User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 315 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 315

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 14, 2012
    5
    After playing GR 1 and in particular GRAF to its limits, I was pretty excited about a new future GR. After two delays and a near complete over haul what was left is a game which plagues the industry at present, a generic and short single player shooter with a flawed mutli player. Ubisoft have been upsetting me quite often recently, especially with their insistent 'all American save the world' crap they feel they must put in games to sell, however even that would be tolerated if the game didn't seem rushed. As the American hipsters say - EPIC FAIL! Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    Future Soldier is cut from the same cloth as GRAW. It's one of the best looking games on the Xbox 360 and has quite a bit of polish. In addition to fantastic graphics, Future Soldier also has perhaps the greatest cover system of all console shooters (a claim usually reserved only for Gears of War), so moving from cover to cover is not only doable, but it's fast and clearly mapped to where you'll run to if abandoning one piece of cover for another. Not only does the cover movement system work, but things like suppressing fire give an awesome edge that lends itself very well to competitive/strategic play. But for every bit of good or great this game offers, there's a counter. The story is basically forgettable and the dialogue is stale. Only at the end of the campaign did I start to feel like the characters I'd been playing with all along were starting to emote. It's these elements that can make or break a game. Fortunately the campaign and multiplayer offer enough here to keep things interesting. For the campaign, it's not the plot so much as it's the excellence that each level builds upon from its predecessor. The game actually builds and builds until the very end something that can't be said for most shooters these days. By this time Ghost Recon Future Soldier is in a bargain bin somewhere, and if you're holding on to your 360 and are a fan of shooters, this is a title that is worth the play. Just don't expect the online multiplayer to be buzzing with activity since new consoles are now upon us. Expand
  3. May 27, 2012
    0
    This game is a disaster and an embarrassment of epic proportions. To start off, there is no firefight/deathmatch mode in multiplayer, despite this always having been the quintessential standard for GR online multiplayer in the past. Instead, there are just a few stupid objective modes that nobody seems to like (and nobody ever asked for). Furthermore, despite the game being called 'Ghost Recon', all of the maps are close-quarters urban settings, instead of the truly awesome wilderness maps that were always the staple of the GR series in the past, and which always facilitated the most fun and realistic gameplay. How the designers could screw up these aspects of the game so badly is beyond me. The campaign is literally one of the absolute worst I've ever played, with cut scenes every couple of minutes, and an absurd over-reliance on manipulating the drone and other boring vehicles. The teammate AI is downright awful, as you have no control whatsoever over where they go. They won't even form up behind you; they just go where they are programmed to go by the developers. In addition, you are pretty much forced to use the cover system, which is extremely clumsy and annoying, and which completely destroys the realistic feel of previous Ghost Recon games. The audio for the game is also horrible, cutting out completely most of the time, and with the party/chat system not working at all while the game is running. One of the greatest aspects of GRAW/GRAW2 was the wide selection of co-op multiplayer missions/maps, most of which could be quite challenging with the right settings, and which truly allowed for the tactical style of gameplay that was always the essence of Ghost Recon since the beginning. All of that is completely gone now. You can only play co-op in the extremely limiting and pointless campaign mode, or in the extremely boring guerilla mode. It's like the designers targeted all of the very best aspects of the previous GR games and intentionally eliminated every single one of them. Why? I have no idea. Overall, this is without a doubt the most pathetic excuse for a Ghost Recon game ever made. Anyone seriously critiquing this game could not possibly give it a good rating unless they are mentally ill. Do not waste your money on this piece of garbage. Expand
  4. May 23, 2012
    8
    THis is the shooter I've been waiting for since SCOM1 and and GRAW 1. Co-op is perfect, the single player is little unbalanced, but the contextual controls deliver and to CO-OP is amazingly well done. To be honest, I did not think Ubisoft had a shooter of this caliber in them. I expected to be returning this one, but I am actually spending more time in GRFS than Diablo 3 right now. Stealth kills are very satisfying, the weapon customization is best of any so far, but could still use some work and some expansion on options but overall this is very solid and does deliver where R6V2, GRAW2, BF3 and MW3 did not. My biggest ding is the train-wreak of a Menu system and the horrible writing/voice acting (the narrator is decent). The cut scenes just look like wax face, soulless abominations from D3, Ubi, stay out of the uncanny-valley). There are also numerous typos and mismatches in the subtitles, spank your QA and production team. Expand
  5. May 25, 2012
    3
    The campaign is ok but the game suffers from bad design decisions. There is no matchmaking for co-op (campaign and the Guerilla/Horde mode). You have to invite friends. Also no split screen. The aiming is very cumbersome. You can hold the left trigger to aim but it is not the normal 3rd person aim, it is just a better hip shot. If you wan't to hit something that isn't just 2 feet in front of you, you have to push the right stick in which brings you to a first person aiming down the sights mode. It's like they couldn't decide if this game should be 3rd or first person so they made both. It is very annoying since you can't change the controls. Textures have a relatively low resolution. Everything looks washed out. Multiplayer is the usual generic 3rd person 'you need an online pass' shooter. Expand
  6. May 26, 2012
    7
    Definitely not one for COD or BF fan boys. Graphics are good, though some animations are poorly scripted. Game play has nothing new to offer over other similar genre games, though it is hectic and fun at times. AI is scary, some of the best I've seen over the years, and there is a sense of vulnerability if things don't go to plan. I love the GR franchise. However, for me at least, the first GR on PC and GRAW2 will still rank higher than GFRS, simply because they had Firefight mode. In GRFS, Guerrilla mode doesn't come close to Firefight but if it did, then I probably would have scored much higher. However, this games comes close to the death of the GR franchise for me. Expand
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    4
    They forgot to tell us that this game was made in 1998 when any stealth alert no matter what lead to a reloading (with long load times) of the last checkpoint to try yet again with endless trial and error. Horrible. I don't care if your trying to set yourself apart from other shooters... you NEVER do it this way. The fact that stealth sections are only one part of this game is the only reason it doesn't receive an easy zero. And no matter how great the rest of the game is, these stealth sections make it a failing grade NO MATTER WHAT. Developers: you have failed. Expand
  8. May 22, 2012
    10
    Ghost recon future soldier is in my opinion the BEST shooter I've ever had the pleasure of playing,yeah the graphics may not be top notch like BF3 or call of duty but they are still pretty good looking.the game play is what I love the most about this game,it's super addictive fast paced and full of out of you're seat action *I LOVE IT*.
    but SP is not the only winner here,the Multi-player
    is head and shoulders the best I've seen so far,I can't stop playing MP since I got home today and all I can think about is how much you're able to customize the weapons in this game.and don't listen to all those haters out there *including some Critics lower scores*they are all made up of cod fan boy's.if you want a real mans game get Ghost Recon future soldier asap. Expand
  9. May 22, 2012
    10
    The best ghost recon game ever.The graphics are awesome and AI is one of the best ever in games,your teammate can kill enemy and save you when you are down.Great job Ubisoft
  10. May 23, 2012
    7
    I'm a huge fan of sandbox tactical shooters and this game is NOT a sandbox shooters; although, it does maintain a tactical side to it, allowing me to appreciate it much more than any other shooter in the last 2 years.
  11. May 3, 2013
    3
    Overall, this game is pretty terrible. The campaign is decent at best with no split screen co-op, the Guerrilla Mode is pointless when playing alone (which there is no matchmaking for), and the multiplayer, wow, is it horrible. In terms of a tactical game, it just isn't very tactical. It is clear that this is an obvious cash in on the COD craze. News flash developers, COD is TERRIBLE regardless of how many mindless drones buy it. I bought this for $13 and I still regret the purchase. It is just a Ghost Recon game thrown into a blender with a COD game and the result is something that tastes terrible. Sure, it CAN be fun at times, but the cons far outweigh the very few pros. The pros are: The gameplay (sometimes), the graphics (sometimes), and the Guerrilla Mode (only with a friend, since you basically have no other option because of lack of matchmaking and it is IMPOSSIBLE when playing alone). Expand
  12. May 23, 2012
    10
    Just finished an epic night of GRFS multiplayer and I am pleasantly surprised! You can definitely tell they were trying to cater to the COD crowd but that's not necessarily a bad thing here. GR purists will be mad but the multiplayer matches can get crazy wild! People still seem to be learning the modes and objectives but the game is so much fun I didn't want to stop. I've yet to try the SP but the MP will keep me happy for days. Expand
  13. Jun 6, 2012
    7
    I got this as a gift with no intention of purchasing it myself so I didn't know much going in. I was pleasantly surprised at how fantastic the single-player campaign was. The stealth aspect of the game is my favourite. Coordinating with the AI on how to stealth fully maneuver past enemies is so much fun. It's a shame that the campaign isn't longer. It isn't short at 10 hours but I just wanted more. Unfortunately I the multiplayer didn't hold my attention and the guerilla mode is bad. The multiplayer has unique take on modes and has balanced weapons, but I just found it to be bland for my taste. I hated the guerilla mode tho. Ubisoft's take on the progressively more difficult wave based mode isn't that well done in my opinion. Overall, I think it's a very well made game with a fantastic campaign that can be played in 4-player co-op, a good multiplayer offering that isn't for everyone but a disappointing co-op mode. I'd recommend it cause it's a fun game, it's just not great. Expand
  14. May 25, 2012
    9
    It feels like an age since this game was first announce,& sure enough has had a fair few delays.When the game was first announced all that time ago,i was concerned with the way Ubisoft was taking the Ghost Recon Series.The previous gen games were modern day set,& therefore more realistic & easier to relate to,then with the next gen of machines,we got the Advanced Warfighter 1&2 titles.This set about using more overtly futuristic tech,like drones & the cross coms,which while not presently used,were still very viable.When i saw the reveal for Future Soldier,my heart sank,with even more emphesis on future tech,complete with the contraversial Harry Potter style invisibility cloaks!? I couldnt have been the only one concered,judging by the way we were constantly assured that the tech is in development & within a decade away,but what was most worrying was the impact it would have on the gameplay.
    Well,the games finally here,& i'm relieved to say that its absolutely superb! The optical camo is still there,but is not by any means an infallible technology.Its not only handled well,not over the top & detrimental to gameplay,its actually well implimented into the gameplay.It gives you options you wouldnt normally have in this type of game,& created something i wasnt expecting.Something that feels a bit different,but in a good way.You see the technology has its limits,which you need to keep in mind when using it.You cant get too close to the enemy,or you will still be seen,& it only works when your crouched or prone,so you cant move fast when using it.It makes for a great tool to not make things too easy,but to get you into position to create opportunitys & strategys for you,such as setting up killing zones for sycronised kill shots launching your drones,which in themselves,with drones that can fly,& even land & drive,to the extreeeeemely cool WarHound(I'll let you find out)really run & useful to use,or going in for a stealth kill.
    Stealth plays its part in alot of the game,though you dont have to use it if you dont want to most of the time.You can go in guns blazing conventional style of thats what you wish,but its nowhere near as much fun as going in unseen & using strategy.The game feels much like a cross between Ghost Recon & the excellent Splinter Cell-Conviction.It even borrows the cool system that lets you dash between covers quickly,to be either unseen or when your under heavy fire,but you can move & switch covers conventially too,so it has the best of both worlds.
    Another aspect i wasnt sure about,was the 'sycronising shots' mechanic,but yet again i was very pleasantly suprised.Its very satisfying marking up to four targets,watching each of your squad get into a firing position,then wait for you to take your shot,or give the order for them to take theirs,Not because its hard to do,but because its so 'easy' to do.This mechanic that tells you when everyones shot is lines up & ready to fire,among other features,lends well to the excellent(& finally once again implimented)Campaign Co-Op(up to 4-player Co-Op no less,each with your own character with slightly different look).Its about time Campaign Co-Op made a return to Ghost Recon,I've missed you,& i'm suprised Co-Op isnt featured more in squad games,as you'd think being in a squad is an ideal opportunity for Co-Op.I havnt played multiplayer much,but theres some interesting modes,including a couple of no-respawn ones,which are fun if tense.Also of note,is Guerilla mode,which is basically a Hoard mode,but more tactical,a bit like the survival mode in Modern Warfare 3,but at a slower,more considered pace & different rounds,such as stealth kill rounds.Sadly Campaign Co-Op can only be played either Online or System link,no split screen,but Guerilla & other multiplayer modes can be played Online,System Link & Split Screen,or combining those.So the game is a very good package,& the Co-Op means the game has great replay value.Graphics are great on the whole & the look suits the game extremely well.Theres a few muddy textures here & there,but nothing thats going to bother you,you'll be too busy enjoying the game with a grin on your face.Theres some moments that look absolutely beautiful,such as weather effects whci i wont spoil by talking about.
    One final mention must go to Gunsmith.Its an excellent tools that lets you customise your weapons in minute detail(if you so wish),from its paint job to different types of trigger,barrel,gas system,attachments etc etc.I love it! It may sound daunting,but it really isnt,give it a go,you'll find it satisfying when the weapon re-assembles with all your choices taylor made for your next sortie.This is damn near perfect military squad game,that shows that a cinematic feel CAN be achieved in a Co-Op game(I'm looking at you Activision & EA,so take note).
    Expand
  15. Nov 14, 2012
    1
    Broken stealth, muddy graphics, a total side step from the simulation style ghost recon we are use to. In my personal opinion, multiplayer is ruined by cheap mechanics, pointless classes and grenades. Ghost fans should steer clear!
  16. May 22, 2012
    6
    Remember all the "watercooler" set pieces from Gears of War 3? That kind of thing is on display here as well. The problem is that in Ghost Recon, they are all mini cut-scenes that strip you of control every few minutes and sometimes, every few seconds. To make matters worse, often times the most effective thing you can do is have your AI squad do all the killing. Couple that with the fact that you're basically invisible the entire time, and you have a bland single player experience that leaves you feeling that you're just along for the ride. The set-pieces would have been awesome, but this story would have always been ho-hum, been there, done that affair.

    Things get even worse when you switch to live foes in multiplayer modes. Spawn camping seems to be a legitimate way to play this game. I also observed enemy teams camping objectives without capturing them, just so they can rack up kills that seemed cheap and hollow. Kill cams constantly show enemy killers aiming erratically and still getting kill after kill while your own rounds seem to do nothing in spite of seeing hit markers on target. The several games I've played seemed cheap, like they didn't work right, and were no fun what-so-ever. I plan on trying more later. Although I'm sure I have a full understanding of how the game works, the multiplayer games I've played seemed so poorly thought out and pointless, I would hope there's something I'm missing.

    ...But it gets even worse. At a base level, the gameplay in this game will always be broken because the rush/cover function is mapped to the A button. This means you HAVE to take your finger off right stick to sprint or switch cover. If this function was not on a face button, the entire time you're running you could be looking around and planning your next move. It kills me when I realize how fast paced and fluid the game would play if my fingers were on the sticks the entire time. Because of this glaring and baffling game design choice, ALL gameplay in this game feels like it has one foot in a bucket.

    I don't know what these other baffoons reviewing this game have to gain by posting knowingly fraudulent reviews. If they're like me, they're sorry they spent money on it. I suppose the only explanation is that unlike myself, they haven't come to terms with the fact that they will never get that $60+ back, and are either trying to share their misery with others, or trying desperately to convince themselves that this game isn't a shiny, polished turd.
    Expand
  17. May 29, 2012
    9
    The best army game I have played till now.have an experience of your own and the graphics is just awesome.The tactics sync shot etc are very cool.So i recommend you check this out.
  18. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Multiplayer review. Is familiar enough to the earlier G.R.A.W. games while refreshingly different and more advanced to incorporate some of the advances other games have added the last few years. The maps are great. Many different nooks and crannies, multiple level with stuff in between (i.e. you run up and down sloping gradients within the map structure). Great evolution of the series and absolutely a needed entry back into the genre. This game like the others is much more tactical than the CoD/BF3 games. CoD obviously the least. BF3 a bit more medium, except when you play the 64 person maps in a narrow passageway/vehicles. But this multiplayer YOU have to be the man. No killstreaks. No vehicles. Sure you have some tactical toys to play with, but you can't just call in an AH-6 overwatch, and don't have to worry about BF3 air vehicles devastating the entire map's groundforces.

    I disagree that you can't run and gun. The difference is, you have to be a little bit more reserved, a bit more tactical with it, and it is easier to get nailed because of it. Snipers get good views of you through obscure spots, and sensors can allow you to be shown as you are running towards people. So maybe a more accurate way to describe is jog and pause rather than run and gun. The weighting system also changes your speed and determines how fast you can get past snipers on the run and such. The game is also FAR more realistic than CoD in the sense of it doesn't take 10 shots to take someone down. One clip on a standard assault rifle can easily take out five guys. While I like CoD as it has a place, the whole 1 shot or 10 shots is really kind of lame. I wish they'd tighten that down a bit. In Future Soldier a normal clip is enough to lay waste to most of the opposing side and you can do it faster. The hit detection is good and because it doesn't take 10 hits, it allows for a more realistic aim worsening to be more realistic but not entirely hampering. It works, it's more realistic, and even adds a bit of skill and real time processing while in a medium-long range firefight. While it sucks when someone hacks your data stream, it is a cool feature and awesome when someone on your team hacks the others.

    I love this game. Max Payne 3 is pretty fun. But of the two I opened on the same day, THIS is the game that has gotten my attention and the one I can't put down. (though my 360 keeps crashing with Max Payne 3 might have a bit to do with that as well...seems like all 360 Rockstar games are buggy as hell). Easy to fall in love with this multiplayer. May still grow quite attached to Max Payne 3's, but already have with TC:FS. If you liked the GRAW series, this is a no brainer. If not, the additions make this quite a different game as well. Again great blend of familiarity, yet major differences. Been a long time coming for this game and glad UBI finally got another out. 10 for multiplayer.
    Expand
  19. May 28, 2012
    9
    Okay I am first going to start this off with a warning, Metacritic is full of bias trolls. All of these rating with 0/10 are just ridiculous. NO GAME I have ever played deserves a 0, let alone a game like this. Watch YouTube videos, read other reviews, and buy the game to find out for yourself that this game is great.
  20. May 25, 2012
    10
    GRDS is a great squad based shooter that uses stealth and teamwork. The campaign so far has been pretty good through 5 missions. Its a nice change of pace from COD/Battlefield3. The multiplayer is fun also. Graphics look great most of the time. Really enjoying it. If you like FPSs then its a no brainer to buy.
  21. May 27, 2012
    9
    GRFS builds on the previous ghost recon games by adding some interesting and cool gameplay mechanics. The campaign is fun and the levels open up a lot more in the second half of the game. The characters are cool but, you never really get to know them or truly care about them. The guns all sound and work like they should, which is a plus. The graphics are awesome and the gameplay feels a lot faster than previous ghost recon games. The multiplayer is also very good and is great to play with friends. I'm very happy that you can also play through the campaign with friends too. The only thing I don't like about multiplayer is that there's no deathmatch or teamdeathmatch game modes which is pretty standard for a game like this. Overall GRFS is a great game and is everything that I wanted the next installment in the ghost recon series to be. Expand
  22. May 22, 2012
    8
    Ok first thing I got to say is I haven't played the full retail game yet but I did play the beta and yes they were a lot of bugs but when it worked it was epic im really looking forward to it ... unfortunately I cant pick it up until friday as im in europe ... to the 3 idiots who gave it a 0 ... 1 i bet you haven't played it and 2 we dont all just play the generic CoD all day long so stop trying to get us to by giving games low ratings. Expand
  23. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out. I couldn't take the cheap, run & gun game play style. Calling in nukes is probably one of the stupidest things you could do in a game...makes no sense. A soldier cannot just call in a nuke, or an airstrike. There's certain channels you have to go through in order for both those things to happen. With that being said I decided to get back into social gaming by playing TC GR FS and I don't regret it. It's fun and for the most part, it's tactical. Yeah you could run and gun, but odds are you will get bucked. The game modes are all objective based which I don't mind. The gunsmith feature is really cool. This game is the thinkings man COD and that right there ...is high praise. Expand
  24. May 24, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A wonderful game, tactically sound, excellent graphics, great sound and a perfect mix, perhaps does not stand movies that left their mark but finally a game that usually differ from the standard canon of fps, which brings fresh air. If you would like fps games I highly recommend it. Expand
  25. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    As much as I enjoyed Future Soldier, I feel it suffers from robotic AI and a weak endgame. Control issues were apparent, where sometimes half a "ready" team would not fire, or the player felt they want to move in a certain way but were restricted by the controls. Most situations seem to be set up nicely for a four person team engagement, with little in the way of trepidation. Once this is done a number of times, it seems most of the game can be completed by your teammates and you telling them who to focus fire on. There are some points where things become quite aggressive, cornering you into a firefight, but it all seems like "set pieces". It felt like the first half was exciting, but whoever wrote the story got tired by the end. And the loss of control when passing certain checkpoints gets quite tedious. The multiplayer felt difficult to find an enjoyable match, where it either proved dull or unco-ordinated. I put this aside quite quickly. Overall, though the AR UI is cool, the Kinect armoury is a nice touch and the synchronised fire is fun to deploy, it's a good game that falls just short of being great. Expand
  26. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    First off, amazing campaign, and a delight to play with three other friends. Complaints about lack of matchmaking for co-op modes is a bit understandable, but at the core of it my group required cooperation and trust to finish missions, nothing we could find in a group of strangers even in the off chance they had their mics on.

    Two outstanding problems are the AI getting stuck on walls
    (On the nights a fourth member could not play) causing us to reset. The other, not having drop in capability which harmed us when one group member locked up and had to reset causing him to not get credit for the very long mission we had been playing.

    Overall a solid experience, a good mix between stealth and action, with an addition of melee take downs from Splinter Cell: Conviction, which is always a welcome touch when being sneaky or closing in on an enemy. You can redbox this game for 2 bucks a night and play system link without buying the Uplay pass if you want to try it out, but all three modes seem to provide enough entertainment.
    Expand
  27. May 28, 2012
    5
    First of all I'm not a CoD or BF fanboy. I rate each game on its individual merit. I was looking forward to this release and I must say I am deeply disappointed! The game is FULL of glitches! The campaign is boring and hell and the multiplayer suffers from that old gem of poor hit detection (xbox 360)! The game bores the ass off me! Nice graphics, nice sound though very dull. My score is an honest one of 5 but I'd save my money if I was you people! Expand
  28. May 22, 2012
    1
    False Advertising/Poor Design: The game is advertised with an emphasis on co-op (campaign and a survival mode) but there is no matchmaking for co-op. It's by invite only. Call of Duty, Halo, Gears of War, and numerous others support co-op with matchmaking. It's industry standard and Ghost Recon Future Soldier falls far short.
  29. May 22, 2012
    10
    First off, do not try and put this game in the same category as MW or BF franchise. They are not the same style of game. GRFS is all about teamwork and co-op. Like all Tom Clancy games, the story line is focused, yet gives players the freedom of choice on how to approach each mission. You can setup coordinated attacks, choose multiple entrance points on how to approach different scenarios. This game is far more tactical than other shooters on the market. The think that might throw people off is the 3rd person perspective. If you enjoy games like Gears of War or other Ghost Recon games, then you will not be disappointed. Like almost every Tom Clancy game, this game is meant to be played with friends. Tom Clancy games have always been known for their great coop gameplay and GRFS definitely lives up to the Tom Clancy brand of gameplay in this regard. The single player experience is okay, but again, play the campaign with 3 friends and you'll have a much better experience.

    Moving on to MP. This is the area that will leave some people disappointed or frustrated. If you enjoy the competitive multiplayer experience of Gears of War, you will have no issues adjusting to this. Some people hate the 3rd Person style of gameplay so this game will probably have you going back to BF3 or MW3. I however, enjoy both. BF3 is a game that is all about teamwork. GRFS is even more team oriented and going lone wolf at the wrong time can really hurt you AND your team. What I love about this MP experience is that everything you do that benefits your team is GREATLY rewarded. To give you an example, I finished a MP match with 1 kill and 6 deaths, however, I finished the match with the highest score in the entire match. How? I captured objectives, defended my teammates when they were capturing objectives (big points for this). When an objective was captured, I stayed within the radius of the objective and offered defense until the time expired...a big bonus for that as well. I also provided intel by dropping sensors and revealing the location of the enemies and let my teammates take care of them. Everything you do that helps your team is rewarded significantly higher than simply focusing on kills. I finished with more points than a guy with 18 kills. This game encourages teamwork, coordination, and approaching every combat situation with caution. The gameplay is fast paced and intense, but it is all about finding cover, covering your teammates and watching their back as they try and capture objectives. The best is if you stun and enemy, you can hack into his intel, revealing the location of his teammates, then finish him off. If you like a game where you can free roam, do your own thing, get a bunch of kills and not have the stress of worrying about watching your teammates back, or give support and cover to your team, then you might not enjoy this game. This game is for people who enjoy the grind of working as a team. One weak link on the team (weak link being a person who is off doing his own thing and not communicating with his squad) will ruin the chances of your team winning. If you like strategy and tactics mixed with fast paced action, then this game is for you.

    Now onto customization. I actually love what Ubisoft did with the gunsmith feature. Most shooters today only allow you to customize the exterior features of a weapon system (scopes, muzzles, grip attachments, laser sites, etc.) GRFS takes this to the next level by allowing you to customize the internal components as well. You can customize the gas system in the gun, the trigger, the type of stock, etc. Everything has a tradeoff and there really is no right or wrong way to configure. If you want more control, you can unlock a gas system that slows down the fire rate as a tradeoff for better accuracy. Some stocks increase your speed in handling the weapon and making the gun lighter. Other stocks are heavier, slow you down, but give you better control and accuracy. Every attachment has a benefit and what I love is that there is a visual graph which shows you how your loadout is affecting your weapon. Usually the tradeoffs are control vs. maneuverability or fire rate vs. accuracy. Or weapon power vs. ease of control, so there is great balance. Each class is leveled up separately and there are 50+ levels with each class. When you hit level 50 with a class, you unlock another character to use in that class with different loadouts. So there is a potential of over 150 ranks to achieve if you level each class to the max. Overall this is a great game to play with friends and if you enjoy tactical shooters and strong emphasis towards coordination and working as a team, then once you get the hang of this game, you will love it.
    Expand
  30. May 24, 2012
    5
    Expected more, AI in campaign is just awful, playing on hardest difficulty and 0 challenge. Co-op campaign only progresses lobby host. Gains nothing from playing co-op. Multi-player is crawl and gun rather than run and gun, sensors take away any "covert strategy". Graphics are decent, storyline is decent, gadgets are great, AI is atrocious, multiplayer is decent (think Uncharted with a hack that allows you to see opponents, and no climbing and piss poor level design). Passable, barely...wish I had rented for a weekend, not a worth successor to the series. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    A tactical shooter with focus on stealth and teamwork. Buy it for the multiplayer modes and play with a team of friends, as the campaign is missing a large portion of the Ghost Recon-identity.
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    A surprisingly engaging campaign with a slew of co-op options, let down by okay graphics and inconsistent connectivity. Get some. [Aug 2012, p.66]
  3. 76
    So what did I think of my first Ghost Recon experience? Well, I think it did a lot of things well. Despite lacking any kind of coherent plot, Future Soldier's campaign had the hooks in me and I couldn't help but finish it off, despite having no interest in the pay-off. Chalk this up to a great combat system and some pretty satisfying stealth segments.