User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 303

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 22, 2012
    6
    Remember all the "watercooler" set pieces from Gears of War 3? That kind of thing is on display here as well. The problem is that in Ghost Recon, they are all mini cut-scenes that strip you of control every few minutes and sometimes, every few seconds. To make matters worse, often times the most effective thing you can do is have your AI squad do all the killing. Couple that with the fact that you're basically invisible the entire time, and you have a bland single player experience that leaves you feeling that you're just along for the ride. The set-pieces would have been awesome, but this story would have always been ho-hum, been there, done that affair.

    Things get even worse when you switch to live foes in multiplayer modes. Spawn camping seems to be a legitimate way to play this game. I also observed enemy teams camping objectives without capturing them, just so they can rack up kills that seemed cheap and hollow. Kill cams constantly show enemy killers aiming erratically and still getting kill after kill while your own rounds seem to do nothing in spite of seeing hit markers on target. The several games I've played seemed cheap, like they didn't work right, and were no fun what-so-ever. I plan on trying more later. Although I'm sure I have a full understanding of how the game works, the multiplayer games I've played seemed so poorly thought out and pointless, I would hope there's something I'm missing.

    ...But it gets even worse. At a base level, the gameplay in this game will always be broken because the rush/cover function is mapped to the A button. This means you HAVE to take your finger off right stick to sprint or switch cover. If this function was not on a face button, the entire time you're running you could be looking around and planning your next move. It kills me when I realize how fast paced and fluid the game would play if my fingers were on the sticks the entire time. Because of this glaring and baffling game design choice, ALL gameplay in this game feels like it has one foot in a bucket.

    I don't know what these other baffoons reviewing this game have to gain by posting knowingly fraudulent reviews. If they're like me, they're sorry they spent money on it. I suppose the only explanation is that unlike myself, they haven't come to terms with the fact that they will never get that $60+ back, and are either trying to share their misery with others, or trying desperately to convince themselves that this game isn't a shiny, polished turd.
    Expand
  2. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out. I couldn't take the cheap, run & gun game play style. Calling in nukes is probably one of the stupidest things you could do in a game...makes no sense. A soldier cannot just call in a nuke, or an airstrike. There's certain channels you have to go through in order for both those things to happen. With that being said I decided to get back into social gaming by playing TC GR FS and I don't regret it. It's fun and for the most part, it's tactical. Yeah you could run and gun, but odds are you will get bucked. The game modes are all objective based which I don't mind. The gunsmith feature is really cool. This game is the thinkings man COD and that right there ...is high praise. Expand
  3. May 22, 2012
    1
    False Advertising/Poor Design: The game is advertised with an emphasis on co-op (campaign and a survival mode) but there is no matchmaking for co-op. It's by invite only. Call of Duty, Halo, Gears of War, and numerous others support co-op with matchmaking. It's industry standard and Ghost Recon Future Soldier falls far short.
  4. May 22, 2012
    10
    The best ghost recon game ever.The graphics are awesome and AI is one of the best ever in games,your teammate can kill enemy and save you when you are down.Great job Ubisoft
  5. May 22, 2012
    10
    Graphics are top-notch for a console; combat feels smooth, cover system works very fun. The impressive suite of features and atypical approach to third-person pew-pew gives it an edge over many me-too action games. Its maps are designed to make players work for their kills, which makes them feel like they've truly earned each one.
  6. May 23, 2012
    4
    So much scripting.. this is a Ghost Recon game? Pffft. Not by a long shot. It feels more like Gears of Duty: Future Ops. Do you enjoy shooting galleries with added benefit of wallhack grenades? Do you enjoy being told to "WATCH YOUR LEFT" and not being able to actually turn to watch your left? No? Then don't play this game.
  7. May 23, 2012
    5
    The Ghost Recon series has always been know as co-op tactical shooter with customizable characters and situations. This new installment is not worthy of the Ghost recon franchise name, and here is why. Future Soldier does not allow you to customize the look of your multiplayer character and does not allow you to customize the co-op experience. In its place there is reptitive co-op mode Guerrilla. Unfortunately there is now matchmaking for co-op so you`ll need friends who have the game to play this. The gameplay is basically hardcore mode Call of Duty, crossed with Gears of War with a touch of Army of Two. Complete with a boring, shooting gallery story and a few crap competitive multiplayer modes, this is the typical shooter of today. Unrealistic and uninspiring. I`ll be waiting for the new Rainbow Six. Expand
  8. May 24, 2012
    0
    False Advertising! This game was marketed as having split screen co-op campaign mode but be warned it does NOT! All Tom Clancy games from rainbow Six to the new splinter cell to previous GR games have all had campaign split screen co-op but no more! This games' graphics are last gen and its a total rip off of other shooters and has zero original ideas and is a resounding failure! Save your money!
  9. May 22, 2012
    9
    so COOL with KINECT;high values in "missions design,textures resolutions,gadgets effects,gameplay depth and environments use" but sometimes "enemy`s AI" is so dumb.
    i played on hard.
  10. May 23, 2012
    5
    I have been a GR fan since the start of the franchise and all I can say now is i am extremely saddened. I feel like I have had a death in the family. After all this time I don' t think 60 frames second iss too much to ask for. Team deathmatch is not too much to ask for. I would rather use the environment and camo to conceal myself not some stupid cloaking tech. I don't want to be able to see through walls that is so incredibly cheap. Low res textures anywhere is simply not acceptable. I am sad because I have so many memories of great games playing the other GR games but now the love is gone. I will not purchase this game. Goodbye Ghost Recon... Expand
  11. May 22, 2012
    8
    Ok first thing I got to say is I haven't played the full retail game yet but I did play the beta and yes they were a lot of bugs but when it worked it was epic im really looking forward to it ... unfortunately I cant pick it up until friday as im in europe ... to the 3 idiots who gave it a 0 ... 1 i bet you haven't played it and 2 we dont all just play the generic CoD all day long so stop trying to get us to by giving games low ratings. Expand
  12. May 25, 2012
    10
    I love this game ! The control are the best controls in any shooter, the cover system is fantastic !
    The campaign is longer than most other games ( I made it in 15 hours ), the teammate AI is really outstanding.
    Add to this the guerilla and the very good multiplayer part, this is really the shooter of the year !
  13. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    I found this quite a let down, the campaign seems to be plagued with glitches, one of which prevented me from completing a level unless I restarted the entire mission (reloading the checkpoint didn't work) and overall doesn't seem to draw you in to caring about any of the characters or the missions you are taking on. Cut scenes are visually underwhelming but can be pretty fun to watch. The campaign does hold a few nifty features though, my favourite of which is the synchronised firing, line up a few targets, pick one for yourself and watch as you are your buddies take them all out. Online can be fun but doesn't seem to hit the target like GR 1 & 2. The online customisation is very interesting giving you a detailed view of your weapons and allowing the player to chose between many pros and cons. Overall, if this was a new brand of games it would score higher but given how much I enjoyed previous GR titles, it really doesn't hit the mark. Expand
  14. May 28, 2012
    5
    First of all I'm not a CoD or BF fanboy. I rate each game on its individual merit. I was looking forward to this release and I must say I am deeply disappointed! The game is FULL of glitches! The campaign is boring and hell and the multiplayer suffers from that old gem of poor hit detection (xbox 360)! The game bores the ass off me! Nice graphics, nice sound though very dull. My score is an honest one of 5 but I'd save my money if I was you people! Expand
  15. Jun 2, 2012
    2
    Fyi I was playing this game on the PS3, so if the problem's I've had are restricted to this particular system, then perhaps this game isn't as overall bad as I believe it is. Wow, I truly had high hopes for this game, I've been a huge Ghost Recon fan since the series inception. While many shooters have gone mainstream and traded tacticallity for quick movements and killstreaks, I have always longed for a good tactical shooter. Ghost Recon has always been a tactical series where your ability to coordinate your squad would mean more than the ability to call in a killstreak. As I said I had high hopes for this game, the new camo suits, the gunsmith, wow I couldn't believe all they were offering.... Until I started playing. The gunsmith is great, it truly allows you to get to personalize your gun and make it your own. But what use is your gun if it doesn't kill enemies? I repeatedly experienced issues with non killable enemies during the game (mainly in the Nigeria mission), and this wasn't by design, it was just a horrible glitch, one of many. I also had many issues with not being able to proceed through areas because one of my team members would randomly disappear from the map. I'm not talking about being a little slow, he literally disappeared! One of the high points of this game was the witty banter between your squadmates, and this part of the story I thoroughly enjoyed, but I most definitely didn't enjoy the instances of lag in the game. I'm not talking about multi-player, I'm talking about single player lag, ever heard of it? Neither had I, but GRFS has it. Whenever you perform a sync shot, and sometimes just whenever your'e walking around, your game will lag out and bring your experience to a crawl. It's pitiful on just how often these game destroying glitches occur. I can't even list them all. The open world scene's they created in this game are a marvel to behold. A high point of this game is being able to maneuver your own path, and choose stealth, combat, or a mix at instances where you can choose. But even this high point is marred with instances of horrible game design. There are points in the game where they force you to be in combat. This is ridiculous, and I don't even know if it's a glitch or just bad design. I would proceed through an area where I was cloaked, still in stealth. And I would sync shot and take out multiple enemies that weren't even close to other enemies, and completely out of their view. Yet whenever I would execute an enemy, suddenly an enemy would spot the dead body through a house or two. I dont know if they gained the x - ray tech you can use, but It's ridiculous having people spot you when it's not physically possible too. I'm really just sick of this broken game. It has its high points but it feels like they didn't even test it. The graphics aren't great and with all these glitches I truly believe they just released the game in beta. No I take that back, I've played Beta's better than this, this kind of feels like Alpha. The game is bad in my opinion. Yes the ending mission suck, yes the rpg enemies are ridiculously overpowered, and yes the story seem's mediocre, but these I could live with. When your game is literally broken, when you literally cannot play the game because it is so laggy, or so glitchy, that's not bad, that's garbage. I hate to say it, but this is the worst Ghost Recon I've ever played, heck I would say MW3 was better than this game, and that game was trash. But at least in MW3 you could play the game without set pieces disappearing or not even showing up. Expand
  16. May 27, 2012
    0
    This game is a disaster and an embarrassment of epic proportions. To start off, there is no firefight/deathmatch mode in multiplayer, despite this always having been the quintessential standard for GR online multiplayer in the past. Instead, there are just a few stupid objective modes that nobody seems to like (and nobody ever asked for). Furthermore, despite the game being called 'Ghost Recon', all of the maps are close-quarters urban settings, instead of the truly awesome wilderness maps that were always the staple of the GR series in the past, and which always facilitated the most fun and realistic gameplay. How the designers could screw up these aspects of the game so badly is beyond me. The campaign is literally one of the absolute worst I've ever played, with cut scenes every couple of minutes, and an absurd over-reliance on manipulating the drone and other boring vehicles. The teammate AI is downright awful, as you have no control whatsoever over where they go. They won't even form up behind you; they just go where they are programmed to go by the developers. In addition, you are pretty much forced to use the cover system, which is extremely clumsy and annoying, and which completely destroys the realistic feel of previous Ghost Recon games. The audio for the game is also horrible, cutting out completely most of the time, and with the party/chat system not working at all while the game is running. One of the greatest aspects of GRAW/GRAW2 was the wide selection of co-op multiplayer missions/maps, most of which could be quite challenging with the right settings, and which truly allowed for the tactical style of gameplay that was always the essence of Ghost Recon since the beginning. All of that is completely gone now. You can only play co-op in the extremely limiting and pointless campaign mode, or in the extremely boring guerilla mode. It's like the designers targeted all of the very best aspects of the previous GR games and intentionally eliminated every single one of them. Why? I have no idea. Overall, this is without a doubt the most pathetic excuse for a Ghost Recon game ever made. Anyone seriously critiquing this game could not possibly give it a good rating unless they are mentally ill. Do not waste your money on this piece of garbage. Expand
  17. May 25, 2012
    3
    The campaign is ok but the game suffers from bad design decisions. There is no matchmaking for co-op (campaign and the Guerilla/Horde mode). You have to invite friends. Also no split screen. The aiming is very cumbersome. You can hold the left trigger to aim but it is not the normal 3rd person aim, it is just a better hip shot. If you wan't to hit something that isn't just 2 feet in front of you, you have to push the right stick in which brings you to a first person aiming down the sights mode. It's like they couldn't decide if this game should be 3rd or first person so they made both. It is very annoying since you can't change the controls. Textures have a relatively low resolution. Everything looks washed out. Multiplayer is the usual generic 3rd person 'you need an online pass' shooter. Expand
  18. May 23, 2012
    7
    I'm a huge fan of sandbox tactical shooters and this game is NOT a sandbox shooters; although, it does maintain a tactical side to it, allowing me to appreciate it much more than any other shooter in the last 2 years.
  19. May 26, 2012
    2
    Have you played this before? Military shooter, piss poor campaign that makes the multiplayer seem great? You are basically a robot who stealthily gets into gunfights, point your squad to do stuff, and try not to notice the horrific graphics and lack of polish. I think you have played this before.

    Oh, and you get to look at guns while standing up and waving your arms around.
  20. May 31, 2012
    4
    Sorry but this is not one of the Ghost Recon games anymore. I can best desribe it as a bad Gears of Ghostduty. Lame story, cool gadgets. You feel like a robot and you AI-squadmates follow the paths the devlopers gave them, you cannot make them stop or follow. This game really is bad. Where is Team Deathmatch in multiplayer? Where are the huge wilderness-maps in multiplayer? The aiming is too very bad in multiplayer. I am very disappointed and I hope Ubisoft will never make again a game like this one, either make one in the Old school Ghost Recon style or just stop programming bad games like that. Expand
  21. May 22, 2012
    10
    A really surprise for me.Better than CoD or Battlefield if you like tactic and playing coop. Best shooter of the year ? Graphics are cool. Music and sound too. gameplay is really brillant. I finished the campaign in 11 hours. (and i don't understand how we can finish the campaign in 3 hours... but why not ). difficulty is well tuned but play in elite if you want challenge.
  22. May 22, 2012
    10
    Game is awesome once again!! Multiplayer is the best ever. Great graphics, gamrplay and replay value! Must buy.. This game is not for cod run and gun fans.
  23. May 22, 2012
    10
    This game truly is a work of art. High detail, fun to play, decent campaign, and more. Reminds me of the old SOCOM games, and no doubt that those games were great.
  24. May 22, 2012
    9
    The game so far is pretty good I'm only on the Third Mission but no matter what Ubisoft knows how to make a Ghost Recon game. I'm not pointing any fingers (missledragon) must have been playing on easy and walking through walls to beat the game in 3 hours because on Elite it wont be 3hrs worth of game-play Giving the Game a (ZERO) is just not right he or shes opinion to me is a waste of space on here. Expand
  25. May 22, 2012
    10
    Picked this up earlier today, been playing for a couple hours and absolutely love it. Great change from COD and the BF Games. Fun Multiplayer and Story, defiantly pick this one up
  26. May 22, 2012
    10
    The best military shooter I played.
    A very long campaign mode and playable with 3 other guys, a very good guerilla mode, and a good adversarial mode.
    I'm strongly recommand it !!!
  27. May 22, 2012
    10
    Ghost recon future soldier is in my opinion the BEST shooter I've ever had the pleasure of playing,yeah the graphics may not be top notch like BF3 or call of duty but they are still pretty good looking.the game play is what I love the most about this game,it's super addictive fast paced and full of out of you're seat action *I LOVE IT*.
    but SP is not the only winner here,the Multi-player
    is head and shoulders the best I've seen so far,I can't stop playing MP since I got home today and all I can think about is how much you're able to customize the weapons in this game.and don't listen to all those haters out there *including some Critics lower scores*they are all made up of cod fan boy's.if you want a real mans game get Ghost Recon future soldier asap. Expand
  28. May 22, 2012
    10
    First off, do not try and put this game in the same category as MW or BF franchise. They are not the same style of game. GRFS is all about teamwork and co-op. Like all Tom Clancy games, the story line is focused, yet gives players the freedom of choice on how to approach each mission. You can setup coordinated attacks, choose multiple entrance points on how to approach different scenarios. This game is far more tactical than other shooters on the market. The think that might throw people off is the 3rd person perspective. If you enjoy games like Gears of War or other Ghost Recon games, then you will not be disappointed. Like almost every Tom Clancy game, this game is meant to be played with friends. Tom Clancy games have always been known for their great coop gameplay and GRFS definitely lives up to the Tom Clancy brand of gameplay in this regard. The single player experience is okay, but again, play the campaign with 3 friends and you'll have a much better experience.

    Moving on to MP. This is the area that will leave some people disappointed or frustrated. If you enjoy the competitive multiplayer experience of Gears of War, you will have no issues adjusting to this. Some people hate the 3rd Person style of gameplay so this game will probably have you going back to BF3 or MW3. I however, enjoy both. BF3 is a game that is all about teamwork. GRFS is even more team oriented and going lone wolf at the wrong time can really hurt you AND your team. What I love about this MP experience is that everything you do that benefits your team is GREATLY rewarded. To give you an example, I finished a MP match with 1 kill and 6 deaths, however, I finished the match with the highest score in the entire match. How? I captured objectives, defended my teammates when they were capturing objectives (big points for this). When an objective was captured, I stayed within the radius of the objective and offered defense until the time expired...a big bonus for that as well. I also provided intel by dropping sensors and revealing the location of the enemies and let my teammates take care of them. Everything you do that helps your team is rewarded significantly higher than simply focusing on kills. I finished with more points than a guy with 18 kills. This game encourages teamwork, coordination, and approaching every combat situation with caution. The gameplay is fast paced and intense, but it is all about finding cover, covering your teammates and watching their back as they try and capture objectives. The best is if you stun and enemy, you can hack into his intel, revealing the location of his teammates, then finish him off. If you like a game where you can free roam, do your own thing, get a bunch of kills and not have the stress of worrying about watching your teammates back, or give support and cover to your team, then you might not enjoy this game. This game is for people who enjoy the grind of working as a team. One weak link on the team (weak link being a person who is off doing his own thing and not communicating with his squad) will ruin the chances of your team winning. If you like strategy and tactics mixed with fast paced action, then this game is for you.

    Now onto customization. I actually love what Ubisoft did with the gunsmith feature. Most shooters today only allow you to customize the exterior features of a weapon system (scopes, muzzles, grip attachments, laser sites, etc.) GRFS takes this to the next level by allowing you to customize the internal components as well. You can customize the gas system in the gun, the trigger, the type of stock, etc. Everything has a tradeoff and there really is no right or wrong way to configure. If you want more control, you can unlock a gas system that slows down the fire rate as a tradeoff for better accuracy. Some stocks increase your speed in handling the weapon and making the gun lighter. Other stocks are heavier, slow you down, but give you better control and accuracy. Every attachment has a benefit and what I love is that there is a visual graph which shows you how your loadout is affecting your weapon. Usually the tradeoffs are control vs. maneuverability or fire rate vs. accuracy. Or weapon power vs. ease of control, so there is great balance. Each class is leveled up separately and there are 50+ levels with each class. When you hit level 50 with a class, you unlock another character to use in that class with different loadouts. So there is a potential of over 150 ranks to achieve if you level each class to the max. Overall this is a great game to play with friends and if you enjoy tactical shooters and strong emphasis towards coordination and working as a team, then once you get the hang of this game, you will love it.
    Expand
  29. May 24, 2012
    5
    Expected more, AI in campaign is just awful, playing on hardest difficulty and 0 challenge. Co-op campaign only progresses lobby host. Gains nothing from playing co-op. Multi-player is crawl and gun rather than run and gun, sensors take away any "covert strategy". Graphics are decent, storyline is decent, gadgets are great, AI is atrocious, multiplayer is decent (think Uncharted with a hack that allows you to see opponents, and no climbing and piss poor level design). Passable, barely...wish I had rented for a weekend, not a worth successor to the series. Expand
  30. May 24, 2012
    8
    I give this game a solid eight because it runs smooth, the tactics that are implemented in this game are phenomenal and somewhat realistic, The only thing i can say that i kinda dislike is the fact that you have to unlock some attachments and some guns by completing some challenges during the campaign, but its not that deep to be complaining because i am going to play this game over again and get as many achievements as possible and unlock all the guns and attachments for the single player story. i am tired of people complaining about that because you cannot expect everything to be handed to you, you have to work for it, and i think that is good because that applies to everything in life, everything is not going to given to you, but overall the game excellent Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    A tactical shooter with focus on stealth and teamwork. Buy it for the multiplayer modes and play with a team of friends, as the campaign is missing a large portion of the Ghost Recon-identity.
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    A surprisingly engaging campaign with a slew of co-op options, let down by okay graphics and inconsistent connectivity. Get some. [Aug 2012, p.66]
  3. 76
    So what did I think of my first Ghost Recon experience? Well, I think it did a lot of things well. Despite lacking any kind of coherent plot, Future Soldier's campaign had the hooks in me and I couldn't help but finish it off, despite having no interest in the pay-off. Chalk this up to a great combat system and some pretty satisfying stealth segments.