User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 311 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 311

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out. I couldn't take the cheap, run & gun game play style. Calling in nukes is probably one of the stupidest things you could do in a game...makes no sense. A soldier cannot just call in a nuke, or an airstrike. There's certain channels you have to go through in order for both those things to happen. With that being said I decided to get back into social gaming by playing TC GR FS and I don't regret it. It's fun and for the most part, it's tactical. Yeah you could run and gun, but odds are you will get bucked. The game modes are all objective based which I don't mind. The gunsmith feature is really cool. This game is the thinkings man COD and that right there ...is high praise. Expand
  2. May 22, 2012
    10
    The best ghost recon game ever.The graphics are awesome and AI is one of the best ever in games,your teammate can kill enemy and save you when you are down.Great job Ubisoft
  3. May 22, 2012
    10
    Graphics are top-notch for a console; combat feels smooth, cover system works very fun. The impressive suite of features and atypical approach to third-person pew-pew gives it an edge over many me-too action games. Its maps are designed to make players work for their kills, which makes them feel like they've truly earned each one.
  4. May 22, 2012
    9
    so COOL with KINECT;high values in "missions design,textures resolutions,gadgets effects,gameplay depth and environments use" but sometimes "enemy`s AI" is so dumb.
    i played on hard.
  5. May 25, 2012
    10
    I love this game ! The control are the best controls in any shooter, the cover system is fantastic !
    The campaign is longer than most other games ( I made it in 15 hours ), the teammate AI is really outstanding.
    Add to this the guerilla and the very good multiplayer part, this is really the shooter of the year !
  6. May 22, 2012
    10
    A really surprise for me.Better than CoD or Battlefield if you like tactic and playing coop. Best shooter of the year ? Graphics are cool. Music and sound too. gameplay is really brillant. I finished the campaign in 11 hours. (and i don't understand how we can finish the campaign in 3 hours... but why not ). difficulty is well tuned but play in elite if you want challenge.
  7. May 22, 2012
    10
    Game is awesome once again!! Multiplayer is the best ever. Great graphics, gamrplay and replay value! Must buy.. This game is not for cod run and gun fans.
  8. May 22, 2012
    10
    This game truly is a work of art. High detail, fun to play, decent campaign, and more. Reminds me of the old SOCOM games, and no doubt that those games were great.
  9. May 22, 2012
    9
    The game so far is pretty good I'm only on the Third Mission but no matter what Ubisoft knows how to make a Ghost Recon game. I'm not pointing any fingers (missledragon) must have been playing on easy and walking through walls to beat the game in 3 hours because on Elite it wont be 3hrs worth of game-play Giving the Game a (ZERO) is just not right he or shes opinion to me is a waste of space on here. Expand
  10. May 22, 2012
    10
    Picked this up earlier today, been playing for a couple hours and absolutely love it. Great change from COD and the BF Games. Fun Multiplayer and Story, defiantly pick this one up
  11. May 22, 2012
    10
    The best military shooter I played.
    A very long campaign mode and playable with 3 other guys, a very good guerilla mode, and a good adversarial mode.
    I'm strongly recommand it !!!
  12. May 22, 2012
    10
    Ghost recon future soldier is in my opinion the BEST shooter I've ever had the pleasure of playing,yeah the graphics may not be top notch like BF3 or call of duty but they are still pretty good looking.the game play is what I love the most about this game,it's super addictive fast paced and full of out of you're seat action *I LOVE IT*.
    but SP is not the only winner here,the Multi-player
    is head and shoulders the best I've seen so far,I can't stop playing MP since I got home today and all I can think about is how much you're able to customize the weapons in this game.and don't listen to all those haters out there *including some Critics lower scores*they are all made up of cod fan boy's.if you want a real mans game get Ghost Recon future soldier asap. Expand
  13. May 22, 2012
    10
    First off, do not try and put this game in the same category as MW or BF franchise. They are not the same style of game. GRFS is all about teamwork and co-op. Like all Tom Clancy games, the story line is focused, yet gives players the freedom of choice on how to approach each mission. You can setup coordinated attacks, choose multiple entrance points on how to approach different scenarios. This game is far more tactical than other shooters on the market. The think that might throw people off is the 3rd person perspective. If you enjoy games like Gears of War or other Ghost Recon games, then you will not be disappointed. Like almost every Tom Clancy game, this game is meant to be played with friends. Tom Clancy games have always been known for their great coop gameplay and GRFS definitely lives up to the Tom Clancy brand of gameplay in this regard. The single player experience is okay, but again, play the campaign with 3 friends and you'll have a much better experience.

    Moving on to MP. This is the area that will leave some people disappointed or frustrated. If you enjoy the competitive multiplayer experience of Gears of War, you will have no issues adjusting to this. Some people hate the 3rd Person style of gameplay so this game will probably have you going back to BF3 or MW3. I however, enjoy both. BF3 is a game that is all about teamwork. GRFS is even more team oriented and going lone wolf at the wrong time can really hurt you AND your team. What I love about this MP experience is that everything you do that benefits your team is GREATLY rewarded. To give you an example, I finished a MP match with 1 kill and 6 deaths, however, I finished the match with the highest score in the entire match. How? I captured objectives, defended my teammates when they were capturing objectives (big points for this). When an objective was captured, I stayed within the radius of the objective and offered defense until the time expired...a big bonus for that as well. I also provided intel by dropping sensors and revealing the location of the enemies and let my teammates take care of them. Everything you do that helps your team is rewarded significantly higher than simply focusing on kills. I finished with more points than a guy with 18 kills. This game encourages teamwork, coordination, and approaching every combat situation with caution. The gameplay is fast paced and intense, but it is all about finding cover, covering your teammates and watching their back as they try and capture objectives. The best is if you stun and enemy, you can hack into his intel, revealing the location of his teammates, then finish him off. If you like a game where you can free roam, do your own thing, get a bunch of kills and not have the stress of worrying about watching your teammates back, or give support and cover to your team, then you might not enjoy this game. This game is for people who enjoy the grind of working as a team. One weak link on the team (weak link being a person who is off doing his own thing and not communicating with his squad) will ruin the chances of your team winning. If you like strategy and tactics mixed with fast paced action, then this game is for you.

    Now onto customization. I actually love what Ubisoft did with the gunsmith feature. Most shooters today only allow you to customize the exterior features of a weapon system (scopes, muzzles, grip attachments, laser sites, etc.) GRFS takes this to the next level by allowing you to customize the internal components as well. You can customize the gas system in the gun, the trigger, the type of stock, etc. Everything has a tradeoff and there really is no right or wrong way to configure. If you want more control, you can unlock a gas system that slows down the fire rate as a tradeoff for better accuracy. Some stocks increase your speed in handling the weapon and making the gun lighter. Other stocks are heavier, slow you down, but give you better control and accuracy. Every attachment has a benefit and what I love is that there is a visual graph which shows you how your loadout is affecting your weapon. Usually the tradeoffs are control vs. maneuverability or fire rate vs. accuracy. Or weapon power vs. ease of control, so there is great balance. Each class is leveled up separately and there are 50+ levels with each class. When you hit level 50 with a class, you unlock another character to use in that class with different loadouts. So there is a potential of over 150 ranks to achieve if you level each class to the max. Overall this is a great game to play with friends and if you enjoy tactical shooters and strong emphasis towards coordination and working as a team, then once you get the hang of this game, you will love it.
    Expand
  14. May 23, 2012
    10
    Just finished an epic night of GRFS multiplayer and I am pleasantly surprised! You can definitely tell they were trying to cater to the COD crowd but that's not necessarily a bad thing here. GR purists will be mad but the multiplayer matches can get crazy wild! People still seem to be learning the modes and objectives but the game is so much fun I didn't want to stop. I've yet to try the SP but the MP will keep me happy for days. Expand
  15. May 22, 2012
    9
    Great game, alot of content. f you want a game that keeps you busy this summer and still have time to spend with friends and family GRFS is for you. it haves the perfevt balence in complexity and simplenes.
    while gamers that are used to FPS are going to have a hard time with this. after finishing the 10 or more hour campaing, you should be ready for MP. good clan managment. good ping.
    all
    perfect. but no matter what the game is, theres still going to be people learning to play or just people who are dumb as bricks Expand
  16. May 23, 2012
    10
    First off let me say I truly love this game for what it is, a game that has tried as hard as possible to stick to its roots while living in a society where there is so much pressure to make games like COD and Battlefield. You can't get made at UbiSoft for these minor changes to conform to what the majority of gamers buy. A company is not gonna spend millions of dollars to make a game that isn't gonna sell in a market created by us the gamers which is willing to shell out billions to buy pop shot shooters like COD. This game is not perfect but in no way is it deserving of 4's and 0's. Don't listen to the reviews saying it's not tactical or it doesn't revolve on teamwork. This game highly rewards the team player. Oh and one final note Gunsmith is the finest weapons customization system made simply for the fact that you can instantly try you desired part on the range before you spend your hard earned points on them. Does this game deserve a 10 no but it's getting one from me to help curb the unfair average all the unrealistic gamers have given it. Expand
  17. May 24, 2012
    9
    Future Soldier stands apart from the previous installments, but not in a bad way. The campaign is well scripted and fun to play through, and the controls aren't terrible at all (It took me awhile to get used to the controls after playing BF3). Audio is great and gun-play is fantastic, gunsmith allows you to tailor guns to your liking changing not only their physical appearance and how you sight you targets but how they physically handle which allows for some interesting tinkering that allows you to tailor the same gun for multiple roles. Split screen is less than desirable as it doesn't even have the two perspectives take up the entire screen and limits your HUD. System link is the way to go especially if you don't have a stable internet connection. That was just my two-sense, its a good game, honestly, these people that give it a 0 for minor flaws like enemies not shooting you fast enough? Doesn't strike me as a flaw but your optical camo doing its job. Rent the game if your not sure, if you have some friends it'd be a good buy. Again this isn't the original ghost recon, they were good games but this is streamlined more for a wider audience its fun but stands apart from its predecessors. And again rent the damn thing to find out for yourself lol Expand
  18. May 24, 2012
    10
    There are some parts of the game that could of used a bit more polish, but when you get into the co-op campaign, the fast arcade-like feel of guerrilla, and the extremely fun, extremely fun, I mean extremely fun multiplayer, the purchase is very worth it. Go buy it, enjoy it, I give it two thumbs up... and two toes too.
  19. May 26, 2012
    10
    Best tps since a very long time. Graphics are awsome, maybe the engine is not top notch but the overall feeling is great. Lighting and sfx deserve a special award. Campaign is well paced, multiplayer is fun and more challenging (way more than any cod or bf) and guerilla is is a bonus but an amazing one. I didn't play the previous ghost recon but now I'm waiting for the next one. Hope you'll enjoy this game as I do! Expand
  20. May 25, 2012
    10
    GRDS is a great squad based shooter that uses stealth and teamwork. The campaign so far has been pretty good through 5 missions. Its a nice change of pace from COD/Battlefield3. The multiplayer is fun also. Graphics look great most of the time. Really enjoying it. If you like FPSs then its a no brainer to buy.
  21. May 24, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A wonderful game, tactically sound, excellent graphics, great sound and a perfect mix, perhaps does not stand movies that left their mark but finally a game that usually differ from the standard canon of fps, which brings fresh air. If you would like fps games I highly recommend it. Expand
  22. May 25, 2012
    9
    I think that Future Soldier is a great game. I find the campaign to be engaging and exciting. The multiplayer while maybe not the best is still really good and offers an excellent change of pace from all the fps shooters. I LOVE the gunsmith, it truly allows you to truly make every gun your own! My only real issue is that the kill cams show the person never hitting you (but it is slightly hilarious at the same time). Maybe add some other awesome tech as well, but I really like the game. Expand
  23. May 24, 2012
    9
    Ghost Recon Future Soldier is an impressive game amongst a horde of rehashed run and gun shooters. The controls and cover system which has been in use for years by many Ubisoft titles such as Splinter Cell, Rainbow Six and GR is a big plus in my personal opinion of what should be standard in a FPS. The fact that both Batlefield and MW titles lack cover controls and prone position is ridiculous. The graphics are also superior to BF3 and MW3 in my opinion. I still believe that Rainbow Six Vegas 2 ( a 4 year old game) is a more polished, full featured tactical FPS game than anything put out by Dice or Infinity Ward to date. (Try it if you havent yet... graphics are getting dated but gameplay is superior!) I will agree that Future Soldier is lacking in the multiplayer arena. I played a few rounds, and noticed the controls feel a little clunky, and the maps are dull and remind me of Modern Warfare chaos with no purpose. For the best online multiplayer, BF2 is still the king. Overall I am really enjoying Future Soldiers campaign in a time when most FPS games are published with horrible single player action. Worth your 60.00. Expand
  24. May 26, 2012
    9
    Campaign is very good and very entertaining and the co-op mode is very good. Multiplayer has a lot of content but has some issues and needs to be fixed but this game is very worth it so pick it up.
  25. May 25, 2012
    9
    It feels like an age since this game was first announce,& sure enough has had a fair few delays.When the game was first announced all that time ago,i was concerned with the way Ubisoft was taking the Ghost Recon Series.The previous gen games were modern day set,& therefore more realistic & easier to relate to,then with the next gen of machines,we got the Advanced Warfighter 1&2 titles.This set about using more overtly futuristic tech,like drones & the cross coms,which while not presently used,were still very viable.When i saw the reveal for Future Soldier,my heart sank,with even more emphesis on future tech,complete with the contraversial Harry Potter style invisibility cloaks!? I couldnt have been the only one concered,judging by the way we were constantly assured that the tech is in development & within a decade away,but what was most worrying was the impact it would have on the gameplay.
    Well,the games finally here,& i'm relieved to say that its absolutely superb! The optical camo is still there,but is not by any means an infallible technology.Its not only handled well,not over the top & detrimental to gameplay,its actually well implimented into the gameplay.It gives you options you wouldnt normally have in this type of game,& created something i wasnt expecting.Something that feels a bit different,but in a good way.You see the technology has its limits,which you need to keep in mind when using it.You cant get too close to the enemy,or you will still be seen,& it only works when your crouched or prone,so you cant move fast when using it.It makes for a great tool to not make things too easy,but to get you into position to create opportunitys & strategys for you,such as setting up killing zones for sycronised kill shots launching your drones,which in themselves,with drones that can fly,& even land & drive,to the extreeeeemely cool WarHound(I'll let you find out)really run & useful to use,or going in for a stealth kill.
    Stealth plays its part in alot of the game,though you dont have to use it if you dont want to most of the time.You can go in guns blazing conventional style of thats what you wish,but its nowhere near as much fun as going in unseen & using strategy.The game feels much like a cross between Ghost Recon & the excellent Splinter Cell-Conviction.It even borrows the cool system that lets you dash between covers quickly,to be either unseen or when your under heavy fire,but you can move & switch covers conventially too,so it has the best of both worlds.
    Another aspect i wasnt sure about,was the 'sycronising shots' mechanic,but yet again i was very pleasantly suprised.Its very satisfying marking up to four targets,watching each of your squad get into a firing position,then wait for you to take your shot,or give the order for them to take theirs,Not because its hard to do,but because its so 'easy' to do.This mechanic that tells you when everyones shot is lines up & ready to fire,among other features,lends well to the excellent(& finally once again implimented)Campaign Co-Op(up to 4-player Co-Op no less,each with your own character with slightly different look).Its about time Campaign Co-Op made a return to Ghost Recon,I've missed you,& i'm suprised Co-Op isnt featured more in squad games,as you'd think being in a squad is an ideal opportunity for Co-Op.I havnt played multiplayer much,but theres some interesting modes,including a couple of no-respawn ones,which are fun if tense.Also of note,is Guerilla mode,which is basically a Hoard mode,but more tactical,a bit like the survival mode in Modern Warfare 3,but at a slower,more considered pace & different rounds,such as stealth kill rounds.Sadly Campaign Co-Op can only be played either Online or System link,no split screen,but Guerilla & other multiplayer modes can be played Online,System Link & Split Screen,or combining those.So the game is a very good package,& the Co-Op means the game has great replay value.Graphics are great on the whole & the look suits the game extremely well.Theres a few muddy textures here & there,but nothing thats going to bother you,you'll be too busy enjoying the game with a grin on your face.Theres some moments that look absolutely beautiful,such as weather effects whci i wont spoil by talking about.
    One final mention must go to Gunsmith.Its an excellent tools that lets you customise your weapons in minute detail(if you so wish),from its paint job to different types of trigger,barrel,gas system,attachments etc etc.I love it! It may sound daunting,but it really isnt,give it a go,you'll find it satisfying when the weapon re-assembles with all your choices taylor made for your next sortie.This is damn near perfect military squad game,that shows that a cinematic feel CAN be achieved in a Co-Op game(I'm looking at you Activision & EA,so take note).
    Expand
  26. May 27, 2012
    9
    GRFS builds on the previous ghost recon games by adding some interesting and cool gameplay mechanics. The campaign is fun and the levels open up a lot more in the second half of the game. The characters are cool but, you never really get to know them or truly care about them. The guns all sound and work like they should, which is a plus. The graphics are awesome and the gameplay feels a lot faster than previous ghost recon games. The multiplayer is also very good and is great to play with friends. I'm very happy that you can also play through the campaign with friends too. The only thing I don't like about multiplayer is that there's no deathmatch or teamdeathmatch game modes which is pretty standard for a game like this. Overall GRFS is a great game and is everything that I wanted the next installment in the ghost recon series to be. Expand
  27. May 23, 2012
    10
    Ghost recon future soldier!!!!The name of the game dictates it's playing style.The HUD looks cool and the magnetic sensor mode,drone,warhound are brilliant pieces of tech.It is a far better game than the COD's & Battlefields of the world.Also the campaign is well paced and lasts a whole lot longer than Cod's standard 5 hrs SP.Guerilla mode is fun to play and should be played in 4 player CO-OP.Competative multiplayer is not great,neither is it reckless fun,instead it is really cool to coordinate precision attacks over the headset.It actually rewards you for being stealthy.Overall not the best game in the market,but easily a shooter worth giving COD a run for it's money. Expand
  28. May 27, 2012
    9
    Very impressed by the game and while I would agree that the graphics don't blow me away all the time the core fun and strategy of the game could not be much better. Not since the first SOCOM games have I felt like such a badass strategy killing special operator. Thanks Ubisoft I cannot wait to see the next generation Ghost recon that is most likely inevitably going to come!
  29. May 27, 2012
    10
    Campaign - One of the best campaigns out there if you like shooters. It starts off with a bang and you can even play with 3 other players for the campaign which makes the experience even more enjoyable. The campaign is about a team of Ghost (special forces) with a mission to stop a coup in Russia that killed another team of Ghost and to protect others around the world. The Ghost have to get warheads out of the wrong hands before it creates a global catastrophe. Throughout the game, you'll learn more about the characters and things get really intense. The campaign is about 9-12 hours long depending if you're playing alone or with friends. It is very entertaining and I find myself getting very addicted to the campaign alone. During the campaign, you get to use special gadgets such as the drones and sensor grenades. You also have the ability to use the body cloaking, sync shots, and Gunsmith to customize your weapon completely to your liking. Some missions require tactics, while others just require you to be a good shooter. The campaign for this had me looking at shooting games differently and better. It's just so creative and it took the developers a lot of hard work. 100/100(A+)

    Graphics - Subpar. The developers could have done better. Only the cutscene graphics bother me. They look worst than the actual gameplay graphics. You will notice the distortion in the cutscene which makes the game look like an unfinished product. The actual gameplay graphics are vibrant and I prefer these graphics over other third-person shooters such as Gears of War 3 and Splinter Cell: Conviction. The blood shows off the graphics especially if it's a headshot. I suggest you set the brightness to a good position in the game's settings because that will make a significant difference. 90/100(A-)

    Gameplay - The gameplay offers a tactical experience. This game has the best gameplay I have ever experienced. The cover system is the best cover system you can find in a game. This is tied with Battlefield 3 for best hit detection in a military game. Stealth kills are always fun. Especially when your character says "go to hell" while slitting the bad guy's throat. When you crouch or go prone, your character automatically cloaks and it looks beautiful. You can do certain things such as rolling on the ground while you're prone to get a hit on your enemy as a surprise. You cannot customize the controls to your liking, but none of my friends have a problem with the controls. I have 4 friends with this game. The sound is amazing and everything sounds realistic. When you first pop in the game, it installs some audio content for a better audio experience. I was blasting my surround sound. Also, in Guerilla Mode (survival) you are able to use kill skreaks. That is fun as well. 100/100(A+)

    Multiplayer - Teamwork oriented multiplayer. There are 4 gamemodes and they are all objective based. There is not flatout team deathmatch or free for all, even though I wish there was. The character choices are riflemen, engineers and scouts. All have their specialties and different weapons they use. I prefer riflemen the most because they can take the most damage to the torso. The highest level is level 50 and you get credits for playing. Those credits can be used towards gun attacthments and equipment. The multiplayer actually takes skill, but it is still balanced. I got the Signature Edition from GameStop so I got the MK14 as a bonus for my riflemen and it's an amazing gun. The multiplayer goes up to 16 players online and has 10 maps. 95/100(A+)

    Playing Time/Content: The campaign is lengthy, multiplayer is fun. and Guerilla Mode is fun as well. I will be spending a lot of time with this game and so will 4 of my friends. 100/100(A+)

    Overall Score: 97/100(A+)

    + Co-Op campaign with up to 4 players
    + Co-Op survival with up to 4 players (2 player split-screen available)
    + Cover system
    + Gunsmith
    + Lengthy campaign
    + Sound
    - No split-screen co-op
    - No non-objective based multiplayer game modes
    - Quality of cutscenes
    Expand
  30. May 23, 2012
    9
    i really like GRFS because of how realistic it is. you dont need half a mag to kill a person, headshots are instant kills, and there is a lot of teamwork integrated into the game. and thats just competitive MP. guerrilla mode is a boat load of fun, and the campaign is super fun, especially with 3 other friends to play with. the audio is great, the gun smith is really cool, and the progression in multiplayer is awesome. the only problem i have is facial expressions during cutscenes, but that isnt even that noticeable to me. you should totally get this game, it is freaking mint Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    A tactical shooter with focus on stealth and teamwork. Buy it for the multiplayer modes and play with a team of friends, as the campaign is missing a large portion of the Ghost Recon-identity.
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    A surprisingly engaging campaign with a slew of co-op options, let down by okay graphics and inconsistent connectivity. Get some. [Aug 2012, p.66]
  3. 76
    So what did I think of my first Ghost Recon experience? Well, I think it did a lot of things well. Despite lacking any kind of coherent plot, Future Soldier's campaign had the hooks in me and I couldn't help but finish it off, despite having no interest in the pay-off. Chalk this up to a great combat system and some pretty satisfying stealth segments.