75
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is close. It's so very close to being a truly great golf sim and the Kinect support is far and away better than I could have possibly imagined.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    3
    My buddy and I rock Tiger Woods PGA 11 all the time. It's an incredibly fun game, and it's very user-friendly. You don't have to learn how toMy buddy and I rock Tiger Woods PGA 11 all the time. It's an incredibly fun game, and it's very user-friendly. You don't have to learn how to play PGA 11. You get better at using the advanced controls, but you don't have to spend hours learning how to play the game. THIS GAME, on the other hand, PGA Tour 13, is a pain in the a** to play. The controls feel far too complicated and the game just doesn't feel right.. Full Review »
  2. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    This is the best Tiger so far without a doubt. I love the new swing mechanic, and putting is great as well. If you make a bad shot, you reallyThis is the best Tiger so far without a doubt. I love the new swing mechanic, and putting is great as well. If you make a bad shot, you really feel as if it were your fault and not the games. The graphics have been completely revamped, and the new look is terrific, with grass blowing in the wind, moving clouds, streaming sunshine, and the crowds now look quite colorful and much more realistic. There is a noticeable decrease in overall resolution, which I'm guessing is due to hardware limitations, and which creates a perfect argument for new consoles. I don't care much for the kinect feature, it is just too cumbersome for me, but you may like it. I have no problem at all paying for extra courses, because well, I want lots of extra courses!! Overall just a great and super fun game. Full Review »
  3. Feb 11, 2014
    0
    Until I get a full game with all courses available I will not play this game or give it good reviews.

    That is all I ask for, a complete
    Until I get a full game with all courses available I will not play this game or give it good reviews.

    That is all I ask for, a complete game. I don't want to have to download anything after I buy it.
    Full Review »