Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 9, 2006
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 214
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Great addition to the Tom Clancy series. This is the best 360 game in my opinion to date. (2011) You love it or you hate it. Loved the multiplayer, Co-op and the Singleplayer was just amazing.
  2. Jun 9, 2015
    7
    It was one of the first next-gen game in terms of graphics and it was also a solid campaign, with classic gameplay for the Ghost Recon franchise, but I think that the fact it was ahead of its time technically hide some of its defaults and now in 2015 those defaults are a true problem to the global experience.

    First the IA of the allies is way under what you would expect from a tactical
    It was one of the first next-gen game in terms of graphics and it was also a solid campaign, with classic gameplay for the Ghost Recon franchise, but I think that the fact it was ahead of its time technically hide some of its defaults and now in 2015 those defaults are a true problem to the global experience.

    First the IA of the allies is way under what you would expect from a tactical shooter, and they really pissed me off in hard mode. Two there was a lot of bugs in the game (screen going black for a few seconds, disappearance of the HUD, not working checkpoints, etc...). And for those two reasons my experience about the game is very mixed when your teammates doesn't screw up and you have no bug it's an enjoyable tactical shooter, but sometimes it was just a task to advance.

    I would advice to buy Advanced Warfighter 2 or some Rainbow Six Vegas before this game
    Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    6
    When this was first released, it was one of the best games ever made, but it's been put in perspective a few years later, which is what this review is based on. I had a lot of fun playing this game, but there were so many unforgiving points that made your replay sections over and over again. The multiplayer was compelling but they removed the cover system and it also looked far worse thanWhen this was first released, it was one of the best games ever made, but it's been put in perspective a few years later, which is what this review is based on. I had a lot of fun playing this game, but there were so many unforgiving points that made your replay sections over and over again. The multiplayer was compelling but they removed the cover system and it also looked far worse than the singeplayer for whatever reason. It's an interesting game, but these days doesn't really hold up. Expand
  4. SadisticX
    Jul 20, 2008
    4
    This game was rushed. It's jam packed full of bugs to the point where it interferes with the already bad gameplay mechanics and frustrating controls. As others said AI is terrible. That means units sometimes dont follow orders or get themselves shot while your trying to do your objectives. The graphics are bad, the whole game is overly dark, and overuses the "bloom effect". It seems This game was rushed. It's jam packed full of bugs to the point where it interferes with the already bad gameplay mechanics and frustrating controls. As others said AI is terrible. That means units sometimes dont follow orders or get themselves shot while your trying to do your objectives. The graphics are bad, the whole game is overly dark, and overuses the "bloom effect". It seems like a cheap way to get the "next gen' look. the night missions are almost unplayable and the nightvision is nearly usueless. You'll have to turn off the dynamic contrast on your HDTV and raise the brightness which makes the game look JUST like a ps2 game. The explosions are good, the animations are good and the voice acting is top notch. This game was rushed in ALL other departments, probably because of pressure from the overexcited gaming community hype or shareholders or microsoft in an effort to keep its lead over sony. Expand
  5. JamesLybrand
    Mar 21, 2006
    1
    The dumbest fricken AI I have ever seen and its not the enemy AI its the team AI it sucks so bad I felt like throwing my conrtoller into the tv screen. It doesnt deserve the Tom Clancy name on it. I am terribly dissapointed I would rather bang my head into a wall or work on sawing my own foot off. I wanted to just take my 360 back and that is realy bad.
  6. ZacD
    Jul 26, 2009
    9
    Great game, the best Naruto game I have bought in a while, at a great price too! $.98 plus tax at my local wal-mart. The graphics and explorability (word?) are great and sets it apart from naruto games on nintendo consoles. If only they get some bleach games like this!
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    5
    Bad! Abysmal campaign. Horribly slow multiplayer. It's a mystery to me why this game is generally highly rated. It's painful to even type 150 characters for this crap.
  8. Dec 25, 2013
    4
    This game had quite a few interesting ideas and mechanics but for the most part they could do with a bit of polish for example the use of support units, this makes the game seem like you can and must take a tactical approach to levels, however the limited control means that more often than not your support units do little more than cover your flank. In my opinion this campaign was allThis game had quite a few interesting ideas and mechanics but for the most part they could do with a bit of polish for example the use of support units, this makes the game seem like you can and must take a tactical approach to levels, however the limited control means that more often than not your support units do little more than cover your flank. In my opinion this campaign was all about caution and patience, two things which quickly dissipate in a (realistic) shooter game where one shot can kill. Whilst I think the game may have been a bit of fun when it was released, 7 years late I don't feel like it is worth going back too, Also I have to note I am not against tactical shooters as a whole, I played the original ghost recon on xbox and loved it. Expand
  9. MattB.
    Mar 9, 2006
    8
    Wish I could give it a 7.8. Lobby system is a joke. We pay for XBLive and ... can we just get a SOCOM setup ... PLEASE! Graphics are hot! Seems like a bit of a run & gun in multiplayer ... but I've only played one night.
  10. [Anonymous]
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Best game yet for the 360....a true next-gen title. Multiplayer rocks. Buy this game.
  11. ChrisS.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Great Graphics....Great Multiplayer......Great Game!
  12. Leo
    Mar 10, 2006
    9
    Awesome, awesome, awesome. AI can be bad sometimes but that cannot take away from what really is the first proper next-gen game. Pity that MetaCritic's scoring system doesn't discount stupid low ratings that some people give to screw the average score though! [Ed: Yeah, pity]
  13. KrisP.
    Mar 7, 2006
    8
    This is a fun and exciting game. The designers put so much detail into it. It is turning a little to much technology parts inside the. It now seems like a fantasy game. Who knows maybe we'll have plasma pistols and photon rifles on Ghost Recon 4.
  14. Justin
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Great game, amazing graphics, wonderfully innovative tactical gameplay. I must-have for Xbox 360 owners.
  15. AnthonyVolpe
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    An enormous improvement over the previous versions. The gameplay is solid but unforgiving, the squad commands are great and surprisingly intuitive, and the Republic-Commando-style teammate healing feature is a great plus. Online play with the right group of people is unlike anything you'll ever play - 11-year-old Halo 2 trolls NEED NOT APPLY. Older, more wily and tactical playersAn enormous improvement over the previous versions. The gameplay is solid but unforgiving, the squad commands are great and surprisingly intuitive, and the Republic-Commando-style teammate healing feature is a great plus. Online play with the right group of people is unlike anything you'll ever play - 11-year-old Halo 2 trolls NEED NOT APPLY. Older, more wily and tactical players recommended and welcomed. Expand
  16. Max
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    Tom Clancy games rarely disappoint me. I had a fun time with Ghost Recon. Sadly, it was my first game i bought for the 360 and I didn't know what would happen when I pick up the 360 when it's playing a cd inside it.....(it gets scratched). The assortment of rifles, snipers, and machine guns were fun to play with. The maps were fun and I liked how I could hook up 3 other Tom Clancy games rarely disappoint me. I had a fun time with Ghost Recon. Sadly, it was my first game i bought for the 360 and I didn't know what would happen when I pick up the 360 when it's playing a cd inside it.....(it gets scratched). The assortment of rifles, snipers, and machine guns were fun to play with. The maps were fun and I liked how I could hook up 3 other controllers and play online with my friends. I am disappointed in GRAW 2 because there isn't anyone playing GRAW1 anymore and GRAW 2 isn't as good. This game was$60 well spent but there isn't many people playing it anymore so a used copy from Gamestop would well suit a gamer. Expand
  17. AndyB.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    What a fps should be. GRAW is the epitome of a next gen title.
  18. FPSMaster
    Mar 12, 2006
    8
    Great SP graphics, terrible A.I. from friendlies and enemies and cheap deaths. Controls in SP are a little clunky, and will get you killed a lot more than your lack of knowing what to do. Overall, SP is what Full Spectrum Warrior would be if you had total control over everything. MP is still crap because of the historic Ubisoft online interface of archaic menus, refreshing lists and bad Great SP graphics, terrible A.I. from friendlies and enemies and cheap deaths. Controls in SP are a little clunky, and will get you killed a lot more than your lack of knowing what to do. Overall, SP is what Full Spectrum Warrior would be if you had total control over everything. MP is still crap because of the historic Ubisoft online interface of archaic menus, refreshing lists and bad online stability. Getting dropped from matches in the norm, and the graphics have been toned down in MP to about Chaos Theory graphics (but jaggier and worse lighting) which looked good a year ago on Xbox, but look way too plain now against the beautiful SP which still could look better without all the pop-up and low res texture work. Get it for online if you don't care about graphics and liked the archaic set-up of GR2 and GR2SS, because it looks and plays EXACTLY the same now, spawn camping, slow lobbies, retarded hosts that start the room and leave for an hour and all. Get it for SP because of the graphics, but don't expect to play too long once you get to the night missions which have the worst looking night vision since the first Syphon Filter games. Overall, a disappointmewnt and another reason to say the 360 still doesn't have a true next gen game since this is just BARELY an upgrade from GR2...mainly the SP graphics are the only new thing about it. Expand
  19. TreborD.
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    Flawless on & off-line. Can't put it down!
  20. JayB.
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    I know PS3 is coming, but as far as here and now, it's great to own a 360! I'm a longtime fan of ghost recon, but have never been into a war game like this. A 360 must for anyone who likes to experience a game, not just play one.
  21. AlexL.
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    Great game. All the best bits of other titles from this genre rolled into one, but with fantastic graphics, intuitive controls (mostly) and great technology. I only wish I owned a HD tv! The balanced plot keeps the action diverse and fresh throughout. My only problem is I played this through to completion on my first weekend. What did I do then? Started a new campaign on 'Hard' Great game. All the best bits of other titles from this genre rolled into one, but with fantastic graphics, intuitive controls (mostly) and great technology. I only wish I owned a HD tv! The balanced plot keeps the action diverse and fresh throughout. My only problem is I played this through to completion on my first weekend. What did I do then? Started a new campaign on 'Hard' straight away. Seeing as I didn't bother bothered playing the last few levels of PDZ its refreshing to play a game this absorbing again. Great next gen title. Spured me to finally pack away my old Xbox, as I can't see myself going back now. Expand
  22. DuncanE.
    Mar 22, 2006
    5
    Good idea, just not implemented very well. Cannot be described as a "Halo Killer" as the playability is no way near the same level. I like this game, dont get me wrong, but its not up to the expectations given from the adverts and reviews. The graphics arent as polished as they should be, and the motion is juddery. Another month or so in development could have turned this good game into a Good idea, just not implemented very well. Cannot be described as a "Halo Killer" as the playability is no way near the same level. I like this game, dont get me wrong, but its not up to the expectations given from the adverts and reviews. The graphics arent as polished as they should be, and the motion is juddery. Another month or so in development could have turned this good game into a great game, sorry if you disagree! But it's my opinion and im sticking to it. Expand
  23. SlicesRight
    Mar 23, 2006
    9
    Great game and developers are starting to show "next gen" in their code. Great stuff.
  24. GarboO.
    Mar 28, 2006
    2
    This game sucks! What a waist of time and money. I have never seen such a lame azz game. Whoever was the brains behind this game should be fired. Play Metal Gear or US Navy Seals. This game is a complete waist of effort. They took a good franchise and killed it. They should have stuck with what they did in 2. Now the AI is the worst I have ever seen. Online play has gone from playable to This game sucks! What a waist of time and money. I have never seen such a lame azz game. Whoever was the brains behind this game should be fired. Play Metal Gear or US Navy Seals. This game is a complete waist of effort. They took a good franchise and killed it. They should have stuck with what they did in 2. Now the AI is the worst I have ever seen. Online play has gone from playable to unplayable. Battlefiled Modern Combat is way better than this silly crap. Save you money for a real game. Expand
  25. MatChavez
    Mar 20, 2006
    9
    It's scary how good this game plays online. The 9 is for the things it could have polished better, like the online lobby, etc.
    This game is all about multiplayer xbox live action. Consider the campaign like Halo; a training mission. Give this game some serious consideration, and I'll be fraggin' you online!
  26. J.W.
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    Wow. Great GR gameplay plus drool-inducing graphics and complete multiplayer and singleplayer modes make this one of the best games to come out in a while.
  27. BernL.
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    First really good looking 360 game.
  28. Tony
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    Great game with some seriously kick-ass multiplayer options! LAV hunt rules!
  29. Adam
    Mar 8, 2006
    9
    Everything and more you could want from a Ghost Recon game. I never realy enjoyed Ghost recon or rainbow six games on my xbox but I decided to give them a chance on the 360. The graphics are amazing the stroy is great and the game play is the best yet in this series. Ubi soft has taken advantage of the 360's potential and hands down the best game on the 360 to date. The game shines Everything and more you could want from a Ghost Recon game. I never realy enjoyed Ghost recon or rainbow six games on my xbox but I decided to give them a chance on the 360. The graphics are amazing the stroy is great and the game play is the best yet in this series. Ubi soft has taken advantage of the 360's potential and hands down the best game on the 360 to date. The game shines brightest of course on xbox live. Expand
  30. DonnieL.
    Mar 8, 2006
    10
    I almost crapped in my pants when I played this game!! Very real!
  31. Matt
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Finally a reason to get on Live! Looks amazing.
  32. BretD.
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    Very good graphics and tight gameplay. The AI is a little weak sometimes. I would like my soldiers to "duck and cover" a bit more.
  33. Froggy
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Fans of realistic military shooters (HALO fan boys need not apply) will rejoice. GRAW provides it all: visuals, audo, gameplay, replayability (online), story... I can't recommend this game enough.
  34. Merrill
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    WOW! I was wondering when my $400+ dollar 360 purchase would finally be justified and today is the day. All of the past Ghost Recon games have been great but this is far beyond what I had expected. There are very few words that would describe this game so just go buy it ASAP! :)
  35. ChrisC.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Simply Amazing game with amazing graphics. Welcome to next gen
  36. Brett
    Mar 9, 2006
    5
    Most retarded AI ever seen.
  37. BrianW.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Makes Call of Duty 2 look like Doom in comparison. First true Next-Gen FPS.
  38. DavidB.
    Apr 17, 2006
    9
    stunning visuals and intense game play, make this a must-own title for strategy/shooter fans. the training mission isn't as fleshed out as it should have been for firsttime GR players; but it doesn't take long before the controls become second nature and rather fluid as you preogress through out the missions. smart and gorgeous? you bet.
  39. Ben
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    I played the last Ghost Recon game. It really sucked and I hated it, but then I saw such good reviews for this one and I saw my friend playing it and it looked awesome. It's definetly the best shooter for the 360. I do have some problems with it. Every once in a while you will encounter a spot that you'll be stuck on for a half-an-hour, and when you try to crawl when your prone I played the last Ghost Recon game. It really sucked and I hated it, but then I saw such good reviews for this one and I saw my friend playing it and it looked awesome. It's definetly the best shooter for the 360. I do have some problems with it. Every once in a while you will encounter a spot that you'll be stuck on for a half-an-hour, and when you try to crawl when your prone sometimes you lift off the ground like some invisible guy was pulling you up by your neck. These complaints seem petty in contrast with the hours of awesome gameplay though. Expand
  40. Ryan
    May 13, 2006
    10
    I dont know how some of you can say this game has terrible play or is a waste of money. Ive had this game for a week and im still playing it nonstop! It has extremely realistic environments and Great Hitbox's on enemies. Online is like a dream come true! The best part is when you can get a bunch of your freinds on and all work together on co-op. If your some crazy Rambo guy maybe I dont know how some of you can say this game has terrible play or is a waste of money. Ive had this game for a week and im still playing it nonstop! It has extremely realistic environments and Great Hitbox's on enemies. Online is like a dream come true! The best part is when you can get a bunch of your freinds on and all work together on co-op. If your some crazy Rambo guy maybe this isnt the game for you because it requires some skill. All in all this game is beautiful! there are some other good games out there but this one is the delicous pie of the bakery! Expand
  41. josh
    May 2, 2006
    10
    Hey Garbo O! do you have a good reason to give this game a 2! Bitch what the frecken hell. you sound like one of those ass holes that can't realize a good game when he sees it! ya and navy seals is a terrible game and sucks my balls.
  42. TrayB.
    May 20, 2006
    10
    great game,shooter,and the graphiscs are pretty good as well.
  43. Syc
    Nov 9, 2006
    8
    An excellent tactical shooter that's accessable enough to appeal to those who normally wouldn't play this type of game. Co-op is also excellent though the removal of the single player cover system in multiplayer is perplexing.
  44. BrandonC.
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    Was way better then I expected! Very quality game and worth every dollar!
  45. Ryencoke
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    Excellent. Finally, a game for Xbox Live that is amazing. Excellent job, Ubisoft.
  46. MattW.
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    Wow! Visually stimulating in every way. And incredible gameplay. I now have something worth playing till Halo 3 comes out... (keep your fingers crossed)
  47. JeffA.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Sony says the next generation begins with them. Wrong. The next generation begins when you play Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter for the 360. This is the Halo of wargames.
  48. ToriW.
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    It's a 360 showcase! I've read the other reviews adn most agree, this is a game that really shows off the 360. As to those who say there still isn't a decent next gen game, I ask what it will take to get the designation? I defy anyone to come up with a better looking game than this one.
  49. CorporalPunishment
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    This game is a worthy successor in the Ghost Recon series. It takes everything I loved about the first games and adds next gen graphics. YES Xbox 360, YES! After a slow start (how many were disappointed with the much anticipated PDZ?), I hope this is the game other 360 titles will aspire to be like or even beat fi they can. The next gen has begun!
  50. GaryE.
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    The graphics are stunning and game great, however I still get the feeling this is a little rushed!!
  51. NitemareRacer97
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    Great game but it freezes when i am connecting but it think its something wrong with the cd so im gonna exchange that for another copy and it will still be a great game.
  52. AlfredN.
    Mar 15, 2006
    9
    If you dont give this better than an 8 then you obviously can't be happy with anything. This game is by far the Best military shooter I have ever played. When we saw the intro we said man I can't wait until games look like that. This comes closer than any I have ever seen. The only reason I give it a 9 is because the Local Mper is a little screwed up. Go buy this game if you dont have.
  53. LeroyRodgers
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    This game is a ten all you idiots giving it a 6 or less dont understand games let alone tactical shooters cant wait for Gears of war you say the A.i is crap Gears of war is supposed to have the greatest A.I to date and is supposed to rival that of humans.
  54. LeroyR.
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    This game is a ten not a 6 or lower. You guys dont understand first person tactical shooters. You say the AI sucks just you wait my friend Gears of war is primed to have the most realistic AI ever created and its supposed to rival that of humans.
  55. Miguel
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    Best game ever!
    Guess there's no fanboy now say this can be done on a 6 years old machine. It was funny to see comments on great games such as PGR3 and CoD2, when this kind of loosers gave these game 0 (zero) and then admited they didn't own a X360.
    Tip: if you want to bash a machine/game don't grade it 0, 'cos everyone will notice you're jealous!
  56. MattyB.
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    I've never been a fan of the Ghost Recon franchise. I was more into SOCOM and was sure there was nothing better. Honestly, after playing GRAW for five minutes, I'll never touch SOCOM again. The game looks stunning and the gameplay is such that it makes me feel like you are actually part of the game. This is no run-'n-gun game. You actually must form some sort of game plan I've never been a fan of the Ghost Recon franchise. I was more into SOCOM and was sure there was nothing better. Honestly, after playing GRAW for five minutes, I'll never touch SOCOM again. The game looks stunning and the gameplay is such that it makes me feel like you are actually part of the game. This is no run-'n-gun game. You actually must form some sort of game plan before you execute your mission. Either that, or you're going to get frustrated very quickly. I got my 360 for Christmas and have absolutely enjoyed the games I initially got. However, this may be the first game for the 360 that really made me think, "Ok, now this is next generation!" Seriously, it's that good! I'm not a huge gamer, but this thing made my heart race and palms sweat. If it wasn't for a few minor bugs here and there (what game doesn't), this game would get a 10+! Expand
  57. CiaranG.
    Mar 27, 2006
    5
    Definitely a good title for great graphics but for me, the gameplay and fun I had expected after seeing positive reviews were not what I had experienced. Parts of the campaign were fun and the storyline was fine. But as I progressed, I ended up with random glitches, crashes and errors. Eventually the game wouldn't load up the current mission and I was forced to restart the entire Definitely a good title for great graphics but for me, the gameplay and fun I had expected after seeing positive reviews were not what I had experienced. Parts of the campaign were fun and the storyline was fine. But as I progressed, I ended up with random glitches, crashes and errors. Eventually the game wouldn't load up the current mission and I was forced to restart the entire campaign. Problem is I really could not be bothered to go through some of the levels all again though - some parts were extremely difficult and frustrating and others were very boring - especially the first night mission were I could not see anything in the darkness. I was shooting lots of little red boxes and ordering around tanks and helicopters that I could barely see or witness any of the action. I gave up on the campaign and am now selling it on ebay to pay for burnout revenge, which I hope will be a different story. Online play was pretty useless too. After 10 minutes of waiting around in a lobby (boring and frustrating) I got into a game. The action and fun I expected was not there. The graphics and detail aren't as good as the campaign mode and the long wait to get into the game was not well worth it. For whatever reason, the online play was very boring and had a slow-pace. Call of Duty 2 is much more fun and I realised I could be having a lot more fun waiting less than two miniutes to play a game on Call of Duty 2. I gave the game a chance though and tried online play many times. However, I couldn't actually get into a game. Two or three times in a row, the lobby was closed ten minutes into it, I was kicked out, an unexpected error or two minutes after getting into a game there was another error. I had spent 40 mins just to play an online game - and I had got two minutes play out of it. Thats what put me off this game. I only give it a 5 because of the graphics and the campaign. I'm usually easily satisfied but very rarely a game just doesn't meet up to my expectations - and unfortunately this is one of them. Expand
  58. Daz
    Mar 28, 2006
    3
    Sorry but i didn't like it and took it back to the shop for a refund (in the UK). I bought burnout revenge instead which rocks!! I suppose i shouldn't be too surprised i didn't like it since i haven't liked ghost recon since the very first one that i bought on PC. Sure the graphics are excellent but the gameplay leads a lot to be desired. Disappointing
  59. JimW.
    Mar 8, 2006
    10
    GRAW combines next-gen graphics with next-gen gameplay. A well-designed single-player and an excellent multiplayer make for the best Xbox 360 game to date.
  60. GusClass
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    GRAW is an incredible game!
  61. ElectricMonk
    May 10, 2006
    10
    Until GRAW came along for the 360, I pretty much avoided Tom Clancy titles. However, I am very glad that I decided to purchase this along with "Perfect Dark Zero"--both are amazing first-person shooters, but GRAW takes the cake! Awesome graphics, totally immersible sound, tight controls and incredibly realistic gameplay make this one of my favorite titles by far for the 360.
  62. DarrinZ.
    May 3, 2006
    10
    I am not big on 1 person shooters but this is one of the best games I have ever played on any platform.
  63. WilliamH.
    Jul 3, 2006
    6
    Good graphics. But, average AI (both ways). For example, enemy staring right at you , but makes no attempt to shoot you. On the opposite end, when your location is 300 yards away (even in the prone position) could not possibly be known to any enemy, you immediately get shot with one hit when turning a corner. From 300 yards away (or even form 50 yards away), there is no way the enemy Good graphics. But, average AI (both ways). For example, enemy staring right at you , but makes no attempt to shoot you. On the opposite end, when your location is 300 yards away (even in the prone position) could not possibly be known to any enemy, you immediately get shot with one hit when turning a corner. From 300 yards away (or even form 50 yards away), there is no way the enemy could anticipate your head from a certain corner even if he were aware of your current position. In addition, you cannot save your game without cheats. It is frustrating to play a full 60 minutes to get to a way point only to get shot as described above and have to start all over again (normal mode). Finally, while you can climb towers, you cannot enter any rooms in this game or jump any hurdle. Summary: Good graphics, but AI and environmental diversity needs alot of work. Bill While I'm not the best gamer in the world, I have been "gaming" now for 10 + years. Repeating the same way point attempt 4-5 times is not uncommon for this game Expand
  64. TylerH.
    Aug 2, 2006
    10
    I love this game, even though it does have some wired glitches, it is still the best war game out so far for xbox 360.
  65. FordP.
    Sep 17, 2006
    2
    This game just doesn't do it for me. It has a lot of potential but I can't stand to wait for 15 mins. just to get into a game. Not sure why they couldn't use Halo or SOCOM's party styles. Oh well, it looks pretty though.
  66. BobJ.
    Jan 18, 2007
    2
    Great graphics, great sounds, awesome intros. But the gameplay couldn't suck more. AI is a step 15 years back. Your buddies are as dumb as carrot sticks. Enemies are unbelievably mechanic. Basically there's no AI. The characters just sit there and shoot you, or they pop out of the corner every 3.23 seconds, and your team gets shot and does the same 3.23 second delay when it Great graphics, great sounds, awesome intros. But the gameplay couldn't suck more. AI is a step 15 years back. Your buddies are as dumb as carrot sticks. Enemies are unbelievably mechanic. Basically there's no AI. The characters just sit there and shoot you, or they pop out of the corner every 3.23 seconds, and your team gets shot and does the same 3.23 second delay when it hides around a corner. It's a sad sight to see such awesome graphics wasted on this non-existing gameplay. Expand
  67. MikeW.
    Feb 13, 2007
    4
    Pretty graphics are the ONLY plus point of what is a dire, frustrating, glitchy step backwards for this franchise. Too difficult in places but the pure boredom is the real killer.
  68. TimothyCycofoo831
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    GRAW is absolutely the most realistic game, compared to other games.

    Mikko this is a reply to you. If you think rainbow six vegas is more realistic than graw than i should slap u. GRAW for one can be unrealistic. so can other games that try to be realistic. but GRAW is the most realistic video game today because tacticalism and the perfection of the 1 shot kill. Im a 2nd
    GRAW is absolutely the most realistic game, compared to other games.

    Mikko this is a reply to you.

    If you think rainbow six vegas is more realistic than graw than i should slap u.

    GRAW for one can be unrealistic. so can other games that try to be realistic.

    but GRAW is the most realistic video game today because tacticalism and the perfection of the 1 shot kill.

    Im a 2nd luietenant in the army and I know how to lead a squad or company.
    meaning i dont run around like a vulnerable idiot
    I play with my friends which are also in the army.

    we play tactical. Like it was real warfare and trust me this is the most realistic thing we can ever get to

    Far cry is FAR from realistic. dont even gotta question that answer

    DOOM... not even close to realistic

    the only things that arent realistic is the Weapon recoil.
    thats about it so lets rethink this situation
    Expand
  69. WombatP.
    Feb 19, 2007
    5
    I have been playing Tactical games since Rainbow Six 1, but this is just sad. AI is horrible. Just set them to follow, don't try anything fancy, and pretend like they are not following you around. Its just not fun having to walk, stop, use the "Cross-Com" (this literally takes over a minute on average), set up your guys, and then some guy comes and caps you in the back. Cover system I have been playing Tactical games since Rainbow Six 1, but this is just sad. AI is horrible. Just set them to follow, don't try anything fancy, and pretend like they are not following you around. Its just not fun having to walk, stop, use the "Cross-Com" (this literally takes over a minute on average), set up your guys, and then some guy comes and caps you in the back. Cover system is horribly implemented. You are give so much stuff you feel obligated to use it, but you have a much higher degree of success if you run around, not being too stupid, and just shooting first. Graphics are great, but everything is yellow. If you see pictures of Mexico City, its got red, green, etc. In GRAW, everything is so yellow and orange you always have to squint. I honestly don't get why ALL the magazines and sites gave this game a good review. It's not just me, every single person I know with an Xbox360 would agree GRAW is terrible. I think n00bs just get a kick out of thinking that they are genius's and saying "Well, I am a fan of a tactical shooter, I have always been intillegent lol!!1 I pwn on Ghost Recon" Buy the original Rainbow Six or Ghost Recon 1, hell, even 2, instead of this garbage. Expand
  70. SimonM.
    Dec 24, 2006
    6
    "Frustrating" seems to be a good summary of my feelings towards this game. While it has a lot going for it, these are negated by things such as the number of bugs, the poor AI and a difficulty level which, when combined with the checkpoint save system from hell and a control interface that feels sluggish and unintuitive, finds you spending far too long simply trying to get from one "Frustrating" seems to be a good summary of my feelings towards this game. While it has a lot going for it, these are negated by things such as the number of bugs, the poor AI and a difficulty level which, when combined with the checkpoint save system from hell and a control interface that feels sluggish and unintuitive, finds you spending far too long simply trying to get from one checkpoint to another only to die and have to start all over again. Expand
  71. Drew
    Mar 12, 2006
    4
    I will say that the graphics and single player mode are quite incredible. However, the only reason I was really excited for this game was the multiplayer. In all I was terribly disappointed with the mechanics of the online play. The third and first person modes completely ruin the online play because the advantage is always to the third person player. It's a first person game!!!!! I will say that the graphics and single player mode are quite incredible. However, the only reason I was really excited for this game was the multiplayer. In all I was terribly disappointed with the mechanics of the online play. The third and first person modes completely ruin the online play because the advantage is always to the third person player. It's a first person game!!!!! Why give the guy who wants to play first person a disadvantage when the other third person player can see you around a corner. Its a joke. and they better fix this if they want a following in the 360 live. Expand
  72. LauriS.
    Mar 13, 2006
    6
    Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter is a product of the new annoying trend of pseudo-realistic shooters. The graphics are nice for XBOX but nothing incredible and the framerate can go below playable occasionally. Health and ammo are instantly restored at save points and AI is nothing to get excited about. GR2 was somewhat fun but GRAW is just plain average.
  73. BealeZ.Bubb
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    GO GO GO! That pretty much sums up the game experience. In a war movie, whenever you hear this phrase it means that things are jumpin' off! As you play through the game, you never quite get used to the bullets whizzing by, people dropping like flies, BIG pretty explosions, the general overall pace of the game. At the end of every gaming session I have come away nervous and GO GO GO! That pretty much sums up the game experience. In a war movie, whenever you hear this phrase it means that things are jumpin' off! As you play through the game, you never quite get used to the bullets whizzing by, people dropping like flies, BIG pretty explosions, the general overall pace of the game. At the end of every gaming session I have come away nervous and breathless, jumpy and....very satisfied! Though a very different game, I haven't stayed this interested in a game session after session since Half Life 2. Extremely addicting! Expand
  74. CherryTree
    Mar 14, 2006
    9
    This is no joke. This is Advanced Warfighter! Without a doubt the most realistic and gorgeous tactical shooter I've played in ages. And all those people saying that this is the showcase game for Xbox 360? Believe it! Sometimes I get blown away because I'm gawking at the screen instead of paying attention to the enemies up my butt. 9 of 10!
  75. GordanF.
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    This is a weapon fanatics dream. The list of weapons for single player and online player games is extensive and tasty. Play again and again using different weapons to see how they shape up against overwhelming opposition! Sometimes you'll run across something that makes you just cream. Such as...well...that would be spoiling the fun wouldn't it? Just go get this awesome game and This is a weapon fanatics dream. The list of weapons for single player and online player games is extensive and tasty. Play again and again using different weapons to see how they shape up against overwhelming opposition! Sometimes you'll run across something that makes you just cream. Such as...well...that would be spoiling the fun wouldn't it? Just go get this awesome game and see for yourself! Expand
  76. Alex
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    i'm beginning to notice a trend with Tom Clancy Games. the third time is always a charm. it was that way with Splinter Cell (the first two were merely OK), now thats how it is with Ghost Recon. in short: GRAW is amazing. there are very few noticable flaws, and the online is ultra-smooth (except for the occasional teleporter). one thing though: this game is HARD. unless you know i'm beginning to notice a trend with Tom Clancy Games. the third time is always a charm. it was that way with Splinter Cell (the first two were merely OK), now thats how it is with Ghost Recon. in short: GRAW is amazing. there are very few noticable flaws, and the online is ultra-smooth (except for the occasional teleporter). one thing though: this game is HARD. unless you know exactly what you're doing, expect to die SEVERAL times. the multiplayer is the best part of the game. its REALLY ADDICTING. super-smooth gameplay with even just 10 people is a rarity now-a-days, but GRAW pulls it off nicely with 16 people. the one thing that baffles me the most, however: why can't you stick yourself to a wall in Multiplayer? it makes no sense... Expand
  77. DarrenB.
    Apr 28, 2006
    9
    Awesome, finally a game that requires stealth and operates in a realistic manner...1 shot CAN kill you and there is no magical first aid kit to bring you back to 100% health. This forces you to think and take in the surroundings in its entirety. Only problem that I have is that there aren't enough levels (maybe because I play it too much) and some levels are extrememly harder than Awesome, finally a game that requires stealth and operates in a realistic manner...1 shot CAN kill you and there is no magical first aid kit to bring you back to 100% health. This forces you to think and take in the surroundings in its entirety. Only problem that I have is that there aren't enough levels (maybe because I play it too much) and some levels are extrememly harder than others. All up I wanted to give it 9+. Can't wait for a sequel or add on. Expand
  78. DAneR.
    May 13, 2006
    10
    Sick game one of the best ones. If youre like me and had the orginal xbox but hated all the tom clancy games you should get this game because it is a big imporvement on the old games.
  79. JamesA.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Great graphics, fun online, only wish more co-op, if anyone who said this game is too hard doesn't know a good game, games are ment to be hard, the makers don't want you to beat it as soon as you get it, lost of wapons, I love it, my fav.
  80. NateC.
    Feb 24, 2007
    9
    Impressive. Great graphics and gameplay. Friendly AI is dumb as a post though. You actually have to think to get through the game.
  81. MikkoP.
    Nov 21, 2006
    3
    It sucks. Reason 1. You have to wait 10 mins. To get into online match. Lobbies should be banned by law, because all they really do, is support endless sh*t talking between every single round. Everybody have to be ready, and if somebody is on the phone, others have to wait! This is the phase where I exit to dashboard. Reason 2. The HUD It´s frickin ugly, it totally spoils the It sucks. Reason 1. You have to wait 10 mins. To get into online match. Lobbies should be banned by law, because all they really do, is support endless sh*t talking between every single round. Everybody have to be ready, and if somebody is on the phone, others have to wait! This is the phase where I exit to dashboard. Reason 2. The HUD It´s frickin ugly, it totally spoils the feeling of being there. It ruins the single player by showing enemies with VERY ugly red hud symbols. And if you switch it off, you´re dead. Do elite soldiers really need this techno crap to survive? What if the enemy uses EMP (electro magnetic pulse). Our elite soldiers would be in deep s*it 'cos the Cross Comm wouldn´t be there to make them a hot capuccino. I think that a Ghost Recon game should make the player feel like he's really one-with-the-nature -type of expert gueriila. GRAW makes you feel like a T1000. Not an elite soldier. Reson 3. The 3rd person. In a game that strives for realism? 3rd person takes all the realism out. It shows us all the time enemies and tons of landscape, you never would see in real life. In online play, I found this to be most idiotic thing. What it does, is ruins the slightest bit of realism, and encourages people to camp. Yes, there is the 1st person option, but nobody uses it. Nobody! Any 1st person shooter is more realistic than GRAW. Far Cry is more realistic than GRAW. Doom is more realistic than GRAW. Please, no 3rd person in realistic games! Expand
  82. May 8, 2012
    9
    TCGRAW its traditionally a perfect example of what is a tactical war-game in a way that makes you think you're intelligent and smart to carefully move and take care of your platoon. Ignoring the graphical aspect , GRAW is marvelous.
  83. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    Decent game with good graphics at the time. I was disappointed with the fact that i couldn't switch between first and 3rd person camera. Great gameplay and cover system. Multiplayer leaves a lot to be desired. It is obvious that the majority of the production went into the single player mode. A lot of fun.
  84. Sep 12, 2013
    5
    Far from great...far from horrible. It is a middle of the road shooter with all the tell-tale problems that are significantly more noticeable in FPS's. The controls are clunky and without sharp controls in an FPS, it can never be a great game. The graphics were dated and the friendly A.I. was terrible. Forcing myself to finish the single player campaign was tedious and not fun.
  85. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    With its beautifully digitalized interpretation of warfare, its fairly interesting story, and that always-successful Tom Clancy seal of approval, "Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter" renders itself an incredibly enjoyable shooter.
  86. Jul 3, 2015
    8
    Just bought this game and I must say that this game was pretty hard for me. If you are a beginner to the GRAW series, this game is challenging. Graphics are superb and sound is awesome. Only reason I give it a 8/10 is because one headshot and you're dead...
  87. Sep 10, 2015
    9
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter was one of best new games to come out on the 360. The best part of the game was the multiplayer that I put many hours into with my friends.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. 360 Gamer Magazine UK
    70
    Horribly frustrating but deeply satisfying. [Issue #7]
  2. And when some players will struggle to overcome the Normal default difficulty at times, the opportunity to replenish health would have been welcome.
  3. Killer App? It appears so! There are certainly exciting times coming up for 360 owners and GRAW can now be the flagship for next-gen titles done right.