Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. May 28, 2012
    91
    Future Soldier finds the perfect balance between the classic tactical shooter experience and the more modern high-octane approach that today's gamers crave.
  2. 90
    The in-game visuals are solid, the sound is just as good, and the single player, cooperative and adversarial multiplayer gameplay modes make Ghost Recon: Future Soldier a must buy for not only fans of the franchise but for anyone looking for a deep tactical shooter to play well into the summer.
  3. May 22, 2012
    90
    GRFS is a solid entry in the shooter genre, and one of the standout third-person shooter experiences on any console. The emphasis on intel and squads make this a must-have for anyone looking to play as a team and work together.
  4. 90
    With all the content on offer there should be something for everyone here to enjoy. It's not a perfect game, as parts of the story, some cutscenes and a few graphical missteps in some of the indoor environments disrupt the picture. But on the whole those are just minor complaints as Ubisoft has delivered a game of the highest calibre in both single and multiplayer.
  5. 90
    Future Soldier's campaign does lose its stealthy way a bit right at the end, and the presentation can be rough at times, just like the throwaway plot. Ultimately, though, the game shines not only for staying true to Ghost Recon's roots, but also for doing so while successfully balancing the memories of old fans with the modern expectations of new ones.
  6. May 22, 2012
    90
    It's one of the best military shooters I've played. It doesn't push the boundaries of what we expect from that genre, but Future Soldier takes an approach that leaves little room for stagnant gameplay or retreading ground.
  7. May 22, 2012
    90
    Ubisoft packaged a great game both for single and multiplayer lovers, fully shifting the series to the cover based TPS domain but keeping intact its tactical soul. Only a dull and generic story prevents it from shining more - something we wouldn't expect from a Tom Clany family title.
  8. May 22, 2012
    90
    A great title... Between the impressive campaign, the myriad of co-op options and the added replayability of the mission challenges, as well as the expansive multiplayer component, it's as solid a package as military shooters provide.
  9. May 29, 2012
    89
    It's challenging the original idea of what Ghost Recon is, providing a new experience, and a new way to tell the tale of a new Ghost team. It works well, with a lengthy campaign and a very deep multiplayer experience. The gameplay is tight and the title's only flaws are some AI quirks and its quality control ,with frame rate drops, bugs in animation, and scripted sequences which can let it down at times.
  10. May 24, 2012
    88
    An admirable amalgamation of all you fave shooters packed into one polished package. [July 2012, p.72]
  11. May 24, 2012
    88
    In the end it's a solid game that Ghost Recon fans can sink into the game and enjoy, the multiplayer action is well worth the price of admission. The single player experience juggles so many different elements; one's opinion may conclude that the designers tried too hard to include several different types of gamers.
  12. May 24, 2012
    88
    This is a good return for the original tactical series of Ghost Recon. Finally we can play a (co-op) campaign a little more slowly where you have to think before you act.
  13. Jun 4, 2012
    87
    While it may not be as "Future" as it was when it was announced 5 years ago, the sum of everything it brings to the table sets it apart from its fellow shooter contemporaries.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 129
  2. Negative: 19 out of 129
  1. May 22, 2012
    1
    False Advertising/Poor Design: The game is advertised with an emphasis on co-op (campaign and a survival mode) but there is no matchmaking for co-op. It's by invite only. Call of Duty, Halo, Gears of War, and numerous others support co-op with matchmaking. It's industry standard and Ghost Recon Future Soldier falls far short. Full Review »
  2. May 22, 2012
    6
    Remember all the "watercooler" set pieces from Gears of War 3? That kind of thing is on display here as well. The problem is that in Ghost Recon, they are all mini cut-scenes that strip you of control every few minutes and sometimes, every few seconds. To make matters worse, often times the most effective thing you can do is have your AI squad do all the killing. Couple that with the fact that you're basically invisible the entire time, and you have a bland single player experience that leaves you feeling that you're just along for the ride. The set-pieces would have been awesome, but this story would have always been ho-hum, been there, done that affair.

    Things get even worse when you switch to live foes in multiplayer modes. Spawn camping seems to be a legitimate way to play this game. I also observed enemy teams camping objectives without capturing them, just so they can rack up kills that seemed cheap and hollow. Kill cams constantly show enemy killers aiming erratically and still getting kill after kill while your own rounds seem to do nothing in spite of seeing hit markers on target. The several games I've played seemed cheap, like they didn't work right, and were no fun what-so-ever. I plan on trying more later. Although I'm sure I have a full understanding of how the game works, the multiplayer games I've played seemed so poorly thought out and pointless, I would hope there's something I'm missing.

    ...But it gets even worse. At a base level, the gameplay in this game will always be broken because the rush/cover function is mapped to the A button. This means you HAVE to take your finger off right stick to sprint or switch cover. If this function was not on a face button, the entire time you're running you could be looking around and planning your next move. It kills me when I realize how fast paced and fluid the game would play if my fingers were on the sticks the entire time. Because of this glaring and baffling game design choice, ALL gameplay in this game feels like it has one foot in a bucket.

    I don't know what these other baffoons reviewing this game have to gain by posting knowingly fraudulent reviews. If they're like me, they're sorry they spent money on it. I suppose the only explanation is that unlike myself, they haven't come to terms with the fact that they will never get that $60+ back, and are either trying to share their misery with others, or trying desperately to convince themselves that this game isn't a shiny, polished turd.
    Full Review »
  3. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out. I couldn't take the cheap, run & gun game play style. Calling in nukes is probably one of the stupidest things you could do in a game...makes no sense. A soldier cannot just call in a nuke, or an airstrike. There's certain channels you have to go through in order for both those things to happen. With that being said I decided to get back into social gaming by playing TC GR FS and I don't regret it. It's fun and for the most part, it's tactical. Yeah you could run and gun, but odds are you will get bucked. The game modes are all objective based which I don't mind. The gunsmith feature is really cool. This game is the thinkings man COD and that right there ...is high praise. Full Review »